DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 9/24/2026 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 1, 11, 15, and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the following new grounds of rejection.
The IDS filed 10/2/2026 and the IDS filed 10/12/2026 have been considered.
Response to Amendment
Claims have been amended to further define interactions of the client device. The amendment proves a change in scope to the independent claims as the independent claims now explicitly state that the client device discovers the second AP, or the like. However, none of the amended claims show a patentable distinction over the prior art as evidenced by the following new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henry et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0377554), hereinafter referred to as Henry.
Regarding claim 1, Henry discloses a method comprising: establishing a first Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) session between a client device and a first access point (AP) (paragraph 67, STA and AP1 have established PASN connection); upon discovering a second AP by the client device, transmitting, by the client device via the first PASN session, a PASN first frame to the first AP that includes a key of the client device, an indication that the first AP is to send elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP, and an identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP (paragraph 48, STA detects AP2, and paragraph 68, STA sends first frame to AP2 via AP1, and paragraph 70, first frame includes security material, and paragraph 69, first frame includes MAC address); and obtaining, by the client device from the first AP via the first PASN session, a PASN second frame that includes a key of the second AP, a message integrity code (MIC) associated with the second AP, and a timeout value for establishing a second PASN session between the client device and the second AP (paragraph 71, AP2 sends second frame to STA via AP1, and paragraph 72, second frame includes key material, and paragraph 71, second frame includes FTE and timeout value).
Regarding claim 2, Henry discloses within a time interval indicated by the timeout value, transmitting, by the client device a PASN third frame to the second AP to establish the second PASN session with the second AP, wherein the PASN third frame includes a MIC associated with the client device, in which a transmit address for transmitting the PASN first frame is set to the identifier of the client device that was included in the PASN first frame (paragraph 73, STA sends third frame to AP2, and paragraph 73, third frame includes MIC and SOKH-ID value).
Regarding claim 3, Henry discloses wherein the identifier of the client device is a media access control (MAC) address of the client device (paragraph 69, MAC address of STA).
Regarding claim 4, Henry discloses wherein the client device utilizes a first media access control (MAC) address for establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP and the identifier of the client device is a second MAC address of the client device that is different than the first MAC address (paragraph 69, MAC address of STA is different).
Regarding claim 5, Henry discloses wherein the first PASN session established between the client device and the first AP utilizes a first key of the client device and the key of the client device included in PASN first frame is a second key that is different than the first key (paragraph 70, security material is different).
Regarding claim 6, Henry discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP are included in a data element for the PASN first frame (paragraph 69, FTE).
Regarding claim 7, Henry discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the second AP that is identified in the data element and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address identified in the data element (paragraph 69, BSSID of AP2 and MAC address of STA).
Regarding claim 8, Henry discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the second AP that is identified in 6 octets of the data element and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address is identified in another 6 octets of the data element (paragraph 69, BSSID of AP2 and MAC address of STA, where standard BSSID and MAC address are known to be 6 octets long).
Regarding claim 9, Henry discloses encrypting the PASN first frame by the client device using a key of the client device provided to the first AP through establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP (paragraph 41, PASN provides encrypted link).
Regarding claim 10, Henry discloses wherein the PASN second frame obtained by the client device is encrypted using a key of the first AP provided to the client device through establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP (paragraph 41, PASN provides encrypted link).
Regarding claim 11, Henry discloses a method comprising: establishing a first Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) session between a first access point (AP) and a client device (paragraph 67, STA and AP1 have established PASN connection); obtaining, by the first AP via the first PASN session, a PASN first frame from the client device, the PASN first frame comprising PASN first frame elements including a key of the client device, an indication that the first AP is to send the PASN first frame elements to a second AP discovered by the client device, and an identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP (paragraph 48, STA detects AP2, and paragraph 68, STA sends first frame to AP2 via AP1, and paragraph 70, first frame includes security material, and paragraph 69, first frame includes MAC address); transmitting, by the first AP, the PASN first frame elements to the second AP based on the indication included in the PASN first frame (paragraph 68, STA sends first frame to AP2 via AP1); obtaining, by the first AP from the second AP, PASN second frame elements including a key of the second AP, a message integrity code (MIC) associated with the second AP, and a timeout value (paragraph 71, AP2 sends second frame to STA via AP1, and paragraph 72, second frame includes key material, and paragraph 71, second frame includes FTE and timeout value); and transmitting a PASN second frame to the client device that includes the PASN second frame elements for establishing a second PASN session between the client device and the second AP (paragraph 71, AP2 sends second frame to STA via AP1).
Regarding claim 12, Henry discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the PASN first frame elements to the second AP and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP are included in a data element for the PASN first frame (paragraph 69, FTE).
Regarding claim 13, Henry discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the PASN first frame elements to the second AP is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the second AP that is identified in the data element and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address identified in the data element (paragraph 69, BSSID of AP2 and MAC address of STA).
Regarding claim 14, Henry discloses encrypting, by the first AP, the PASN second frame using a key of the first AP provided to the client device through establishing the first PASN session between the first AP and the client device (paragraph 41, PASN provides encrypted link).
Regarding claim 15, Henry discloses a method comprising: establishing a first Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) session between a client device and a first access point (AP) through initial PASN communications exchanged between the client device and the first AP (paragraph 67, STA and AP1 have established connection); and upon the client device discovering at least one other AP, performing subsequent PASN communications between the client device and the at least one other AP that are facilitated through the first PASN session established between the client device and the first AP to enable at least one subsequent PASN session to be established between the client device and the at least one other AP (paragraph 48, STA detects AP2, and paragraph 68, STA sends first frame to AP2 via AP1, and paragraph 71, AP2 sends second frame to STA via AP1).
Regarding claim 16, Henry discloses wherein performing the subsequent PASN communications includes obtaining, by the first AP, a PASN first frame that includes an indication that causes the first AP to identify the at least one other AP that is to be involved in the subsequent PASN communications (paragraph 68, STA sends first frame to AP2 via AP1).
Regarding claim 17, Henry discloses wherein the indication is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the at least one other AP that is identified in the PASN first frame (paragraph 69, BSSID of AP2).
Regarding claim 18, Henry discloses wherein the PASN first frame obtained by the first AP from the client device further includes an identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP (paragraph 69, MAC address of STA).
Regarding claim 19, Henry discloses wherein the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP is a Media Access Control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP (paragraph 69, MAC address of STA).
Regarding claim 20, Henry discloses wherein performing the subsequent PASN communications includes communicating a PASN second frame to the client device from the first AP that includes an ephemeral public key of the at least one other AP, a Message Integrity Code (MIC) associated with the at least one other AP, and a timeout value (paragraph 71, AP2 sends second frame to STA via AP1, and paragraph 72, second frame includes key material, and paragraph 71, second frame includes FTE and timeout value).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493