DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “second compressor” without reciting a “first compressor”, rendering the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. The fact that a “first compressor” is recited in claim 2 does not resolve this issue. If applicant wishes to recite the second compressor in claim 1, the first compressor should also be recited in that claim as well.
Claims 2-20 are also rejected since they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Iyoshi et al.(WO 2021/225177 A1) in view of Fumitake et al. (JP 2003/262418 A). (Note that paragraph notations for Iyoshi et al. are based on corresponding US application US 2023/0057478 A1).
The applied Iyoshi et al. reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As per claim 1, Iyoshi et al. disclose refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising:
a first circuit 5a that circulates a first refrigerant; a second circuit 10 that circulates a carbon dioxide refrigerant and refrigerating machine oil; a cascade heat exchanger 35 that heats the carbon dioxide refrigerant with the first refrigerant; and a control unit 80 having processor circuitry,
wherein the second circuit includes
a second compressor 21 and
a container 30 that is provided on a suction side of the second compressor and that stores the carbon dioxide refrigerant and the refrigerating machine oil, and
the processor circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the control unit to control an operation of the first circuit to achieve a target condensation temperature (para. 0134, 0162; etc.). Iyoshi et al. do not teach the control being performed so that a temperature or pressure of the carbon dioxide refrigerant and the refrigerating machine oil in the container is equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature or predetermined pressure corresponding to a boundary temperature at which a density of the carbon dioxide refrigerant and a density of the refrigerating machine oil in the container become equal. Fumitake et al. teach the concept of controlling the relative densities of refrigerant and machine oil within an accumulator in order to prevent inversion (para. 0020; Fig. 3; etc.). In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly control the refrigerant and oil pressures within the accumulator 30 of Iyoshi et al. to be of equal value for this same basic purpose.
As per claim 2, Iyoshi et al. disclose wherein the first circuit includes a first compressor 71, and the processor circuitry of the control unit causes the control unit to control a rotational speed of the first compressor in the first circuit (paras. 0134, 0162)., although again does not teach the control being so that the temperature or pressure of the carbon dioxide refrigerant and the refrigerating machine oil in the container is equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature or the predetermined pressure. Also again, Fumitake et al. teach the concept of controlling the relative densities of refrigerant and machine oil within an accumulator in order to prevent inversion (para. 0020; Fig. 3; etc.). In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application control the first compressor control of Iyoshi et al. to similarly control refrigerant and oil pressures within the accumulator 30 of Iyoshi et al. to be of equal value for this same basic purpose.
As per claims 3 and 4, Iyoshi et al. disclose wherein the control unit is configured to switch operation of the cascade heat exchanger between a first mode of operation that heats the carbon dioxide refrigerant with the first refrigerant (Fig. 4; etc. re. heating operation) and a second mode of operation that cools the carbon dioxide refrigerant with the first refrigerant (Fig. 3; etc. re. cooling operation).
As per claims 5-8, Iyoshi et al. disclose wherein the second circuit further includes a sensor that measures at least one of the temperature and pressure of the carbon dioxide refrigerant and the refrigerating machine oil on the suction side of the second compressor (suction temperature sensor 88).
As per claims 13-19, Iyoshi et al. disclose wherein the first refrigerant contains R32, R454C, propane, R1234yf, R1234ze, or ammonia (para. 0196 re. propane; etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As per claims 9-12 (and claim 20 which depends from claim 9), there is no teaching or suggestion in the art to further modify the system of Iyoshi et al. wherein the second circuit further includes a suction pipe that connects the suction side of the second compressor to the container, an oil return passage that returns the refrigerating machine oil from a lower portion of the container to the suction pipe, and a valve that is provided in the oil return passage, and
the control unit is configured to change an opening degree of the valve on a basis of a degree of superheating of the carbon dioxide refrigerant discharged from the second 30 compressor.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763