DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 19/093,985 on May 5, 2026. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 28, 2025 has been filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figure 11 and Claims 1-5, 7, 12-18 and 20 in the reply filed on May 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-5, 7, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2023/0419870 A1 ) in view of Jang et al. ( US 2021/0407437 A1 ).
Kim teaches in Claim 1:
A display apparatus ( [0002] discloses a display apparatus and method of driving ), comprising:
a display panel on which a plurality of sub-pixels are arranged, each of the plurality of sub-pixels including an organic light-emitting diode and a driving transistor for driving the organic light-emitting diode ( Figure 1, [0079] disclose a display panel 100 with a plurality of pixels P. Figure 3, [0103] discloses a pixel P which includes a light emitting element EE and a driving transistor T1 for driving EE );
a plurality of sensing lines disposed on the display panel ( Figures 1 and 3, [0083] discloses a plurality of sensing lines SL connected to the pixels P );
a sensing circuit configured to sense voltages of the plurality of sensing lines ( Figure 1, [0150] discloses the display panel driver may include a sensing circuit for receiving sensed signals from the pixels P through the sensing lines SL ); and
a controller configured to determine whether the organic light-emitting diode is defective based on pre-stored reference data ( Figure 9, [0159]+ disclose determining a defective pixel based on the sensed value set, as noted in steps S2000 and S3000. Please read the mobility sensing data, for the driving transistor, as pre-stored reference data. To clarify, the mobility aspects are determined and used to determine, i.e. pre-stored ),
wherein a process for determining whether the organic light-emitting diode is defective is performed [before an off-sensing process] after a power-off signal is generated ( [0112] discloses the sensing mode can be performed in a power off period when the display apparatus starts to turn off, i.e. after the power-off signal is generated, but the display has not been fully powered off yet. Respectfully, sensing during powering off is interpreted as off-sensing (as opposed to on-sensing, which is during display driving, etc), consistent with Applicant’s definition as well. However, please note the combination below as well ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach of an off-sensing process.
However, in the same field of endeavor, display driving with an emphasis on determining abnormal operation, Jang teaches of a similar concept of sensing characteristics of the driving transistor and its effect on operation, ( Jang, [0160] ). Notably, Jang teaches in Figure 5 of sensing threshold voltage and Figure 6 of sensing mobility aspects. Jang teaches in [0134]-[0135] of a similar concept of a sensing characteristic values after a power-off signal is generated, i.e. off-sensing. Furthermore, Jang teaches in [0134]-[0135] that threshold voltage sensing is sensed during the off-sensing process, as opposed to mobility sensing, which is done during real-time, i.e. display driving, [0138]. As combined, mobility sensing is done during display driving, or before the power-off (both Kim and Jang teach this) and the threshold sensing is performed in an off-sensing period as it takes a longer period of time to determine, as Figure 8 teaches. Finally, the defect determination is performed before power-off, consistent with the teachings of Kim and within the spirit of Jang’s teachings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the off-sensing period, as taught by Jang, with the motivation that by having the off-sensing period and real-time sensing period, the abnormal phenomenon can be further alleviated and still take advantage of the different lengths of sensing required. Essentially, efficient processing is achieved, ( Jang, Figure 8, [0137] and [0008]-[0009] ).
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 2:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reference data is updated based on data acquired by a mobility sensing process of the driving transistor, which is performed in real time during display driving. ( Jang, [0138] discloses mobility sensing is performed in a real-time sensing process, i.e. during display driving, Kim, [0112] discloses sensing can be performed in a variety of periods as well )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 3:
The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the update of the reference data is performed before the display apparatus is completely turned off after the power-off signal is generated. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches to perform sensing during the interpreted off-sensing period. It is clear the process is iterative and updates are made based on the sensed values )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 4:
The display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the updated reference data is stored in a non-volatile memory. ( Jang, [0178] discloses a memory which stores the reference mobility. Respectfully, the use of non-volatile memory is well known )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 5:
The display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to perform defect detection of the organic light-emitting diode based on the reference data stored before last power-off after a last power-off signal is generated. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches to perform sensing during the interpreted off-sensing period. It is clear the process is iterative and updates are made based on the sensed values. To clarify, this is the most recently stored data )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 7:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein mobility sensing of the driving transistor is performed before display driving after a power-on signal is generated. ( Kim, Figure 9, [0158] discloses mobility sensing is during display driving, i.e. after a power-on signal is generated. [0112] discloses in a blank period between active periods when the image is displayed. Likewise, Jang teaches in [0135] of mobility sensing during real-time, i.e. display driving )
Kim teaches in Claim 12:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein one of the plurality of sub-pixels includes a first transistor electrically connected between a first node of the driving transistor and a data line ( Figure 3, [0104] discloses transistor T2 connected between node N1 of T1 and data line VDATA ), and a second transistor electrically connected between a second node of the driving transistor and a sensing line ( Figure 3, [0104] discloses transistor T3 connected between node N2 and sensing line SL ), and
a gate node of the first transistor and a gate node of the second transistor are connected to one gate line ( Figure 3 shows the connection to S1 and S2. However, it is well known to have one scanning signal control both of these elements for the purpose of controlling scanning the pixel and sensing the pixel as neither is ON during actual display emission. Respectfully, Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known ),
wherein the sensing line is one of the plurality of sensing lines. ( Figure 1 shows a plurality of sensing lines SL, for each pixel )
Kim teaches in Claim 13:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, when the process for determining whether the organic light-emitting diode is defective is performed, the controller changes image data supplied to a data driving circuit when a voltage sensed by the sensing circuit is less than a preset second comparison voltage value, wherein the voltage is one of the voltages sensed by the sensing circuit. ( Figure 5, [0139] discloses a panel protector can determine if there is a defective panel, notably with the number of defective pixels being very little, etc, i.e. a comparison value. This uses the voltages on the sensing lines and please note the thresholds used as a basis to determine defects )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 14:
The display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the process for determining whether the organic light-emitting diode is defective includes an initializing operation, a tracking operation, and a sampling operation. ( [0106]+ discloses an initialization step, a sensing step (read as tracking) and then determination of the sensing data (read as sampling). Furthermore, Jang teaches in Figures 5 and 6 of initialization, tracking and sampling as well, for each of threshold sensing and mobility sensing. Again, this sensing is used to determine defective/abnormal operation )
Kim teaches in Claim 15:
The display apparatus of claim 14, wherein one of the plurality of sub-pixels includes a first transistor electrically connected between a first node of the driving transistor and a data line ( Figure 3, [0104] discloses transistor T2 connected between node N1 of T1 and data line VDATA ), and a second transistor electrically connected between a second node of the driving transistor and a sensing line ( Figure 3, [0104] discloses transistor T3 connected between node N2 and sensing line SL ), and
in the initializing operation, the tracking operation, and the sampling operation, a gate signal of a turn-on level is applied to a gate node of the first transistor and a gate node of the second transistor ( Figure 3 shows the connection to S1 and S2. However, it is well known to have one scanning signal control both of these elements for the purpose of controlling scanning the pixel and sensing the pixel as neither is ON during actual display emission. Respectfully, Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known ),
wherein the sensing line is one of the plurality of sensing lines. ( Figure 1 shows a plurality of sensing lines SL, for each pixel )
Kim teaches in Claim 16:
A display apparatus ( [0002] discloses a display apparatus and method of driving ), comprising:
a display panel on which a plurality of sub-pixels are arranged, each of the plurality of sub-pixels including an organic light-emitting diode and a driving transistor for driving the organic light-emitting diode ( Figure 1, [0079] disclose a display panel 100 with a plurality of pixels P. Figure 3, [0103] discloses a pixel P which includes a light emitting element EE and a driving transistor T1 for driving EE );
a plurality of sensing lines disposed on the display panel ( Figures 1 and 3, [0083] discloses a plurality of sensing lines SL connected to the pixels P );
a sensing circuit configured to sense voltages of the plurality of sensing lines ( Figure 1, [0150] discloses the display panel driver may include a sensing circuit for receiving sensed signals from the pixels P through the sensing lines SL ); and
a controller configured to determine whether the organic light-emitting diode is defective based on pre-stored reference data ( Figure 9, [0159]+ disclose determining a defective pixel based on the sensed value set, as noted in steps S2000 and S3000. Please read the mobility sensing data, for the driving transistor, as pre-stored reference data. To clarify, the mobility aspects are determined and used to determine, i.e. pre-stored ); but
Kim may not explicitly teach “wherein the reference data is updated based on data acquired by a mobility sensing process of the driving transistor, which is performed in real time during display driving”
Initially, Kim, [0112] discloses sensing can be performed in a variety of periods as well.
However, in the same field of endeavor, display driving with an emphasis on determining abnormal operation, Jang teaches of a similar concept of sensing characteristics of the driving transistor and its effect on operation, ( Jang, [0160] ). Notably, Jang teaches in Figure 5 of sensing threshold voltage and Figure 6 of sensing mobility aspects. Jang teaches in [0134]-[0135] of a similar concept of a sensing characteristic values after a power-off signal is generated, i.e. off-sensing. Furthermore, Jang teaches in [0134]-[0135] that threshold voltage sensing is sensed during the off-sensing process, as opposed to mobility sensing, which is done during real-time, i.e. display driving, [0138]. Jang, [0138] discloses mobility sensing is performed in a real-time sensing process, i.e. during display driving. As combined, mobility sensing is done during display driving, or before the power-off (both Kim and Jang teach this) and the threshold sensing is performed in an off-sensing period as it takes a longer period of time to determine, as Figure 8 teaches. Finally, the defect determination is performed before power-off, consistent with the teachings of Kim and within the spirit of Jang’s teachings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the off-sensing period, as taught by Jang, with the motivation that by having the off-sensing period and real-time sensing period, the abnormal phenomenon can be further alleviated and still take advantage of the different lengths of sensing required. Essentially, efficient processing is achieved, ( Jang, Figure 8, [0137] and [0008]-[0009] ).
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 17:
The display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the update of the reference data is performed before the display apparatus is completely turned off after a power-off signal is generated. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches to perform sensing during the interpreted off-sensing period. It is clear the process is iterative and updates are made based on the sensed values )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 18:
The display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the controller performs defect detection of the organic light-emitting diode based on the reference data stored before last power-off after a last power-off signal is generated. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches to perform sensing during the interpreted off-sensing period. It is clear the process is iterative and updates are made based on the sensed values. To clarify, this is the most recently stored data )
Kim and Jang teach in Claim 20:
The display apparatus of claim 16, wherein a process for determining whether the organic light-emitting diode is defective is performed before an off-sensing process after a power-off signal is generated. ( Please note the reasoning in Claim 16: Notably, Jang teaches in Figure 5 of sensing threshold voltage and Figure 6 of sensing mobility aspects. Jang teaches in [0134]-[0135] of a similar concept of a sensing characteristic values after a power-off signal is generated, i.e. off-sensing. Furthermore, Jang teaches in [0134]-[0135] that threshold voltage sensing is sensed during the off-sensing process, as opposed to mobility sensing, which is done during real-time, i.e. display driving, [0138]. As combined, mobility sensing is done during display driving, or before the power-off (both Kim and Jang teach this) and the threshold sensing is performed in an off-sensing period as it takes a longer period of time to determine, as Figure 8 teaches. Finally, the defect determination is performed before power-off, consistent with the teachings of Kim and within the spirit of Jang’s teachings )
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621