DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “indicia of the training glove comprises an area of varying thickness and the protrusions of the golf club are configured to align with the area of varying thickness” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The Specification and Drawings show various indicia, but do not show indicia of varying thickness. It is merely stated in the Specification that the indicia may further include this property.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claim states “wherein the indicia of the training glove comprises an area of varying thickness and the protrusions of the golf club are configured to align with the area of varying thickness”. It is not sufficiently described in the Specification how the “protrusions, grooves, or related changes in thickness” are configured to align with the protrusions on the grip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by The Littlest Golfer (TLG, 2023).
In respect to claim 1, TLG discloses a golf club comprising: a clubhead on a first end; a grip at a second end; and a shaft extending from the clubhead to the grip. TLC does not explicitly disclose, at the time of Office Action, a particular clubhead volume, however, as seen below the overall dimensions of the golf club, specifically the over-sized nature of the clubhead, they appear very similar. Thus it is reasonable to conclude that the volume of the clubhead falls within the claimed range.
Since the dimensions of the TLG club are not verified at this time due to time constraints, but are capable of being verified through the company, an anticipation of these claims is pending until further notice.
In respect to claims 2-13, TLG discloses a club of very similar dimensions, as is apparent in the comparison above. These dimensions will need to be verified by TLG, for proper anticipation.
In respect to claims 16 and 17, TLG discloses the grip comprises protrusions which extend in a longitudinal direction of the golf club, having a “V-shape” (sharp outward protrustions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Littlest Golfer (TLG, 2023).
In respect to claims 1-13 and 16-17, as indicated above, TLG appears to disclose very similar dimensions which likely fall within at least some of the disclosed ranges (pending confirmation by TLG). Regardless, any alleged differences in the claims from TLG amount to dimensions and where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In the instant case, the claimed application and TLG appear to have the same general dimensions as well as the same intended use of a teaching golf club for toddlers or young children. All of the claimed dimensions or ratios such as “shaft weight”, “swing weight”, “clubhead mass” etc. are well-known golf club metrics. The applicant has not provided any specificity to these ranges (and in fact includes at least 3 different non-overlapping subranges which further points to lack of specificity). The only reasonably specificity is to the clubhead volume, wherein the Specification clearly points to a non-obvious different performance from standard clubs (e.g. a clubhead volume of several times the legal clubhead limit), however TLG discloses or teaches this feature. It is lastly noted that TLG, before the time of the invention, further discloses a “TLG First Set Long 2.0” which further teaches obvious modifications to the dimensions (to accommodate older/taller children).
In respect to claims 14 and 15, TLG discloses that the clubhead is a “high-impact plastic” but does not explicitly disclose “HDPE”. TLG further discloses that the shaft is “graphite composite material” but does explicitly disclose “carbon fiber” (thought its very similar). In both cases, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of the application, to provide a well-known material in the art for the clubhead or shaft, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Littlest Golfer (TLG, 2023) in view of Liu (US 6,272,686).
In respect to claims 18 and 19, TLG discloses or teaches the claimed invention for the reasons stated above, including protrusions on the grip, but does not disclose an accompanying glove, which further includes indicia for aligning the grip. However, Liu teaches a similar golf club with includes indicia (e.g. 22) thereon which aligns with marks on the glove (e.g. 13) (Figs. 4, 5, & 7).
In respect to claim 20, the claim is not enabled by the Specification, however, Liu teaches that the indica may be “areas of varying thickness” which is readily inferred by printed patterns or lines.
Conclusion
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637