DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The double patenting rejection of the previous office action is obviated by the Applicant’s terminal disclaimer dated 7/23/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites a lack of sagging prevention. This is not clear as to what entails sagging prevention whether it is additional fasteners, joists, studs, etc.
Claim 39 depends from canceled claim 1. The Examiner will examine claim 39 as if depending from claim 16. Correction is required.
Claim 39, appearing to be dependent from claim 16, recites limitations of claim 16 but is not consistent with the claimed structural limitations of claim 16. Also, the term “consists of” is not clear since the veneer is claimed to be a variety of possible components. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claims 17-39 are rejected for depending from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19, 21-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,240,691 to Holzkaemper et al in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2009/0011207 to Dubey as in the previous action.
Regarding claim 16, Holzkaemper discloses a wall panel with a rigid layer (fig. 1: 3,) being cementitious and having glass fibers (column 4, lines 24-29) and having a first and second side, and a foam insulation (fig. 1: 2, column 4, lines 12-19) layer attached to and contiguous with the second side (back) of the rigid layer. However, the rigid layer of Holzkaemper is not disclosed as having magnesium oxide. Dubey discloses a cementitious material with magnesium oxide [0063]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holzkaemper by adding such a material in order to increase strength. Regarding the limitation of being configured for installation on a fixed structural building component, the wall panel of Holzkaemper may function in such a manner as it is attachable to a fixed structure. Also, regarding the limitation of the fibers configured to be the principal load carrying member, this is also possible as the fibers carry a load and without the fibers, the strength becomes diminished.
Regarding claims 17, 18, 27, 28 and 32, a veneer layer (fig. 1: 5, brick) is attached to the first side of the rigid layer and may inherently function as a water-resistant barrier. It should be noted that water may not pass through brick, making them water resisting.
Regarding claim 19, the rigid layer is poured (column 4, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 21, the insulation of Holzkaemper is polyurethane foam (2, column 4, lines 1-6). Regarding the order of steps, the Applicant should note that the claims are drawn to the final product wall panel and not the method of making.
Regarding claims 29 and 38, the adhesive property of the rigid layer secures the rigid layer to the veneer (column 6, lines 1-20).
Regarding claims 22-24, Holzkaemper discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions of class. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions of class, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holzkaemper by using such a material as an obvious design choice where more or less insulation is required based upon the environment for which it is intended to function. Regarding the limitation of “poured”, this is a method step regarding the means of production. The Applicant should note that the claims are drawn to the final product, the final wall panel, and not the method
Regarding claim 25, the veneer layer has ridges (areas between bricks which form channels.
Regarding claims 26, 30, 31, 33, 34, 35 and 37, attachment to a building is disclosed (claim 1, Holzkaemper). Regarding the use of a plurality of panels, this is not explicitly disclosed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple panels, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The use of a plurality of panels would be useful on large buildings and allow for easy transport of the panels if there are a plurality as opposed to a single large panel. Regarding the limitation of a sealant between seams of panels, the examiner takes official notice that sealant such as caulking or other adhesives are well known in the art to join exterior components in order to add water resistance. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sealant between seams to prevent moisture entering the structure. Regarding the order of steps, the Applicant should note that the claims are drawn to the final product wall panel and not the method of making.
Regarding claim 36, securing the panel to a building structure is disclosed (Holzkaemper claim 1) but the specific means of attachment is not disclosed. The Examiner takes official notice that screws are well known in the art of construction and are commonly used to secure panels together, such as sheetrock as an example, and countersinking the screws is needed to set them flush. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify use screws in order to better secure the panel to a structure in a secure and economical manner.
Claim 39, as best understood, is rejected for reasons cited in the rejections of claims 16-18.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,240,691 to Holzkaemper et al in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2009/0011207 to Dubey further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,641,812 to Alderman as in the previous action.
Regarding claim 20, Holzkaemper in view of Dubey do not disclose the use of a phase change material. Alderman discloses such a material (fig. 1A, claim 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holzkaemper to use such a material in the insulation to better increase the insulative properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the limitations of “sagging prevention”, these have been addressed in previous actions. Regarding the recently added language to the claims, these are addressed in the action above. It should also be noted that the limitations added to the claims are functional and contain a desired result which lack a structure which would provide the results claimed. The Applicant argues additional support in the Holzkaemper reference but this does not negate the reference since it is not clear what structures entail sagging prevention. Regarding the teaching of Holzkaemper of sagging prevention, this is taught in the abstract where Holzkaemper is using structure to prevent sagging during a fire. The structure of Holzkaemper does not sag under normal use. It should also be noted that the components of Holzkaemper are needed to construct a usable structure. Regarding the “contiguous” limitation, this is construed broadly as a definition of contiguous is merely adjacent or touching which can be seen in the figures of Holzkaemper.
Conclusion
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633