DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action represents the first action on the merits.
Claim(s) 1-23 are pending
Priority
This Application claims priority to Provisional Application No. 63573894 filed 03 April 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Examiner notes that the rejection will reference the translated documents (attached) corresponding to any foreign documents recited in the rejection.
Claims 1-4,6-7,15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund et al (US Publication No. 20210057851) in view of Agnello et al (US Publication No. 20200312450) in view of Kall et al (US Publication No. 20180147024).
Regarding Claim 1
Lund teaches a method comprising:
a. providing a first docking station having a power source, a processor [Lund at Para. 0080 teaches in some variations, the one or more processors 162 and the memory 164 are omitted such that the monitor mount 160 provides only physical support and optionally a power source (monitor mount interpreted as docking station)], a mount configured to removably receive a multi-parameter patient monitor [Lund at Para. 0081 teaches the monitor mount 160 has a shape and size which allows the monitor mount 160 to detachably secure both the monitor 120 and the physiological parameter measurement pod 140. In this regard, “detachably secure” means that the monitor mount 160 can secure the monitor 120 and the physiological parameter measurement pod 140 such that the monitor 120 and/or the physiological parameter measurement pod 140 can be removed by a user when desired], at least one sensor port configured to mechanically and electrically connect to an intelligent physiological sensor [Lund at Para. 0072 teaches with such a variation, the monitor 120 can include a sensor interface 122 that can be used to connect via wired and/or wireless interfaces to one or more physiological sensors and/or medical devices 1 12 (e.g., ECG electrodes, SPO2 sensors, blood pressure cuffs, apnea detection sensors, respirators, etc.) associated with the patient 1 10], a docking station communications interface configured to communicate with a hospital network [Lund at Para. 0073 teaches the monitor 120 can additionally include a communications interface 128 which allows the monitor 120 directly or indirectly (via, for example, the monitor mount 160) to access one or more computing networks. The communications interface 128 can include various network cards / interfaces to enable wired and wireless communications with such computing networks. The communications interface 128 can also enable direct (i.e., device-to-device, etc.) communications (i.e., messaging, signal exchange, etc.) such as from the monitor mount 160 to the monitor 120 (computer network interpreted as hospital network)], and a docking station I/O interface configured to communicate with the intelligent physiological sensor connected to each of the at least one sensor port and the multi-parameter patient monitor connected to the mount [Lund at Para. 0072 teaches the monitor 120 can, for example, be a patient monitor that is used to monitor various physiological parameters for a patient 1 10. With such a variation, the monitor 120 can include a sensor interface 122 that can be used to connect via wired and/or wireless interfaces to one or more physiological sensors and/or medical devices 1 12 (e.g., ECG electrodes, SPO2 sensors, blood pressure cuffs, apnea detection sensors, respirators, etc.) associated with the patient 1 10. The monitor 120 can include one or more processors 124 (e.g., programmable data processors, etc.) which can execute various instructions stored in memory 130 of the monitor 120. Various data and graphical user interfaces can be conveyed to a user via an electronic visual display 126; Lund at para. 0081], … [ … ] …, the intelligent physiological sensor being adapted to generate a sensor data signal that includes sensor parameter data [Lund at Para. 0006 teaches during the course of providing healthcare to patients, practitioners typically connect at least one type of sensor to a patient to sense, derive or otherwise monitor at least one type of patient medical parameter. Such patient connected sensors are further connected to a monitor that includes all relevant electronic components that enable conversion, manipulation and processing of the data sensed by the at least one type of sensor in order to generate patient medical parameters.];
c. establishing an electrical connection between the docking station I/O interface and a sensor data signal for the intelligent physiological sensor when the intelligent physiological sensor is connected to the at least one sensor port [Lund at Para. 0092 teaches FIGS. 6-21 show various exemplary implementations of cables 700-700″, male connectors 701-701″, and female connectors 702-702″. The male and female connectors 701-702″″ can be used to electrically connect any two or more devices (e.g., a monitor mount 160, a physiological parameter measurement pod rack 210, a rack module 220, and/or a medical device or sensor 112 connected to a patient 110). In particular, the male and female connectors 701-702″″ enable power sharing and/or data transfer between the two or more devices];
Lund does not teach [ … ] … the hospital network being adapted to store location data for the first docking station … [ … ]
b. associating the first docking station with a first location on the hospital network;
and d. appending the sensor parameter data using the docking station I/O interface to include a sensor location parameter that associates the intelligent physiological sensor with the first location.
Agnello teaches[ … ] … the hospital network being adapted to store location data for the first docking station [Agnello at Para. 0008 teaches the first electronic data store is configured to store a plurality of first entries. Each first entry contains information that associates a respective medical device controller with a respective physical location. The second electronic data store is configured to store a plurality of second entries. Each second entry contains information that associates a respective computer network device with a respective physical location.] … [ … ]
b. associating the first docking station with a first location on the hospital network [Agnello at Para. 0008];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine docking station of Lund with the location data of Agnello with the motivation to improve medical device location tracking.
Lund/Agnello do not teach and d. appending the sensor parameter data using the docking station I/O interface to include a sensor location parameter that associates the intelligent physiological sensor with the first location.
Kall teaches and d. appending the sensor parameter data using the docking station I/O interface to include a sensor location parameter that associates the intelligent physiological sensor with the first location [Kall at Para. 0035 teaches the position detector 46 further provides the location of the wireless sensor 38 and can be transmitted by the transmitter 44 along with the physiological data collected by the sensor 26].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello with the data of Kall with the motivation to reduce the burden associated with cable management.
Regarding Claim 2
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall further teach further comprising:
e. transmitting the appended sensor parameter data from the first docking station through the communications interface to at least one selected from the group of the multi-parameter patient monitor connected to the mount and the hospital network [Lund at Para. 0082 teaches the positioning of the monitor 120, when secured to the monitor mount 160, can be such that the communications interface 128 on the monitor 120 interacts with the communications interface 166 of the monitor mount 160 to allow, for example, a direct connection (e.g., electrical connection). In other variations, the communications interface 128 of the monitor 120 exchanges data with the communications interface 166 of the monitor mount 160 optically (via, for example, respective optical windows on the monitor 120 and the monitor mount 160).]; and
f. using the appended sensor data to associate the intelligent physiological sensor with the first location on the hospital network [Agnello at Para. 0080 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Regarding Claim 3
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 2,
Lund/Agnello/Kall further teach wherein step e comprises transmitting the appended sensor parameter data from the first docking station through the communications interface to the hospital network [Lund at Para. 0004 teaches patient monitor mounts provide a physical interface for the patient monitor and are generally fixed at the treatment location. Patient monitor mounts can also provide electrical connection to other devices or infrastructure, such as power to recharge patient monitor batteries, network connectivity to other medical devices or hospital computer systems, and the like].
Regarding Claim 4
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 3,
Lund/Agnello/Kall further teach wherein the first docking station is adapted to perform step e regardless of whether the multi-parameter patient monitor is connected to the mount [Lund at Para. 0073 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Regarding Claim 6
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach wherein the intelligent physiological sensor is one selected from the group of an intelligent patient front end (IPFE) sensor and a service-oriented device connectivity (SDC) compliant sensor [Lund at Para. 0008 teaches systems, methods, and devices are described herein for a modular patient monitoring medical device and a connector. A new generation of physiological measurement devices, such as Intelligent Patient Front End Devices (IPFE) can provide updated algorithms, features, and software updates for parameter measurement devices without corresponding releases of a new version of host monitor software. IPFEs, together with patient sensors, comprise a complete physiological patient parameter measurement delivery system].
Regarding Claim 7
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall further teach wherein the communication with the hospital network is facilitated by one or more network ports on the first docking station [Lund at Para. 0089 teaches the system bus 404 can also include at least one communication port 420 to allow for communication with external devices either physically connected to the computing system or available externally through a wired or wireless network. In some cases, the communication port 420 includes or otherwise comprises a network interface].
Regarding Claim 15
Lund teaches a docking station comprising:
a power source [Lund at Para. 0080 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
a processor [Lund at Para. 0080 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
a mount configured to removably receive a multi-parameter patient monitor [Lund at Para. 0081 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
at least one sensor port configured to mechanically and electrically connect to an intelligent physiological sensor [Lund at Para. 0072 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
a docking station communications interface configured to communicate with a hospital network [Lund at Para. 0073 (see Claim 1 for explanation)] … [ … ]
and a docking station I/O interface configured to communicate with the intelligent physiological sensor connected to each of the at least one sensor port and the multi-parameter patient monitor connected to the mount [Lund at Para. 0072, 0081 (see Claim 1 for explanation)], wherein the docking station I/O interface is further configured … [ … ] … when the intelligent physiological sensor is electrically connected to the at least one sensor port [Lund at Para. 0072(see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Lund does not teach [ … ] … and to associate a first location with the docking station;
[ … ] … to append the first location to a sensor data signal of the intelligent physiological sensor …. [ … ]
Agnello teaches [ … ] … and to associate a first location with the docking station [Agnello at Para. 0008 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine docking station of Lund with the location data of Agnello with the motivation to improve medical device location tracking.
Lund/Agnello do not teach [ … ] … to append the first location to a sensor data signal of the intelligent physiological sensor …. [ … ]
Kall teaches [ … ] … to append the first location to a sensor data signal of the intelligent physiological sensor [Kall at Para. 0035 (see Claim 1 for explanation)]…. [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello with the data of Kall with the motivation to reduce the burden associated with cable management.
Regarding Claim 16
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the docking station of claim 15,
Lund/Agnello/Kall further teach wherein the docking station communications interface is adapted to transmit the sensor data signal to the hospital network even if the multi-parameter patient monitor is not received in the mount [Lund at Para. 0004 (see Claim 3 for explanation)].
Claims 5, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of Kelly et al (US Publication No. 20050033124).
Regarding Claim 5
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach further comprising:
g. terminating the connection between the docking station I/O interface after steps c and d have been completed.
Kelly teaches further comprising:
g. terminating the connection between the docking station I/O interface after steps c and d have been completed [Kelly at Para. 0022 teaches in response in step 210 interface 33 receives information from the remote system dependent on the geographic location of docking station 10. The process of FIG. 2 terminates at step 212 (interpreted as termination the connection)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall with the termination of Kelly with the motivation to improve simplification and reduce costs.
Regarding Claim 17
Claim(s) 17 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 5, thus Claim(s) 17 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 5.
Claims 8-9, 18, 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of Muhsin at al (US Publication No. 20230033122).
Regarding Claim 8
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach wherein the first docking station further comprises a graphical user interface and the method further comprises:
h. displaying on the graphical user interface status information for each intelligent physiological sensor electrically connected to the at least one sensor port.
Muhsin teaches wherein the first docking station further comprises a graphical user interface and the method further comprises:
h. displaying on the graphical user interface status information for each intelligent physiological sensor electrically connected to the at least one sensor port [Muhsin at Para. 0336 teaches as described in the preceding sections, the monitoring hub 100 can display patient data and alarms based on data received from various connected medical systems or sensors native to the hub 100. The connected medical systems can include BICs, dongles, medical devices, or sensors external to the hub 100, etc., alone or in combination. The sensors external to the hub 100 can be connected to the hub 100 using various connections described herein and do not have to be connected to the hub 100 via the BIC or the dongle described in the preceding sections].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall with the interface of Muhsin with the motivation to improve patient care quality.
Regarding Claim 9
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin teach the method of claim 8,
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin further teach wherein the status information comprises at least one selected from the group of a sensor type, a sensor status, a status description, and an alarm status [Muhsin at Para. 0326 teaches the object database 7420 is shown to have a medical device system (MDS) object 7422 which can be shown as an object representation of a medical device (e.g., an external device). A MDS object can include attributes, such as, for example, system type, system manufacturer and model name, unique identifiers (for example, serial number), system software and hardware version numbers, system status and operating mode, battery or power supply status, time, time zone, and clock synchronization information, etc (interpreted as sensor status)].
Regarding Claim 18
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the docking station of claim 15,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach wherein the at least one sensor port comprises at least one intelligent patient front end (IPFE) port.
Muhsin teaches wherein the at least one sensor port comprises at least one intelligent patient front end (IPFE) port [Muhsin at Para. 0326 (see Claim 9 for explanation)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall with the port of Muhsin with the motivation to improve patient care quality.
Regarding Claim 20
Claim(s) 20 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 8, thus Claim(s) 20 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 8.
Regarding Claim 21
Claim(s) 21 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 9, thus Claim(s) 21 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 9.
Claim 10, 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall, Muhsin as applied to claim 8, 20 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US Publication No. 20220202337).
Regarding Claim 10
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin teach the method of claim 8,
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin do not teach further comprising:
i. generating at least one selected from the group of an audio alarm and a visual alarm through the graphical user interface when the alarm status of at least one of the intelligent physiological sensors electrically connected to the at least one sensor port is active.
Liu teaches further comprising:
i. generating at least one selected from the group of an audio alarm and a visual alarm through the graphical user interface when the alarm status of at least one of the intelligent physiological sensors electrically connected to the at least one sensor port is active [Liu at Para. 0091 teaches the central station 204 generates a workplace aggregation GUI that may be configured to display visual alarms (e.g., those alarms triggered by bridge 203) on a display; Liu at Para. 0097 teaches The PPM device 208 may also be configured to monitor a patient's physiological data, compare the physiological data to one or more alarm conditions derived from one or more physiological measurement values or value streams, and generate alarm signals that are transmitted within the frontend SDC communication network 201FE should an alarm condition be satisfied. For example, a PPM device may transmit alarm signals to at least one of the bridge 203, the central station 204, or the alarm announcer 205].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall, Muhsin with the alarm of Liu with the motivation to improve post ECG signal processing.
Regarding Claim 22
Claim(s) 22 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 10, thus Claim(s) 22 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 10.
Claim 11, 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of Muhsin at al (US Publication No. 20230033122) in view of Liu et al (US Publication No. 20220202337).
Regarding Claim 11
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin/Liu teach the method of claim 10,
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin/Liu do not teach further comprising:
j. enabling a user to silence the alarm generated by step i using the graphical user interface.
HUSSAIN teaches teach further comprising:
j. enabling a user to silence the alarm generated by step i using the graphical user interface [HUSSAIN at Page 5, Lines 24-29 teaches the display 16 may also include an alarm status indicator (not shown), such as a bell that flashes when an alarm condition is present. One of the touch sensitive inputs 18, such as an alarm silence graphical element 34, may be selected to silence the alarm and display an alarm silence indicator, such as a slash through an alarm symbol, on the alarm silence graphical element 34. The alarm silence graphical element 34 may then be selected again to un- silence the alarm and remove the alarm silence indicator from the graphical element 34.].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin/Liu with the alarm silencing of HUSSAIN with the motivation to improve patient monitor user interfaces.
Regarding Claim 23
Claim(s) 23 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 11, thus Claim(s) 23 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 11.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of Muhsin at al (US Publication No. 20230033122) in view of MASTROTOTARO et al (Foreign Publication WO-2008069931-A1).
Regarding Claim 12
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach further comprising:
k. calibrating at least one of the intelligent physiological sensors;
wherein the first docking station is adapted to perform step (k) even if the multi-parameter patient monitor is not connected to the mount.
Muhsin teaches further comprising:
k. calibrating at least one of the intelligent physiological sensors [Muhsin at Para. 0296 teaches for example, the received data may be used to calibrate an algorithm used for processing data received from a sensor connected to the BIC.];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall with the calibration of Muhsin with the motivation to improve patient care quality.
Lund/Agnello/Kall/Muhsin do not teach wherein the first docking station is adapted to perform step (k) even if the multi-parameter patient monitor is not connected to the mount.
MASTROTOTARO teaches wherein the first docking station is adapted to perform step (k) even if the multi-parameter patient monitor is not connected to the mount [MASTROTOTARO at Para. 00141 teaches Figs. 6A-6E show similar embodiments to Figs. 5A-5H. However, as shown in Figs. 6A-6C, the sensor electronics 120 include sensor wireless communication mechanism 1205 and the user interface 200 includes user interface wireless communication mechanism 1005. As shown in Fig. 6A, the sensor power supply 1210 and regulator 1090 are part of the sensor electronics 120. Thus, the sensor 100 constantly remains powered (interpreted as not connected to mount)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall, Mushin with the monitor of MASTROTOTARO with the motivation to better monitor and manage the patient's diet and dosage schedules.
Claims 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of MASTROTOTARO et al (Foreign Publication WO-2008069931-A1).
Regarding Claim 13
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach further comprising:
l. warming at least one of the intelligent physiological sensors;
wherein the first docking station is adapted to perform step (l) even if the multi-parameter patient monitor is not connected to the mount.
MASTROTOTARO teaches further comprising:
l. warming at least one of the intelligent physiological sensors [MASTROTOTARO at Para. 00109 teaches it is possible that a sensor will need to receive regulated power for a defined duration before it can generate a stable signal, in other words it must warm up];
wherein the first docking station is adapted to perform step (l) even if the multi-parameter patient monitor is not connected to the mount [MASTROTOTARO at Para. 00141 (see Claim 12 for explanation)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall with the monitor of MASTROTOTARO with the motivation to better monitor and manage the patient's diet and dosage schedules.
Regarding Claim 14
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the method of claim 1,
Lund/Agnello/Kall further teach further comprising:
n. automatically associating the intelligent physiological sensor with the first location when step (m) is performed [Agnello at Para. 008 (see Claim 1 for explanation; interpret to combine with step m of HUSSAIN recited later)];
o. mechanically and electrically connecting the intelligent physiological sensor to a second docking station, the second docking station being associated with a second location on the hospital network [Agnello at Para. 008 (see Claim 1 for explanation); Lund at Para. 0004 (see CLaim 1 for explanation)]; and
p. automatically associating the intelligent physiological sensor with the second location when step (o) is performed [Agnello at Para. 008 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach m. disconnecting the intelligent physiological sensor from the first docking station;
MASTROTOTARO teaches m. disconnecting the intelligent physiological sensor from the first docking station [MASTROTOTARO at Para. 00134 teaches thus, a user can wear the sensor and move about freely, physically disconnect from other devices. This can be useful if the patient needs to leave the proximity of one or more devices. For example, if the patient is wearing a sensor with wireless sensor electronics that communicate with a stationary device such as a wall-mounted or bed-mounted display, then the patient may leave the room for a therapeutic procedure without having to disconnect the sensor electronics from any devices];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall with the disconnection of MASTROTOTARO with the motivation to better monitor and manage the patient's diet and dosage schedules.
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lund, Agnello, Kall as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US Publication No. 20220202337).
Regarding Claim 19
Lund/Agnello/Kall teach the docking station of claim 15,
Lund/Agnello/Kall do not teach wherein the at least one sensor port comprises at least one service-oriented device connectivity (SDC) port.
Liu teaches wherein the at least one sensor port comprises at least one service-oriented device connectivity (SDC) port [Liu at Para. 0076 teaches additionally, being that the IPFE communication protocol is modeled on the SDC protocol, IPFE data can be transmitted to other devices within the SDC network. For example, a monitoring or therapy device may receive IPFE data from an IPFE device via the IPFE-compatible connector and may transmit the received IPFE data to another device connected to the SDC network via an SDC communication protocol; Liu at Para. 0078 teaches various communication protocol interfaces may include an IPFE interface, an SDC interface, a CTAG interface, an RS-232 serial interface (e.g., MEDIBUS®), a serial peripheral interface (SPI), a USB interface, a third-party proprietary protocol-based interface, a data export protocol interface (e.g., an infinity export protocol interface or a legacy export protocol interface), an internet interface, a web interface, a hospital IT (HIT) network interface, a Remote Data Connection (RDC) interface, a server interface, a storage interface, a massaging protocol interface, a paging protocol interface, and the like. It is to be noted that third-party devices (medical and therapy devices) may use the SDC protocol format or non-SDC protocol formats].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Lund, Agnello, Kall, Muhsin with the port of Liu with the motivation to improve post ECG signal processing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Goldman et al (US Publication No. 20210298991) discloses a medical device system for providing sensor data capture.
ROSENFELDT et al (Foreign Publication WO-2015094248-A1) discloses a modular pod rack that enables a patient monitor to connect to different vital sign monitor pod connectors.
/JONATHAN C EDOUARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/JASON S TIEDEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683