DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action base on the Thermoelectric Conversion Module filed March 28, 2025.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thermoelectric element layer side" on line 8, and again on line 3 of claim 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As there is no previously recited “thermoelectric element layer side”, it is unclear as to what “the thermoelectric element layer side” recited on line 8 of claim 1 is referring to. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Amending “the thermoelectric element layer side” to “a thermoelectric element layer side” or “the thermoelectric element layer” or “a side of the thermoelectric element layer” would overcome the rejections.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first conductive layer side" on line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As there is no previously recited “first conductive layer side”, it is unclear as to what “the first conductive layer side” recited on line 11 of claim 1 is referring to. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Amending “the first conductive layer side” to “a first conductive layer side” or “the first conductive layer” or “a side of the first conductive layer” would overcome the rejections.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second conductive layer side" on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As there is no previously recited “second conductive layer side”, it is unclear as to what “the second conductive layer side” recited on line 3 of claim 4 is referring to. Dependent claim is rejected for dependency.
Amending “the second conductive layer side” to “a second conductive layer side” or “the second conductive layer” or “a side of the second conductive layer” would overcome the rejections.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the same shape" on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the P-type thermoelectric element layer and the N-type thermoelectric element layer" on line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Amending "the P-type thermoelectric element layer and the N-type thermoelectric element layer" to "the P-type thermoelectric element and the N-type thermoelectric element " would overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0380288 A1) in view of Takahashi (JP 2023087590 A).
With regard to claim 1, Seki et al. discloses a thermoelectric conversion module comprising:
a thermoelectric element layer in which a P-type thermoelectric element and an N-type thermoelectric element are arranged alternately and electrically connected in series (such as depicted in Fig. 2, a thermoelectric element layer 4 in which a P-type thermoelectric element 2p and an N-type thermoelectric element 2n are arranged alternately and electrically connected in series);
a first conductive layer provided on a first surface of the thermoelectric element layer (such as depicted in Fig. 2, a first conductive layer 5a provided on a first top surface of the cited thermoelectric element layer 4);
a first pressure sensitive adhesive layer provided on a surface of the first conductive layer on a side opposite to a surface on the thermoelectric element layer side (as depicted in Fig. 2, a first pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 provided on a top surface of the cited first conductive layer 5a on a side opposite to a top surface on the cited thermoelectric element layer 4 side); and
a first release sheet provided on a surface of the first pressure sensitive adhesive layer on a side opposite to a surface on the first conductive layer side (see Fig. 2 and see claim 3 and [0111] teaching the cited first pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 is covered with a release film which is cited to provide for the claimed first release sheet provided on an outer/top surface of the cited first pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 on a side opposite to a surface on the cited first conductive layer 5a side),
Seki et al. does not disclose wherein a curvature of the first release sheet is R1000 or greater when the first release sheet is cut to a length of 250 mm and suspended at a center in a length direction.
However, the curvature of the first release sheet is a result effective variable. Takahashi, like applicant, is concerned with release sheets (see Abstract), and teaches the curvature of a release sheet can be dependent on flexural modulus and directly affects its ability to curve in accordance with the curvature of the base film, and will peel off the base film, tear or break and remain (see [0036]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the curvature of the first release sheet in the module of Seki et al. and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the flexural modulus and ability to curve in accordance with the curvature of the base film, preventing peel off and tear or break and remain.
With regard to claim 2, independent claim 1 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Seki et al. discloses further comprising
a second conductive layer provided on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the thermoelectric element layer (as depicted in Fig. 2, a second conductive layer 5b provided on a second surface opposite to the cited first top surface of the cited thermoelectric element layer 4).
With regard to claim 3, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Seki et al. discloses further comprising
a second pressure sensitive adhesive layer provided on a surface of the second conductive layer on a side opposite to a surface on the thermoelectric element layer side (as depicted in Fig. 2, a second pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 provided on a bottom surface of the cited second conductive layer 5b on a side opposite to a bottom surface on the cited thermoelectric element layer 4 side).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 3 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Seki et al. discloses further comprising
a second release sheet provided on a surface of the second pressure sensitive adhesive layer on a side opposite to a surface on the second conductive layer side (see Fig. 2 and see claim 3 and [0111] teaching the cited second pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 is covered with a release film which is cited to provide for the claimed second release sheet provided on an outer/bottom surface of the cited second pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 on a side opposite to a surface on the cited second conductive layer 5b side).
With regard to claim 6, independent claim 1 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Seki et al. discloses wherein
the first pressure sensitive adhesive layer is a pattern layer formed from a pressure sensitive adhesive composition (as depicted in Fig. 2, the cited first pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 is a pattern layer, or layer including a surface pattern, formed from a pressure sensitive adhesive composition; see [0036] teaching “hardenable pressure sensitive adhesion agent layer”), and
a surface of the pattern layer having the same shape as that of a surface of the first conductive layer is in surface contact with the surface of the first conductive layer (as depicted in Fig. 2, a bottom surface of the cited pattern layer having the same shape as that of a top surface of the cited first conductive layer 5a is in surface contact with the cited top surface of the cited first conductive layer 5a).
With regard to claim 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Seki et al. discloses wherein
the first pressure sensitive adhesive layer is a solid layer formed from a pressure sensitive adhesive composition (as depicted in Fig. 2, the cited first pressure sensitive adhesive layer 6 is a solid layer formed from a pressure sensitive adhesive composition; see [0036] teaching “hardenable pressure sensitive adhesion agent layer”), and
a surface of a partial region of the solid layer is in surface contact with a surface of the first conductive layer (as depicted in Fig. 2, a bottom surface of a partial region of the cited solid layer is in surface contact with a top surface of the cited first conductive layer 5a).
With regard to claim 8, independent claim 1 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Seki et al. discloses further comprising
a gap portion consisting of a region between the P-type thermoelectric element layer and the N-type thermoelectric element layer (as depicted in Fig. 2, a gap portion 3 consisting of a region between the cited P-type thermoelectric 2p element layer and the cited N-type thermoelectric element layer 2n).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0380288 A1) in view of Takahashi (JP 2023087590 A), and in further view of Yamamoto (CN 114075413 A).
With regard to claim 5, dependent claim 4 is obvious over Seki et al. in view of Takahashi under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Seki et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein a release force of the first release sheet is greater or smaller than a release force of the second release sheet.
However, Yamamoto, like applicant, is concerned with release sheets (see [0019-0020]) and teaches a release force of a first release sheet F1 is greater than a release force of a second release sheet F2 so that when the second release sheet is removed, the first release sheet can easily remain and not be removed along with the second release sheet (see [0051]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the module of Seki et al., as modified above, to include the release force of the first release sheet to be greater than the release force of the second release sheet, as suggested by Yamamoto, because it would have provided so that when the second release sheet is removed, the first release sheet can easily remain and not be removed along with the second release sheet.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 December 23, 2025