DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 7-9, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cloud server" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer et al. (Springer; US Pub No. 2016/0029592 A1) in view of Varikooty et al. (Varikooty; US Pub No. 2019/0018378 A1) and Kolkovski et al. (Kolkovski; US Pub No. 2010/0242846 A1).
As per claim 1, Springer teaches an animal or fish feeder apparatus that can communicate with an animal or fish feeder, comprising:
a controller capable of communicating with at least two communication modules (paragraphs [0156], [0158] & [0162]: microcontroller 1360);
a local area network communication module (paragraphs [0163]-[0164]);
a wide area network communication module comprising a telecommunications device to send and receive data to the cloud server outside of the range of the local area network module (Fig. 6, Cloud, Wireless Signal 672; paragraph [0162])…
a communication port to connect various sensors external to the apparatus to acquire relevant values from the local environment (paragraph [0102]: presence detection).
Springer does not expressly teach a radio navigation system communication module…
one or more sensors within the apparatus to acquire relevant values from the local environment measurable from within the apparatus; and
one or more relays to connect an input power source to an output power sink.
Varikooty teaches a radio navigation system communication module (paragraph [0041], lines 15-21)…
one or more sensors within the apparatus to acquire relevant values from the local environment measurable from within the apparatus (paragraph [0049], lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the radio signal location determination and environmental sensors as taught by Varikooty, since Varikooty states that such a modification would result in mapping the location of the device and monitoring the environmental conditions as they pertain the stored food product.
Kolkovski teaches and
one or more relays to connect an input power source to an output power sink (paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the sinking power configuration as taught by Kolkovski, since such a power configuration is well known in the art.
As per claim 17, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a coupled processor modulates the state of one or more output pins, which varies the electrical activation of one or more coupled relays, which varies the current being delivered to one or more coupled actuation devices, which varies the distance the animal feed is thrown (Kolkovski, paragraph [0055], lines 6-8).
As per claim 18, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski further teaches a feeder system comprising:
a feed hopper providing an outlet for feed (Kolkovski, Fig. 1, Tube 31, Shutter Means 14; paragraph [0042]);
a spinning plate that meters the feed released from the outlet into a blower (Kolkovski, paragraph [0054]);
an actuator connected to the spinning plate and arranged to actuate the spinning plate when the actuator is powered (Kolkovski, paragraphs [0053] & [0054]);
a spinning blower to spread feed directionally (Kolkovski, paragraph [0054]);
a second actuator connected to the blower and arranged to actuate the blower when the actuator is powered (Kolkovski, paragraph [0053]);
a battery arranged to power both actuators (Kolkovski, paragraph [0053]); and
an apparatus according to claim 1 mounted on or within the feeder system (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the apparatus is connected to both actuators and the battery and controls the battery being connected to both actuators to spread feed (Kolkovski, paragraphs [0053] & [0054]).
As per claim 19, (see rejection of claim 18 above) a feeder system comprising:
a feed hopper providing an outlet for feed;
a spinning plate that scatters the feed radially as it is released from the outlet;
an actuator connected to the spinning plate and arranged to actuate the spinning plate when the actuator is powered;
a battery arranged to power the actuator; and
an apparatus according to claim 1 mounted on or within the feeder system, wherein the
apparatus is connected to the actuator and battery and controls the battery being connected to the actuator to spread feed.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koo et al. (Koo; US Pub No. 2024/0008456 A1).
As per claim 2, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski does not expressly teach wherein the local area network communication module is capable of operating over multiple protocols, including Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE) for short-range communication and LoRa for long-range, low-power communication, enabling flexible deployment in diverse environmental conditions.
Koo teaches wherein the local area network communication module is capable of operating over multiple protocols, including Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE) for short-range communication and LoRa for long-range, low-power communication, enabling flexible deployment in diverse environmental conditions (paragraph [0011], line 8; paragraph [0012], lines 7-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement BLE and LoRa communication protocols as taught by Koo, since Koo states that the use of such communication protocols is well known in the art.
As per claim 3, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski, and further in view of Koo, further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the wide area network communication module comprises a cellular telecommunications device (Springer, paragraph [0162]: smartphone 1460).
As per claim 4, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski, and further in view of Koo, further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the wide area network communication module comprises a satellite communications device (Varikooty, paragraph [0038], lines 11-14).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (Wei; US Patent No. 11,978,210 B1).
As per claim 5, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski does not expressly teach wherein the communication port comprises a serial communication module to communicate with a plurality of sensors including, but not limited to, a dissolved oxygen sensor, a pH sensor, or a camera.
Wei teaches wherein the communication port comprises a serial communication module to communicate with a plurality of sensors including, but not limited to, a dissolved oxygen sensor, a pH sensor, or a camera (col. 18, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the serial port for a plurality of communication interfaces as taught by Wei, since Wei states in column 18, lines 20-30 that such a modification would result in high speed, real-time performance.
As per claim 6, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski does not expressly teach wherein a first sensor within the apparatus is an integrated barometric pressure sensor for calibrating the data acquired from a water quality sensor, including, but not limited to, a dissolved oxygen sensor.
Wei teaches wherein a first sensor within the apparatus is an integrated barometric pressure sensor for calibrating the data acquired from a water quality sensor, including, but not limited to, a dissolved oxygen sensor (col. 18, lines 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the dissolved oxygen concentration interface as taught by Wei, since Wei states in column 17, lines 13-27 that such a modification would result in regulating the tank environment in order to ensure an ideal conditions.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Qin (US Pub No. 2011/0121955 A1).
As per claim 10, Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of connected sensors can be disconnected from power using a relay coupled to the processor, extending battery life of the system.
Qin teaches wherein the plurality of connected sensors can be disconnected from power using a relay coupled to the processor, extending battery life of the system (paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the power-saving devices as taught by Qin, since Qin states that such power-saving devices as well known in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Newell et al. (Newell; US Pub No. 2020/0213193 A1).
As per claim 11, Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Springer in view of Varikooty and Kolkovski does not expressly teach wherein the radio navigation system communication module is configured to support one or more global navigation satellite systems (GNSS), including but not limited to the Global Positioning System (GPS) and the Galileo navigation satellite system, enabling precise location tracking and functionality across different geographic regions and conditions.
Newell teaches wherein the radio navigation system communication module is configured to support one or more global navigation satellite systems (GNSS), including but not limited to the Global Positioning System (GPS) and the Galileo navigation satellite system, enabling precise location tracking and functionality across different geographic regions and conditions (paragraph [0096], lines 1-8 & 10-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the measurement of signals as taught by Newell, since Newell states in paragraph [0096] that such a modification would result in determining the location of a device.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Summerfelt (US Pub No. 2024/0057567 A1).
As per claim 14, Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei teaches the apparatus of claim 5… over a serial communication link (Wei, col. 18, line 22).
Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei teaches wherein the communication port is used to communicate with high power actuation devices, such as aerators or circulators, that are configured to have their state modified and queried.
Summerfelt teaches wherein the communication port is used to communicate with high power actuation devices, such as aerators or circulators, that are configured to have their state modified and queried (paragraph [0004]; paragraph [0033]; paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the aerator as taught by Summerfelt, since Summerfelt states in paragraph [0002] that such a modification would result in maintaining water quality in an environment containing fish.
As per claim 15, Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei, and further in view of Summerfelt, further teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the high power actuation devices have their states changed in a feedback loop with the connected water quality sensors to maintain the water quality at healthy levels for the wildlife in the body of water (Summerfelt, paragraph [0036]).
As per claim 16, Springer in view of Varikooty, Kolkovski and Wei, and further in view of Summerfelt, further teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the state of the high power actuation devices have their states reported back to the user using the wide area network communication module (Springer, paragraph [0162]), which may include, but is not limited to, state of water filters, current consumed, input voltage level, or pressure of water lines (Summerfelt, paragraph [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fredricks et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0132320 A1): similar inventive concept
Jones (US Pub No. 2014/0290584 A1): similar inventive concept
Laceky (US Patent No. 7,275,501 B1): similar inventive concept
/NAOMI J SMALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685