DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species C (fig. 5) in the reply filed on 18 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that some elements appear in multiple species and that there would be no serious burden to examine the species together. This is not found persuasive because although the species may share some elements, they are independent or distinct because each contains unique features as outlined in paragraph “2” of the Action mailed 22 December 2025. Further, a serious burden is present due to at least the species having acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter discussed in the same paragraph. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
It is noted that applicant has indicated claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-9 as reading on the elected species. However, claim 5 requires a radial shed, a feature only found in species A (see fig. 2, 80). Further, claim 8 requires a series of CVLs connected to one another, a feature only shown and described in species B (see fig. 4). Therefore, claims 3, 5, 6, 8, and 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it uses reference numeral “45” to refer to the evacuated space (paragraph [0010]) as well as an insulating barrier (paragraphs [0011], [0012]) as well as a vacuum barrier (paragraph [0028]). Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs 1, 2, and 5 are cross-sectional views but are lacking proper cross-hatching. See 37 CFR 1.84 (h)(3). Further, shading should not be used for cross-sectional views. See 37 CFR 1.84(m).
The drawings are further objected to because they should only contain the reference numerals and not the full text description. See 37 CFR 1.84(p).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because lines 13 and 20 each recite “adapted to,” when they should recite “adapted to:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soulie (US 2023/0102097).
In regards to claims 1 and 9, Soulie discloses a cryogenic fluid voltage transfer line (10, see fig. 5) (CVL) having a first end and second end, the CVL adapted to receive and pass a cryogenic fluid through the CVL and not reduce any voltage difference between the first end and the second end of the CVL, the CVL comprising:
a cylindrical inner vessel (28) and having a first outer diameter,
a cylindrical outer vessel (26) and having a second inner diameter,
wherein the first diameter is smaller than the second diameter, the inner vessel disposed inside the outer vessel (shown in fig. 5),
wherein the inner vessel does not physically contact the outer vessel (shown in fig. 5),
a first radial flange (22) disposed at the first end of the CVL, the first radial flange adapted to,
form a first hermetic seal at the first end between the inner vessel and the outer vessel (see 54, 56),
space the inner vessel from the outer vessel so that the inner vessel and the outer vessel do not contact one another at the first end (shown in fig. 5), and
provide a first attachment point to the CVL at the first end (see bolts 22.3), and
a second radial flange (24) disposed at the second end of the CVL, the second radial flange adapted to,
form a second hermetic seal at the second end between the inner vessel and the outer vessel (see seals 54, 56),
space the inner vessel from the outer vessel so that the inner vessel and the outer vessel do not contact one another at the second end (shown in fig. 5), and
provide a second attachment point to the CVL at the second end (see bolts 24.3).
Soulie discloses the claimed invention except for making the inner and outer vessels from an electrically insulating material. However, polyethylene is a known material used for hydrogen pipelines It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Soulie by making the inner and outer vessels from polyethylene due to its chemical resistance, strength, etc., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 2, Soulie further discloses a thermally insulating vacuum (32) drawn between the inner vessel and the outer vessel (see paragraph [0040]).
In regards to claim 4, Soulie further discloses material (30) disposed between the inner vessel and the outer vessel.
Soulie discloses the claimed invention except for the material being thermally and electrically insulating. However, polyethylene is a known material used for hydrogen pipelines It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Soulie by making the material (30) from polyethylene due to its chemical resistance, strength, etc. , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soulie as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grande (US 2022/0042639).
Soulie discloses the CVL of claim 1 but does not disclose an electrically insulating reflective coating disposed between the inner vessel and the outer vessel.
However, Grande teaches a similar device, comprising an electrically insulating reflective coating (70, 80) in a vacuum space (75).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the CVL of Soulie with an electrically insulating reflective coating in order to suppress heat transfer to the external environment, as taught by Grande at paragraph [0174].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows similar fluid lines.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
03/10/2026