DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dao et al. (US 2020/0112907 A1, hereinafter Dao).
Regarding claim 1, Dao teaches a method by which a first network node provides QoS (Quality of Service) policy assistance information, [see Par.[0043]], comprising:
receiving a consumer request from a second network node, [first network node = NWDAF and second network node = PCF; Figure 6, 615, 625a, NWDAF receives a request for QoS data analytics from PCF based on a UE request for QoS information; see Par.[0347], [0257]-[0259]; see par.[0043]];
generating QoS policy assistance information based on the received consumer request, [Figure 6, 615, 625a, 625b NWDAF generates QoS data analytics response for PCF based on the UE request for QoS information; see Par.[0347], [0257]-[0259]]; and
providing the generated QoS policy assistance information to the second network node, [Figure 6, 615, 625a, 625b NWDAF generates QoS data analytics response for PCF based on the UE request for QoS information; see Par.[0347], [0257]-[0259]].
Regarding claim 2, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the QoS policy assistance information comprises: collecting information based on the received consumer request; and generating the QoS policy assistance information based on the collected information, [Figure 6, 625a and 625b; Par.[0347], [0257]-[0259]; The PCF 205, at operation 625a, may send a request to the NWDAF 105 for Network QoS Data Analytics information. The request sent by the PCF 205 may include one or more of Data Analytics Request ID, UE Route Information, indication to request the network to find alternative route, Application QoS Level(s), PDU Session Context information, and PQCNC].
Regarding claim 3, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first network node comprises a NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) of a mobile communication system, [Figure 6, 105 NWDAF].
Regarding claim 4, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second network node comprises a PCF (Policy Control Function) of a mobile communication system, [Figure 6, 205, PCF].
Regarding claim 5, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the consumer request comprises receiving, from the second network node, input information necessary to obtain the QoS policy assistance information, [Figure 6, 625a and 625b; Par.[0347], [0257]-[0259]; The PCF 205, at operation 625a, may send a request to the NWDAF 105 for Network QoS Data Analytics information. The request sent by the PCF 205 may include one or more of Data Analytics Request ID, UE Route Information, indication to request the network to find alternative route, Application QoS Level(s), PDU Session Context information, and PQCNC].
Regarding claim 6, Dao teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the collected information comprises at least one of data collected from a data source of a mobile communication system or analytics information collected from an NWDAF of the mobile communication system, [claim is ambiguous in not reciting what data is collected from which data source; Figure 6, 625a and 625b; Par.[0347], [0257]-[0259], in particular Par.[0259] for analytics information collected from an NWDAF].
Regarding claim 7, Dao teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the data source comprises at least one of other network functions, an AF (Application Function), or an OAM (Operations, Administration, and Maintenance), [Par.[0020], [0043], Par.[0434] describes obtaining from AF a current location of the UE; see also Figure 8 and Par.[0305] for OAM/NMF].
Regarding claim 8, Dao teaches the method of claim 7, wherein: the other network functions comprise at least one of an SMF (Session Management Function), an AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function), or a UPF (User Plane Function), [see Figure 6]; and
the collected information comprises at least one of Timestamp, UE ID (identifier), UE Location, DNN (Data Network Name), S-NSSAI, Application ID, IP filter information, QFI (QoS Flow Identifier), 5QI, or QoS characteristic attributes, [Par.[0252]-[0259] for UE ID, location, DNN, application ID, QoS information…; see Par.[0323]-[0325] for timestamp, S-NSSAI, IP address, QFI, 5QI, QoS parameters].
Regarding claim 9, Dao teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the collected information further comprises at least one of MFBR (Maximum Flow Bit Rate), GFBR (Guaranteed Flow Bit Rate), AMBR (Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate), or MPLR (Maximum Packet Loss Rate), [see Par.[0365] for QoS parameters to be monitored: measured flow bit rate of QoS flows (e.g. UL and/or DL GFBR of GBR QoS flow, UL and/or DL maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) of QoS flow), measured Aggregate Bit Rates (e.g. UL and/or DL per Session Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (Session-AMBR), UL and DL per UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR), measured Packet Loss Rate].
Regarding claim 10, Dao teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the collected analytics information comprises at least one of Observed Service Experience Analytics, QoS Sustainability Analytics, or Network Performance Analytics, [Par.[0322]-[0325] for Observed QoS experience reported by the UE, network performance, sustainable QoS/duration].
Regarding claim 11, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the generated QoS policy assistance information comprises at least one of UE ID, IP filter information, Analytics filter Information, at least one candidate QoS parameter set, or predicted performance for each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set, [Par.[0259], [0344] for UE ID, QoS parameter recommendation, see Par.[0348]].
Regarding claim 12, Dao teaches the method of claim 11, wherein each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set comprises a predefined 5QI value or QoS characteristics attributes constituting 5QI, [Par.[0259]] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics; see Par.[0054] for requested QoS parameters].
Regarding claim 13, Dao teaches the method of claim 12, wherein each of the at least one candidate QoS parameter set further comprises at least one of MFBR, MBR (Maximum Bit Rate), GFBR, GBR (Guaranteed Bit Rate), AMBR, or MPLR, [Par.[0259] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics; see also Par.[0365] for QoS parameters to be monitored: measured flow bit rate of QoS flows (e.g. UL and/or DL GFBR of GBR QoS flow, UL and/or DL maximum flow bit rate (MFBR) of QoS flow), measured Aggregate Bit Rates (e.g. UL and/or DL per Session Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (Session-AMBR), UL and DL per UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR), measured Packet Loss Rate].
Regarding claim 14, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: receiving the consumer request comprises receiving a reference value of a service experience KPI, [Par.[0258] for application QoS levels; Par.[0021] for QoS experience report from UE and Par.[0322], [0347]; Par.[0054] receiving reference values current and/or future values of QoS parameters required by the application (e.g. MFBR, GFBR, PDB, MDBV, Session-AMBR (Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate)];and
generating the QoS policy assistance information comprises deriving QoS parameter combinations predicted to achieve at least the reference value of the service experience KPI from among available QoS parameter combinations, [Par.[0259] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics; Par.[0344] and [0348] compute a new value of a QoS or mobility management parameter, and send the new value of the QoS or mobility management parameter to a CN function that subscribes to get the notification].
Claim 15 recites limitations related to the second network node = PCF and rejected as above, [Figure 6, 625a and 625b].
Regarding claim 16, Dao teaches the method of claim 15, wherein: the second network node comprises a PCF of a mobile communication system, and the method further comprises updating a PCC (Policy and Charging Control) rule based on the received QoS policy assistance information, [See Figure 6 for PCF, Par.[075] describes the PCC link for QoS information sent to UE].
Regarding claim 17, Dao teaches the method of claim 15, wherein: the first network node comprises a NWDAF of a mobile communication system, and sending the consumer request comprises invoking a service operation for analytics subscription or analytics information request provided by the NWDAF, [Figure 6 for NWDAF as second node and analytics request/response; Figure 3 shows UE/AF subscription to NWDAF for QoS information].
Regarding claim 18, Dao teaches the method of claim 17, wherein invoking the service operation comprises: invoking the service operation with at least one of Analytics ID, at least one QoS parameter set, a list of candidate values for individual QoS parameters, analytics filter information, Analytics target period, or Target of Analytics Reporting, [claim recited in the alternative; see Par.[0258]-[0259] analytics ID and other information; see Par.[0054] for requested QoS parameter values required by the application].
Regarding claim 19, Dao teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the Analytics ID is QoS Policy Assistance Information or QoS and Policy Assistance, [See Par.[0258] for analytics ID].
Regarding claim 20, Dao teaches the method of claim 18, wherein invoking the service operation comprises: invoking the service operation further with at least one of a service experience KPI, a reference value of the service experience KPI, a preferred order of results, a maximum number of objects, or a preferred level of accuracy of the analytics, [Par.[0258] for application QoS levels; Par.[0021] for QoS experience report from UE and Par.[0322], [0347]; Par.[0054] for QoS parameter values required by the application in the request].
Regarding claim 21, Dao teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the reference value of the service experience KPI is expressed as at least one of a requested QoE, Thresholds for service experience KPI, or a target service experience, [Par.[0258] for Application QoS levels in the request; Par.[0015] describes using predetermined critical QoS thresholds; Par.[0053]-[0054] describes threshold levels for QoS parameters required by the application and requested (reference values)].
Regarding claim 22, Dao teaches the method of claim 18, wherein each of the at least one QoS parameter set comprises a predefined 5QI value or QoS characteristics attributes constituting 5QI, [Par.[0259]] example higher GFBR from NWDAF analytics; see Par.[0054] for requested QoS parameter values required by the application].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230261996 A1: Figure 6A and [0079] In some scenarios, the QoE data may also be obtained from interaction of the NWDAF 230 with other nodes of the wireless communication network utilizing causal inference analytics. Examples of corresponding processes are illustrated in FIGS. 6A and 6B. In these processes, the NWDAF 230 may implement a service denoted as “QoE management service” to provide QoE management recommendations to PCF 250. The PCF 250 can subscribe to the QoE management service on a per UE basis, e.g., at PDU session establishment, when providing the QoS rules that are to be enforced for each UE, and the target QoE value that shall be achieved. The PCF 250 can also use the QoE management service provided by the NWDAF 230 to update the QoS rules and/or the target QoE when dynamically provisioning PCC (Policy and Charging Control) rules. The NWDAF 230 can request the PCF 250 to trigger causal inference experiments to test certain QoS rules and analyze the impact on the QoE. The QoS statistics and estimated QoE values may then be used to determine suitable QoS rules which enable achieving the target QoE, e.g., using the above procedures for determining the optimized 5QI. The NWDAF 230 may then recommend or otherwise indicate the optimized 5QI corresponding to the determined QoS rules to the PCF 250. In some scenarios, the PCF 250 may also request such QoE management recommendations using a request/response type interaction with the NWDAF 230.
US 20230261996 A1: PCF and NWDAF interaction.
/PADMA MUNDUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443