DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on March 28, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 1-20 are hereby examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 28, 2025 was considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: “an overhead door” “set of vertically moveable door panels” and “a track” recited in claim 1 are not illustrated in the figures. Also, “a floor threshold” recited in claim 2 is not illustrated in the figures.
FIG. 5 and 6 – “32” should be replaced with “232” and “34” should be replaced with “234”
FIGS. 7 and 8 – “32” should be replaced with “332” and “34” should be replaced with “334”
FIGS. 9 and 10 – “32” should be replaced with “432” and “34” should be replaced with “434”
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8, 10 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6, 7, 10 and 17-20 - shouldn’t “bottom door panel” recited in these claims be amended to “door panel”?
Claim 8 – for consistency, shouldn’t “protection device” be amended to “door protection device”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2949418 to Coleman et al. (hereinafter “Coleman”) in view of US 6484447 to Snyder et al. (hereinafter “Snyder”).
The apparatus of Coleman inevitably discloses a method for protecting an overhead door from damage, comprising the steps of:
installing a set of vertically moveable door panels 17 at a door opening;
coupling a first portion (first portion includes screws 14-16; see FIG. 3) of a door protection device 10 to a bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels;
wherein a second portion (below the first portion) of the door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels.
Coleman fails to disclose a track for the door panels.
Snyder teaches of a set of vertically moveable door panels 12-18 on a track 26,28.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Coleman with a track, as taught by Snyder with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate movement of the vertically moveable door panels. (claim 1)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses moving the set of vertically moveable door panels down until the second portion of the door protection device contacts a floor threshhold under the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (claim 2)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses wherein the first portion is coupled flush with the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (see FIG. 3) (claim 3)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses wherein the coupling of the door protection device to the bottom door panel is performed by: inserting one or more screws 14-16 in one or more holes in the door protection device and/or in a reinforcing plate; and attaching the one or more screws in one or more preexisting holes in the bottom door panel. (Note: the examiner has included element 19 to be part of the bottom door panel. See page 3 of Coleman) (claim 6)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses wherein the coupling of the door protection device to the bottom door panel is performed by: drilling one or more new holes in the bottom door panel; (Note: the examiner has included element 19 to be part of the bottom door panel. See page 3 of Coleman) inserting one or more screws 14-16 in a hole in the door protection device and optionally in a reinforcing plate; and attaching the one or more screws in the one or more new holes in the bottom door panel. (claim 7)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, further discloses wherein the door protection device is 0.01 to 0.25 inches in thickness. (see page 3 of Coleman) (claim 11)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2949418 to Coleman et al. (hereinafter “Coleman”) in view of Snyder, as applied to claim 1 above.
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, fails to disclose a second door protection device. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second protection device with Coleman to further protect the seal from over-compression as well as since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Furthermore, by modifying Coleman with a second protection device, Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses coupling a first portion of a second door protection device to the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels; wherein a second portion of the second door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (see FIG. 3) (claim 5)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2949418 to Coleman et al. (hereinafter “Coleman”) in view of Snyder, as applied to claim 1 above.
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, discloses the door protection device is formed of metal, but fails to disclose wherein the door protection device is made of steel.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the door protection device out of steel in order to form the device out of a durable, strong, and inexpensive material as well as since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. (claim 9)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2949418 to Coleman et al. (hereinafter “Coleman”) in view of Snyder, as applied to claim 1 above.
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the door protection device extends 0.75 to 6 inches below the bottom door panel.
On the other hand, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with parameters so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been no more than an obvious matter of engineering design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill to provide
wherein the Coleman door protection device extends 0.75 to 6 inches below the bottom door panel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to properly function as a device to prevent over-compression of the seal. (claim 10)
Claims 12, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coleman.
The apparatus of Coleman inevitably discloses a method for protecting an overhead door that includes a set of vertically moveable door panels 17, (see FIG. 2) comprising the steps of: coupling a first portion (portion that includes screws 14-16; see FIG. 3) of a door protection device 10 to a bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels, wherein a second portion (below the first portion) of the door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels; and moving the set of vertically moveable door panels down until the second portion of the door protection device contacts a floor threshold. (claim 12)
The apparatus of Coleman further discloses wherein the first portion is coupled flush with the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (see FIG. 3) (claim 15)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses wherein the coupling of the door protection device to the bottom door panel is performed by: inserting one or more screws 14-16 in one or more holes in the door protection device and/or in a reinforcing plate; and attaching the one or more screws in one or more preexisting holes in the bottom door panel. (Note: the examiner has included element 19 to be part of the bottom door panel. See page 3 of Coleman) (claim 17)
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses wherein the coupling of the door protection device to the bottom door panel is performed by: drilling one or more new holes in the bottom door panel; (Note: the examiner has included element 19 to be part of the bottom door panel. See page 3 of Coleman) inserting one or more screws 14-16 in a hole in the door protection device and optionally in a reinforcing plate; and attaching the one or more screws in the one or more new holes in the bottom door panel. (claim 18)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman, as applied to claim 12 above, in view of Snyder.
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, fails to disclose a second door protection device. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second protection device with Coleman to further protect the seal from over-compression as well as since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Furthermore, by modifying Coleman with a second protection device, Coleman, as applied above, inevitably further discloses coupling a first portion of a second door protection device to the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels; wherein a second portion of the second door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (see FIG. 3) (claim 16)
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman.
The apparatus of Coleman inevitably discloses a method for protecting an overhead door that includes a set of vertically moveable door panels 17, (see FIG. 2) comprising the steps of: coupling a first portion (portion with screws 14-16 thereon; see Fig. 3) of a door protection device 10 to a bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels, (see FIG. 3) wherein a second portion (below the first portion; see FIG. 3) of the door protection device extends from the first portion at an angle (zero angle) and beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels; ; and the steel of the door protection device is 0.01 to 0.25 inches in thickness. (see page 3 of Coleman).
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, discloses the door protection device is formed of metal, but fails to disclose wherein the door protection device is made of steel.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the door protection device out of steel in order to form the device out of a durable, strong, and inexpensive material as well as since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice.
The apparatus of Coleman, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the door protection device extends 0.75 to 6 inches below the bottom door panel.
On the other hand, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with parameters so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been no more than an obvious matter of engineering design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill to provide
wherein the Coleman door protection device extends 0.75 to 6 inches below the bottom door panel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to properly function as a device to prevent over-compression of the seal. (claim 19)
The apparatus of Coleman further discloses wherein a bottom portion of the first portion extends below the bottom door panel and is attached to the second portion. (see FIG. 3 below) (claim 20)
[AltContent: textbox (First portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Bottom portion of the first portion)][AltContent: ]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 12, 13 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3543441 to Porte.
The apparatus of Porte inevitably discloses a method for protecting an overhead door from damage, comprising the steps of:
installing a set of vertically moveable door panels (form door 13; see FIG. 1) on a track 12;
coupling a first portion (with screws 24 thereon; see FIG. 2) of a door protection device 20 to a bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels;
wherein a second portion (below the first portion) of the door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (claim 1)
The apparatus of Porte further discloses wherein the second portion extends from the first portion and is bent at a first angle from the first portion. (see FIG. 2) (claim 4)
The apparatus of Porte inevitably discloses a method for protecting an overhead door that includes a set of vertically moveable door panels 13, (see FIG. 1) comprising the steps of: coupling a first portion (portion that includes screws 24; see FIG. 2) of a door protection device 20 to a bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels, wherein a second portion (below the first portion) of the door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels; and moving the set of vertically moveable door panels down until the second portion of the door protection device contacts a floor threshold. (claim 12)
The apparatus of Porte further discloses wherein the second portion extends from the first portion and is bent at a first angle from the first portion. (see FIG. 2) (claim 13)
The apparatus of Porte further discloses wherein a third portion of the door protection device extends from the second portion and is bent or curved upwards at an angle of 90 to 60 degrees. (Note; the third portion, extends upwards at an angle of 90 to 60 degrees.) (claim 14)
[AltContent: textbox (Third portion)][AltContent: textbox (Second portion)][AltContent: textbox (First portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6484447 to Snyder et al. (hereinafter “Snyder”).
The apparatus of Snyder inevitably discloses a method for protecting an overhead door from damage, comprising the steps of:
installing a set of vertically moveable door panels 12,14,16,18 on a track 26,28;
coupling a first portion 92 of a door protection device 90 to a bottom panel 12 of the set of vertically moveable door panels;
wherein a second portion (below the first portion) of the door protection device extends beyond the bottom panel of the set of vertically moveable door panels. (claim 1)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 6662499 to Shin et al. (hereinafter “Shin”).
The apparatus of Snyder fails to inevitably disclose installation of a moveable door panel operator.
Shin inevitably discloses installation of a moveable door panel operator 12. (see Fig. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Snyder with the step of installation of a moveable door panel operator, as taught by Shin with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate movement of the vertically moveable door panels.
Furthermore, by modifying Synder with Shin, Synder, as applied above, inevitably discloses removing the protection device. (Note: when the door protection device is worn out, “removing the protection device” occurs.) (claim 8)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634