DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. CN 202211214639.0, filed on 09/30/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: lack of terminology consistency
Claim 3, line 2, recites “a first message comprises” and should be changed to -- [[a]] the first message comprises --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 3, line 4, recites “a second message comprises” and should be changed to -- [[a]] the second message comprises --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Thomasson et al. (2020/0044940, hereinafter Thomasson).
Regarding claim 1, Thomasson discloses a communication method, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a first node, network topology configuration information (Thomasson discloses that the management server may retrieve (obtain) network configuration information from neighboring nodes or from a set of discovered nodes defined by the discovery parameters) (Thomasson, para. 34), wherein the network topology configuration information comprises a node identity, a node type, and network topology information (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37);
receiving, by the first node, a first message, wherein the first message comprises a node identity of a second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers (node identity) for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98);
obtaining, by the first node, network configuration information of the second node based on the network topology configuration information (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98); and
sending, by the first node, a second message, wherein the second message comprises the network configuration information of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying one or more network routes between the first node and the plurality of nodes) (Thomasson, para. 100),
wherein the network configuration information of the second node indicates:
a node type of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37);
an adjacent node of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37); and
a node type of the adjacent node of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37).
Regarding claim 2, Thomasson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second node and the adjacent node of the second node are of different node types (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters for discovering configuration information for the plurality of nodes in the network includes device type information identifying specific types of nodes or specify types (different) of nodes based upon their functions) (Thomasson, para. 44).
Regarding claim 3, Thomasson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by the first node, a first message comprises:
receiving, by the first node, the first message from the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received and specifically defines new parameters such as, a new starting node, new maximum hop count, and/or updated device types and roles for discovered nodes) (Thomasson, para. 60); and
the sending, by the first node, a second message comprises:
sending, by the first node, the second message to the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received, which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included) (Thomasson, para. 60).
Regarding claim 4, Thomasson discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
before receiving the first message, sending, by the first node, a broadcast message, wherein the broadcast message indicates that the first node has a network topology configuration capability (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received (broadcast message), which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included and identified) (Thomasson, para. 60).
Regarding claim 5, Thomasson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by the first node, a first message comprises:
receiving, by the first node, the first message from the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received and specifically defines new parameters such as, a new starting node, new maximum hop count, and/or updated device types and roles for discovered nodes) (Thomasson, para. 60) by using a routing node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters include device type information identifying specific types of nodes, such as routers, switches, servers, or any other specific network device or specify that only core routers (routing node) to be discovered and used to route traffic) (Thomasson, para. 44); and
the sending, by the first node, a second message comprises:
sending, by the first node, the second message to the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received, which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included) (Thomasson, para. 60) by using the routing node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters include device type information identifying specific types of nodes, such as routers, switches, servers, or any other specific network device or specify that only core routers (routing node) to be discovered and used to route traffic) (Thomasson, para. 44).
Regarding claim 7, Thomasson discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one processor (Thomasson, para. 60), wherein when the at least one processor invokes a computer program or instructions in a memory (Thomasson, para. 60), the apparatus implements operations comprising:
obtaining, network topology configuration information (Thomasson discloses that the management server may retrieve (obtain) network configuration information from neighboring nodes or from a set of discovered nodes defined by the discovery parameters) (Thomasson, para. 34), wherein the network topology configuration information comprises a node identity, a node type, and network topology information (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37);
receiving, a first message, wherein the first message comprises a node identity of a second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers (node identity) for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98);
obtaining, network configuration information of the second node based on the network topology configuration information (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98); and
sending, a second message, wherein the second message comprises the network configuration information of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying one or more network routes between the first node and the plurality of nodes) (Thomasson, para. 100),
wherein the network configuration information of the second node indicates:
a node type of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37);
an adjacent node of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37); and
a node type of the adjacent node of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37).
Regarding claim 8, Thomasson discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the second node and the adjacent node of the second node are of different node types (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters for discovering configuration information for the plurality of nodes in the network includes device type information identifying specific types of nodes or specify types (different) of nodes based upon their functions) (Thomasson, para. 44).
Regarding claim 9, Thomasson discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein when the at least one processor invokes the computer program or the instructions, the apparatus implements operations comprising:
receiving, the first message from the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received and specifically defines new parameters such as, a new starting node, new maximum hop count, and/or updated device types and roles for discovered nodes) (Thomasson, para. 60); and
sending, the second message to the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received, which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included) (Thomasson, para. 60).
Regarding claim 10, Thomasson discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein when the at least one processor invokes the computer program or the instructions, the apparatus implements operations further comprising:
sending a broadcast message, wherein the broadcast message indicates that the apparatus has a network topology configuration capability (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received (broadcast message), which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included and identified) (Thomasson, para. 60).
Regarding claim 11, Thomasson discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein when the at least one processor invokes the computer program or the instructions, the apparatus implements operations comprising:
receiving, the first message from the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received and specifically defines new parameters such as, a new starting node, new maximum hop count, and/or updated device types and roles for discovered nodes) (Thomasson, para. 60) by using a routing node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters include device type information identifying specific types of nodes, such as routers, switches, servers, or any other specific network device or specify that only core routers (routing node) to be discovered and used to route traffic) (Thomasson, para. 44); and
sending, the second message to the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received, which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included) (Thomasson, para. 60) by using the routing node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters include device type information identifying specific types of nodes, such as routers, switches, servers, or any other specific network device or specify that only core routers (routing node) to be discovered and used to route traffic) (Thomasson, para. 44).
Regarding claim 13, Thomasson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Thomasson, para. 60), wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is configured to store instructions or a computer program (Thomasson, para. 60); and when the instructions or the computer program is executed, the following operations are performed:
obtaining, network topology configuration information (Thomasson discloses that the management server may retrieve (obtain) network configuration information from neighboring nodes or from a set of discovered nodes defined by the discovery parameters) (Thomasson, para. 34), wherein the network topology configuration information comprises a node identity, a node type, and network topology information (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37);
receiving, a first message, wherein the first message comprises a node identity of a second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers (node identity) for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98);
obtaining, network configuration information of the second node based on the network topology configuration information (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98); and
sending, a second message, wherein the second message comprises the network configuration information of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying one or more network routes between the first node and the plurality of nodes) (Thomasson, para. 100),
wherein the network configuration information of the second node indicates:
a node type of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37);
an adjacent node of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37); and
a node type of the adjacent node of the second node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameter may define which types of nodes are to be discovered, the type of configuration information to be discovered, and the scope for discovering neighboring nodes) (Thomasson, para. 37).
Regarding claim 14, Thomasson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the second node and the adjacent node of the second node are of different node types (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters for discovering configuration information for the plurality of nodes in the network includes device type information identifying specific types of nodes or specify types (different) of nodes based upon their functions) (Thomasson, para. 44).
Regarding claim 15, Thomasson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein when the instructions or the computer program is executed, the following operations are further performed:
receiving, the first message from the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received and specifically defines new parameters such as, a new starting node, new maximum hop count, and/or updated device types and roles for discovered nodes) (Thomasson, para. 60); and
sending, the second message to the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received, which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included) (Thomasson, para. 60).
Regarding claim 16, Thomasson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein when the instructions or the computer program is executed, the following operations are performed: sending a broadcast message, wherein the broadcast message indicates that a first node has a network topology configuration capability (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received (broadcast message), which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included and identified) (Thomasson, para. 60).
Regarding claim 17, Thomasson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein when the instructions or the computer program is executed, the following operations are performed:
receiving, the first message from the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received and specifically defines new parameters such as, a new starting node, new maximum hop count, and/or updated device types and roles for discovered nodes) (Thomasson, para. 60) by using a routing node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters include device type information identifying specific types of nodes, such as routers, switches, servers, or any other specific network device or specify that only core routers (routing node) to be discovered and used to route traffic) (Thomasson, para. 44); and
sending, the second message to the second node (Thomasson discloses that the updated discovery parameters are received, which the updated discovery request may specify which types of devices and/or roles to be included) (Thomasson, para. 60) by using the routing node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery parameters include device type information identifying specific types of nodes, such as routers, switches, servers, or any other specific network device or specify that only core routers (routing node) to be discovered and used to route traffic) (Thomasson, para. 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomasson et al. (2020/0044940, hereinafter Thomasson) as applied to claim 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of Brandwine et al. (2015/0168417, hereinafter Brandwine).
Regarding claim 6, Thomasson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first node, a third message from a third node by using the second node, wherein the third message comprises a node identity of the third node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers (node identity) for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98).
Thomasson does not explicitly disclose performing, by the first node, secure access authentication on the third node, wherein the node identity of the third node is not comprised in the network topology configuration information; and when the secure access authentication succeeds on the third node, sending, by the first node, a fourth message to the third node by using the second node, wherein the fourth message comprises network configuration information of the third node.
In analogous art, Brandwine teaches performing, by the first node, secure access authentication on the third node, wherein the node identity of the third node is not comprised in the network topology configuration information (Brandwine discloses that the communication manager will verify (secure access authorization) that the communions are received over the network are authorized and/or valid) (Brandwine, para. 44); and
when the secure access authentication succeeds on the third node, sending, by the first node, a fourth message to the third node by using the second node, wherein the fourth message comprises network configuration information of the third node (Brandwine discloses that the communication manager will verify (secure access authorization) that the communions are received over the network are authorized and/or valid) (Brandwine, para. 44).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Brandwine related to performing a secure access authorization and to combine with Thomasson in order to increase the efficiency and security of sharing various computing resources between users (Brandwine, para. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Thomasson discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein when the at least one processor invokes the computer program or the instructions, the apparatus implements operations further comprising: receiving, a third message from a third node by using the second node, wherein the third message comprises a node identity of the third node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers (node identity) for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98).
Thomasson does not explicitly disclose performing, secure access authentication on the third node, wherein the node identity of the third node is not comprised in the network topology configuration information; and when the secure access authentication succeeds on the third node, sending a fourth message to the third node by using the second node, wherein the fourth message comprises network configuration information of the third node.
In analogous art, Brandwine teaches performing, secure access authentication on the third node, wherein the node identity of the third node is not comprised in the network topology configuration information (Brandwine discloses that the communication manager will verify (secure access authorization) that the communions are received over the network are authorized and/or valid) (Brandwine, para. 44); and
when the secure access authentication succeeds on the third node, sending a fourth message to the third node by using the second node, wherein the fourth message comprises network configuration information of the third node (Brandwine discloses that the communication manager will verify (secure access authorization) that the communions are received over the network are authorized and/or valid) (Brandwine, para. 44).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Brandwine related to performing a secure access authorization and to combine with Thomasson in order to increase the efficiency and security of sharing various computing resources between users (Brandwine, para. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Thomasson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein when the at least one processor invokes the computer program or the instructions, when the instructions or the computer program is executed, the following operations are further performed: receiving, a third message from a third node by using the second node, wherein the third message comprises a node identity of the third node (Thomasson discloses that the discovery request (message) is sent to the node for the network configuration information identifying connectivity between the node and the subset of plurality of nodes and receive network configuration information comprises network addresses, endpoint identifiers for connections, and/or MAC identifiers (node identity) for the nodes and plurality of nodes (second node)) (Thomasson, para. 98).
Thomasson does not explicitly disclose performing, secure access authentication on the third node, wherein the node identity of the third node is not comprised in the network topology configuration information; and when the secure access authentication succeeds on the third node, sending a fourth message to the third node by using the second node.
In analogous art, Brandwine teaches performing, secure access authentication on the third node, wherein the node identity of the third node is not comprised in the network topology configuration information (Brandwine discloses that the communication manager will verify (secure access authorization) that the communions are received over the network are authorized and/or valid) (Brandwine, para. 44); and
when the secure access authentication succeeds on the third node, sending a fourth message to the third node by using the second node (Brandwine discloses that the communication manager will verify (secure access authorization) that the communions are received over the network are authorized and/or valid) (Brandwine, para. 44).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Brandwine related to performing a secure access authorization and to combine with Thomasson in order to increase the efficiency and security of sharing various computing resources between users (Brandwine, para. 2).
Conclusion
/A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458