DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn U.S. Patent No. 6,661,630 (hereinafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches a method for controlling a distance protection system (refer to abstract and figure 3), the method comprising: receiving, measurements comprising current and/or voltage measurements at a first position along a transmission line for an electrical power system (refer to step S100)(fig.3); computing a first impedance from the received measurements (refer to step S150)(fig.3); determining a fault location from the computed first impedance and a first impedance boundary (refer to step S160)(fig.3); computing, responsive to the determined fault location, a second impedance (refer to step S190)(fig.3); re-determining the fault location from the computed second impedance and the first impedance boundary (refer to step S270)(fig.3); and controlling the distance protection system from the determined fault location or the re-determined fault location (refer to step S280)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the fault location from the computed first impedance and the first impedance boundary comprises determining whether the computed first impedance is inside of the first impedance boundary (refer to step S200 and S270)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn teaches a device (refer to abstract and figures 1-3) for controlling a distance protection system (refer to abstract and figures 1-3) comprising a distance protection device (i.e. distance relay 20, 22)(figs.1 and 2) located at a first position (refer to figs.1 and 2) along a transmission line (i.e. transmission line 40)(figs.1 and 2) for an electrical power system (refer to abstract and figures 1 and 2), the device comprising a processor (inherent)(refer to fig.3) being configured to: receive measurements comprising current and/or voltage measurements at a first position along a transmission line for an electrical power system (refer to step S100)(fig.3); compute a first impedance from the received measurements (refer to step S150)(fig.3); determine a fault location from the computed first impedance and a first impedance boundary (refer to step S160)(fig.3); compute, responsive to the determined fault location, a second impedance (refer to step S190)(fig.3); re-determine the fault location from the computed second impedance and the first impedance boundary (refer to step S270)(fig.3); and control the distance protection system from the determined fault location or the re-determined fault location (refer to step S280)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 18, Ahn teaches an electrical power system (refer to Ahn abstract and figures 1 and 2) comprising a transmission line (i.e. transmission line 40)(figs.1 and 2) and the device of claim 16 (refer to the rejection of claim 16 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as applied to claims 1 or 16 above, and further in view of Qi et al. U.S. Patent Application 2016/0352091 (hereinafter “Qi”).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn teaches the method of claim 1; however, Ahn does not teach the method further comprising re-determining the fault location from the computed first impedance and a second impedance boundary. However, Qi teaches the method further comprising re-determining the fault location from the computed first impedance and a second impedance boundary (refer to [0021]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ahn to include the second impedance boundary of Qi to provide the advantage of applying the method to the entire system to better localize the faults and trip only the necessary breakers/relays and prevent nuisance trips.
Regarding claim 3, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 2, wherein the second impedance boundary is computed from the measurements obtained before a fault at the fault location occurs (refer to Qi [0021] and [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 2, wherein the second impedance boundary is computed from a line impedance of the transmission line (refer to Qi [0021] and [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 2, wherein the first impedance boundary is indicative of a first physical distance being a distance between the first position and a second position along the transmission line (refer to Qi [0016] and fig.2)(refer also to Ahn S and R)(fig.1).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 7, further comprising determining, when the computed first impedance is inside of the first impedance boundary, the fault location is inside of the first physical distance (refer to Ahn step S270)(fig.3)(refer also to Qi fig.3).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 8, wherein the determining the fault location from the computed first impedance and the first impedance boundary comprises determining whether the computed first impedance is inside of the first impedance boundary (refer to Ahn step S270)(fig.3)(refer also to Qi [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 7, wherein the re-determining the fault location from the computed first impedance and the second impedance boundary comprises determining whether the computed first impedance is inside of the second impedance boundary (refer to Qi [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 10, further comprising determining, when the computed first impedance is outside of the second impedance boundary, the fault location is outside of the first physical distance (refer to Qi [0021] and fig.3)(refer also to Ahn step S270)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 12, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 7, wherein the re-determining the fault location from the computed second impedance and the first impedance boundary comprises determining whether the computed second impedance is inside of the first impedance boundary (refer to Ahn steps S200 and S270)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 12, further comprising determining, when the computed second impedance is inside of the first impedance boundary, the fault location is inside of the first physical distance (refer to Qi [0021] and fig.3)(refer also to Ahn step S270)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 7, wherein the determining the fault location from the computed first impedance and the first impedance boundary comprises determining whether the computed first impedance is inside of the first impedance boundary (refer to Qi [0021] and fig.3)(refer also to Ahn step S270)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 17, Ahn teaches the device of claim 16; however, Ahn does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to re-determine the fault location from the computed first impedance and a second impedance boundary, wherein the second impedance boundary is computed from at least one of the measurements obtained before a fault at the fault location occurs, at least one impedance of an equivalent model of a two-port equivalent across the transmission line, or a line impedance of the transmission line. However, Qi teaches wherein the processor is further configured to re-determine the fault location from the computed first impedance and a second impedance boundary (refer to Qi [0021] and [0037]), wherein the second impedance boundary is computed from at least one of the measurements obtained before a fault at the fault location occurs (refer to Qi [0021] and [0037]), at least one impedance of an equivalent model of a two-port equivalent across the transmission line, or a line impedance of the transmission line (refer to Qi [0021] and [0037]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ahn to include the second impedance boundary of Qi to provide the advantage of applying the method to the entire system to better localize the faults and trip only the necessary breakers/relays to prevent nuisance trips.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn and Qi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Paladhi et al. “Adaptive Zone-1 Setting Following Structural and Operational Changes in Power System” (hereinafter “Paladhi”).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn and Qi teach the method of claim 2; however, they do not teach wherein the second impedance boundary is computed from at least one impedance of an equivalent model of a two-port equivalent across the transmission line. However, Paladhi teaches wherein the second impedance boundary is computed from at least one impedance of an equivalent model of a two-port equivalent across the transmission line (refer to fig.2 and III. Determination of Relay Setting Parameters sections A-C on page 562). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ahn and Qi to include the equivalent model of Paladhi to provide the advantage of using a well-known method of quickly estimating impedances within a distribution line using little processing power.
Regarding claim 5, Ahn, Qi, and Paladhi teach the method of claim 4, wherein the equivalent model of the two-port equivalent across the transmission line is estimated and/or updated from the measurements obtained before a fault at the fault location occurs (refer to Paladhi fig.2 and III. Determination of Relay Setting Parameters sections A-C on page 562).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,288,979 (hereinafter “’979”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of ‘979 contain all of the limitations of claims 1-18 of the instant application, respectively.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838