DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-11, and 13 are pending. Claim 12 was previously cancelled. Claims 1, 11 and 13 are the independent claims. Claims 1, 2, 11 and 13 have been amended. This office action is in response to the Amendments received on 08/19/2026.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 08/19/2026, “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
According to the Applicant’s Remarks (page 1, section titled “Claim Interpretation”), the Applicant identified support in the specification for the terms “traveling processing portion,” “elevation processing portion,” “car-speed control processing portion,” and “drive processing portion” recited in claim 13 as invoking interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Although the specification provides corresponding structures for these terms, claim 13 itself fails to recite sufficient structure to perform the respective functions. Therefore, the aforementioned terms are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), and the Claim Interpretation section is maintained to clarify the Examiner’s position. For further clarity, the specification paragraphs cited by the Applicant have been incorporated into the Examiner’s interpretation in “Claim Interpretation” section below.
In response to the amended claims files on 08/19/2026, the rejection of claims 2-4, 6-8, and 11 under 35 U.S.C § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the prior reference of record (Itsuki) for the teaching of amended claims 1, 11 and 13 has been considered and they are persuasive. According to the newly amended claim, the terms “a non-work position” and “a work position” have been defined, respectively, as a position in which the work machine is raised and a position in which the work machine is lowered. Therefore, the amended claims have changed the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed invention. Accordingly, Itsuki does not teach/suggest the limitation “moving the work machine from the non-work position to the work position at a position before a work start position only by a first predetermined distance on the target path;”. However, new rejection necessitated by the amendment has been made for claim 1, 11, and 13 (see office action below).
Office Note: Due to applicant’s amendments, further claim rejections appear on the record as stated in the below Office Action.
It is the Office’ stance that all of applicant arguments have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “a traveling processing portion”, “an elevation processing portion”, “a car-speed control processing portion”, and “a drive processing portion” in claim 13. Forgoing processing portions have been interpreted as CPUs according to paragraph [0042] of the present specification disclosed “the vehicle control device 11 causes the CPU to execute various type of processing according to the automated traveling program to function as the various processing portions”. Further support for these terms is provided in the spec as follows:
traveling processing portion: [0042]-[0045], [0098]-[0099], [0112]; Figs. 1, 10.
elevation processing portion: [0042], [0046]-[0047], [0101]-[0103], [0111]- [0113]; Figs. 1, 2A-2C, 4A-4B, 10.
car-speed control processing portion: [0042], [0048]-[0050], [0065]-[0069], [0103]-[0104], [0109]; Figs. 1, 4C, 5-8, 10.
drive processing portion: [0042], [0051]-[0058], [0060]-[0064], [0105]-[0108]; Figs. 1, 2C, 4D, 5-8, 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsuki et al., JP 2022085685 A, hereinafter “Itsuki”, in view of Itsuki et al., JP 7249965 B2, hereinafter “itsuki_2”.
Regarding claim 1, Itsuki teaches an automated traveling method comprising ([0001], [0028]):
causing a work vehicle including a work machine movable between a non-work position in which the work machine is raised and a work position in which the work machine is lowered to travel in an automated manner along a target path ([0005], [0014], “This diagram illustrates a travel path from a non-working travel path, which involves a long straight-line forward movement, to a work travel path.”, [0029], [0035], “at the same time as the planting mechanism 22 is stopped or the seedling planting device 3 is raised,”, [0036], “the seedling planting device 3 descends at this start position”, [0040], “the raising and lowering of the seedling planting device 3 is performed by automatic control”, [0101]-[0102], __Note: according to at least cited paragraphs, work vehicle taught by Itsuki includes a work machine (rice transplanter) that is movable between raised and lowered status depending on the work operation state which reads on the claimed limitation__);
reducing a car speed of the work vehicle to a car speed slower than a set car-speed set in advance at a position before the work start position only by a second predetermined distance (Figs. 28 and 29, [0222], “during non-work driving at a vehicle speed of V2, the driving control unit 312 may reduce the vehicle speed to vehicle speed V1 when the distance from the vehicle's position to the planting start point WSP becomes less than or equal to a predetermined distance TS3 (corresponding to the "third distance").”, [0223], __Note: predetermined third distance (TS3) in Itsuki’s disclosure reads on second predetermined distance recited in the claim__)
and starting driving of the work machine at the work start position or a position on an advancing direction side of the work start position ([0214], __Note: WSP (work/planting start position) in Isuki’s disclosure reads on work start position, [0220], “the location (coordinates) of the planting start point WSP on the field map is known in advance,”, __Note: According to Isuki’s disclosure, at least paragraphs [0220]-[0222], at the work start position, work machine starts to work.__).
However, according to the presented claim as amended to clarify the terms ‘non-work position’ and ‘work position’, Itsuki doesn’t teach or suggest moving the work machine from the non-work position to the work position at a position before a work start position only by a first predetermined distance on the target path.
Nevertheless, itsuki_2 teaches moving the work machine from the non-work position to the work position at a position before a work start position only by a first predetermined distance on the target path ([0007]-[0009], “the work control unit controls the seedling planting device equipped with the planting mechanism to descend onto the field surface before reaching the planting start position, and causes the planting mechanism to start the planting operation from a predetermined distance before the planting start position.”, “planting of seedlings actually begins at the planting start position at the latest, ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the work vehicle including a work machine that moves between work and non-work position, i.e. lowered and raised position, as taught by Itsuki, to include moving from non-work position (raised work machine) to work position(lowered work machine) before a work start position as taught by Itsuki_2, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the work machine operation (seedling) to start planting actually at the work start position and to prevent the delay in the seedling process which result in unplanted gaps or skipped areas at the beginning of the planting rows, thereby ensuring uniform field cultivation.
Regarding claim 2, Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 1, and Itsuki teaches wherein the work machine is provided in the work vehicle via a work clutch that transmits power to the work machine ([0014], [0019], [0207]);
Further Itsuki teaches that the work machine (seedling planting device, see [0019]-[0020]), is controlled by work clutch at work start position which the work start position is started at a set car speed (after reducing the speed) (See rejection of claim 1), which reads on engaging the work clutch at a first point of time at which the car speed after deceleration, reaches a threshold value (__ Examiner’s Note: according the presented claims and disclosure, “car speed after deceleration reaches a threshold value”, has been interpreted as: after car starts decelerating, car speed reaches to a threshold/set value which is proper for starting work position__, __ according to at least paragraphs [0222]-[0223] of Itsuki, when the distance from the vehicle’s position to the work star position (WSP) becomes less than or equal to a predetermined distance, the vehicle speed vehicle reduces to a preset value V1 (which is the appropriate set/threshold speed value for working area.)).
However, Itsuki doesn’t explicitly teach by engaging the work clutch at a first point of time driving of the work machine is started after a predetermined time elapses from the first time point.
Itsuki-2 teaches by engaging the work clutch at a first point of time ([0056], [0059], “the work control unit 62 engages the planting clutch by a predetermined amount of time before the seedling planting device 3 descends to the field surface, or by a predetermined distance before the planting start position US.”).
Therefore, Itsuki discloses the work machine that performs work while traveling across work area with a work vehicle which is either in work position or non-work position. Itsuki teaches that the work vehicle’s speed when it is at work start position, is reduced to a set value (reads on threshold value) which is appropriate for performing the task by the work machine. While Itsuki’s disclosure further teaches performing work start/stop by clutch, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work vehicle/machine taught by Itsuki, with the feature taught by Itsuki-2 teaching that the work machine starts working after a predetermined time elapse, after engaging the clutch, with a reasonable expectation of success. Including this feature improves the performance of the work machine (attached to the work vehicle) by engaging the work clutch at a predetermined time before the work start position and at a proper/threshold vehicle speed in order to improve the accuracy of the seedling/planting process according to, for example, paragraph [0005] or [0062] of Itsuki-2.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 2, and Itsuki teaches the threshold value is set on the basis of at least either one of the set car-speed and the predetermined time ([0222], “during non-work driving at a vehicle speed of V2, the driving control unit 312 may reduce the vehicle speed to vehicle speed V1, [0223], [0213],” a pre-set speed V1”, __ Note: threshold value reads on vehicle pre-set speed V1__)
Itsuki doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the predetermined time includes a structural delay time from when the work clutch is engaged until driving of the work machine is started;
However, Itsuki-2 teaches:
wherein the predetermined time includes a structural delay time from when the work clutch is engaged until driving of the work machine is started ([0056], [0059], “the work control unit 62 engages the planting clutch by a predetermined amount of time before the seedling planting device 3 descends to the field surface, or by a predetermined distance before the planting start position US.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work vehicle invention taught by Itsuki, with the feature taught by Itsuki-2 regarding the fact that after the work clutch engaged, the work machine starts working after a predetermined time elapse as taught by Itsuki-2, with a reasonable expectation of success. Including this feature improves the performance of the work machine (attached to the work vehicle) by engaging the work clutch at a predetermined time before the work start position and at a proper/threshold vehicle speed in order to improve the accuracy of the seedling/planting process according to, for example, paragraph [0005] or [0062] of Itsuki-2.
Regarding claim 6, modified Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 2, and Itsuki teaches:
wherein control is executed such that the car speed becomes equal to or smaller than the threshold value at the work start position or the work vehicle stops at the work start position ([0222], “during non-work driving at a vehicle speed of V2, the driving control unit 312 may reduce the vehicle speed to vehicle speed V1 when the distance from the vehicle's position to the planting start point WSP becomes less than or equal to a predetermined distance TS3 (corresponding to the "third distance")”, [0223], [0213],” a pre-set speed V1”, Note: __claimed as written presents alternative limitations. The rejection is based on the underlined limitation__).
Regarding claim 7, modified Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 2, and Itsuki teaches:
wherein after the driving of the work machine is started, the car speed in a section of a predetermined distance on an advancing direction side from the work start position is set equal to or smaller than the threshold value ([0223], “as the planting start point WSP approaches, the vehicle speed is reduced to a vehicle speed V1”, __threshold value reads on vehicle speed V1 mapped in previous rejections__, Note: __claimed as written presented alternative limitation. The rejection is for the underlined rejection__); and
after the work vehicle traveled the section, the car speed is increased to the set car-speed continuously or in a stepwise manner (Examiner’s interpretation: after the work vehicle traveled the section has been interpreted of when the vehicle finish working task and is in non-working area __, See Itsuki paragraph [0215]-[0216] [0218], and [0220], when the vehicle is in non-work area the car speed increase to second speed vehicle V2, (which is a predetermined vehicle speed according to paragraph [0235]), in order to optimize the vehicle speed during non-work driving and improve work efficiency__)
Regarding claim 8, modified Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 7, wherein the set car-speed is set in accordance with a setting operation by a user within a range from a lower-limit car speed to an upper-limit car speed ([0024], “The auxiliary shift lever 7B is used for an operation of switching the traveling vehicle speed between the working speed during work and the moving speed during movement. For example, movement between fields is performed at a moving speed, and planting work and the like are performed at a working speed”, [0033], “maximum speed” “lower predetermined speed”).
Regarding claim 9, Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein the first predetermined distance is set in accordance with a setting operation by a user within a range from a lower-limit distance to an upper limit distance ([0218], “distance is within a predetermined range.”, [0235], “ distances TS1, TS2, and TS3 may be predetermined distances, but they may also be configured to be arbitrarily set at the start of automatic driving or during automatic driving, or they may also be configured to be arbitrarily changed during automatic driving.”, [0236], “These settings and changes can be made using the information terminal 5, etc.”, [0024], “an information terminal 5 having a touch panel that displays [] accepts input of various information,”).
Regarding claim 10, Itsuki teaches the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein the car speed after deceleration is set in accordance with a setting operation by a user within a range from a lower-limit car speed to an upper-limit car speed (__teaches that the car speed after deceleration depend on the distance of NW and based on that it can increase and decrease__, [0216: if TS1(distance between NW to WSP is long, the vehicle speed increase to a speed V2(fastr), [0216]-[0222], [0222], again reduce speed, [0224], [0235], “the increased vehicle speed V2 and vehicle speed V1 may be predetermined vehicle speeds, but they may also be configured to be arbitrarily set at the start of automatic driving or during automatic driving, or they may also be configured to be arbitrarily changed during automatic driving.”).
Regarding claim 11, Itsuki teaches an automated traveling method, comprising ([0001], [0028]):
causing a work vehicle including a work machine movable between a non-work position in which the work machine is raised and a work position in which the work machine is lowered to travel in an automated manner along a target path ([0005], [0014], “This diagram illustrates a travel path from a non-working travel path, which involves a long straight-line forward movement, to a work travel path.”, [0029], [0035], “at the same time as the planting mechanism 22 is stopped or the seedling planting device 3 is raised,”, [0036], “the seedling planting device 3 descends at this start position”, [0040], “the raising and lowering of the seedling planting device 3 is performed by automatic control”, [0101]-[0102], __Note: according to at least cited paragraphs, work vehicle taught by Itsuki includes a work machine (rice transplanter) that is movable between raised and lowered status depending on the work operation state which reads on the claimed limitation__);
reducing a car speed of the work vehicle to a car speed slower than a set car-speed set in advance at a position before a work start position only by a predetermined distance on the target path (Figs. 28 and 29, [0222], “during non-work driving at a vehicle speed of V2, the driving control unit 312 may reduce the vehicle speed to vehicle speed V1 when the distance from the vehicle's position to the planting start point WSP becomes less than or equal to a predetermined distance TS3 (corresponding to the "third distance").”, [0223], __Note: predetermined third distance (TS3) in Itsuki’s disclosure reads on second predetermined distance recited in the claim__);
Further Itsuki teaches that the work machine (seedling planting device, see [0019]-[0020]), is controlled by work clutch at work start position which the work start position is started at a set car speed (after reducing the speed) (See rejection of claim 1), which reads on engaging a work clutch that transmits power to the work machine at a point of time when the car speed, after the deceleration, reaches a threshold value ([0014], [0019], [0207] __Examiner’s Note: according the presented claims and disclosure, “car speed after deceleration reaches a threshold value”, has been interpreted as: after car starts decelerating, car speed reaches to a threshold/set value which is proper for starting work position__, __ according to at least paragraphs [0222]-[0223] of Itsuki, when the distance from the vehicle’s position to the work star position (WSP) becomes less than or equal to a predetermined distance, the vehicle speed vehicle reduces to a preset value V1 (which is the appropriate set/threshold speed value for working area.)).
However, Itsuki doesn’t explicitly teach by engaging a work clutch
Itsuki-2 teaches by engaging a work clutch ([0056], [0059], “the work control unit 62 engages the planting clutch by a predetermined amount of time before the seedling planting device 3 descends to the field surface, or by a predetermined distance before the planting start position US.”).
Therefore, Itsuki discloses the work machine that performs work while traveling across work area with a work vehicle which is either in work position or non-work position. Itsuki teaches that the work vehicle’s speed when it is at work start position, is reduced to a set value (reads on threshold value) which is appropriate for performing the task by the work machine. While Itsuki’s disclosure further teaches performing work start/stop by clutch, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work vehicle/machine taught by Itsuki, with the feature taught by Itsuki-2 teaching that the work machine starts working after a predetermined time elapse, after engaging the clutch, with a reasonable expectation of success. Including this feature improves the performance of the work machine (attached to the work vehicle) by engaging the work clutch at a predetermined time before the work start position and at a proper/threshold vehicle speed in order to improve the accuracy of the seedling/planting process according to, for example, paragraph [0005] or [0062] of Itsuki-2.
Regarding claim 13, Itsuki teaches an automated traveling system comprising ([0001], [0028]):
a traveling processing portion which causes a work vehicle including a work machine movable between a non-work position in which the work machine is raised and a work position in which the work machine is lowered to travel in an automated manner along a target path ([0005], [0014], “This diagram illustrates a travel path from a non-working travel path, which involves a long straight-line forward movement, to a work travel path.”, [0029], [0035], “at the same time as the planting mechanism 22 is stopped or the seedling planting device 3 is raised,”, [0036], “the seedling planting device 3 descends at this start position”, [0040], “the raising and lowering of the seedling planting device 3 is performed by automatic control”, [0101]-[0102], __Note: according to at least cited paragraphs, work vehicle taught by Itsuki includes a work machine (rice transplanter) that is movable between raised and lowered status depending on the work operation state which reads on the claimed limitation__);
a car-speed control processing portion which reduces a car speed of the work vehicle to a car speed slower than a set car-speed set in advance at a position before the work start position only by a second predetermined distance (Figs. 28 and 29, [0222], “during non-work driving at a vehicle speed of V2, the driving control unit 312 may reduce the vehicle speed to vehicle speed V1 when the distance from the vehicle's position to the planting start point WSP becomes less than or equal to a predetermined distance TS3 (corresponding to the "third distance").”, [0223], __Note: predetermined third distance (TS3) in Itsuki’s disclosure reads on second predetermined distance recited in the claim__);
and a drive processing portion which starts driving of the work machine at the work start position or a position on an advancing direction side of the work start ([0214], __Note: WSP (work/planting start position) in Isuki’s disclosure reads on work start position, [0220], “the location (coordinates) of the planting start point WSP on the field map is known in advance,”, __Note: According to Isuki’s disclosure, at least paragraphs [0220]-[0222], at the work start position, work machine starts to work.__).
However, according to the presented claim as amended to clarify the terms ‘non-work position’ and ‘work position’, Itsuki doesn’t teach or suggest an elevation processing portion which moves the work machine from the non-work position to the work position at a position before a work start position only by a first predetermined distance on the target path;
Nevertheless, itsuki_2 (JP7249965B2) teaches an elevation processing portion which moves the work machine from the non-work position to the work position at a position before a work start position only by a first predetermined distance on the target path; ([0007]-[0009], “the work control unit controls the seedling planting device equipped with the planting mechanism to descend onto the field surface before reaching the planting start position, and causes the planting mechanism to start the planting operation from a predetermined distance before the planting start position.”, “planting of seedlings actually begins at the planting start position at the latest, ”, [0052]-[0053], [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the work vehicle including a work machine that moves between work and non-work position, i.e. lowered and raised position, as taught by Itsuki, to include moving from non-work position (raised work machine) to work position(lowered work machine) before a work start position as taught by Itsuki_2, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the work machine operation (seedling) to start planting actually at the work start position and to prevent the delay in the seedling process which result in unplanted gaps or skipped areas at the beginning of the planting rows, thereby ensuring uniform field cultivation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, teach the specific feature stated in claim 5. Claim 5 recites “The automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein the first predetermined distance is set to a distance longer than the second predetermined distance.”. According to the automated traveling method recited in claim 1, first predetermined distance refers to the distance (from the position of the working vehicle and a work start position), at which the work machine moves from non-work position (raised) to work position (lowered) (According to the claim and in light of Figs. 4B and 8 (P1 position). Further, second predetermined distance refers to the distance (from the position of the working vehicle and a work start position), at which the work vehicle’s speed reduces to a car speed slower than a threshold. According to the limitation recited in claim 5, the first predetermined distance is set to a distance longer than the second predetermined distance. Therefore, the vehicle lowers the working machine first and then reduces the speed, i.e., lowering the working machine happens before reducing the speed which according to the applicant specification, paragraph [0050], it can improve the traveling stability of the work machine. Neither Itsuki nor Itsuki_2 teaches the claimed feature. In fact, they teach the counterintuitive limitation.
The closest art found is Ishikawa (US 20230064728 A1, same assignee), that discloses an automated traveling system that switches between working and non-work position while traveling on the field/performing work. Ishikawa is silent about lowering the wrk instrument (reads on work machine in the present application), before reducing the speed. In contrast, Ishikawa teaches lowering the work instrument and traveling at the same speed and then accelerating it speed after a set distance. Similarly other art found teaches the opposite limitation, for example,
No other prior art was found to teach this feature.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669