DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 27 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima et al. (US 2006/0011249 hereinafter "Arima").
In regards to claims 1 and 6, Arima discloses a connection for a fluid, comprising:
a hose (12), in which configured for having a fluid is intended to flow therein,
comprising: an outer layer (20) of polymeric material (see paragraph [0074]), an inner layer (16)
of polymeric material (see paragraph [0072]),
a connector (14), in which configured for having a fluid is intended to flow therein, and
which is in fluidic communication with the hose; wherein the hose is mounted around a male
portion (22) of the connector,
a ring (24), mounted around the hose at the male portion of the connector; wherein the
ring, when mounted around the hose at the male portion, is deformed and exerts compression on
the hose because of such deformation (shown in fig. 2),
wherein the hose further comprises and at least one intermediate layer (18), interposed
between the outer and inner layers, made from net, mesh, braid, spiral-wrapped wire, textile
fibres, fabric, or non-woven fabric (see paragraph [0071]),
wherein a length of the ring is at least three times the thickness of the ring (shown clearly in fig. 2) and
wherein the ring is the only device for compressing the hose onto the male portion of the connector (shown in fig. 2).
Arima does not expressly disclose the ring being made of polymeric material that is more
rigid than that of the inner or outer layer, but rather is silent to the material of the ring. It would
have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to
modify Arima by making the ring from PTFE due to its strength, temperature resistance, etc., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known
material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design
choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 2, Arima further discloses the ring has a continuous circular profile
(shown in fig. 1A).
In regards to claim 4, Arima further discloses the outer and inner layers comprise
thermoplastic elastomer or thermosetting elastomer (see paragraphs [0072] and [0074]).
In regards to claim 5, Arima further discloses the intermediate layer comprises aramid
fibre, PA, or PET (see paragraph [0071]).
In regards to claim 7, Arima further discloses the ring has a cylindrical shape (shown in
fig. 1a).
In regards to claim 8, at the onset it is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with
respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not
differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches
all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. &
Inter. 1987). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation "vehicle" is a nominal recitation of the intended
manner of operation of the system, and does not add any further structure than the "connection".
Therefore, little patentable weight is given to "vehicle".
Arima discloses a vehicle (see paragraph [0001]) comprising the connection (1)
according to claim 1 (see above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the amended language, see the rejection above which shows how these limitations are disclosed by Arima. It is noted that apparatus claims are only examined at one instant of time, and the use of additional tools during the connection process is of no consequence to the claim as after connection, the ring is the only device present compressing the hose onto the connector.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
09/11/2026