Election/Restrictions
Claim 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 7, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coating device” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US Pat. Pub. No. 20230175776 A1 to Son et al (hereinafter Son) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160288680 A1 to Triglia et al (hereinafter Triglia) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20180202041 A1 to Kamepalli et al (hereinafter Kamepalli).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches a secondary battery manufacturing apparatus comprising: a coating device configured to form a coating layer by applying a slurry to a substrate being transported in a transport direction; an air blower configured to blow air toward the coating layer; and a controller (130) configured to control the coating device and the air blower, wherein the air blower (114) includes a first air blower disposed above the coating layer and configured to blow air toward a top surface of the coating layer and a second air blower disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the air from the first air blower (paragraphs 21 and 69) and a temperature of the air from the second air blower based on at least one of a width of the coating layer or a thickness of the coating layer. (Examiner is considering “controller is configured to adjust a temperature based on at least one of a width of the coating layer or a thickness of the coating layer” is equivalent to “information on dried amount receiving from the measuring unit” and “loading amount” in paragraphs 22, 61, 22, 73 and 61, “solid content”, and “dried level” in paragraph 39 as these parameters would be related to both width and thickness of the coating layer. (See Son, Abstract, paragraphs 2, 9-12, 14-21, 30-33, 39, 41-43, 53, 60-61, 64-66, 68-84, 86, 88, 97, 107, 115, 123, 125, and 136 and Figs. 1-6.)
Son does not explicitly teach a second air blower disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer.
Triglia is directed to drying a conveyed substrate.
Triglia teaches a second air blower (18) disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer. (See Triglia, Abstract, paragraphs 52, 55, and 111, and Figs. 1-10. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second air blower disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer, because Triglia teaches this structure would be helpful for sweeping moisture away from the surface delivery. (See Triglia, Abstract, paragraphs 52, 55, and 111, and Figs. 3. )
Son does not explicitly teach the air blower includes a second air blower disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer.
Triglia is directed to drying a conveyed substrate.
Triglia teaches a second air blower (18) disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer. (See Triglia, Abstract, paragraphs 52, 55, and 111, and Figs. 1-10. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the air blower including a second air blower disposed adjacent to opposite sides of the coating layer and configured to blow air toward opposite side surfaces of the coating layer, because Triglia teaches this structure may also be helpful for sweeping moisture away from the surface delivery. (See Triglia, Abstract, paragraphs 52, 55, and 111, and Figs. 3. )
Son does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the air from the second air blower based on at least one of a width of the coating layer or a thickness of the coating layer
Kamepalli is directed to manufacturing a conveyed substrate with a coating.
Kamepalli teaches the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the air from the second air blower based on at least one of a width of the coating layer or a thickness of the coating layer. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the air from the second air blower based on at least one of a width of the coating layer or a thickness of the coating layer, because Kamepalli teaches this structure may also be helpful to ensure the desired thickness is reached. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
Regarding claim 3, Son teaches the controller is configured to adjust a blowing speed of the air of the first air blower, based on at least one of the width of the coating layer or the thickness of the coating layer. (See Son, paragraphs 21, 57, 69-71, and 101.)
Son does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to adjust a blowing speed of the air of the second air blower, based on at least one of the width of the coating layer or the thickness of the coating layer.
Kamepalli teaches is configured to adjust a blowing speed of the air of the second air blower, based on at least one of the width of the coating layer or the thickness of the coating layer. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have is configured to adjust a blowing speed of the air of the second air blower, based on at least one of the width of the coating layer or the thickness of the coating layer, because Kamepalli teaches this structure may also be helpful to ensure the desired thickness is reached. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
Regarding claim 5, Son teaches the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the air of the first air blower, based on properties of the slurry. (See Son, paragraphs 21, 57, 69-71, and 101.)
Son does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the air of the second air blower, based on properties of the slurry.
Kamepalli teaches is configured to adjust a blowing speed of the air of the second air blower, based on at least one of the width of the coating layer or the thickness of the coating layer. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have is configured to adjust a blowing speed of the air of the second air blower, based on properties of the slurry, because Kamepalli teaches this structure may also be helpful to ensure the desired thickness is reached. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
Regarding claim 5, Son teaches the controller is configured to adjust the blowing speed of the air from the first air blower based on properties of the slurry. (See Son, paragraphs 21, 57, 69-71, and 101.)
Son does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to adjust the blowing speed of the air from the second air blower based on properties of the slurry.
Kamepalli teaches is the controller is configured to adjust the blowing speed of the air from the second air blower based on properties of the slurry. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller is configured to adjust the blowing speed of the air from the second air blower based on properties of the slurry, because Kamepalli teaches this structure may also be helpful to ensure the desired thickness is reached. (See Kamepalli, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
Regarding claims 6-7, Son does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to adjust the blowing speed of the air from the first air blower and the blowing speed of the air from the second air blower, based on a transport rate of the substrate.
Son teaches speed of the transfer roller is a known variable to optimize. (See paragraph 71.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the controller is configured to adjust the blowing speed of the air from the first air blower and the blowing speed of the air from the second air blower, based on a transport rate of the substrate, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper blowing speed, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal heating intensity. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969))
Regarding claims 8-15, Son does not explicitly teach the first air blower includes nozzles in a Z pattern with specific configuration of lines within the pattern.
Triglia teaches the angle of the nozzles may be changed within a range. (See paragraphs 52-56.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the controller is configured to adjust the pattern of the angles of the blower,with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper blowing angle, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal removal of moisture. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969))
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US Pat. Pub. No. 20230175776 A1 to Son et al (hereinafter Son) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160288680 A1 to Triglia et al (hereinafter Triglia) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20180202041 A1 to Kamepalli et al (hereinafter Kamepalli) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of KR-10286003 (hereinafter KR’003).
Regarding claim 2, Son does not explicitly teach the temperature of the air from the first air blower or the temperature of the air from the second air blower ranges from 80°C to 150°C.
KR’003 is directed to drying an electrode paste.
KR’003teaches the temperature of the air from the first air blower or the temperature of the air from the second air blower ranges from 80°C to 150°C. (See KR’003, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the temperature of the air from the first air blower or the temperature of the air from the second air blower ranges from 80°C to 150°C., because KR’003 teaches this structure may also be helpful to ensure the desired property of the paste is reached. (See KR’003, Abstract, paragraphs 39-49, and Figs. 1-4. )
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717