Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, US PGPUB 20200326752 in view of Tanaka et al., US PGPUB 20020093473 hereinafter referenced as Tanaka.
As to claim 1, Jung discloses an electronic device comprising: at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; display driver circuitry including a graphic random access memory (GRAM) ([0132] In an exemplary embodiment, the sum SUM calculated from the partial display mode (i.e., the second display mode MODE2 or the third display mode MODE3) may be stored and updated for each of the first and second display areas AA1 and AA2 in a separate memory device, for example); and
a display panel, wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to: change an image stored in the GRAM from a first image to a second image, the first image being provided from the at least one processor in a first time interval in response to a synchronization signal from the display driver circuitry and the second image being provided from the at least one processor in a second time interval subsequent to the first time interval in response to the synchronization signal ([0076] he timing controller 280 may convert input image data (e.g., the first image data DATA1) provided from the processor 300, and provide converted image data DATA1′ to the data driver 260);
on a condition that a time length between a start timing of a last scanning of the first image stored in the GRAM executed in the first time interval and a start timing of an initial scanning of the second image stored in the GRAM is longer than or equal to a reference length, display, on the display panel, the second image, based on executing multiple scans of the second image stored in the GRAM in the second time interval ([0190] the determinator 222 may change a setting value of the area selection signal SEL to another setting value when the change value DIFF exceeds the second reference value (e.g., determine whether the second image data DATA2 having the same pattern continues for a predetermined time or longer)).
Jung does not specifically disclose on a condition that the time length is shorter than the reference length, display, on the display panel, the second image, based on executing a single scan of the second image stored in the GRAM in the second time interval.
However, in the same endeavor, Tanaka discloses on a condition that the time length is shorter than the reference length, display, on the display panel, the second image, based on executing a single scan of the second image stored in the GRAM in the second time interval ([0030] Therefore, the screen is scanned only once in a normal situation, that is, when there is no change in an image to be displayed, and the screen scan is repeated twice or more and only when the display is switched, that is, when there has been a change in an image to be displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Jung to further include Tanaka’s scanning method, in order to reduce the power consumption of the device.
As to claim 15, Jung discloses an electronic device comprising: at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; display driver circuitry including a graphic random access memory (GRAM) ([0132] In an exemplary embodiment, the sum SUM calculated from the partial display mode (i.e., the second display mode MODE2 or the third display mode MODE3) may be stored and updated for each of the first and second display areas AA1 and AA2 in a separate memory device, for example); and
a display panel, wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to: change an image stored in the GRAM, from a first image to a second image ([0076] he timing controller 280 may convert input image data (e.g., the first image data DATA1) provided from the processor 300, and provide converted image data DATA1′ to the data driver 260),
the first image being provided from the at least one processor in a first time interval in response to a synchronization signal from the display driver circuitry and the second image being provided from the at least one processor in a second time interval subsequent to the first time interval in response to the synchronization signal ([0147] since the first display area AA1 exceeds the first reference value to be relatively more degraded in the first interval between the first time T1 and the second time T2, the first reference value in the second interval between the third time T3 and the fourth time T4 may become greater so as to match the degree of degradation of the second display area AA2 with the degree of degradation of the first display area AA1);
on a condition that a single scan of the first image stored in the GRAM is executed within the first time interval for displaying of the first image, display, on the display panel, the second image, based on executing multiple scans of the second image stored in the GRAM within the second time interval ([0187] In an exemplary embodiment, in the method of FIG. 12, when the display panel 100 is in an unfolded state, the display device 1000 may be driven in the full display mode (i.e., the first display mode) and generate the first image data DATA1 (i.e., an input image data corresponding to the first and second display areas AA1 and AA2 of the display panel 100) through the processor 300, for example); and
on a condition that multiple scans of the first image stored in the GRAM are executed within the first time interval for displaying of the first image, display, on the display panel, the second image, based on executing a single scan of the second image stored in the GRAM within the second time interval ([0080] In this case, the data driver 260 may generate the data signal DS corresponding to the second display area AA2 based on the converted second image data DATA2′, and the display panel 100 may display an image corresponding to the converted second image data DATA2′ in the second display area AA2. The data driver 260 may block an output corresponding to the first display area AA1).
Jung does not specifically disclose single scanning and multi scanning methods.
However, in the same endeavor Tanaka discloses single scanning and multi scanning methods ([0030] Therefore, the screen is scanned only once in a normal situation, that is, when there is no change in an image to be displayed, and the screen scan is repeated twice or more and only when the display is switched, that is, when there has been a change in an image to be displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Jung to further include Tanaka’s scanning method, in order to reduce the power consumption of the device.
As to claim 2, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the display panel includes sub-pixels each including a light emitting diode (LED) and a transistor for providing a current to the LED, wherein the multiple scans include a first scan and a second scan subsequent to the first scan, and wherein, on the condition that the time length is longer than or equal to the reference length, the second image is displayed based on applying a data voltage to a gate electrode of the transistor in accordance with the first scan and applying again the data voltage to the gate electrode of the transistor in accordance with the second scan, in the second time interval (Jung, [0057] In an exemplary embodiment, the display panel 100 may be a flexible organic light emitting display panel including a flexible substrate, a plurality of pixels (e.g., a pixel including a light emitting element and a pixel driving circuit) provided on the flexible substrate, and a flexible thin film encapsulation sealing the pixels).
As to claim 3, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 2. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is configured to: initialize the gate electrode before the data voltage is applied in accordance with the first scan, and initialize the gate electrode again before the data voltage is applied again in accordance with the second scan (Jung, [0074] In an exemplary embodiment, the scan control signal SCS may include a gate start pulse and a gate shift clock).
As to claim 4, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 2. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is configured to: on the condition that the time length is shorter than the reference length, further based on providing, via the transistor, to the LED, the current before the gate electrode to which the data voltage is applied in accordance with the single scan is initialized, display the second image (Tanaka, [0020] the response can be completed in a period shorter than a repetition interval composed of two or more scanning periods and an idle period).
As to claim 5, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is configured to: on a condition that a frames per second (FPS) of a content provided through displaying of the first image and the second image is less than or equal to a reference value and the time length is longer than or equal to the reference length, display the second image, based on executing the multiple scans; and on a condition that the FPS is less than or equal to the reference value and the time length is shorter than the reference length, display the second image, based on executing the single scan (Jung, [0017] In an exemplary embodiment of the invention, the area selector may adjust the first reference value based on the accumulated data when entering or exiting the second mode, and the first reference value is larger as the accumulated data is larger).
As to claim 6, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 5. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is further configured to: on a condition that the FPS is greater than the reference value, independently of a relation between the time length and the reference length, display the second image, based on executing the single scan (Tanaka, [0162] With the liquid crystal display 1, the GSP converting circuit 7 is controlled in accordance with a result of the detection by the motion detection switching section 8 to switch between a single scanning period T1 or multiple scanning periods T1).
As to claim 7, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses a content provided through displaying of the first image and the second image includes a high contrast area only having black color and white color (Tanaka, [0092] Therefore, discussed below is a driving method of the display apparatus free from such problem, explaining, by way of example, a case where the display on the LCD 1 of the liquid crystal panel 2 is switched over from a white display to the black display).
As to claim 8, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses a content provided through displaying of the first image and the second image includes a visual object having a shape changed in accordance with changing of image that comprises changing from the first image to the second image, and wherein a position of the visual object is maintained independently of the changing of image (Jung, 0026] An exemplary embodiment of a display device and a driving method thereof may alternately select the display areas based on usage information (e.g., a total size or a degree of change of image data, whether or not image data is used in a previous partial display mode) of the display areas of the display panel upon entry into the partial display mode).
As to claim 9, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the reference length is identified based on an illuminance around the electronic device (Jung, [0098] In an exemplary embodiment, the indicator 500 may be implemented as lamps disposed adjacent to each of the first and second display areas AA1 and AA2 and the lamp adjacent to the valid display area may periodically emit light based on the area selection signal SEL provided from the selector 220, for example).
As to claim 10, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the reference length corresponds to a frames per second (FPS) of a content provided through displaying of the first image and the second image (Jung, [0117] The calculator 221 may calculate the second image data DATA2 (or frame data) provided sequentially over time).
As to claim 11, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is further configured to: change the image stored in the GRAM from the second image to a third image provided from the at least one processor in a third time interval subsequent to the second time interval; on a condition that the time length is longer than or equal to the reference length corresponding to a frames per second (FPS) of a content provided through displaying of the first image, the second image, and the third image, display, on the display panel, the third image, based on executing a single scan of the third image stored in the GRAM in the third time interval; and on a condition that the time length is shorter than the reference length, display, on the display panel, the third image, based on executing multiple scans of the third image stored in the GRAM in the third time interval (Jung, [0130] In an exemplary embodiment, the calculator 221 may calculate the sum SUM of the second image data DATA2 while the display device 1000 is operating in the second display mode MODE2 or the third display mode MODE3, i.e., in a first interval between the first time T1 and the second time T2).
As to claim 12, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the time length is identified through a 30 cycle of a vertical synchronization signal (Jung, [0091] However, as shown in FIG. 5, a period of rewriting the picture becomes longer, when the scanning period T1 and the idle period T2, during which all the scanning signal lines 31 are in a non-scanning state (that is, all the scanning signal lines 31 are not subjected to the scanning), and which is longer than the scanning period T1, are repeated every vertical cycle).
As to claim 13, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses information regarding the reference length is provided from the at least one processor (Jung, [0183] It is therefore preferable if the rewrite cycle {circle over (2)} is more than a predetermined value (here, 16.7 msec) which is determined in accordance with charging characteristics of individual display devices).
As to claim 14, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 13. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is configured to: compare the reference length with the time length; in response to the time length being longer than or equal to the reference length, display the second image, based on executing the multiple scans in the second time interval; and in response to the time length shorter than the reference length, display the second image, based on executing the single scan in the second time interval (Jung, [0080] In this case, the data driver 260 may generate the data signal DS corresponding to the second display area AA2 based on the converted second image data DATA2′, and the display panel 100 may display an image corresponding to the converted second image data DATA2′ in the second display area AA2. The data driver 260 may block an output corresponding to the first display area AA1).
As to claim 16, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is configured to: change the image stored in the GRAM from the second image to a third image provided from the at least one processor within a third time interval subsequent to the second time interval; on a condition that the multiple scans of the second image stored in the GRAM are executed within the second time interval, display, on the display panel, the third image, based on executing a single scan of the third image stored in the GRAM within the third time interval; and on a condition that the single scan of the second image stored in the GRAM is executed within the second time interval, display, on the display panel, the third image, based on executing multiple scans of the third image stored in the GRAM within the third time interval (Jung, [0130] In an exemplary embodiment, the calculator 221 may calculate the sum SUM of the second image data DATA2 while the display device 1000 is operating in the second display mode MODE2 or the third display mode MODE3, i.e., in a first interval between the first time T1 and the second time T2).
As to claim 17, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses based on a length of the first time interval is equal to a length of the second time interval the display driver circuitry is configured to, based at least in part on a reference length being equal to the length of the first time interval, indicated by information obtained from the at least one processor, execute the multiple scans of the second image or execute the single scan of the second image (Tanaka, [0162] With the liquid crystal display 1, the GSP converting circuit 7 is controlled in accordance with a result of the detection by the motion detection switching section 8 to switch between a single scanning period T1 or multiple scanning periods T1).
As to claim 18, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 17. The combination further discloses the display driver circuitry is configured to: based on identifying that a time length between a start timing of a last scanning from among the multiple scans of the first image and an end timing of the first time interval is shorter than the reference length, execute the single scan of the second image; and based on identifying that a time length between a start timing of the single scan of the first image and the end timing of the first time interval is equal to the reference length, execute the multiple scans of the second image (Jung, [0080] In this case, the data driver 260 may generate the data signal DS corresponding to the second display area AA2 based on the converted second image data DATA2′, and the display panel 100 may display an image corresponding to the converted second image data DATA2′ in the second display area AA2. The data driver 260 may block an output corresponding to the first display area AA1).
As to claim 19, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses each of the multiple scans of the first image and the multiple scans of the second image may be executed further based on an illuminance around the electronic device being lower than a reference illuminance (Jung, [0098] In an exemplary embodiment, the indicator 500 may be implemented as lamps disposed adjacent to each of the first and second display areas AA1 and AA2 and the lamp adjacent to the valid display area may periodically emit light based on the area selection signal SEL provided from the selector 220, for example).
As to claim 20, the combination of Jung and Tanaka discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses light emitting diodes (LEDs), wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to: based on executing the single scan of the first image and multiple light emissions of at least some of the LEDs within the first time interval, display, on the display panel, the first image; and based on executing the single scan of the second image and multiple light emissions of at least some of the LEDs within the second time interval, display, on the display panel, the second image (Jung, [0057] In an exemplary embodiment, the display panel 100 may be a flexible organic light emitting display panel including a flexible substrate, a plurality of pixels (e.g., a pixel including a light emitting element and a pixel driving circuit) provided on the flexible substrate, and a flexible thin film encapsulation sealing the pixels).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim, US PGPUB 20040090435 disclosed a flat panel display and a drive method thereof. The flat panel display comprises a flat panel including a signal wire arrangement for transmitting image drive signals to pixels, a row signal wire arrangement for transmitting scanning signals, and a column signal wire arrangement for transmitting image signals; a master drive output unit, the master drive output unit generating output signals for driving pixels and supplying the output signals to a corresponding signal wire arrangement; and an slave drive unit, the slave drive unit supplying compensation signals to the signal wire arrangement before the output signals of the master drive output unit are charged to thereby enable the easy charging of the output signals of the master drive output unit. The drive method comprises the steps of supplying and charging compensation signals by the slave drive unit, the compensation signals being supplied to a corresponding signal wire arrangement before the output signals of the master drive output unit are charged to thereby enable the easy charging of the output signals of the master drive output unit; and supplying output signals for the driving of pixels by the master drive output unit following the supply of the compensation signals.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
12/12/2025
/WILLIAM BODDIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625