DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 8-13 recite the limitation “a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising instructions” and claims 14-20 recite the limitations “one or more endpoints, wherein each endpoint comprises a processor and a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by the processor,” however, the specification is void and does not discloses any medium, program code, instructions or processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425) in view of Pathapati et al. (US Patent No. 11,082,445).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chauhan teaches a method comprising: instantiating a web browser in a first environment on an endpoint, wherein the first environment is at least partially isolated from a second environment hosted on the endpoint (Chauhan, page 3, paragraph 0050, page 4, paragraphs 0055-0057, page 10, paragraph 0099 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; client device with managed and unmanaged partitions including a client application with embedded browser;); authenticating the web browser against a backend of an organization (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; authentication of the user and client application); and after authentication of the web browser, controlling, managing and monitoring activity, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend (Chauhan, page 10, paragraph 0103 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0124; control, manage and monitor activities based on policies).
Chauhan does not explicitly teach after authentication of the web browser, allowing risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint and while disallowing access via the web browser to resources of the organization and disallowing access to a network of the organization, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend.
Pathapati teaches allowing risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint and while disallowing access via the web browser to resources of the organization and disallowing access to a network of the organization, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend (Pathapati, column 6, lines 20-59, column 8, line 54-column 9, line 25 and column 11, lines 10-67; documents from unknown source undergo analysis while running/executing in sandbox, not allowed in corporate network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan with the of Pathapati to execute unknown files in the sandbox to provide the advantage of providing security against phishing attacks (Pathapati, column 2, lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 2, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the method wherein authenticating the web browser comprises providing credentials of the web browser to the backend (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-012, 0123 and 0126; authentication of the user and client application).
Regarding claim 3, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the method further comprising authenticating a user to the organization with at least one of the web browser and an identity service provider (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-012, 0123 and 0126; authentication of the user and client application).
Regarding claim 4, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the method wherein allowing risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises limiting endpoint exposure to user input devices and a display (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162).
Regarding claim 5, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the method wherein allowing risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises at least one of disconnecting at least one of network access and operating system events from the first environment and preventing installation of any application or extension while allowing the risky activity (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding claim 6, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the method wherein allowing risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises detecting a change to risky browsing from standard browsing and, based on detecting the change, hardening the first environment for the risky activity (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding claim 7, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the method wherein hardening the first environment for risky browsing comprises disallowing at least one of: access to a keyboard of the endpoint; screenshots; file downloads; access to cookies and session variables; access to hypertext markup language (HTML) based local storage mechanisms; access to devices of the endpoint from HTML; script based uniform resource locator (URL) fetching from external resources; and access to domains specified in the one or more security polices when risky browsing is allowed (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding independent claim 8, Chauhan teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising instructions to: instantiate a web browser in a first environment on an endpoint, wherein the first environment is at least partially isolated from a second environment hosted on the endpoint (Chauhan, page 3, paragraph 0050, page 4, paragraphs 0055-0057, page 10, paragraph 0099 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; client device with managed and unmanaged partitions including a client application with embedded browser;); authenticate the web browser against a backend of an organization (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; authentication of the user and client application); and after authentication of the web browser, controlling, managing and monitoring activity, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend (Chauhan, page 10, paragraph 0103 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0124; control, manage and monitor activities based on policies).
Chauhan does not explicitly teach allow risky activity in the first environment; isolate the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint; and disallow access via the web browser to resources of the organization and disallow access to a network of the organization.
Pathapati teaches allow risky activity in the first environment; isolate the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint; and disallow access via the web browser to resources of the organization and disallow access to a network of the organization (Pathapati, column 6, lines 20-59, column 8, line 54-column 9, line 25 and column 11, lines 10-67; documents from unknown source undergo analysis while running/executing in sandbox, not allowed in corporate network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan with the of Pathapati to execute unknown files in the sandbox to provide the advantage of providing security against phishing attacks (Pathapati, column 2, lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 9, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to authenticate the web browser comprises providing credentials of the web browser to the backend (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-012, 0123 and 0126; authentication of the user and client application).
Regarding claim 10, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to allow risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises limiting endpoint exposure to user input devices and a display (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162).
Regarding claim 11, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to allow risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises at least one of disconnecting at least one of network access and operating system events from the first environment and preventing installation of any application or extension while allowing the risky activity (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding claim 12, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to allow risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises detecting a change to risky browsing from standard browsing and, based on detecting the change, hardening the first environment for the risky activity (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding claim 13, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the instructions to harden the first environment for risky browsing comprises disallow at least one of: access to a keyboard of the endpoint; screenshots; file downloads; access to cookies and session variables; access to hypertext markup language (HTML) based local storage mechanisms; access to devices of the endpoint from HTML; script based uniform resource locator (URL) fetching from external resources; and access to domains specified in the one or more security polices when risky browsing is allowed (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding independent claim 14, Chauhan teaches a system comprising: a backend of an organization, wherein the backend comprises one or more servers; a set of one or more endpoints, wherein each endpoint comprises a processor and a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the endpoint to, instantiate a web browser in a first environment on an endpoint, wherein the first environment is at least partially isolated from a second environment hosted on the endpoint (Chauhan, page 3, paragraph 0050, page 4, paragraphs 0055-0057, page 10, paragraph 0099 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; client device with managed and unmanaged partitions including a client application with embedded browser;); authenticate the web browser against a backend of an organization (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; authentication of the user and client application); and after authentication of the web browser, controlling, managing and monitoring activity, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend (Chauhan, page 10, paragraph 0103 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0124; control, manage and monitor activities based on policies).
Chauhan does not explicitly teach allow risky activity in the first environment and isolate the risky activity to the first environment and disallow access to resources of the organization and disallow access to a network of the organization, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend.
Pathapati teaches allow risky activity in the first environment and isolate the risky activity to the first environment and disallow access to resources of the organization and disallow access to a network of the organization, according to one or more security policies loaded into the first environment or the web browser from the backend (Pathapati, column 6, lines 20-59, column 8, line 54-column 9, line 25 and column 11, lines 10-67; documents from unknown source undergo analysis while running/executing in sandbox, not allowed in corporate network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan with the of Pathapati to execute unknown files in the sandbox to provide the advantage of providing security against phishing attacks (Pathapati, column 2, lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 15, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the system wherein the instructions to authenticate the web browser comprises providing credentials of the web browser to the backend (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-012, 0123 and 0126; authentication of the user and client application).
Regarding claim 16, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the system wherein the machine-readable medium further has stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the endpoint to authenticate a user to the organization with at least one of the web browser and an identity service provider (Chauhan, page 13, paragraphs 0120-012, 0123 and 0126; authentication of the user and client application).
Regarding claim 17, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the system wherein the instructions to allow risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises limiting endpoint exposure to user input devices and a display of the endpoint (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162).
Regarding claim 18, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the system wherein the instructions to allow risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises at least one of disconnecting at least one of network access and operating system events from the first environment and preventing installation of any application or extension while allowing the risky activity (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding claim 19, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the system wherein the instructions to allow risky activity in the first environment while isolating the risky activity to the first environment on the endpoint comprises detecting a change to risky browsing from standard browsing and, based on detecting the change, hardening the first environment for the risky activity (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Regarding claim 20, Chauhan in view of Pathapati teaches the system, wherein the instructions to harden the first environment for risky browsing comprises disallow at least one of: access to a keyboard of the endpoint; screenshots; file downloads; access to cookies and session variables; access to hypertext markup language (HTML) based local storage mechanisms; access to devices of the endpoint from HTML; script based uniform resource locator (URL) fetching from external resources; and access to domains specified in the one or more security polices when risky browsing is allowed (Chauhan, page 17, paragraph 0162, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 20, paragraphs 0181-0182).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mandrychenko (US Pub No. 2020/0287920).
Conclusion
/SHAQUEAL D WADE-WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407