DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III in the reply filed on 9/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 11. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klikic et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0265325).
Regarding Claim 1:
Klikic et al. discloses a system (Fig. 2, rack power system as shown with power bus 12, and equipment/load 30 not shown), comprising: a backplane connected to the system (Fig. 2, backplane 24 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0053), wherein the backplane comprises electrical connections for at least two power supply units (Fig. 2, respective connections between at least one power supply unit 18, battery backup unit 20, and the backplane 24 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, etc.); and at least two power supply units electrically connected to the backplane via the electrical connections (Fig. 2, at least one power supply unit 18, battery backup unit 20 electrically connected to the backplane 24 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, etc.), wherein one of the at least two power supply units comprises a power supply unit (Fig. 2, power supply unit 18 and its related discussion) and wherein another of the at least two power supply units comprises a battery backup unit (Fig. 2, battery backup unit 20 and its related discussion).
Regarding Claim 3:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Klikic further discloses wherein a power demand of the system is greater than a power output of the power supply unit (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power).
Regarding Claim 4:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 3. Klikic further discloses wherein the at least two power supply units operate in a shared-power mode (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)); and wherein the power supply unit supplies a maximum amount of power output to the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)) and wherein the battery backup unit provides additional power to the system over the power output of the power supply unit to meet the power demand of the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)).
Regarding Claim 5:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Klikic further discloses wherein the at least two power supply units operate in a redundant-power mode (see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose in the event one or more of the power supply units 18 fail, a battery backup unit 20 may act as a backup or redundant power source); and wherein the at least one battery backup unit in the redundant-power mode provides power to the system in an event of no power output by the power supply unit (see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose in the event one or more of the power supply units 18 fail, a battery backup unit 20 may act as a backup or redundant power source).
Regarding Claim 6:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Klikic further discloses the electrical connections are electrically connected to the backplane in parallel (Fig. 2, power supply units 18, battery backup units 20, arranged in parallel with backplane 24 and power bus 12 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose the power supply units 18 and the battery backup units 20 are connected in parallel to the backplane 24 with power bus 12).
Regarding Claim 7:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Klikic further discloses wherein the battery backup unit is charged from the system during a period of reduced power consumption by the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose in a normal operating state, i.e., the power conveyed from the power supply units to the power bus/load is sufficient and more than meets the demand/consumption amount required, the battery backup units may draw power to charge).
Regarding Claim 9:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Klikic further discloses wherein at least one of the at least two power supply units provides power to the system via the backplane at a time (Fig. 2, at least one power supply unit 18, backplane 24, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose a power supply unit providing power to the system via the backplane during normal operations).
Regarding Claim 10:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Klikic further discloses wherein the system is at least one of: an information handling device, a storage device, a computing device, and a power consumption device (Fig. 2, rack power system as shown with power bus 12, and equipment/load 30 not shown, and their related discussion; said system, as discussed throughout the publication, is at least a power consumption device including a rack and respective equipment for consuming power).
Regarding Claim 11:
Klikic et al. discloses a system (Fig. 2, rack power system as shown with power bus 12, and equipment/load 30 not shown), comprising: a backplane connected to the system (Fig. 2, backplane 24 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0053), wherein the backplane comprises electrical connections for at least two power supply units (Fig. 2, respective connections between at least one power supply unit 18, battery backup unit 20, and the backplane 24 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, etc.); and at least two power supply units electrically connected to the backplane via the electrical connections (Fig. 2, at least one power supply unit 18, battery backup unit 20 electrically connected to the backplane 24 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, etc.), wherein one of the at least two power supply units comprises a power supply unit (Fig. 2, power supply unit 18 and its related discussion) and wherein another of the at least two power supply units comprises a battery backup unit (Fig. 2, battery backup unit 20 and its related discussion), wherein at least one of the at least two power supply units provides power to the system via the backplane at a time (Fig. 2, at least one power supply unit 18, backplane 24, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose a power supply unit providing power to the system via the backplane during normal operations); and wherein a power demand of the system is greater than a power output of the power supply unit (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power).
Regarding Claim 13:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Klikic further discloses wherein a power demand of the system is greater than a power output of the power supply unit (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power).
Regarding Claim 14:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Klikic further discloses wherein the at least two power supply units operate in a shared-power mode (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)); and wherein the power supply unit supplies a maximum amount of power output to the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)) and wherein the battery backup unit provides additional power to the system over the power output of the power supply unit to meet the power demand of the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)).
Regarding Claim 15:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Klikic further discloses wherein the at least two power supply units operate in a redundant-power mode (see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose in the event one or more of the power supply units 18 fail, a battery backup unit 20 may act as a backup or redundant power source); and wherein the at least one battery backup unit in the redundant-power mode provides power to the system in an event of no power output by the power supply unit (see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose in the event one or more of the power supply units 18 fail, a battery backup unit 20 may act as a backup or redundant power source).
Regarding Claim 16:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Klikic further discloses the electrical connections are electrically connected to the backplane in parallel (Fig. 2, power supply units 18, battery backup units 20, arranged in parallel with backplane 24 and power bus 12 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose the power supply units 18 and the battery backup units 20 are connected in parallel to the backplane 24 with power bus 12).
Regarding Claim 17:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 11. Klikic further discloses wherein the battery backup unit is charged from the system during a period of reduced power consumption by the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose in a normal operating state, i.e., the power conveyed from the power supply units to the power bus/load is sufficient and more than meets the demand/consumption amount required, the battery backup units may draw power to charge).
Regarding Claim 19:
Klikic et al. discloses a method, comprising: detecting, at a system (Fig. 2, rack power system as shown with power bus 12, and equipment/load 30 not shown) comprising a backplane (Fig. 2, backplane 24 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0053) and at least two power supply units electrically connected to the backplane (Fig. 2, at least one power supply unit 18, battery backup unit 20 electrically connected to the backplane 24 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0052-0054, etc.), an increase in power consumption by the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the monitoring and detecting an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit), wherein at least one of the at least two power supply units comprises a power supply unit (Fig. 2, power supply unit 18 and its related discussion) and wherein at least another of the at least two power supply units comprises a battery backup unit (Fig. 2, battery backup unit 20 and its related discussion); determining that a maximum power output of the power supply unit cannot fulfill the increase in power consumption by the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)); and receiving power output from the battery backup unit in addition to the power output of the power supply unit, wherein the power output from the battery backup unit and the power output of the power supply unit fulfill the increase in power consumption by the system (see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc. which disclose the system may have an overload condition in which a power demand is greater than a power output by the power supply unit, and subsequently control one or more of the battery backup units to enter an active mode to provide additional power. That is, the overload condition in which the load drawn exceeds the threshold capacity of the power supply unit(s) 18, and one or more battery backup units 20 are operated to provide power in addition to the power supply unit(s)).
Regarding Claim 20:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 19. Klikic further discloses wherein the at least two power supply units are electrically connected in parallel with each other (Fig. 2, power supply units 18, battery backup units 20, arranged in parallel with backplane 24 and power bus 12 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0052, etc. which disclose the power supply units 18 and the battery backup units 20 are connected in parallel to each other as well as the backplane 24 with power bus 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klikic et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0265325) in view of Bailey et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2013/0193764).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claims 1 and 11, respectively. While Klikic discloses the backplane having electrical connections for electrically connecting a plurality of power supply units and battery backup units, Klikic does not expressly illustrate that the electrical connections for the power supply units and the battery backup units are the same or that the battery backup unit includes an electrical connector matching an electrical connector of the power supply unit.
However, Bailey et al. discloses wherein the electrical connections are the same and wherein the battery backup unit comprises an electrical connector matching an electrical connector of the power supply unit (Figs. 4, 7a, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0033-0034, 0046-0047, etc. which disclose the respective connectors of the BBUs including a predetermined configuration to match the configuration of a commodity PSU to ensure the units are swappable). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the electrical connectors/interface of Klikic such that the electrical connection/interface provided for the battery backup units corresponds to the electrical connection/interface provided for the power supply units, as taught within Bailey, in order to provide a common and compatible electrical interface for the power supply and battery backup units, thereby facilitating interchangeability/modularity, ease of installation and replacement of the respective modules, and overall scalability of the respective system.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klikic et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0265325) in view of Hayward et al. (U.S. Patent Number 6,317,345).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18:
Klikic teaches the limitations of the preceding claims 1 and 11, respectively. Klikic further discloses wherein the battery backup unit is not connected to an external power connection (Fig. 2, battery backup units 20 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0050, 0060-0068, 0073-0074, etc.). Klikic fails to teach wherein the power supply unit is connected to an external power connection.
However, Hayward et al. discloses wherein the power supply unit is connected to an external power connection (Fig. 9, front-end unit 126 receiving an AC input 128 as shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, Col. 5, line 49- Col. 6, line 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the power supply unit of Klikic as being connected to an external power connection, as taught within Hayward, to provide the power supply units with an external source of AC power for conversion and distribution to the system, while retaining the battery backup units as a backup source of power when the external AC power is unavailable or interrupted.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836