Status of claims
The following claims have been rejected or allowed for the following reasons:
Claim(s) 1-14 is rejected under 35 USC § 103
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-053086, filed on 3/28/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement/statements (IDS) were filed on 3/28/25 and 2/19/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Yoshimizu (JP 2021108612 A), in further view of Jerger (US 20160185351 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Yoshimizu teaches An operation device comprising a plurality of operation portions that receives, from a user, an instruction to cause a work machine to perform a predetermined action, wherein the operation device outputs a first action instruction to the work machine when receiving a first operation to change both a first operation portion and a second operation portion among the plurality of operation portions to an ON-state, (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
Yoshimura does not teach and while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, changes the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state and then, when receiving a second operation to change the other operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputs a second action instruction different from the first action instruction to the work machine.
Jerger in analogous art, teaches and while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, changes the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state and then, when receiving a second operation to change the other operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputs a second action instruction different from the first action instruction to the work machine. (Jerger [0027] reads “Optionally, the system comprises a first user-operable transmission selector means for selecting said forward operating mode of transmission corresponding to travel in a forward direction and said reverse operating mode of a transmission corresponding to travel in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction, and wherein said first user-operable transmission selector means comprises an input lever movable between positions corresponding to a reverse, a neutral and a forward park operating mode of transmission and a second range of movement in which in said first functional mode it is configured to toggle between a plurality of forward direction gear ratios, and wherein in said second functional mode it is configured to toggle between the forward operating mode and the reverse operating mode.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yoshimizu with that of Jerger to include a system that would allow a user to have better control over the actions that it would take. Doing so would constitute the combination of known methods to yield predictable results since both multifunction input devices for robotic systems and multi-action robotic controllers would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, their combination would yield the desired and predictable result of user controller that has a greater range of functionality for control of a robotic device.
Regarding claim 2 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation is an operation in which, after the first operation, the other operation portion is changed from the ON-state to the OFF-state while the one operation portion is maintained in the ON-state and then the other operation portion is changed from the OFF-state to the ON-state, and then within a predetermined time, the other operation portion is changed from the ON-state to the OFF-state. (Yoshimizu page 16 second paragraph reads “As described above, the sonar sensor 60 may erroneously detect an object that does not interfere with the work running as an obstacle. When the observer can confirm whether or not the object does not interfere with the work running, it is preferable to start the running or continue the running. Therefore, if the observer can determine that the object does not interfere with the work running, the operator may be able to operate the object so as not to temporarily consider the detected obstacle. For example, the remote controller 90 is provided with a button operation that can temporarily not consider (ignore) the detected obstacle. The period for ignoring the detected obstacle may be a predetermined time, a button operation for resuming consideration of the detected obstacle may be separately prepared, or the button operation is continued. The configuration may be such that only the interval (the state in which the button is pressed and held) is ignored. Alternatively, the period for ignoring the detected obstacle may be a period during which the vehicle travels for a predetermined distance. These button operations may be hidden commands that are not disclosed as normal remote control 90 operations. Further, the button operation may be a complicated operation in order to suppress an operation error. For example, operations that are frequently operated and that can be redone immediately even if they are erroneously operated can be operated with one button on the remote controller 90, and operations that cannot be easily redoed once they are erroneously operated, such as starting automatic driving. May operate two or more buttons at the same time. One of the two or more buttons may be a function button.”);
Regarding claim 5 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation is an operation in which, after the first operation, the other operation portion is changed from the ON-state to the OFF-state while the one operation portion is maintained in the ON-state and then the other operation portion is changed from the OFF-state to the ON-state, (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
and then for more than a predetermined time, the other operation portion is maintained in the ON-state. (Yoshimizu page 33 first paragraph reads “Therefore, the notification unit 559 calculates the elapsed time since the map information was created based on the time information related to the map information displayed on the touch panel 50, and recreates the map information according to the elapsed time. It is preferable to configure it to notify. The time information related to the map information is a time stamp indicating the date and time when the map information was created. The elapsed time since the map information was created is the time from the time the map information was created to the present. … Therefore, the notification unit 559 refers to the time stamp indicating the date and time when the map information displayed on the touch panel 50 is created, and calculates the time from the creation of the map information to the present. When the calculated time is longer than the preset time (for example, 3 months), the notification unit 559 may notify the map information to be recreated. This notification may be displayed on the touch panel 50 or may be performed by voice. This makes it possible to notify the risk of changes in the field. Furthermore, when a time longer than a preset time (eg 3 months) has passed (eg 1 year), the risk of field change is stronger than in the case of a preset time (eg 3 months).”);
Regarding claim 6 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 5, wherein the first action instruction and the second action instruction are instructions for different action targets, (Yoshimizu page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90. The remote controller 90 has seven buttons and two indicators. … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g.”);
and the second action instruction is an instruction to cause the corresponding action target to perform an action by an action amount corresponding to a period of the ON-state of the other operation portion for more than the predetermined time. (Yoshimizu page 33 first paragraph reads “Therefore, the notification unit 559 calculates the elapsed time since the map information was created based on the time information related to the map information displayed on the touch panel 50, and recreates the map information according to the elapsed time. It is preferable to configure it to notify. The time information related to the map information is a time stamp indicating the date and time when the map information was created. The elapsed time since the map information was created is the time from the time the map information was created to the present. … Therefore, the notification unit 559 refers to the time stamp indicating the date and time when the map information displayed on the touch panel 50 is created, and calculates the time from the creation of the map information to the present. When the calculated time is longer than the preset time (for example, 3 months), the notification unit 559 may notify the map information to be recreated. This notification may be displayed on the touch panel 50 or may be performed by voice. This makes it possible to notify the risk of changes in the field. Furthermore, when a time longer than a preset time (eg 3 months) has passed (eg 1 year), the risk of field change is stronger than in the case of a preset time (eg 3 months).”);
Regarding claim 7 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 6, wherein, in a case where an operation to change the other operation portion from the ON-state to the OFF-state is received after the action target is caused to perform an action by the action amount, the operation device maintains the action target after the action by the action amount. (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
Regarding claim 8 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 1, wherein the operation device outputs a travel instruction to the work machine when the first operation is received (Yoshimizu page 5 fifth paragraph reads “The rice transplanter in the present embodiment can selectively perform manual traveling and automatic traveling. Manual running and automatic running are selected by switching the automatic / manual changeover switch 7C. In the manual running, the driver manually operates the operating tools such as the steering wheel 10, the main shift lever 7A, the auxiliary shift lever 7B, and the work operation lever 11 to perform the work run. In automatic running, the rice transplanter runs and works under automatic control along a preset running route.”);
and outputs an instruction to change a vehicle speed to the work machine when the second operation is received. (Yoshimizu page 5 third paragraph reads “As shown in FIGS. 1 to 3, the airframe 1 includes a driving unit 14 in a rear region. The driver unit 14 controls the steering wheel 10 for steering the front wheels, the main speed change lever 7A (corresponding to the "vehicle speed control tool") that adjusts the vehicle speed by shifting the speed of the continuously variable transmission 9, and the speed change operation of the auxiliary transmission. Auxiliary speed change lever 7B (corresponding to "vehicle speed control tool"), work operation lever 11 (corresponding to "work control tool") that enables raising and lowering operation of the seedling planting device 3 and switching of the operating state, etc.”);
Regarding claim 9 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 8, wherein the operation device outputs, to the work machine, an instruction to change the vehicle speed corresponding to the period of the ON-state in the second operation. (Yoshimizu page 8 paragraph 11 reads “When the internal reciprocating route IPL (see FIG. 4) is automatically turned, the traveling vehicle speed is reduced during the turning run than during the work running on the straight path (straight running). That is, the turning running is slower than the straight running. The traveling vehicle speed in the turning vehicle is predetermined (turning vehicle speed), and the vehicle travels at the turning vehicle speed regardless of the operating position of the main speed change lever 7A. Therefore, deceleration is started at a position in front of the position (turning start position) that enters the turning path by a predetermined distance. Here, the traveling vehicle speed in the work traveling on the straight route is set by the information terminal 5 or the like. For example, in the setting of automatic driving, the maximum vehicle speed, which is the maximum traveling vehicle speed during automatic driving, is set by using the information terminal 5. When the maximum vehicle speed is set, the vehicle travels at a speed lower than the set maximum vehicle speed regardless of the operating position of the main speed change lever 7A (see FIG. 1) during automatic traveling. The deceleration start position may be a position in front of the turning start position by a predetermined distance, but may be a different position depending on the traveling vehicle speed. That is, the length of the deceleration section provided in front of the turning path may be variable according to the traveling vehicle speed. Further, in the manned automatic mode, the vehicle speed set by the information terminal 5 may be changed by the main speed change lever 7A, and the turning vehicle speed may be set based on the changed set vehicle speed.”);
Regarding claim 10 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 8 or 9, wherein the operation device changes the second operation portion from the ON-state to the OFF-state while maintaining the first operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
and then, when receiving the second operation to change the second operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputs an acceleration instruction to accelerate the vehicle speed to the work machine, and changes the first operation portion from the ON-state to the OFF-state while maintaining the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation and then, when receiving the second operation to change the first operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputs a deceleration instruction to decelerate the vehicle speed to the work machine. (Yoshimizu page 8 paragraph 11 reads “When the internal reciprocating route IPL (see FIG. 4) is automatically turned, the traveling vehicle speed is reduced during the turning run than during the work running on the straight path (straight running). That is, the turning running is slower than the straight running. The traveling vehicle speed in the turning vehicle is predetermined (turning vehicle speed), and the vehicle travels at the turning vehicle speed regardless of the operating position of the main speed change lever 7A. Therefore, deceleration is started at a position in front of the position (turning start position) that enters the turning path by a predetermined distance. Here, the traveling vehicle speed in the work traveling on the straight route is set by the information terminal 5 or the like. For example, in the setting of automatic driving, the maximum vehicle speed, which is the maximum traveling vehicle speed during automatic driving, is set by using the information terminal 5. When the maximum vehicle speed is set, the vehicle travels at a speed lower than the set maximum vehicle speed regardless of the operating position of the main speed change lever 7A (see FIG. 1) during automatic traveling. The deceleration start position may be a position in front of the turning start position by a predetermined distance, but may be a different position depending on the traveling vehicle speed. That is, the length of the deceleration section provided in front of the turning path may be variable according to the traveling vehicle speed. Further, in the manned automatic mode, the vehicle speed set by the information terminal 5 may be changed by the main speed change lever 7A, and the turning vehicle speed may be set based on the changed set vehicle speed.”);
Regarding claim 11 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 1, wherein a method of outputting the first action instruction is switchable between a first output mode and a second output mode, in the first output mode, when an operation to change the other operation portion from the ON-state to the OFF-state is received after the second operation is received, the operation device continuously outputs the first action instruction to the work machine, (Yoshimizu page 15 third paragraph reads “Further, the running control using the detection result of the sonar sensor 60 is not limited to the case of unmanned automatic running, but may be performed during manned automatic running or manual running. In particular, the outer circuit path ORL (see FIG. 4) is subjected to work traveling by manned automatic traveling or manual traveling. There are many obstacles such as water outlets on the outermost circumference of the field. Therefore, obstacle detection using the sonar sensor 60 may be performed even in the outermost working running by manned automatic running or manual running.”);
and in the second output mode, when an operation to change the other operation portion from the ON-state to the OFF-state is received after the second operation is received, the operation device stops outputting the first action instruction to the work machine. (Yoshimizu page 17 paragraph 17 reads “In manned automatic running, the operation of setting the main speed change lever 7A to the neutral position is necessary for starting the automatic running, and the operation related to the operation of the working device 1C such as lowering of the seedling planting device 3 continues the automatic working running. It is necessary to do. For example, it is necessary to shift the working device 1C, which has been put into a non-working state during turning, to a working state after turning. Therefore, guidance by voice or the like prompting these operations is continuously performed unless these operations are performed. For example, in the outermost planting work by manned automatic traveling, the automatic traveling does not continue unless the seedling planting device 3 is lowered by a manual operation. Therefore, the guidance prompting the main shift lever 7A to be in the neutral position continues to be notified until the seedling planting device 3 is lowered.”);
Regarding claim 12 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches A work machine that performs an action corresponding to an action instruction output from the operation device according to any one of claim 1. (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
Regarding claim 13 Yoshimizu teaches An operation method in an operation device including a plurality of operation portions that receives, from a user, an instruction to cause a work machine to perform a predetermined action, the operation method comprising: receiving an operation for the plurality of operation portions from the user; outputting a first action instruction to the work machine when receiving a first operation to change both a first operation portion and a second operation portion among the plurality of operation portions to an ON-state; (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
Yoshimizu does not teach and while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, changing the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state and then, when receiving a second operation to change the other operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputting a second action instruction different from the first action instruction to the work machine.
Jerger in analogous art, teaches and while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, changing the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state and then, when receiving a second operation to change the other operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputting a second action instruction different from the first action instruction to the work machine. (Jerger [0027] reads “Optionally, the system comprises a first user-operable transmission selector means for selecting said forward operating mode of transmission corresponding to travel in a forward direction and said reverse operating mode of a transmission corresponding to travel in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction, and wherein said first user-operable transmission selector means comprises an input lever movable between positions corresponding to a reverse, a neutral and a forward park operating mode of transmission and a second range of movement in which in said first functional mode it is configured to toggle between a plurality of forward direction gear ratios, and wherein in said second functional mode it is configured to toggle between the forward operating mode and the reverse operating mode.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yoshimizu with that of Jerger to include a system that would allow a user to have better control over the actions that it would take. Doing so would constitute the combination of known methods to yield predictable results since both multifunction input devices for robotic systems and multi-action robotic controllers would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, their combination would yield the desired and predictable result of user controller that has a greater range of functionality for control of a robotic device.
Regarding claim 14 Yoshimizu teaches Anon-transitory, computer- readable medium storing processor-executable code, which when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to execute operations comprising: receiving an operation for[[ the]] a plurality of operation portions of an operation device from the user; outputting a first action instruction to[[ the]]_a work machine when receiving a first operation to change both a first operation portion and a second operation portion among the plurality of operation portions to an ON-state; (Yoshimizu Page 28 last paragraph reads “The rice transplanter is provided with a remote controller 90 shown in FIG. 33, and the rice transplanter can be remotely controlled using the remote controller 90 … The first button 90a is a power ON / OFF button. The second button 90b temporarily stops the machine body 1 in a state where the automatic traveling mode is maintained by a single push operation. Further, the second button 90b is operated by pressing the function button 90g at the same time to stop the machine body 1 and end the automatic traveling mode. At that time, the engine is not stopped. The third button 90c accelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and advances the machine body 1 at a slight speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fourth button 90d decelerates the machine body 1 by a single push operation, and moves the machine body 1 backward at a very slow speed by a simultaneous push operation with the function button 90g. The fifth button 90e starts automatic traveling by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The sixth button 90f starts the planting work by simultaneously pressing the function button 90g. The first indicator 90x indicates the remaining battery level, and when the remaining battery level is low, the display color changes from green to red. The second indicator 90y indicates ON / OFF of communication. That is, the second indicator 90y indicates that the remote controller 90 has been operated. The second indicator 90y can also display that the operation by the remote controller 90 has been accepted by the control system of the rice transplanter.”);
Yoshimizu does not teach and while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, changing the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state and then, when receiving a second operation to change the other operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputting a second action instruction different from the first action instruction to the work machine.
Jerger in analogous art, teaches and while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, changing the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state and then, when receiving a second operation to change the other operation portion from the OFF-state to the ON-state, outputting a second action instruction different from the first action instruction to the work machine. (Jerger [0027] reads “Optionally, the system comprises a first user-operable transmission selector means for selecting said forward operating mode of transmission corresponding to travel in a forward direction and said reverse operating mode of a transmission corresponding to travel in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction, and wherein said first user-operable transmission selector means comprises an input lever movable between positions corresponding to a reverse, a neutral and a forward park operating mode of transmission and a second range of movement in which in said first functional mode it is configured to toggle between a plurality of forward direction gear ratios, and wherein in said second functional mode it is configured to toggle between the forward operating mode and the reverse operating mode.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yoshimizu with that of Jerger to include a system that would allow a user to have better control over the actions that it would take. Doing so would constitute the combination of known methods to yield predictable results since both multifunction input devices for robotic systems and multi-action robotic controllers would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, their combination would yield the desired and predictable result of user controller that has a greater range of functionality for control of a robotic device.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Yoshimizu/Jerger, in further view of Maeda (JP 2017177934 A ).
Regarding claim 3 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 2,
Yoshimizu/Jerger does not teach wherein the first action instruction and the second action instruction are instructions for a same action target, and the second action instruction is an instruction to cause the action target to perform an action by an action amount smaller than an action amount corresponding to the first action instruction.
Maeda in analogous art, teaches wherein the first action instruction and the second action instruction are instructions for a same action target, and the second action instruction is an instruction to cause the action target to perform an action by an action amount smaller than an action amount corresponding to the first action instruction. (Maeda page 9 first paragraph reads “The remote controller 31 includes, as a plurality of push button switches, an engine stop switch 51 … and tractor 1 Remote control signal to change the running speed of It is configured to have a high-speed switch (shift switch) 57a and the low-speed switch (shift switch) 57 b for signal, a.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yoshimizu/Jerger with that of Maeda to include a system that could monitor the state of multiple switches and provide and method that would allow certain functions to work independently from each other while other functions could work dependently to each other. This would allow for the operator to better diagnose and address problems that may be occurring in the system. (Maeda page 1 spanning paragraph reads “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To provide a work vehicle for improving workability for restoration work for resuming driving of a traveling device. SOLUTION: A tractor that automatically drives a front wheel, a rear wheel, and a
work machine based on a preset work is a control unit 27 that controls the front wheel, the rear
wheel, and the work machine based on the preset work. To be equipped. Further, the tractor includes
a display unit 24 that notifies the outside of the cabin of the control state of the control unit 27
related to the front wheels, the rear wheels, and the work equipment. The control unit 27 includes a
plurality of stopped states for stopping the driving of the front wheels and the rear wheels as the
control state. Then, the display unit 24 notifies which of the plurality of stopped states has been
executed, and notifies the operator who is away from the tractor of the cause of the stoppage of the
front wheels and the rear wheels. [Selection diagram] Fig. 4”);
Regarding claim 4 Yoshimizu/Jerger teaches The operation device according to claim 2, wherein the first action instruction and the second action instruction are instructions for different action targets, (Jerger [0027] reads “Optionally, the system comprises a first user-operable transmission selector means for selecting said forward operating mode of transmission corresponding to travel in a forward direction and said reverse operating mode of a transmission corresponding to travel in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction, and wherein said first user-operable transmission selector means comprises an input lever movable between positions corresponding to a reverse, a neutral and a forward park operating mode of transmission and a second range of movement in which in said first functional mode it is configured to toggle between a plurality of forward direction gear ratios, and wherein in said second functional mode it is configured to toggle between the forward operating mode and the reverse operating mode.”);
Yoshimizu/Jerger does not teach and the second action instruction is an instruction to cause the corresponding action target to perform an action by a preset action amount. Maeda in analogous art, teaches and the second action instruction is an instruction to cause the corresponding action target to perform an action by a preset action amount. (Maeda page 7 fifth paragraph reads “On the input side of the control unit 27, the GPS receiving unit 22, the obstacle sensor 41, the remote control receiving unit 21, a vehicle speed sensor (running speed detecting means) 29, and an automatic operation on / off switch 30 are provided. … The remote control receiving unit 21 receives a signal from a remote control (remote control device) 31 that can remotely control the tractor 1. … When the automatic travel mode is selected by the automatic operation on / off switch 30, the control unit 27 controls the front wheel 2, the rear wheel 3, and the work machine based on the preset work, and the front wheel 2 and the rear wheel 3. It is possible to cause the work implement to perform various operations such as tillage work while driving the tractor 1 automatically.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yoshimizu/Jerger with that of Maeda to include a system that could monitor the state of multiple switches and provide and method that would allow certain functions to work independently from each other while other functions could work dependently to each other. This would allow for the operator to better diagnose and address problems that may be occurring in the system. (Maeda page 1 spanning paragraph reads “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To provide a work vehicle for improving workability for restoration work for resuming driving of a traveling device. SOLUTION: A tractor that automatically drives a front wheel, a rear wheel, and a
work machine based on a preset work is a control unit 27 that controls the front wheel, the rear
wheel, and the work machine based on the preset work. To be equipped. Further, the tractor includes
a display unit 24 that notifies the outside of the cabin of the control state of the control unit 27
related to the front wheels, the rear wheels, and the work equipment. The control unit 27 includes a
plurality of stopped states for stopping the driving of the front wheels and the rear wheels as the
control state. Then, the display unit 24 notifies which of the plurality of stopped states has been
executed, and notifies the operator who is away from the tractor of the cause of the stoppage of the
front wheels and the rear wheels. [Selection diagram] Fig. 4”);
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues < First, Maeda fails to disclose wherein the operation device "while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON- state after the first operation, changes the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF- state," as in claim 1. Instead, the cited portion of Maeda identifies a power switch 59, which turns the remote controller on or off. See Maeda at 9. See also id. ("On the upper surface 50e, a power switch 59 for starting or stopping the remote controller 31 "). When Maeda's remote controller is off, "the power supply is cut off and the remote operation signal cannot be transmitted." Id. By turning off the remote controller so that no remote operation signals can be transmitted, Maeda cannot disclose "a system that could monitor the state of multiple switches and provide [a] method that would allow certain functions to work independently from each other while other functions could work dependently [on] each other" as the Action states. See Action at 5. Accordingly, this does not allow Maeda to "while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, chang[ing] the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state," as in claim 1. Second, even if Maeda disclosed the above limitation, to which Applicant does not concede, there is no motivation to modify Yoshimizu with Maeda. The Action states that there is a motivation to combine because it would create "a system that could monitor the state of multiple switches and provide [a] method that would allow certain functions to work independently from each other while other functions could work dependently [on] each other." Action at 5. However, this rationale does not explain why a skilled artisan would use Maeda's power control for the whole remote controller as part of Yoshimizu's command generation via button presses. At most, the combination with Maeda would result in Yoshimizu's controller being configured to be turned on and off. And preventing any signal or transmission would teach away from allowing "while maintaining one operation portion out of the first operation portion and the second operation portion in the ON-state after the first operation, chang[ing] the other operation portion from the ON-state to an OFF-state," as in claim 1.> [Remarks Page 7 paragraphs 1 and 2]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The new rejection of record overcomes the arguments presented by the application. First, Yoshimizu teaches that there may be multiple different buttons or control elements that could be presented on a controller for a robotic system. Similarly, one such of these buttons may be an override or power switch. Jerger is used to teach limitations that relate to a single input switch having different control actions based on its setup. Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Other references not Cited
Throughout examination other references were found that could read onto the prior art. Though these references were not used in this examination they could be used in future examination and could read on the contents of the current disclosure. These references are, Miyashita (US 12620237 B2); Diaz (US 20160360697 A1);
Conclusion
/JOHN MARTIN O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658