DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/28/2025. Claims 1-8 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2025 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim1-2, 5 and 7-8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 29 reads “in plan view”, --in a plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 1 line 33 reads “in plan view”, --in a plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 2 line 2 reads “in plan view”, --in the plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 5 line 2 reads “in plan view”, --in the plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 7 line 5 reads “in plan view”, --in the plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 7 line 11 reads “in plan view”, --in a plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 7 line 12 reads “in plan view”, --in the plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 8 line 33 reads “in plan view”, --in a plan view-- is suggested.
Claim 8 line 36 reads “in plan view”, --in a plan view-- is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 5 and claim 8 line 8 recite the limitation “a proximal end”. It is unclear which element is being referred to. For example, a robot, a base, a first arm and a second arm are all positively recited, and each have a proximal end.
Claim 1 lines 25-36 and claim 8 lines 28-39 recite the limitation “when a line segment that is orthogonal to the second rotation axis and that passes through the second rotation axis and the third rotation axis is defined as an imaginary central axis of the second arm, the first motor and the second motor are arranged in parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis, the distal end opening of the duct is positioned closer to a proximal end side of the second arm than the first motor and the second motor are, in plan view from a direction along the imaginary central axis, the holding portion is positioned between the first motor and the second motor, and the wiring passes between the first motor and the second motor and is drawn to a distal end side of the second arm”. It is unclear if the limitations after the conditional statement “when” are required or not. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner is considering the limitations to be required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashiro (US 20200009722 A1) in view of Hahakura (US 20170341223 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashiro discloses a robot (see Fig. 2; 1) comprising: a base (100); a first arm (10) that is joined to the base and that rotates around a first rotation axis (AX1) with respect to the base; a second arm (20) that is joined to the first arm at a proximal end portion and that rotates around a second rotation axis (AX2), which is parallel to the first rotation axis, with respect to the first arm; a shaft (30) that is disposed at a distal end portion of the second arm, that linearly moves along a third rotation axis (AX), which is parallel to the first rotation axis, with respect to the second arm, and that rotates around the third rotation axis (see paragraph [0011]); a first motor (23) that is disposed in the second arm and that linearly moves the shaft along the third rotation axis with respect to the second arm (see paragraph [0012]); a second motor (24) that is disposed in the second arm and that rotates the shaft around the third rotation axis with respect to the second arm (see paragraph [0012]); a duct (51) that couples the base and the second arm and that includes a proximal end opening (see Fig. 1; opening at 63) which faces an inside of the base and a distal end opening (opening at 70) which faces an inside of the second arm; wiring (CA) that is drawn into the second arm from the inside of the base through an inside of the duct; and a wiring holding member (70) that is disposed in the second arm and that includes a holding portion (71a) which holds the wiring drawn into the second arm from the duct, wherein the second arm includes an arm base (base of 20) that is joined to the first arm and that holds the first motor and the second motor and a frame (frame of 70) that is fixed to the arm base and that includes a coupling portion (coupling portion between 51 and 70) to which the duct is coupled, and the distal end opening of the duct is positioned closer to a proximal end side of the second arm than the first motor and the second motor are (see Fig. 2). Yamashiro fails to disclose when a line segment that is orthogonal to the second rotation axis and that passes through the second rotation axis and the third rotation axis is defined as an imaginary central axis of the second arm, the first motor and the second motor are arranged in parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis, in plan view from a direction along the imaginary central axis, the holding portion is positioned between the first motor and the second motor. However, Hahakura teaches when a line segment (see Fig. 19; L1) that is orthogonal to the second rotation axis (AX2) and that passes through the second rotation axis and the third rotation axis (AX3) is defined as an imaginary central axis of the second arm (A20), the first motor (12) and the second motor (13) are arranged in parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis (see Fig. 19), in plan view from a direction along the imaginary central axis (L1), the holding portion (see Fig. 17; holding portion extending from 42b along AX2) is positioned between the first motor (12) and the second motor (13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yamashiro with (a) two motors arranged parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis and (b) a holding portion that is positioned between the first motor and the second motor, as taught by Hahakura, to (a) provide a parallel arrangement of the motors to reduce the length of the second arm, which allows for a reduction in the length of wire used, a reduction in the size of the transmission between the motor and the shaft, e.g., belts or gears, and reduces the amount of work required to rotate the second arm and (b) to provide a centralized holding portion which balances the weight of the arm and reduces wear and tear on the components from uneven weight distribution during operation of the robot. As a result of the combination, the following limitations would necessarily result: the wiring (Yamashiro, CA) passes between the first motor (Yamashiro, 23) and the second motor (Yamashiro, 24) and is drawn to a distal end side of the second arm (Yamashiro, see Fig. 1 and see paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: in plan view from the direction along the imaginary central axis (Hahakura, L1), each of the holding portion (Yamashiro, 71a) and the distal end opening (Yamashiro, opening at 70) is positioned between the first motor (Yamashiro, 23) and the second motor (Yamashiro, 24).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashiro discloses the duct (51) is disposed such that the distal end opening (opening at 70) faces the distal end side of the second arm (20; see Fig. 2).3
Regarding claim 4, Yamashiro discloses the holding portion (71a) is disposed along a central axis of the duct (51).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: in plan view from a direction along a central axis of the duct (Hahakura, Fig. 17-18, along AX2), the distal end opening (Hahakura, opening in 42b) and the holding portion (Hahakura, holding portion extending from 42b along AX2) overlap each other (Hahakura, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Yamashiro discloses the wiring holding member (70) is fixed to the frame (frame of 70).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashiro discloses a robot system (see Fig. 2) comprising: a robot (1); and a control device (see Fig. 1; 40) that controls driving of the robot (see paragraph [0018]), wherein the robot includes a base(100); a first arm (10) that is joined to the base and that rotates around a first rotation axis (AX1) with respect to the base; a second arm (20) that is joined to the first arm at a proximal end portion and that rotates around a second rotation axis (AX2), which is parallel to the first rotation axis, with respect to the first arm; a shaft (30) that is disposed at a distal end portion of the second arm, that linearly moves along a third rotation axis (AX), which is parallel to the first rotation axis, with respect to the second arm, and that rotates around the third rotation axis (see paragraph [0011]); a first motor (23) that is disposed in the second arm and that linearly moves the shaft along the third rotation axis with respect to the second arm (see paragraph [0012]); a second motor (24) that is disposed in the second arm and that rotates the shaft around the third rotation axis with respect to the second arm (see paragraph [0012]); a duct (51) that couples the base and the second arm and that includes a proximal end opening (see Fig. 1; opening at 63) which faces an inside of the base and a distal end opening (opening at 70) which faces an inside of the second arm; wiring (CA) that is drawn into the second arm from the inside of the base through an inside of the duct; and a wiring holding member (70) that is disposed in the second arm and that includes a holding portion (71a) which holds the wiring drawn into the second arm from the duct, wherein the second arm includes an arm base (base of 20) that is joined to the first arm and that holds the first motor and the second motor and a frame (frame of 70) that is fixed to the arm base and that includes a coupling portion (coupling portion between 51 and 70) to which the duct is coupled, and the distal end opening of the duct is positioned closer to a proximal end side of the second arm than the first motor and the second motor are (see Fig. 2). Yamashiro fails to disclose when a line segment that is orthogonal to the second rotation axis and that passes through the second rotation axis and the third rotation axis is defined as an imaginary central axis of the second arm, the first motor and the second motor are arranged in parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis, in plan view from a direction along the imaginary central axis, the holding portion is positioned between the first motor and the second motor. However, Hahakura teaches when a line segment (see Fig. 19; L1) that is orthogonal to the second rotation axis (AX2) and that passes through the second rotation axis and the third rotation axis (AX3) is defined as an imaginary central axis of the second arm (A20), the first motor (12) and the second motor (13) are arranged in parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis (see Fig. 19), in plan view from a direction along the imaginary central axis (L1), the holding portion (see Fig. 17; holding portion extending from 42b along AX2) is positioned between the first motor (12) and the second motor (13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yamashiro with (a) two motors arranged parallel along a direction intersecting the imaginary central axis in plan view from a direction along the second rotation axis and (b) a holding portion that is positioned between the first motor and the second motor, as taught by Hahakura, to (a) provide a parallel arrangement of the motors to reduce the length of the second arm, which allows for a reduction in the length of wire used, a reduction in the size of the transmission between the motor and the shaft, e.g., belts or gears, and reduces the amount of work required to rotate the second arm and (b) to provide a centralized holding portion which balances the weight of the arm and reduces wear and tear on the components from uneven weight distribution during operation of the robot. As a result of the combination, the following limitations would necessarily result: the wiring (Yamashiro, CA) passes between the first motor (Yamashiro, 23) and the second motor (Yamashiro, 24) and is drawn to a distal end side of the second arm (Yamashiro, see Fig. 1 and see paragraph [0021]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Yamashiro (US 20200009722 A1) in view of Hahakura (US 20170341223 A1), does not anticipate that “the first rotation axis follows a vertical direction, the holding portion and the distal end opening are positioned below a higher one of an upper end of the first motor and an upper end of the second motor, in plan view from the direction along the imaginary central axis, each of the holding portion and the distal end opening is positioned between the first motor and the second motor, the duct is disposed such that the distal end opening faces the distal end side of the second arm, the wiring holding member is fixed to the frame, and the holding portion is disposed along a central axis of the duct, overlaps the distal end opening in plan view from a direction along the central axis of the duct, and further has a width smaller than a distance between the first motor and the second motor in plan view from the direction along the imaginary central axis” as recited in claim 7. The prior art of record does not provide any teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify toward the entirety of applicant's claimed invention. Further, there was no cogent reasoning elsewhere available to one of ordinary skill that was unequivocally independent of improper hindsight of applicant's invention and that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the prior art to obtain the applicant' s invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
US 20180056508 A1, US 20190152050 A1, US 20180056506 A1, US 20180056507 A1, US 5205701 A and US 20230166395 A1 discloses SCARA robots with ducts and wiring.
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618