DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “top layer of material” “bottom layer of material” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHRISTIAN US 20240034517.
With respect to claim 1, Christian teaches a system for containing a type of gas to allow optical detection of the gas in a spectral region of detection defined by the type of gas, comprising:
a top layer (fig 3, 5) “top portion” (0020, lines 7-8) of material;
a bottom layer (fig 3, 7) “bottom portion” (0020, lines 1-3) of material, wherein the top layer is sealed “inflated” (abstract, line 3) to the bottom layer forming a bladder with a perimeter seam and forming a cavity;
ribbing (fig 3, 6) “ribbed” (abstract, line 3) between the top layer of material and the bottom layer of material defining segments of the cavity; and
a frame (fig 2, 200), wherein the frame supports the bladder.
With respect to claim 4 according to claim 1, Christian teaches the system wherein the segments of the cavity are of substantially similar height (fig 2, 6).
With respect to claim 11, Christian teaches a method of containing a type of gas to allow optical detection of the gas in a spectral region of detection defined by the type of gas, the method comprising:
filling a bladder with the gas “inflated” (abstract, line 3), wherein the bladder comprises:
a top layer (fig 3, 5) “top portion” (0020, lines 7-8) of material;
a bottom layer (fig 3, 7) “bottom portion” (0020, lines 1-3) of material, wherein the top layer is sealed “inflated” (abstract, line 3) to the bottom layer forming a bladder with a perimeter seam and forming a cavity;
ribbing “ribbed” (abstract, line 3) between the top layer of material and the bottom layer of material
defining segments of the cavity; and
supporting the bladder on a frame (fig 2, 200).
With respect to claim 14 according to claim 11, Christian teaches the method wherein the segments of the cavity are of substantially similar height (fig 2, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHRISTIAN US 20240034517 in view of Corry Rubber “Corry Rubber – Bladders”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MI0ej9D0QC4 Feb 13, 2017 hereafter Corry Rubber in further view of Alex Wang, “How to make ball bladder”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxTAALvJfk4&t=203s May 27, 2018 hereafter Wang.
With respect to claim 10 according to claim 1, Christian does not teach the bladder is formed on a roll, and wherein the bladder is cut to a user-defined length at a cut line, and wherein the cut line is sealed to close the cavity.
Corry Rubber, in the same field of endeavor as Christian of bladders, implicitly teaches cutting a bladder to a user-defined length at a cut line and sealing the bladder at the cut line to form a cavity.
Corry Rubber does not teach forming the bladder on a roll.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor as Christian of bladders, implicitly teaches forming a bladder on a roll (fig 1). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form, cut, and seal a bladder as a known method to yield a predictable result of manufacturing a bladder.
With respect to claim 20 according to claim 11, Christian does not teach the method further comprising:
forming the bladder on a roll; cutting the bladder to a user-defined length at a cut line; and sealing the bladder at the cut line to form the cavity.
Corry Rubber, in the same field of endeavor as Christian of bladders, implicitly teaches cutting a bladder to a user-defined length at a cut line teaches sealing the bladder at the cut line to form a cavity.
Corry Rubber does not teach forming the bladder on a roll.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor as Christian of bladders, implicitly teaches forming a bladder on a roll (fig 1). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form, cut, and seal a bladder as a known method to yield a predictable result of manufacturing a bladder.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2017062895, US 20120283055, & GB 2487400.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5-9, 12, 13, & 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or to include the limitation(s) and any intervening claims into the base claim. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a reinforcing strip substantially covering the perimeter seam”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 2.
As to claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “comprises a rectangular shape”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 5.
As to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “comprises a rectangular shape”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 6.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the top layer of material and the bottom layer of material are substantially optically transparent material of at least 80% transparent in a spectral region of detection for the system”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 7.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the top layer of material and the bottom layer of material is sufficiently pure to decrease absorptions in a spectral region of detection for the system to less than between 5% and 20%”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 8.
As to claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “bladder comprises a rectangular shape”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 15.
As to claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the bladder comprises a hexagonal shape”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 16.
As to claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “one of the top layer of material and the bottom layer of material are substantially optically transparent material of at least 80% transparent in the spectral region of detection”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 17.
As to claim 18, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the top layer of material and the bottom layer of material is sufficiently pure to decrease absorptions in the spectral region of detection to less than between 5% and 20%”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 18.
The closest prior art of record Berggren teaches hexagonal bladders (fig 4b, 41) sealed by perimeter seams (fig 4b, 42), wherein air is filled at the bottom of the bladder (fig 6, 41). Berggren fails to teach a top layer is sealed to the bottom layer forming a bladder with a perimeter seam and forming a cavity wherein the bladder is shaped like a hexagon.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877