DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The IDS filed 3/28/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2007/0197190) in view of Beg et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0176019), hereinafter referred to as Beg.
Tang disclosed techniques for identifying communicable statuses of access points. In an analogous art, Beg disclosed techniques for managing connections between stations and access points. Both systems are directed toward association between stations and access points.
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses a method comprising: establishing a first session between a client device and a first access point (AP) (paragraph 16, station and first access point have PSK); transmitting, by the client device via the first session, a first frame to the first AP that includes a key of the client device, an indication that the first AP is to send elements of the first frame to a second AP, and an identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP (paragraph 16, station communicates with first access point and can roam to second access point); and obtaining, by the client device from the first AP via the first session, a second frame that includes a key of the second AP for establishing a second session between the client device and the second AP (paragraph 58, informs station of PSK state via frame).
Tang does not explicitly state that the first and second sessions are Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) sessions, that the first and second frames are PASN frames, and that the PASN second frame includes a message integrity code (MIC) associated with the second AP and a timeout value. However, implementing the PASN protocol in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Beg. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang by adding the ability that the first and second sessions are Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) sessions, that the first and second frames are PASN frames, and that the PASN second frame includes a message integrity code (MIC) associated with the second AP and a timeout value as provided by Beg (see paragraph 185, PASN allows pre-association encrypted exchange between station and AP, and paragraph 176, AP sends EAPOL-Key to station including MIC and key lifetime). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing transition management procedures in this way would assist in managing AP association decisions (see Beg, paragraph 191).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses within a time interval indicated by the timeout value, transmitting, by the client device a PASN third frame to the second AP to establish the second PASN session with the second AP, wherein the PASN third frame includes a MIC associated with the client device, in which a transmit address for transmitting the PASN first frame is set to the identifier of the client device that was included in the PASN first frame (Beg, paragraph 169, station associates with new AP, and paragraph 176, station sends EAPOL-Key including MIC).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the first PASN session established between the client device and the first AP utilizes a first key of the client device and the key of the client device included in PASN first frame is a second key that is different than the first key (Beg, paragraph 187, PMK and PTK).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP are included in a data element for the PASN first frame (Beg, paragraph 248, data element).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses encrypting the PASN first frame by the client device using a key of the client device provided to the first AP through establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP (Beg, paragraph 187, handshake results in keys to encrypt traffic).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the PASN second frame obtained by the client device is encrypted using a key of the first AP provided to the client device through establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP (Beg, paragraph 187, handshake results in keys to encrypt traffic).
Regarding claim 11, Tang discloses a method comprising: establishing a first session between a first access point (AP) and a client device (paragraph 16, station and first access point have PSK); obtaining, by the first AP via the first session, a first frame from the client device, the first frame comprising first frame elements including a key of the client device, an indication that the first AP is to send the first frame elements to a second AP, and an identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP (paragraph 16, station communicates with first access point and can roam to second access point); transmitting, by the first AP, the first frame elements to the second AP based on the
indication included in the first frame (paragraph 45, first access point transmits frames to second access point); obtaining, by the first AP from the second AP, second frame elements including a
key of the second AP and a message integrity code (MIC) associated with the second AP (paragraph 52, first access point receives key frame with MIC value); and transmitting a second frame to the client device for establishing a second session between the client device and the second AP (paragraph 58, informs station of PSK state via frame).
Tang does not explicitly state that the first and second sessions are Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) sessions, that the first and second frames are PASN frames, that the first and second frame elements are PASN frame elements, the PASN second frame elements including a timeout value, and the PASN second frame including the PASN second frame elements. However, implementing the PASN protocol in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Beg. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang by adding the ability that the first and second sessions are Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) sessions, that the first and second frames are PASN frames, that the first and second frame elements are PASN frame elements, the PASN second frame elements including a timeout value, and the PASN second frame including the PASN second frame elements as provided by Beg (see paragraph 185, PASN allows pre-association encrypted exchange between station and AP, and paragraph 176, AP sends EAPOL-Key to station including MIC and key lifetime). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing transition management procedures in this way would assist in managing AP association decisions (see Beg, paragraph 191).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the PASN first frame elements to the second AP and the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP are included in a data element for the PASN first frame (Beg, paragraph 248, data element).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses encrypting, by the first AP, the PASN second frame using a key of the first AP provided to the client device through establishing the first PASN session between the first AP and the client device (Beg, paragraph 187, handshake results in keys to encrypt traffic).
Regarding claim 15, Tang discloses a method comprising: establishing a first session between a client device and a first access point (AP) through initial communications exchanged between the client device and the first AP (paragraph 16, station and first access point have PSK); and performing subsequent communications between the client device and at least one
other AP that are facilitated through the first session established between the client device
and the first AP to enable at least one subsequent session to be established between the client device and the at least one other AP (paragraph 16, station communicates with first access point and can roam to second access point, and paragraph 58, informs station of PSK state via frame).
Tang does not explicitly state that the first and subsequent sessions are Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) sessions and that the initial and subsequent communications are PASN communications. However, implementing the PASN protocol in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Beg. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang by adding the ability that the first and subsequent sessions are Pre-Association Security Negotiation (PASN) sessions and that the initial and subsequent communications are PASN communications as provided by Beg (see paragraph 185, PASN allows pre-association encrypted exchange between station and AP). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing transition management procedures in this way would assist in managing AP association decisions (see Beg, paragraph 191).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein performing the subsequent PASN communications includes obtaining, by the first AP, a first PASN frame that includes an indication that causes the first AP to identify the at least one other AP that is to be involved in the subsequent PASN communications (Tang, paragraph 16, station communicates with first access point and can roam to second access point).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the indication is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the at least one other AP that is identified in the PASN first frame (Beg, paragraph 170, BSS transition candidate).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the PASN first frame obtained by the first AP from the client device further includes an identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP (Tang, paragraph 16, station communicates with first access point and can roam to second access point).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein performing the subsequent PASN communications includes communicating a PASN second frame to the client device from the first AP that includes an ephemeral public key of the at least one other AP, a Message Integrity Code (MIC) associated with the at least one other AP, and a timeout value (Beg, paragraph 176, AP sends EAPOL-Key to station including MIC and key lifetime).
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Beg, further in view of Yuan (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2026/0025872).
The combination of Tang and Beg disclosed techniques for identifying communicable statuses of access points. In an analogous art, Yuan disclosed techniques for communications utilizing a multi-link terminal device. Both systems are directed toward managing connections between stations and access points.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tang and Beg does not explicitly state wherein the identifier of the client device is a media access control (MAC) address of the client device. However, utilizing MAC addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Yuan. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tang and Beg by adding the ability that the identifier of the client device is a media access control (MAC) address of the client device as provided by Yuan (see paragraph 60, MAC address of another link). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing multi-link management in this way would assist in maintaining device MAC address-related functionality while improving communication security (see Yuan, paragraphs 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tang and Beg does not explicitly state wherein the client device utilizes a first media access control (MAC) address for establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP and the identifier of the client device is a second MAC address of the client device that is different than the first MAC address. However, utilizing MAC addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Yuan. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tang and Beg by adding the ability that the client device utilizes a first media access control (MAC) address for establishing the first PASN session between the client device and the first AP and the identifier of the client device is a second MAC address of the client device that is different than the first MAC address as provided by Yuan (see paragraph 60, MAC address of current link and MAC address of another link). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing multi-link management in this way would assist in maintaining device MAC address-related functionality while improving communication security (see Yuan, paragraphs 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the second AP that is identified in the data element (Beg, paragraph 170, BSS transition candidate).
The combination of Tang and Beg does not explicitly state that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address identified in the data element. However, utilizing MAC addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Yuan. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tang and Beg by adding the ability that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address identified in the data element as provided by Yuan (see paragraph 60, MAC address of another link). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing multi-link management in this way would assist in maintaining device MAC address-related functionality while improving communication security (see Yuan, paragraphs 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the elements of the PASN first frame to the second AP is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the second AP that is identified in 6 octets of the data element (Beg, paragraph 170, BSS transition candidate, and figure 23, BSSID).
The combination of Tang and Beg does not explicitly state that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address is identified in another 6 octets of the data element. However, utilizing MAC addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Yuan. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tang and Beg by adding the ability that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address is identified in another 6 octets of the data element as provided by Yuan (see paragraph 60, MAC address of another link, and paragraph 104, 6 octets). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing multi-link management in this way would assist in maintaining device MAC address-related functionality while improving communication security (see Yuan, paragraphs 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tang and Beg discloses wherein the indication that the first AP is to send the PASN first frame elements to the second AP is a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the second AP that is identified in the data element (Beg, paragraph 170, BSS transition candidate).
The combination of Tang and Beg does not explicitly state that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address identified in the data element. However, utilizing MAC addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Yuan. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tang and Beg by adding the ability that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP is a media access control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the second AP in which the MAC address identified in the data element as provided by Yuan (see paragraph 60, MAC address of another link). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing multi-link management in this way would assist in maintaining device MAC address-related functionality while improving communication security (see Yuan, paragraphs 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tang and Beg does not explicitly state wherein the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP is a Media Access Control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP. However, utilizing MAC addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Yuan. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tang and Beg by adding the ability that the identifier of the client device that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP is a Media Access Control (MAC) address that the client device is to use for wireless communications with the at least one other AP as provided by Yuan (see paragraph 60, MAC address of another link). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing multi-link management in this way would assist in maintaining device MAC address-related functionality while improving communication security (see Yuan, paragraphs 4 and 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0119733) disclosed techniques for managing encrypted 802.11 associations.
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493