DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the amendment filed September 11, 2026.
3. Claims 1, 11-13, and 15 have been amended.
4. Claims 1-22 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed September 11, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-22, previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being under anticipated by Dao et al.
(US 2020/0112907 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schnitzler et al. (US 2022/0417799 A1). Schnitzler has been cited to teach the missing newly amended limitations of claims 1 and 15. Please see rejections set forth below.
For these reasons and the rejections set forth below, claims 1-22 remain rejected and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US 2020/0112907 A1) in view of Schnitzler et al. (US 2022/0417799 A1).
INDEPENDENT:
As per claim 1, Dao teaches a method by which a first network node provides QoS (Quality of Service) policy assistance information (see Dao, [0043]), comprising:
receiving a consumer request from a second network node (see Dao, first network node = NWDAF and second network node = PCF; Figure 6, 615, 625a, NWDAF receives a request for QoS data analytics from PCF based on a UE request for QoS information; [0043], [0257]-[0259], and [0347]);
generating QoS policy assistance information based on the received consumer request (see Dao, Figure 6, 615, 625a, 625b NWDAF generates QoS data analytics response for PCF based on the UE request for QoS information; [0257]-[0259], and [0347]]; and
providing the generated QoS policy assistance information to the second network node (see Dao, Figure 6, 615, 625a, 625b NWDAF generates QoS data analytics response for PCF based on the UE request for QoS information; [0257]-[0259], and [0347]).
Dao does not explicitly teach wherein the generated QoS policy assistance information comprises at least one candidate QoS parameter set, and predicted performance for each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set.
Schnitzler teaches wherein the generated QoS policy assistance information comprises at least one candidate QoS parameter set, and predicted performance for each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set (see Schnitzler, FIG. 6 & FIG. 7; [0140]: “According to embodiments, the (e.g., device running the) NWDAF may collect information that may be used for improving the QoE for an AF. This information may be made available to consumer NF (e.g., the PCF) which may update (e.g., policy) decisions for improving the QoE”; [0146]: “The QoS configuration may be transmitted as (e.g., a set of) WTRU(s) ID(s), wherein a set of (e.g., low level, QoS parameter) values may be associated with (each of) the WTRU(s) ID(s)”; [0147]: “According to embodiments, in a step 635, the (e.g., device running) the NWDAF may obtain (e.g., compute) the estimated QoE value that may be reachable if the received QoS configuration may be applied”; and [014]: “According to embodiments, the (e.g., device running) the NWDAF may transmit a second response message 64, including a (e.g., range of) QoE value(s) obtained (e.g., estimated) based on the received QoS configuration of WTRU(s)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Dao in view of Schnitzler so that the generated QoS policy assistance information comprises at least one candidate QoS parameter set, and predicted performance for each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set. One would be motivated to do so because such information allows the PCF to select a QoS configuration based on its expected performance, enables comparison of expected outcome before applying a configuration, and allows the system to avoid changes that are unlikely to improve services.
As per claim 15, Dao and Schnitzler teach a method by which a second network node obtains QoS policy assistance information, comprising:
sending a consumer request to a first network node to obtain QoS policy assistance information; and
receiving QoS policy assistance information from the first network node,
wherein the QoS policy assistance information comprises at least one candidate QoS parameter set, and predicted performance for each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set (see Claim 1 rejection above).
DEPENDENT:
As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein generating the QoS policy assistance information comprises: collecting information based on the received consumer request; and generating the QoS policy assistance information based on the collected information (see Dao, Figure 6, 625a and 625b; [0257]-[0259], and [0347]; The PCF 205, at operation 625a, may send a request to the NWDAF 105 for Network QoS Data Analytics information. The request sent by the PCF 205 may include one or more of Data Analytics Request ID, UE Route Information, indication to request the network to find alternative route, Application QoS Level(s), PDU Session Context information, and PQCNC).
As per claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein the first network node comprises a NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) of a mobile communication system (see Dao, Figure 6, 105 NWDAF).
As per claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein the second network node comprises a PCF (Policy Control Function) of a mobile communication system (see Dao, Figure 6, 205, PCF).
As per claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein receiving the consumer request comprises receiving, from the second network node, input information necessary to obtain the QoS policy assistance information (see Dao, Figure 6, 625a and 625b; [0257]-[0259], and [0347]; The PCF 205, at operation 625a, may send a request to the NWDAF 105 for Network QoS Data Analytics information. The request sent by the PCF 205 may include one or more of Data Analytics Request ID, UE Route Information, indication to request the network to find alternative route, Application QoS Level(s), PDU Session Context information, and PQCNC).
As per claim 6, which depends on claim 2, Dao further teaches wherein the collected information comprises at least one of data collected from a data source of a mobile communication system or analytics information collected from an NWDAF of the mobile communication system (see Dao, Figure 6, 625a and 625b; [0257]-[0259], and [0347], in particular [0259] for analytics information collected from an NWDAF).
As per claim 7, which depends on claim 6, Dao further teaches wherein the data source comprises at least one of other network functions, an AF (Application Function), or an OAM (Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (see Dao, Figure 8, [0020], [0043], [0434] describes obtaining from AF a current location of the UE; and [0305] for OAM/NMF).
As per claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Dao further teaches wherein: the other network functions comprise at least one of an SMF (Session Management Function), an AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function), or a UPF (User Plane Function) (see Dao, Figure 6); and the collected information comprises at least one of Timestamp, UE ID (identifier), UE Location, DNN (Data Network Name), S-NSSAI, Application ID, IP filter information, QFI (QoS Flow Identifier), 5QI, or QoS characteristic attributes (see Dao, [0252]-[0259] for UE ID, location, DNN, application ID, QoS information, [0323]-[0325] for timestamp, S-NSSAI, IP address, QFI, 5QI, QoS parameters).
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 8, Dao further teaches wherein the collected information further comprises at least one of MFBR (Maximum Flow Bit Rate), GFBR (Guaranteed Flow Bit Rate), AMBR (Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate), or MPLR (Maximum Packet Loss Rate) (see Dao, [0365] for QoS parameters to be monitored: measured flow bit rate of QoS flows (e.g. UL and/or DL GFBR of GBR QoS flow, UL and/or DL maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) of QoS flow), measured Aggregate Bit Rates (e.g. UL and/or DL per Session Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (Session-AMBR), UL and DL per UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR), measured Packet Loss Rate).
As per claim 10, which depends on claim 6, Dao further teaches wherein the collected analytics information comprises at least one of Observed Service Experience Analytics, QoS Sustainability Analytics, or Network Performance Analytics (see Dao, [0322]-[0325] for Observed QoS experience reported by the UE, network performance, sustainable QoS/duration).
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein the generated QoS policy assistance information comprises at least one of UE ID, IP filter information, Analytics filter Information, at least one candidate QoS parameter set, or predicted performance for each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set (see Dao, [0259], [0344] for UE ID, QoS parameter recommendation, [0348]).
As per claim 12, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein each of t0he at least one candidate QoS parameter set comprises a predefined 5QI value or QoS characteristics attributes constituting 5QI (see Dao, see [0054] for requested QoS parameters; [0259] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics).
As per claim 13, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set further comprises at least one of MFBR, MBR (Maximum Bit Rate), GFBR, GBR (Guaranteed Bit Rate), AMBR, or MPLR (see Dao, [0259] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics; see also [0365] for QoS parameters to be monitored: measured flow bit rate of QoS flows (e.g. UL and/or DL GFBR of GBR QoS flow, UL and/or DL maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) of QoS flow), measured Aggregate Bit Rates (e.g. UL and/or DL per Session Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (Session-AMBR), UL and DL per UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR), measured Packet Loss Rate).
As per claim 14, which depends on claim 1, Dao further teaches wherein: receiving the consumer request comprises receiving a reference value of a service experience KPI (see Dao, [0258] for application QoS levels; [0021] for QoS experience report from UE and Par. [0322], [0347]; [0054] receiving reference values current and/or future values of QoS parameters required by the application (e.g. MFBR, GFBR, PDB, MDBV, Session-AMBR (Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate)]; and generating the QoS policy assistance information comprises deriving QoS parameter combinations predicted to achieve at least the reference value of the service experience KPI from among available QoS parameter combinations, [0259] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics; [0344] and [0348] compute a new value of a QoS or mobility management parameter, and send the new value of the QoS or mobility management parameter to a CN function that subscribes to get the notification).
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 15, Dao further teaches wherein: the second network node comprises a PCF of a mobile communication system, and the method further comprises updating a PCC (Policy and Charging Control) rule based on the received QoS policy assistance information (see Dao, Figure 6 for PCF, [0075] describes the PCC link for QoS information sent to UE])
As per claim 17, which depends on claim 15, Dao further teaches wherein: the first network node comprises a NWDAF of a mobile communication system, and sending the consumer request comprises invoking a service operation for analytics subscription or analytics information request provided by the NWDAF (see Dao, Figure 3 shows UE/AF subscription to NWDAF for QoS information; Figure 6 for NWDAF as second node and analytics request/response).
As per claim 18, which depends on claim 17, Dao further teaches wherein invoking the service operation comprises: invoking the service operation with at least one of Analytics ID, at least one QoS parameter set, a list of candidate values for individual QoS parameters, analytics filter information, Analytics target period, or Target of Analytics Reporting (see Dao, [0054] for requested QoS parameter values required by the application; [0258]-[0259] analytics ID and other information).
As per claim 19, which depends on claim 18, Dao further teaches wherein the Analytics ID is QoS Policy Assistance Information or QoS and Policy Assistance (see Dao, [0258] for analytics ID)
As per claim 20, which depends on claim 18, Dao further teaches wherein invoking the service operation comprises: invoking the service operation further with at least one of a service experience KPI, a reference value of the service experience KPI, a preferred order of results, a maximum number of objects, or a preferred level of accuracy of the analytics (see Dao, Par. [0258] for application QoS levels; [0021] for QoS experience report from UE and [0322], [0347]; [0054] for QoS parameter values required by the application in the request).
As per claim 21, which depends on claim 20, Dao further teaches wherein the reference value of the service experience KPI is expressed as at least one of a requested QoE, Thresholds for service experience KPI, or a target service experience (see Dao, [0258] for Application QoS levels in the request; [0015] describes using predetermined critical QoS thresholds; [0053]-[0054] describes threshold levels for QoS parameters required by the application and requested (reference values)).
As per claim 22, which depends on claim 18, Dao further teaches wherein each of the at least one QoS parameter set comprises a predefined 5QI value or QoS characteristics attributes constituting 5QI (see Dao, [0054] for requested QoS parameter values required by the application; [0259] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics).
Conclusion
8. For the reasons above, claims 1-22 have been rejected and remain pending.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Won/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443