DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Amendments filed on 02/25/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 6, 12, and 17 have been amended and claim 20 has been added.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant contends that Seo does not teach “stopping the output of a data-related signal. Instead, Seo's display driver continues to actively transmit a signal to the second display region-the transmission path remains active and the driver continues outputting data-but the content of that transmission is changed from normal image data to data representing a black grayscale value. This is the opposite of the claimed limitation, which requires the time sequence controller to stop outputting the data-related signal. Because Seo continues to output a data signal (the black data signal) to the second display region, Seo fails to disclose this limitation.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner emphasizes that the black data differs from the normal image data used to generate an image, in that it represents a common voltage. Additionally, because the scan lines SLi and SLi-1 and the emission lines Eli of the pixels illustrated in Figure 3 are all turned off, a normal image cannot be generated in the display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1, 12, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al (US 2021/0035489).
As to claim 1, Seo teaches a display driver configured to drive pixel units arranged in an array on a display panel (see pixels in fig. 1) comprising a first display area (a first display region DA1, fig. 2) and a second display area (second display region DA2, fig. 2) to perform image display operations, the display driver comprising:
a time sequence control circuit (timing controller 140, fig. 1) configured to:
output a scanning-related signal (scan control signal SCS, fig. 1), a data-related signal (data control signal DCS and DATA2, fig. 1), and a light-emitting-related signal (light emission drive control signal ECS, fig. 1), wherein:
the scanning-related signal, the light-emitting-related signal, and the data-related signal are respectively configured to drive a scanning drive circuit in the display panel to output a scan signal ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS), drive a light-emitting drive circuit in the display panel to output a light-emitting signal ([0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS), and drive a data drive circuit to output a data signal to a plurality of pixel units ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS ), and
the scan signal, the light-emitting signal, and the data signal are configured to cooperate to drive the pixel unit to perform the image display operations ([0072]-[0073], [0075]),
in response to both the first display area and the second display area performing the image display operations, continuously output the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in a first duration and a second duration( [0080] to display the first image IMAGE1 on the entire display 110 in the first mode MODE1, the timing controller 140 may control such that each of the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 operates normally, [0078], fig. 2); and
in response to the first display area performing the image display operations and the second display area stopping the image display operations, stop outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in the second duration ([0081] to display the second image IMAGE2 only in the first display region DA1 of the display 110, the timing controller 140 may control such that the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 partially operate. For example, under a control of the timing controller 140, a scan signal SCAN may be provided only to the first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line (k is a positive integer) corresponding to the first display region DA1, and the scan signal SCAN may not be provided to the k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn (SCAN OFF). Similarly, a light emission control signal EM may be provided only to the first light emission control line EL1 to the (k−1)-th light emission control line corresponding to the first display region DA1, while the light emission control signal EM may not be provided to the k-th to n-th light emission control lines ELk to ELn (EM OFF). Further, a normal data signal DATA may be provided to the first display region DA1, and a black data signal DATA BLACK (that is, a data signal corresponding to a black grayscale value) may be provided to the second display region DA2.).
As to claim 12, Seo teaches a method, applied to a display driver configured to drive pixel units arranged in an array on a display panel (see pixels in fig. 1) to perform image display, wherein the display panel comprises a first display area (a first display region DA1, fig. 2) and a second display area (second display region DA2, fig. 2), the method comprising:
in response to both the first display area and the second display area performing image display operations, continuously outputting a scanning-related signal, a data-related signal, and a light-emitting-related signal in a first duration and a second duration ( [0080] to display the first image IMAGE1 on the entire display 110 in the first mode MODE1, the timing controller 140 may control such that each of the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 operates normally, [0078], fig. 2); and
in response to the first display area performing the image display operations and the second display area stopping performing the image display operations, stopping outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in the second duration ([0081] to display the second image IMAGE2 only in the first display region DA1 of the display 110, the timing controller 140 may control such that the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 partially operate. For example, under a control of the timing controller 140, a scan signal SCAN may be provided only to the first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line (k is a positive integer) corresponding to the first display region DA1, and the scan signal SCAN may not be provided to the k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn (SCAN OFF). Similarly, a light emission control signal EM may be provided only to the first light emission control line EL1 to the (k−1)-th light emission control line corresponding to the first display region DA1, while the light emission control signal EM may not be provided to the k-th to n-th light emission control lines ELk to ELn (EM OFF). Further, a normal data signal DATA may be provided to the first display region DA1, and a black data signal DATA BLACK (that is, a data signal corresponding to a black grayscale value) may be provided to the second display region DA2.), wherein
the scanning-related signal, the light-emitting-related signal, and the data-related signal are respectively used to drive a scanning drive circuit in the display panel to output a scan signal ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS), drive a light-emitting drive circuit in the display panel to output a light-emitting signal ([0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS), and drive a data drive circuit to output a data signal to a plurality of pixel units ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS ),
the scan signal, the light-emitting signal, and the data signal cooperate to drive the pixel unit to perform image display ([0072]-[0073], [0075]),
the first duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the first display area performs the image display operations in a display duration of a frame of image ( [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … and may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. A first duration is for first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line corresponding to a first display region DA1, fig. 5), and
the second duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the second display area performs the image display operations ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. A second duration is for scan lines SLk to SLn corresponding to the second display region DA2, fig. 5).
As to claim 17, Seo teaches a method of operating a display driver configured to drive pixel units arranged in an array on a display panel (see pixels in fig. 1) comprising a first display area (a first display region DA1, fig. 2) and a second display area (second display region DA2, fig. 2) to perform image display operations, the method comprising:
outputting, by a time sequence control circuit (timing controller 140, fig. 1), a scanning-related signal (scan control signal SCS, fig. 1), a data-related signal (data control signal DCS and DATA2, fig. 1), and a light-emitting-related signal (light emission drive control signal ECS, fig. 1), wherein:
the scanning-related signal, the light-emitting-related signal, and the data-related signal are respectively used to drive a scanning drive circuit in the display panel to output a scan signal ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS), drive a light-emitting drive circuit in the display panel to output a light-emitting signal ([0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS), and drive a data drive circuit to output a data signal to a plurality of pixel units ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS ), and
the scan signal, the light-emitting signal, and the data signal cooperate to drive the pixel unit to perform the image display operations ([0072]-[0073], [0075]),
in response to both the first display area and the second display area performing the image display operations, continuously outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in a first duration and a second duration ( [0080] to display the first image IMAGE1 on the entire display 110 in the first mode MODE1, the timing controller 140 may control such that each of the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 operates normally, [0078], fig. 2); and
in response to the first display area performing the image display operations and the second display area stopping performing the image display operations, stopping outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in the second duration ([0081] to display the second image IMAGE2 only in the first display region DA1 of the display 110, the timing controller 140 may control such that the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 partially operate. For example, under a control of the timing controller 140, a scan signal SCAN may be provided only to the first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line (k is a positive integer) corresponding to the first display region DA1, and the scan signal SCAN may not be provided to the k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn (SCAN OFF). Similarly, a light emission control signal EM may be provided only to the first light emission control line EL1 to the (k−1)-th light emission control line corresponding to the first display region DA1, while the light emission control signal EM may not be provided to the k-th to n-th light emission control lines ELk to ELn (EM OFF). Further, a normal data signal DATA may be provided to the first display region DA1, and a black data signal DATA BLACK (that is, a data signal corresponding to a black grayscale value) may be provided to the second display region DA2.).
As to claim 20, Seo teaches the display driver, further comprising a timing circuit configured to, in response to the first display area performing the image display operations and the second display area stopping the image display operations:
perform timing on the first duration and perform timing on the second duration to determine when the first duration is completed and when the second duration is completed (it is well known in the art that a controller in the display device controls the horizontal synchronization period and the vertical synchronization period based on the refresh rate of the display. For example, as Seo describes (see [0263] and fig. 8), the region determiner unit determines a first display region DA1 and a second display region DA2. Based on the determination of DA1 and DA2, as well as the horizontal synchronization period, the timing required for DA1 and DA2 can be determined);
output a first timing signal to the time sequence control circuit in response to completing timing on the first duration, wherein the time sequence control circuit is configured to stop outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in response to the first timing signal ([0081] to display the second image IMAGE2 only in the first display region DA1 of the display 110, the timing controller 140 may control such that the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 partially operate. For example, under a control of the timing controller 140, a scan signal SCAN may be provided only to the first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line (k is a positive integer) corresponding to the first display region DA1, and the scan signal SCAN may not be provided to the k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn (SCAN OFF). Similarly, a light emission control signal EM may be provided only to the first light emission control line EL1 to the (k−1)-th light emission control line corresponding to the first display region DA1, while the light emission control signal EM may not be provided to the k-th to n-th light emission control lines ELk to ELn (EM OFF). Further, a normal data signal DATA may be provided to the first display region DA1, and a black data signal DATA BLACK (that is, a data signal corresponding to a black grayscale value) may be provided to the second display region DA2.) ; and
output a second timing signal to the time sequence control circuit in response to completing timing on the second duration, wherein the time sequence control circuit is configured to output, for the first display area, the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in a display duration of a frame of image in response to the second timing signal ([0081] to display the second image IMAGE2 only in the first display region DA1 of the display 110, the timing controller 140 may control such that the scan driver 120, the data driver 130, and the light emitting driver 150 partially operate. For example, under a control of the timing controller 140, a scan signal SCAN may be provided only to the first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line (k is a positive integer) corresponding to the first display region DA1, and the scan signal SCAN may not be provided to the k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn (SCAN OFF). Similarly, a light emission control signal EM may be provided only to the first light emission control line EL1 to the (k−1)-th light emission control line corresponding to the first display region DA1, while the light emission control signal EM may not be provided to the k-th to n-th light emission control lines ELk to ELn (EM OFF). Further, a normal data signal DATA may be provided to the first display region DA1, and a black data signal DATA BLACK (that is, a data signal corresponding to a black grayscale value) may be provided to the second display region DA2.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 2-3, 7-8, 13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US 2021/0035489) in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0201799).
As to claim 2, Seo teaches the display driver , wherein: the scanning-related signal comprises a scan clock signal, a scan trigger signal, and ([0072] the scan control signal SCS may include a scan start signal, scan clock signals, and the like); the light-emitting-related signal comprises a light-emitting clock signal and a light-emitting trigger signal ([0073] the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals, and the like); and the data-related signal comprises a data clock signal and the data signal (DCS and DATA2, fig. 1, [0075] DCS is a signal for controlling an operation of the data driver 130, and may include a load signal (or a data enable signal)), wherein the scan clock signal and the scan trigger signal are configured to drive the scanning drive circuit to output the scan signal ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS… Here, the scan control signal SCS may include a scan start signal, scan clock signals, and the like), the light-emitting clock signal and the light-emitting trigger signal are configured to drive the light-emitting drive circuit to output the light-emitting signal ([0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS… Here, the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals), and the data clock signal is configured to drive the data drive circuit to output the data signal ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS …Here, the data control signal DCS … may include a load signal (or a data enable signal)).
Seo does not teach the scanning-related signal comprises a reset signal as claimed.
However, Kim teaches the scanning-related signal comprises a reset signal ([0047] Each of the first and second gate control signals GCS1 and GCS2 may include a start pulse, a clock, and a reset signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seo to teach, a scanning-related signal comprising a reset signal, as suggest by Kim. The motivation would have been in order “to provide a narrow bezel which reduces the thickness of the non-display area” ([0006]).
As to claim 3, Seo in view of Kim teaches the display driver, further comprising a storage unit, the storage unit is configured to store the first duration and the second duration, wherein the first duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the first display area performs the image display operations in a display duration of a frame of image, and the second duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the second display area performs the image display operations (Seo: Examiner’s note: Fig. 2 and paragraph [0072] describe that the scan driver sequentially scans scan lines starting from scan line SL1 and continued to SLk in the first display area DA1 and from scan line SLk +1 to SLn in the second display area DA2, [0064] the various components of these devices may be a process or thread, running on one or more processors, in one or more computing devices, executing computer program instructions and interacting with other system components for performing the various functionalities described herein. The computer program instructions are stored in a memory which may be implemented in a computing device).
As to claim 7, Seo in view of Kim teaches a display panel, comprising the display driver of, and further comprising a display area and a non-display area, wherein:
the display area comprises n scan lines extending in a first direction (Seo: SL1 to SLn extending in the horizontal direction, fig. 1), n light-emitting lines extending in the first direction (Seo: EL1 to ELn extending in the horizontal direction, fig. 1), and m data lines extending in a second direction (Seo: DL1 to DLm data lines extending in the vertical direction, fig. 1);
a plurality of pixel areas are formed at a location of intersection between the n scan lines and the m data lines, a plurality of pixel units are respectively correspondingly located in the pixel areas, and each pixel unit is connected to the scan lines, the light-emitting lines, and the data lines (Seo: [0068]-[0069], Fig. 1, Fig. 3);
the first display area comprises pixel units correspondingly connected to a first scan line to an ith scan line, and the second display area comprises pixel units correspondingly connected to an (i+1)th scan line to an nth scan line (Seo: [0081] the first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line (k is a positive integer) corresponding to the first display region DA1, and second scan lines k-th to n-th scan lines corresponding to the second display area DA2, fig. 2);
the scanning drive circuit (Seo: scan driver 120, fig. 1) and the light-emitting drive circuit (Seo: EM driver 150, fig. 1) are disposed in the non-display area (as seen in fig. 1);
the scanning drive circuit is connected to the n scan lines (Seo: SL1 to SLn, fig. 1), the light-emitting drive circuit is connected to the n light-emitting lines (Seo: EL1 to ELn, fig. 1), and the display driver (Seo: timing controller 140, fig. 1) is connected to the scanning drive circuit, the light-emitting drive circuit (Seo: see fig. 1), and the m data lines extending in the second direction (Seo: vertical direction), to respectively provide the scanning-related signal (Seo: scan control signal SCS), the data-related signal (Seo: data control signal DCS and DATA2, fig. 1), and the light-emitting-related signal (Seo: light emission drive control signal ECS); and
the scanning drive circuit is configured to output the scan signal based on the scan clock signal and the scan trigger signal (Seo: [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS, [0072] the scan control signal SCS may include a scan start signal, scan clock signals, and the like);
the scanning drive circuit is connected to the first scan line to the nth scan line and is configured to sequentially output a plurality of scan signals (Seo: [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … and may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn);
the light-emitting drive circuit is configured to output the light-emitting signal based on the light-emitting clock signal and the light-emitting trigger signal (Seo: [0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS, [0073] the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals, and the like); and
the light-emitting drive circuit is connected to a first light-emitting line to an nth light-emitting line and is configured to sequentially output a plurality of light-emitting signals (Seo: [0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals… and may sequentially provide the light emission control signals to the light emission control lines EL1 to ELn).
As to claim 8, Seo in view of Kim teaches the display panel, further comprising a storage unit, the storage unit is configured to store the first duration and the second duration, wherein the first duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the first display area performs the image display operations in a display duration of a frame of image, and the second duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the second display area performs the image display operations (Seo: Examiner’s note: Fig. 2 and paragraph [0072] describe that the scan driver sequentially scans scan lines starting from scan line SL1 and continued to SLk in the first display area DA1 and from scan line SLk +1 to SLn in the second display area DA2, [0064] the various components of these devices may be a process or thread, running on one or more processors, in one or more computing devices, executing computer program instructions and interacting with other system components for performing the various functionalities described herein. The computer program instructions are stored in a memory which may be implemented in a computing device).
As to claim 13, Seo teaches the method, wherein:
outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal comprises controlling a time sequence control circuit (timing controller 140, fig. 1) to output the scanning-related signal (SCS, fig. 1), the data-related signal (DCS and DATA2, fig. 1), and the light-emitting-related signal (ECS, fig. 1), wherein: the scanning-related signal comprises a scan clock signal, a scan trigger signal, and ([0072] the scan control signal SCS may include a scan start signal, scan clock signals, and the like), the light-emitting-related signal comprises a light-emitting clock signal and a light-emitting trigger signal ([0073] the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals, and the like), the data-related signal comprises a data clock signal and the data signal (DCS and DATA2, fig. 1, [0075] DCS is a signal for controlling an operation of the data driver 130, and may include a load signal (or a data enable signal)), the scan clock signal and the scan trigger signal are used to drive the scanning drive circuit to output the scan signal ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS… Here, the scan control signal SCS may include a scan start signal, scan clock signals, and the like), the light-emitting clock signal and the light-emitting trigger signal are used to drive the light-emitting drive circuit to output the light-emitting signal ([0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS… Here, the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals), and the data clock signal is used to drive the data drive circuit to output the data signal ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS …Here, the data control signal DCS … may include a load signal (or a data enable signal) ); and the method further comprises, after the time sequence control circuit outputs the data-related signal, controlling the data drive circuit to output the data signal to a plurality of data lines based on the data clock signal ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS …Here, the data control signal DCS … may include a load signal (or a data enable signal)).
Seo does not teach the scanning-related signal comprises a reset signal as claimed.
However, Kim teaches the scanning-related signal comprises a reset signal ([0047] Each of the first and second gate control signals GCS1 and GCS2 may include a start pulse, a clock, and a reset signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seo to teach, a scanning-related signal comprising a reset signal, as suggest by Kim. The motivation would have been in order “to provide a narrow bezel which reduces the thickness of the non-display area” ([0006]).
As to claim 18, Seo teaches the method, wherein: the scanning-related signal comprises a scan clock signal, a scan trigger signal, the light-emitting-related signal comprises a light-emitting clock signal and a light-emitting trigger signal ([0073] the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals, and the like); and the data-related signal comprises a data clock signal and the data signal (DCS and DATA2, fig. 1, [0075] DCS is a signal for controlling an operation of the data driver 130, and may include a load signal (or a data enable signal)), wherein the scan clock signal and the scan trigger signal are configured to drive the scanning drive circuit to output the scan signal ([0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal based on a scan control signal SCS… Here, the scan control signal SCS may include a scan start signal, scan clock signals, and the like), the light-emitting clock signal and the light-emitting trigger signal are configured to drive the light-emitting drive circuit to output the light-emitting signal ([0073] The light emitting driver 150 may generate the light emission control signals based on a light emission drive control signal ECS… Here, the light emission drive control signal ECS may include a light emission start signal, light emission clock signals), and the data clock signal is configured to drive the data drive circuit to output the data signal ([0075] The data driver 130 may generate the data signals based on image data DATA2 and a data control signal DCS …Here, the data control signal DCS … may include a load signal (or a data enable signal)).
Seo does not teach the scanning-related signal comprises a reset signal as claimed.
However, Kim teaches the scanning-related signal comprises a reset signal ([0047] Each of the first and second gate control signals GCS1 and GCS2 may include a start pulse, a clock, and a reset signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seo to teach, a scanning-related signal comprising a reset signal, as suggest by Kim. The motivation would have been in order “to provide a narrow bezel which reduces the thickness of the non-display area” ([0006]).
As to claim 19, Seo in view of Kim teaches the method, further comprising storing the first duration and the second duration, wherein the first duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the first display area performs the image display operations in a display duration of a frame of image, and the second duration is a duration in which a pixel unit in the second display area performs the image display operations (Seo: Examiner’s note: Fig. 2 and paragraph [0072] describe that the scan driver sequentially scans scan lines starting from scan line SL1 and continued to SLk in the first display area DA1 and from scan line SLk +1 to SLn in the second display area DA2, [0064] the various components of these devices may be a process or thread, running on one or more processors, in one or more computing devices, executing computer program instructions and interacting with other system components for performing the various functionalities described herein. The computer program instructions are stored in a memory which may be implemented in a computing device).
5. Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US 2021/0035489) in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0201799) and further in view of Yang et al (US 2022/0309972).
As to claim 4, Seo in view of Kim does not teach the display driver as claimed.
However, Yang teaches the display driver, further comprising a detection circuit (detection unit, fig. 12) configured to detect a relative location relationship between the first display area and the second display area ([0099] When a display sub-region is in a folded state, the corresponding detection unit generates a folding signal. When a display sub-region is in an unfolded state, the corresponding detection unit generates an unfolding signal), wherein: in response to the first display area and the second display area being located in a same display plane, the pixel unit in the first display area and the pixel unit in the second display area are both configured to perform the image display operations, and the detection circuit is configured to output a first detection signal, wherein the first detection signal is configured to control the time sequence control circuit to continuously output the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal ([0100] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the first detection unit 61, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the first GSTV signal output terminal GSTV1 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the first ESTV signal output terminal ESTV1, and an image is displayed in the first display sub-region, [0101] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the second detection unit 62, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the second GSTV signal output terminal GSTV2 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the second ESTV signal output terminal ESTV2, and an image is displayed in the second display sub-region, fig. 12); and in response to the first display area and the second display area being located in different planes, the pixel unit in the first display area is configured to perform the image display operations, the pixel unit in the second display area is configured not to perform the image display operations, and the detection circuit is configured to output a second detection signal to the time sequence control circuit, wherein the second detection signal is configured to control the time sequence control circuit to stop outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in the second duration ([0100] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the first detection unit 61, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the first GSTV signal output terminal GSTV1 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the first ESTV signal output terminal ESTV1, and an image is displayed in the first display sub-region, [0101] When the control module receives a folding signal from the second detection unit 62, the control module outputs the first turn-off signal to the second GSTV signal output terminal GSTV2 and outputs the second turn-off signal to the second ESTV signal output terminal ESTV2, and no image is displayed in the second display sub-region, fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seo in view of Kim to teach, a detection system, as suggest by Yang. the motivation would have been in order reduce the “power consumption of a display panel” and improve the “endurance of the display panel” ([0003]).
As to claim 5, Seo in view of Kim and further in view of Yang teaches the display driver, wherein: the display panel comprises a plurality of pixel units arranged in an n*m array (Seo: see fig. 1), wherein the first display area comprises pixel units in a first row to an ith row (Seo: first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line corresponding to a first display region DA1), and the second display area comprises pixel units in an (i+1)th row to an nth row, and i is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than n (Seo: k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn corresponding to the second display region DA2, fig. 2);
the first duration corresponds to a duration in which the pixel units in the first row to the ith row receive the data signal (Seo: [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … and may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. A first duration is for first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line corresponding to a first display region DA1, fig. 5); and
the second duration corresponds to a duration in which the pixel units in the (i+1)th row to the nth row receive the data signal (Seo: [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. A second duration is for scan lines SLk to SLn corresponding to the second display region DA2, fig. 5).
As to claim 9, Seo in view of Kim does not teach the display driver as claimed.
However, Yang teaches the display panel, further comprising a detection circuit (detection unit, fig. 12) configured to detect a relative location relationship between the first display area and the second display area ([0099] When a display sub-region is in a folded state, the corresponding detection unit generates a folding signal. When a display sub-region is in an unfolded state, the corresponding detection unit generates an unfolding signal), wherein: in response to the first display area and the second display area being located in a same display plane, the pixel unit in the first display area and the pixel unit in the second display area are both configured to perform the image display operations, and the detection circuit is configured to output a first detection signal, wherein the first detection signal is configured to control the time sequence control circuit to continuously output the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal ([0100] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the first detection unit 61, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the first GSTV signal output terminal GSTV1 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the first ESTV signal output terminal ESTV1, and an image is displayed in the first display sub-region, [0101] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the second detection unit 62, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the second GSTV signal output terminal GSTV2 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the second ESTV signal output terminal ESTV2, and an image is displayed in the second display sub-region, fig. 12); and in response to the first display area and the second display area being located in different planes, the pixel unit in the first display area is configured to perform the image display operations, the pixel unit in the second display area is configured not to perform the image display operations, and the detection circuit is configured to output a second detection signal to the time sequence control circuit, wherein the second detection signal is configured to control the time sequence control circuit to stop outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in the second duration ([0100] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the first detection unit 61, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the first GSTV signal output terminal GSTV1 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the first ESTV signal output terminal ESTV1, and an image is displayed in the first display sub-region, [0101] When the control module receives a folding signal from the second detection unit 62, the control module outputs the first turn-off signal to the second GSTV signal output terminal GSTV2 and outputs the second turn-off signal to the second ESTV signal output terminal ESTV2, and no image is displayed in the second display sub-region, fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seo in view of Kim to teach, a detection system, as suggest by Yang. the motivation would have been in order reduce the “power consumption of a display panel” and improve the “endurance of the display panel” ([0003]).
As to claim 10, Seo in view of Kim and further in view of Yang teaches the display panel, wherein: the display panel comprises a plurality of pixel units arranged in an n*m array (Seo: see fig. 1), wherein the first display area comprises pixel units in a first row to an ith row (Seo: first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line corresponding to a first display region DA1), and the second display area comprises pixel units in an (i+1)th row to an nth row, and i is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than n (Seo: k-th to n-th scan lines SLk to SLn corresponding to the second display region DA2, fig. 2);
the first duration corresponds to a duration in which the pixel units in the first row to the ith row receive the data signal (Seo: [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … and may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. A first duration is for first scan line SL1 to the (k−1)-th scan line corresponding to a first display region DA1, fig. 5); and
the second duration corresponds to a duration in which the pixel units in the (i+1)th row to the nth row receive the data signal (Seo: [0072] The scan driver 120 may generate the scan signal … may sequentially provide the scan signal to the scan lines SL1 to SLn. A second duration is for scan lines SLk to SLn corresponding to the second display region DA2, fig. 5).
As to claim 14, Seo in view of Kim does not teach the method as claimed.
However, Yang teaches the method, further comprising: detecting a location relationship between the first display area and the second display area ([0099] When a display sub-region is in a folded state, the corresponding detection unit generates a folding signal. When a display sub-region is in an unfolded state, the corresponding detection unit generates an unfolding signal); and
in response to the first display area and the second display area being located in a same display plane, outputting a first detection signal to the time sequence control circuit, wherein the first detection signal is used to control the time sequence control circuit to continuously output the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal ([0100] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the first detection unit 61, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the first GSTV signal output terminal GSTV1 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the first ESTV signal output terminal ESTV1, and an image is displayed in the first display sub-region, [0101] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the second detection unit 62, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the second GSTV signal output terminal GSTV2 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the second ESTV signal output terminal ESTV2, and an image is displayed in the second display sub-region, fig. 12); and
in response to the first display area and the second display area being located in different display planes, outputting a second detection signal to the time sequence control circuit, wherein the second detection signal is used to control the time sequence control circuit to stop outputting the scanning-related signal, the data-related signal, and the light-emitting-related signal in the second duration ([0100] When the control module receives an unfolding signal from the first detection unit 61, the control module outputs the first turn-on signal to the first GSTV signal output terminal GSTV1 and outputs the second turn-on signal to the first ESTV signal output terminal ESTV1, and an image is displayed in the first display sub-region, [0101] When the control module receives a folding signal from the second detection unit 62, the control module outputs the first turn-off signal to the second GSTV signal output terminal GSTV2 and outputs the second turn-off signal to the second ESTV signal output terminal ESTV2, and no image is displayed in the second display sub-region, fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seo in view of Kim to teach, a detection system, as suggest by Yang. the motivation would have been in order reduce the “power consumption of a display panel” and improve the “endurance of the display panel” ([0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6, 11, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628