DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
As to claim 6, the phrase “The UE device of claim 3, wherein the information receiver configured to receive destination information […]” is grammatically incorrect. The phrase should read “The UE device of claim 3, wherein the information receiver is configured to receive destination information […]”, or something similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, claim limitation “an information receiver configured to […]” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
As to claims 2-8, the claims are rejected due to their dependency on, and therefore inclusion of, the rejected subject matter of claim 1 discussed above.
As to claim 2, claim limitation “an applicant unit configured to […]” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,073. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Instant Application
The Patent
Claim 1
Claim 1
A UE device comprising:
an information receiver configured to receive changed server address information associated with a server of a data service from a base station device in a state in which a session for traffic transmission of the data service is established between the UE device and the server.
A base station device to provide data services between a user equipment (UE) and a data network, the base station device comprising: […]
determine a server address of an application server for a session for traffic transmission of a specific data service between a specific application in the UE and the application server;
determine, in real time, that a server address of the specific data service for the UE is changed in a state in which the session for traffic transmission of the specific data service between the specific application in the UE and the application server is established; and
in response to the determination that the server address of the specific data service is changed, transfer address information of the changed application server to the UE in real time such that the UE is to perform traffic transmission of the specific data service between the specific application in the UE and the changed application server using the transferred address information of the changed application server, […].
As to claims 2 and 3, the claims are anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
As to claim 4, the claim is anticipated by claim 2 of the patent.
As to claim 5, the claim is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
As to claims 6-8, the claims are anticipated by claim 4 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by TAJIMA (hereafter referred to as “Tajima”), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2016/0165503 A1.
As to claim 1, Tajima discloses a UE device (Fig. 1; ¶ [0209]) comprising:
an information receiver configured to receive changed server address information associated with a server of a data service from a base station device in a state in which a session for traffic transmission of the data service is established between the UE device and the server (Fig. 1; ¶ [0209]).
As to claim 2, Tajima discloses an application unit configured to perform traffic transmission of the data service using the changed server address information when the changed server address information is received (¶ [0043]).
As to claim 3, Tajima discloses wherein the changed server address information is transferred from the base station device which is notified from a node of a control plane, to the UE device (¶ [0059]).
As to claim 4, Tajima discloses wherein the changed server address information is transferred when address information of the server based on a change of the server of the data service that is provided via a notification from the control plane is different from address information of the server that is monitored as being used for traffic transmission of the data service in a user plane (¶¶ [0043], [0059], and [0209]).
As to claim 6, Tajima discloses wherein the information receiver configured to receive destination information including a condition to be applied when the UE device uses the changed server address information, from the base station device (¶¶ [0043], [0059], and [0209]).
As to claim 7, Tajima discloses wherein the destination information comprises address information including at least one of addresses of link layer (L2), Internet layer (L3), transport layer (L4), and application layer (L7) according to Internet protocol suite in association with the changed server (¶¶ [0043], [0059], and [0209]).
As to claim 8, Tajima discloses wherein the destination information comprises at least one information of activation information associated with a time point of performing traffic transmission using the address information of the changed server, duration information associated with a performance period, information associated with a protocol apply scheme, and information associated with a protocol processing scheme (¶¶ [0043], [0059], and [0209]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting set forth in this Office action (or if an appropriate terminal disclaimer is filed and approved) and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/Brian Whipple/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2447
7/11/26