Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Claims 11-13 are added, and claims 1-3 and 5-13 remain pending in the application in response to the applicant’s amendments to the rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/15/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/10/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Given the amendments to claim 1, reference to Ho is being relied upon to teach dependent claims 2, 5-9, 11-13 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Therefore, claims 1-3 and 5-13 are indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the data groups". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The terms “the data groups”, “all data groups”, “a first data group”, “each group”, “first data groups” are unclear. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the groups refers to the same group of data.
For claim 1, “an average value of data groups on two sides of the marker echo area is less than the lower limit score” is indefinite. It is unclear how an average echo amplitude of two sides of a marker echo area is less than the lower limit score (of zero), when average echo amplitude of the marker echo area is also greater than the amplitude lower limit (of zero). It is unclear if an average value of data groups on “two sides” of a marker echo area refers to the average echo amplitude of the marker echo area boundaries, refers to the average echo amplitude of the outside of the marker echo area, or refers to the average echo amplitude of the inside of the marker echo area. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes establishing a “registration condition” based on the average echo amplitude of the marker echo area.
For claim 1, “traversing all data groups in the raw ultrasound data positioned in the marker echo area, and screening out a data group satisfying the registration condition as a first data group” is indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by “traversing” data. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the limitation refers to thresholding the data based on the registration condition.
For claim 1, “identifying each group of image frame head and image frame tail as start and end boundaries of one full scanning cycle in the raw ultrasound data based on positions of two adjacent first data groups” is indefinite. It is unclear what is considered a “start boundary” and an “end boundary” in raw ultrasound data (boundaries of an image?). For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the start boundary is a first set of ultrasound data (i.e., a first scanning line, a first 2D image) corresponding to one edge of the image in a direction, and the end boundary is a second (last) set of ultrasound data (i.e., second (last) scanning line, a second (last) 2D image) corresponding to the opposite edge of the image in the direction.
Claims 2-3 and 5-13 are dependent of claim 1, and therefore rejected under these 112(b) rejections as well.
For claim 5, “condition 2: an average value of echo amplitudes of a data group W1 of x1 rows and y1 columns at a left side of the marker echo area is less than m/p, and an average value of echo amplitudes of a data group W2 of x2 rows and y2 columns at a right side of the marker echo area is less than m/p” is indefinite. It is unclear what is considered a “left side” and a “right side” of a marker echo area, and how an average echo amplitude of marker echo area is both less than zero and greater than zero. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes average echo amplitude of marker echo area is greater than zero.
Claim 11 is dependent of claim 5, and therefore rejected under this 112(b) rejection as well.
For claim 7, “wherein a data volume collected by the ultrasound probe during one full turn of radial scanning is converted into a quantity of data groups, so as to obtain a quantity of self-increment columns, and the quantity of self-increment columns is not less than a quantity of columns in the marker echo area” is indefinite. It is unclear what is considered a “self-increment” column. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes a “self-increment” column is a column from one full turn of radial scanning.
For claim 7, “after each traversal for locating the first data group is completed, the sequence number of the data groups is increased by the quantity of self-increment columns to obtain a starting data group for a next traversal” is indefinite. It is unclear what is a “traversal”. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes a traversal for locating the first data group (“marker echo area”) refers to searching for the marker echo area in the image.
Claim 12 is dependent of claim 7, and therefore rejected under these 112(b) rejections as well.
For claim 12, “wherein the quantity of self-increment columns is determined by integrating a preset data volume of one full radial scan and an error margin, so as to ensure that a starting data group for a next traversal still falls within the marker echo area” is indefinite. It is unclear how to “integrate” a scan and an error margin to determine a quantity of columns. It is also unclear what is the error margin (i.e., error margin of the quantity of self-increment columns, error margin of a preset data volume, error margin of one full radial scan, error margin of a marker echo area, or something else). For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the “error margin” refers to the error margin of the marker echo area.
For claim 13, “wherein all steps of the registration method are executed circularly and continuously during a continuous radial scanning process of the ultrasound probe, so as to perform frame-by-frame correction on continuously acquired raw ultrasound data” is indefinite. It is unclear what is steps are considered “the registration method”. It is also unclear when a frame is generated in order to perform “frame-by-frame” correction on ultrasound data, what is “corrected” in the frame, and how a frame is corrected when generating a scan. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the “registration method” is performed for all frames.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (US 20130137985 A1, published May 30, 2013), hereinafter referred to as Ho.
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a radial ultrasound image registration method, comprising:
setting a physical marker on an endoscope device housing (Fig. 8; see para. 0086 – “In some instances, the marker 182 [physical marker] is integrally formed with the remaining portions of the housing or distal portion 172 [endoscope device housing]. For example, in some instances the distal portion 172 is machined from a single piece of material to include the marker 182. In other instances, the marker 182 is fixedly secured to the distal portion 172 via welding, adhesive, bonding, mechanical connection, and/or combinations thereof.”),
the marker being within a scanning range of an ultrasound probe (Fig. 8; see para. 0084 – “In the illustrated embodiment, the marker 182 is positioned such that when the ultrasound transducer 174 [ultrasound probe] reaches the ending orientation of its motion profile the marker 182 is within the visible field of the transducer 174.”), and
obtaining raw ultrasound data recording echo of the marker by radial scanning of the ultrasound probe (Fig. 8; see para. 0084 – “In that regard, with the marker within the visible field or frame of the transducer 174, the marker 182 can be identified within the imaging data obtained from the transducer.”);
determining an amplitude lower limit according to a difference between an ultrasound echo amplitude range of the endoscope device housing and an ultrasound echo amplitude range of a marker echo area (see para. 0086 – “In that regard, the marker 182 is formed of the same material as other portions of the housing or distal portion 172 [endoscope device housing] in some embodiments.” So housing echo amplitude and marker echo amplitude can be the same, so the difference between housing echo amplitude and marker echo amplitude would be zero, so zero can be an amplitude lower limit);
establishing a registration condition based on the amplitude lower limit, wherein the registration condition comprises: an average value of ultrasound echo amplitudes of the data groups in the marker echo area is greater than the amplitude lower limit (average echo amplitude of marker is greater than zero); and a ratio of the amplitude lower limit to any natural number greater than or equal to 1 constitutes a lower limit score (ratio of amplitude lower limit (zero) to any number greater than 1 (i.e., two) is zero, so the lower limit score is zero), and an average value of data groups on two sides of the marker echo area is less than the lower limit score (see 112(b) rejection above; Fig. 26; see para. 0117 – “A template for a particular imaging device or group of imaging devices can be computed [establishing a registration condition] in a variety of ways…The location of the marker within the initial images is determined using thresholding methods (e.g., the thresholding algorithm discussed above), averaging methods (e.g., the running average algorithm discussed above), and/or other suitable techniques. In some instances, the template is a pixel intensity map or heat map of a region of an image containing the marker.”);
traversing all data groups in the raw ultrasound data positioned in the marker echo area, and screening out a data group satisfying the registration condition as a first data group (see para. 0118-0119 – “Referring again to FIG. 25, once this template is obtained at step 402, the method 400 continues at step 404 by computing the correlation of the template with the current image…This equation is applied to all pixels within the search region or region of interest of the image such that the cross correlation of the template and the current image is calculated for various possible locations of the marker. The correlation is maximized where the template and image have the strongest match in relative amplitude.”);
identifying each group of image frame head and image frame tail as start and end boundaries of one full scanning cycle in the raw ultrasound data based on positions of two adjacent first data groups, and determining data between each group of the image frame head and the image frame tail as data collected by the ultrasound probe during one full turn of radial scanning (see 112(b) rejection above; see para. 0078 – “In that regard, the boundaries of the motion profile of the transducer 108 are illustrated in FIG. 5 by axes 126 and 128. These boundaries are representative of the desired motion profile of the transducer during use.”); and
performing ultrasound image reconstruction on the data between each group of the image frame head and the image frame tail to obtain a frame of ultrasound radial-scan sectional image (see para. 0035 – “FIGS. 21 a-21 k are a series of images obtained from an imaging device having a visual marker according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the series of images showing the motion of the visual marker across the field of view of the imaging device.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 2, Ho further teaches wherein the marker echo area is obtained by setting a marker on an inner side or an outer side of the endoscope device housing (Fig. 8; see para. 0086 – “In some instances, the marker 182 [physical marker] is integrally formed with the remaining portions of the housing or distal portion 172 [endoscope device housing].”);
a position of the marker echo area and an ultrasound echo amplitude are recorded; and based on a difference in the ultrasound echo amplitude between the endoscope device housing and the marker, the marker echo area is identified (Fig. 8; see para. 0084 – “In that regard, with the marker within the visible field or frame of the transducer 174, the marker 182 can be identified within the imaging data obtained from the transducer.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 6, Ho further teaches wherein a row and column size of the data group is set, and the row and column size is less than a quantity of rows and columns of an array corresponding to the marker echo area (Fig. 26, marker region is smaller than entire image (“data group”)); and
the raw ultrasound data is divided into a plurality of data groups and sorted, and the first data group matching the registration condition is searched according to a sequence number of the data groups (Fig. 25; see para. 0121-0122 – “In other embodiments, the method 400 omits step 406 and the entire image is utilized as the search region. At step 408, the point of maximum correlation between the image and the template is identified … within the entire image (if step 406 is omitted). In that regard, the point where the correlation is maximized is considered to be the marker location.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 7, Ho further teaches wherein a data volume collected by the ultrasound probe during one full turn of radial scanning is converted into a quantity of data groups, so as to obtain a quantity of self-increment columns, and the quantity of self-increment columns is not less than a quantity of columns in the marker echo area (Figs. 21a-k, one full turn of radial scanning is an entire image (“a quantity of self-increment columns”), which is not less than the number of columns of a marker echo area (marker 360)); and
after each traversal for locating the first data group is completed, the sequence number of the data groups is increased by the quantity of self-increment columns to obtain a starting data group for a next traversal (see para. 0104 – “Referring now to FIGS. 21 a-21 k, shown therein is a series of images obtained from an imaging device having a visual marker according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In that regard, the series of images show the path of a marker 350 between the frames.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, Ho further teaches wherein the quantity of self-increment columns is determined by integrating a preset data volume of one full radial scan and an error margin, so as to ensure that a starting data group for a next traversal still falls within the marker echo area (Fig. 39; see para. 0155 – “After determining the marker location, the method 600 continues to step 632 where it is determined if the marker location is within an acceptable margin of error (e.g., distance, angle, etc.) around a desired marker position. In the illustrated embodiment, it is presumed that the desired position for detection of the marker is a position that corresponds to a rotation of 120 degrees relative to a starting point of the transducer. Generally, the desired position and the region of error around that position may be considered the target region of the image for the marker.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 13, Ho further teaches wherein all steps of the registration method are executed circularly and continuously during a continuous radial scanning process of the ultrasound probe, so as to perform frame-by-frame correction on continuously acquired raw ultrasound data (Fig. 25; see para. 0122 – “Once the marker location is found for the current frame at step 408, the method 400 continues at step 410 where the marker position is updated and the energy provided to the actuator of the imaging device that imparts motion on the imaging element is adjusted, as necessary, to ensure that the motion profile of the imaging transducer results in the marker being at the desired location(s) within the subsequent image(s). Steps 404, 406 (optional), 408, and 410 are repeated continuously or intermittently during operation of the imaging device to control the field of view of the imaging device.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20230190231 A1, published June 22, 2023), hereinafter referred to as Shimizu.
Regarding claim 3, Ho teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above.
Ho teaches an ultrasound probe within the housing, but does not explicitly teach a low-echo filling medium between the housing and the ultrasound probe.
Whereas, Shimizu, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein a low-echo filling medium is between the endoscope device housing and the ultrasound probe to reduce attenuation of acoustic signals; and an ultrasound echo amplitude of the filling medium is less than a predetermined reference threshold lower than an ultrasound echo amplitude of the marker and an ultrasound echo amplitude of the endoscope device housing (Fig. 2A; see para. 0082 "Accordingly, a space between the outer sheath 20 [endoscope device housing] and the transducer unit 40 [ultrasound probe] is filled with the saline solution [low-echo filling medium]… Accordingly, air inside the ultrasound catheter 10 is removed, and a periphery of the transducer unit 40 is filled with the saline solution. Thereafter, circulation of the saline solution is continued or stopped by the pump device 90, and the ultrasound catheter 10 is inserted into a living body lumen." Where filling space between transducer and housing with fluid to reduce ultrasound attenuation is known in the art, and it is inherent that the low-echo filling medium has an echo amplitude less than the marker echo amplitude and housing echo amplitude).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an ultrasound probe within the housing, as disclosed in Ho, by also having a low-echo filling medium between the housing and the ultrasound probe, as disclosed in Shimizu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more clearly identify the marker position in the ultrasound image.
Furthermore, regarding claim 5, Ho further teaches wherein the marker echo area is an array W of x rows and y columns; a data group satisfying the registration condition is searched by traversing the raw ultrasound data (Fig. 25; see para. 0121 – “Referring again to FIG. 25, in some instances, the method 400 continues at step 406 by limiting the search region of the image based on one or more of the factors discussed above. In some particular embodiments, the search region is limited based on image depth and the maximum expected transducer motion from one frame to the next.”);
there is a data group Z of z1 rows and z2 columns, z1<x and z2<y, if the data group Z satisfies: condition 1: an average value of echo amplitudes of the data group is greater than an amplitude lower limit m (amplitude lower limit m is zero, so the average echo amplitude of the marker echo area (“data group”) is greater than zero; see para. 0118-0119 – “Referring again to FIG. 25, once this template is obtained at step 402, the method 400 continues at step 404 by computing the correlation of the template with the current image…This equation is applied to all pixels within the search region or region of interest of the image such that the cross correlation of the template and the current image is calculated for various possible locations of the marker. The correlation is maximized where the template and image have the strongest match in relative amplitude.”);
condition 2: an average value of echo amplitudes of a data group W1 of x1 rows and y1 columns at a left side of the marker echo area is less than m/p, and an average value of echo amplitudes of a data group W2 of x2 rows and y2 columns at a right side of the marker echo area is less than m/p; wherein x1<x, y1:y, x2<x, y2<y, and p>1; the data group Z is contained within the marker echo area and belongs to the first data group (see 112(b) rejection above; Fig. 26; see para. 0117 – “A template for a particular imaging device or group of imaging devices can be computed [establishing a registration condition] in a variety of ways…The location of the marker within the initial images is determined using thresholding methods (e.g., the thresholding algorithm discussed above), averaging methods (e.g., the running average algorithm discussed above), and/or other suitable techniques. In some instances, the template is a pixel intensity map or heat map of a region of an image containing the marker.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, Ho further teaches wherein the row number z1 and column number z2 of the data group Z are adaptively set according to the total row number x and total column number y of the marker echo area, so as to avoid missed detection or false detection of the marker echo area (see para. 0118-0119 – “Referring again to FIG. 25, once this template is obtained at step 402, the method 400 continues at step 404 by computing the correlation of the template with the current image…This equation is applied to all pixels within the search region or region of interest of the image such that the cross correlation of the template and the current image is calculated for various possible locations of the marker [marker echo area]. The correlation is maximized where the template and image have the strongest match in relative amplitude.”).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Shimizu.
Regarding claim 8, Ho teaches a radial ultrasound image registration system, for implementing the radial ultrasound image registration method according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above);
wherein the image registration system comprises an endoscope device (see para. 0075 – “In that regard, depending on the particular medical application, the elongate member 100 is configured for use in…endoscopy procedures…”);
the endoscope device comprises an ultrasound probe, an endoscope device housing, a physical marker (Fig. 8; see para. 0084 – “In the illustrated embodiment, the marker 182 is positioned such that when the ultrasound transducer 174 [ultrasound probe] reaches the ending orientation of its motion profile the marker 182 is within the visible field of the transducer 174.”; see para. 0086 – “In some instances, the marker 182 [physical marker] is integrally formed with the remaining portions of the housing or distal portion 172 [endoscope device housing].”);
the ultrasound probe is positioned in the endoscope device housing (Fig. 8; see para. 0084 – “In the illustrated embodiment, the marker 182 is positioned such that when the ultrasound transducer 174 [ultrasound probe] reaches the ending orientation of its motion profile the marker 182 is within the visible field of the transducer 174.”);
the marker is positioned on the endoscope device housing and is positioned in a scanning range of the ultrasound probe (Fig. 8; see para. 0084 – “In the illustrated embodiment, the marker 182 is positioned such that when the ultrasound transducer 174 [ultrasound probe] reaches the ending orientation of its motion profile the marker 182 is within the visible field of the transducer 174.”); and
the ultrasound probe performs radial scanning to obtain raw ultrasound data recorded with a marker echo area (Fig. 8; see para. 0035 – “FIGS. 21 a-21 k are a series of images obtained from an imaging device having a visual marker according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the series of images showing the motion of the visual marker across the field of view of the imaging device.”; see para. 0084 – “In that regard, with the marker within the visible field or frame of the transducer 174, the marker 182 can be identified within the imaging data obtained from the transducer.”).
Ho teaches an ultrasound probe within the housing, but does not explicitly teach a low-echo filling medium between the housing and the ultrasound probe.
Whereas, Shimizu, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches the endoscope device comprises a filling medium; the filling medium is contained between the ultrasound probe and the endoscope device housing; and the filling medium is used to reduce attenuation of acoustic signals (Fig. 2A; see para. 0082 "Accordingly, a space between the outer sheath 20 [endoscope device housing] and the transducer unit 40 [ultrasound probe] is filled with the saline solution [low-echo filling medium]… Accordingly, air inside the ultrasound catheter 10 is removed, and a periphery of the transducer unit 40 is filled with the saline solution. Thereafter, circulation of the saline solution is continued or stopped by the pump device 90, and the ultrasound catheter 10 is inserted into a living body lumen." Where filling space between transducer and housing with fluid to reduce ultrasound attenuation is known in the art).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an ultrasound probe within the housing, as disclosed in Ho, by also having a low-echo filling medium between the housing and the ultrasound probe, as disclosed in Shimizu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more clearly identify the marker position in the ultrasound image.
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, Ho further teaches wherein the marker is positioned inside or outside the endoscope device housing (Fig. 8; see para. 0086 – “In some instances, the marker 182 [physical marker] is integrally formed with the remaining portions of the housing or distal portion 172 [endoscope device housing].”); and
Shimizu further teaches an ultrasound echo amplitude of the marker is greater than a predetermined reference threshold higher than an ultrasound echo amplitude of the filling medium (Fig. 2A; see para. 0082 "Accordingly, a space between the outer sheath 20 [endoscope device housing] and the transducer unit 40 [ultrasound probe] is filled with the saline solution [low-echo filling medium]… Accordingly, air inside the ultrasound catheter 10 is removed, and a periphery of the transducer unit 40 is filled with the saline solution. Thereafter, circulation of the saline solution is continued or stopped by the pump device 90, and the ultrasound catheter 10 is inserted into a living body lumen." where filling space between transducer and housing with fluid to reduce ultrasound attenuation is known in the art, so an ultrasound echo amplitude of the marker is inherently greater than an ultrasound echo amplitude of the filling medium).
Furthermore, regarding claim 10, Shimizu further teaches wherein the filling medium is a low-echo material in a form of a solid state, a liquid state or a gaseous state; and an ultrasound echo amplitude of the filling medium is less than a predetermined reference threshold lower than an ultrasound echo amplitude of the endoscope device housing (Fig. 2A; see para. 0082 "Accordingly, a space between the outer sheath 20 [endoscope device housing] and the transducer unit 40 [ultrasound probe] is filled with the saline solution [low-echo filling medium]… Accordingly, air inside the ultrasound catheter 10 is removed, and a periphery of the transducer unit 40 is filled with the saline solution. Thereafter, circulation of the saline solution is continued or stopped by the pump device 90, and the ultrasound catheter 10 is inserted into a living body lumen." where filling space between transducer and housing with fluid to reduce ultrasound attenuation (low-echo) is known in the art, so an ultrasound echo amplitude of the filling medium is inherently less than an ultrasound echo amplitude of the endoscope device housing).
The motivation for claims 9-10 was shown previously in claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798