DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under investigation.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 7 does not accurately depict the electrode placement map upon reading the specification. It is unclear what exactly the visible markings 203 are supposed to encompass upon looking at Fig. 7. It is recommended that Fig. 7 is amended to contain more visual detail to better discern between the various elements shown in the Figure.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one orientation element that is configured to cooperate with a respective fiducial” in claim 10.
Paragraph [0035] of the specification provides corresponding structure for “orientation element” that includes a protrusion extending into the interior, a marking, or a feature that alters the shape of the lower perimeter. Thus, the orientation element will be interpreted as a protrusion extending into the interior, a marking, or a feature that alters the shape of the lower perimeter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the bounds of “substantially” are when it refers to the claim limitation of “substantially rigid”. Due to the fact that “substantially” is not defined, then “substantially rigid” could mean a material with no flexibility to a material with slight or even moderate flexibility. It is recommended that the Applicant either defines or removes the term “substantially”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dar et. al, (US 20150374971 A1, published 12/31/2015, hereinafter known as Dar).
Regarding claim 1, Dar discloses apparatus for applying at least one electrode array to a head of an individual (“apparatus and methods for applying electrical stimulation to the head region, to headsets having electrodes for treatment of medical conditions…to electrode arrangements for use with such headsets” [0002]), the apparatus comprising:
a head receiving structure configured to receive at least a portion of the head of the individual (“invented headset system, donned on head” [0096]),
wherein the head receiving structure defines an interior (shown below in annotated Fig. 2, [0097]), wherein the head receiving structure comprises an adhesive or hook or loop material within the interior (“electrode pad may include a “hook” (e.g., Velcro®) fastening layer” [0140]), and wherein the adhesive or hook or loop material is configured to retain the at least one electrode array within the interior of the head receiving structure (“the user may position electrode pad inside housing and thereby the hook layer of electrode pad and the loop layer may be reversibly attached” [0140]).
Regarding claim 2, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1, wherein the head receiving structure comprises first and second portions, wherein the first and second portions are coupled together (“headset may be configured to include an elastic posterior member and elastic anterior member…posterior and anterior members may be configured to connect to middle bilateral members by size adjustment mechanisms configured to be located at both sides of the head”, Fig. 2, [0097]) to permit relative movement between the first portion and the second portion (“middle bilateral members may be configured to be flexible”, due to the flexibility of the middle coupling members, the posterior and anterior portions are capable of relative movement, [0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 2, wherein the head receiving structure comprises a hinge or linkage that couples the first and second portions (“anterior and posterior members may be configured to be coupled to bilateral members at connection points 8 and 16 as shown in Fig. 1”, the coupling point between the anterior/posterior members and bilateral members can be understood as a linkage, [0096]) to permit pivotal movement therebetween (“middle bilateral members may be configured to be flexible”, due to the flexibility of the middle coupling members, the posterior and anterior portions are capable of relative movement, [0098]).
Regarding claim 6, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 2, wherein the first and second portions of the head receiving structure are substantially rigid (“the frame is adapted such that along at least 30%, at least 40%, at least 50%, or at least 60% of a length of the circumference, the frame is substantially non-elastic” [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 2, wherein at least one of the first portion or the second portion of the head receiving structure is flexible (“circumferential frame (“headset body”) that may include a posterior elastic member and an anterior elastic member” [0096]).
Regarding claim 8, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 2, wherein each of the first and second portions of the head receiving structure forms approximately half of the head receiving structure (“the front and rear mechanical elements span, in total, 45% to 75%, 50% to 75%, 55% to 75%, or 55% to 70%, of the circumference” [0016]).
Regarding claim 10, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1, further comprising at least one orientation element that is configured to cooperate with a respective fiducial to orient the apparatus relative to the head of the individual (“to ensure proper circumferential (rotational) and longitudinal placement of headset with respect to head without the need to use a mirror, the user may position his thumb on nose bridge and one of his fingers (of the same hand) on recess (i.e., a marking), to ensure that headset is accurately positioned” [0196]).
Regarding claim 11, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 10, wherein the respective fiducial is a facial feature (“headset may be configured to include a recess at its anterior portion, configured to be aligned with the glabella midline and above a nose bridge” [0196]).
Regarding claim 12, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1, wherein the head receiving structure is flexible (“circumferential frame (“headset body”) that may include a posterior elastic member and an anterior elastic member…middle bilateral members may be configured to be flexible” [0096] & [0098]).
Regarding claim 13, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 12, wherein the head receiving structure that is flexible is resiliently elastic (“elastic member may have a lower modulus of elasticity above electrode base housing”, it is well known in the art that a lower elastic modulus means that the material is less susceptible to deformation and can more easily return to its shape, [0119]).
Regarding claim 14, Dar discloses a system comprising: an apparatus (“apparatus and methods for applying electrical stimulation to the head region” [0002]) comprising: a head receiving structure configured to receive at least a portion of the head of the individual (“invented headset system, donned on head” [0096]), wherein the head receiving structure defines an interior (shown above in annotated Fig. 2, [0097]), wherein the head receiving structure comprises an adhesive or hook or loop material within the interior (“electrode pad may include a “hook” (e.g., Velcro®) fastening layer” [0140]), and wherein the adhesive or hook or loop material is configured to retain the at least one electrode array within the interior of the head receiving structure (“the user may position electrode pad inside housing and thereby the hook layer of electrode pad and the loop layer may be reversibly attached” [0140]); and an electrode placement map receivable within the interior of the head receiving structure of the apparatus (“mechanism for adjustment of the placement of electrode base housing” Fig. 12 and Fig. 13, [0125]), the electrode placement map comprising: a 2-dimensional substrate (“flexible connecting band” 84 in Fig. 13, [0126]); and visible markings associated with the 2-dimensional substrate (“flexible connecting band is configured to include holes” 98 in Fig. 13, [0126]), the visible markings being indicative of placement locations of a plurality of electrode arrays relative to each other in 2-dimensional space (“placement of electrode base housing may be adjusted by snapping protrusions and into other holes in flexible connecting band…electrode pad is disposed in electrode base” [0127] & [0128]) wherein the placement locations of the plurality of electrode arrays relative to each other in 2-dimensional space translates to optimized positions of the plurality of electrode arrays for delivering tumor-treating fields (“ensuring optimal conductivity between the electrodes and the scalp is essential for proper transfer of the electrical current to the target tissues, which is the basis for an effective treatment”, since the prior art discloses the claimed structure, the prior art is capable of the claimed function, which is treatment of tumor-treating fields [0094]) when the plurality of electrode arrays are placed on the individual in 3-dimensional space (“the position of electrode base housing may be adjusted to fit various morphological and anthropometric variables of certain users” [0124]).
Regarding claim 16, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 14, wherein the visible markings of the electrode placement map comprise indications of at least a portion of a perimeter of each electrode array of the plurality of electrode arrays (“electrode base housing may be configured to be coupled to a “loop” (e.g., Velcro®) fastening layer, disposed in a groove in the internal perimeter of housing” markings 98 and perimeter of base 150, as shown below in annotated Fig. 13, [0141]).
Regarding claim 17, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 14, wherein the visible markings comprise indications of at least one fiducial that provides a reference location from which the plurality of electrode arrays can be positioned (“electrode base housing may be configured to include protrusions and arising from its bottom surface… placement of electrode base housing may be adjusted by snapping protrusions and into other holes in flexible connecting band”, protrusions 92a and 92b act as fiducial reference points allowing the electrodes to be positioned properly within holes 98, as shown above in annotated Fig. 13, [0127]).
Regarding claim 18, Dar discloses a method (“methods of donning and positioning the headset on the head of the user” [0007]) comprising: positioning within an interior of a head receiving structure at least one electrode array in a position (“elastic member (part of the headset) may enable stimulation and positioning of electrodes and sensors at higher locations on the head” [0113]) so that when the head receiving structure is positioned on a head of an individual, the at least one electrode array is in a predetermined position relative to the head of the individual (“Figs. 11A-11C provide three different pre-set positionings of the electrode base housings” [0123]), wherein the head receiving structure is configured to receive at least a portion of the head of the individual (“invented headset system, donned on head” [0096]), wherein the head receiving structure defines an interior (shown above in annotated Fig. 2, [0097]), wherein the head receiving structure comprises an adhesive or hook or loop material within the interior (“electrode pad may include a “hook” (e.g., Velcro®) fastening layer” [0140]), and wherein the adhesive or hook or loop material is configured to retain the at least one electrode array within the interior of the head receiving structure (“the user may position electrode pad inside housing and thereby the hook layer of electrode pad and the loop layer may be reversibly attached” [0140]).
Regarding claim 20, Dar discloses the method as described in claim 18, further comprising, positioning within the interior of the head receiving structure an electrode placement map receivable therein (“mechanism for adjustment of the placement of electrode base housing” Fig. 12 and Fig. 13, [0125]), the electrode placement map comprising:
a 2-dimensional substrate (“flexible connecting band” 84 in Fig. 13, [0126]); and visible markings associated with the 2-dimensional substrate, and
visible markings being indicative of placement locations of a plurality of electrode arrays relative to each other in 2-dimensional space (“placement of electrode base housing may be adjusted by snapping protrusions and into other holes in flexible connecting band…electrode pad is disposed in electrode base” [0127] & [0128]), wherein the placement locations of the plurality of electrode arrays relative to each other in 2-dimensional space translates to optimized positions of the plurality of electrode arrays for delivering tumor-treating fields (“ensuring optimal conductivity between the electrodes and the scalp is essential for proper transfer of the electrical current to the target tissues, which is the basis for an effective treatment”, since the prior art discloses the claimed structure, the prior art is capable of the claimed function, which is treatment of tumor-treating fields [0094]) when the plurality of electrode arrays are placed on the individual in 3-dimensional space (“the position of electrode base housing may be adjusted to fit various morphological and anthropometric variables of certain users” [0124]),
wherein positioning within the interior of the head receiving structure at least one electrode array comprises positioning a plurality of electrode arrays based on the visible markings of the electrode placement map (“electrode base arrangement in which the distance between adjacent electrode base housings, may be pre-set”, Figs. 11A-11C depict electrode base 60 containing multiple electrode base housings 150, which indicates that there could be multiple electrodes connected to the corresponding housings, [0123]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dar in view of Gardin et. al, (US 20140142676 A1, published 05/22/2014, hereinafter known as Gardin).
Regarding claim 4, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 3, wherein the hinge or linkage is a linkage that comprises a fastener that couples the first and second portions together (“anterior and posterior members may be configured to be coupled to bilateral members at connection points 8 and 16 as shown in Fig. 1”, the coupling point between the anterior/posterior members and bilateral members can be understood as a linkage, [0096]).
Dar does not disclose wherein the fastener is configured to permit selective decoupling between the first and second portions to thereby permit relative movement between the first portion and the second portion.
However, Gardin teaches headband for retaining electrodes in position on a patient's head (Abstract). To releasably lock the pin within the narrow portion of the keyhole…pin requires the application of force to enter the narrow portion and to be removed therefrom, as shown in Fig. 2 [0028]. The pin and keyhole setup of the headband allows for selective coupling and decoupling between the first and second portions of the headband.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the pin and keyhole setup of Gardin with the apparatus for applying at least one electrode array to a head of an individual of Dar because it allows for user control over fastening and unfastening the components of the headband.
Regarding claim 5, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 4.
Dar does not disclose wherein the fastener comprises hook and loop material, a zipper, a button, or a snap.
However, Gardin teaches fastening means may consist of a…hook-and-loop fasteners…as are well known in the art [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the fastening means of a hook and loop fastener of Gardin with the apparatus for applying at least one electrode array to a head of an individual of Dar because this type of fastener is known in the art for hats, hardhats, helmets and caps (Gardin, [0023]).
Regarding claim 19, Dar discloses the method as described in claim 18, wherein the head receiving structure comprises first and second portions (“headset may be configured to include an elastic posterior member and elastic anterior member”, Fig. 2, [0097]) and a hinge or linkage that couples the first and second portions (“anterior and posterior members may be configured to be coupled to bilateral members at connection points 8 and 16 as shown in Fig. 1”, the coupling point between the anterior/posterior members and bilateral members can be understood as a linkage, [0096]) to permit pivotal movement therebetween (“middle bilateral members may be configured to be flexible”, due to the flexibility of the middle coupling members, the posterior and anterior portions are capable of relative movement, [0098]).
Dar does not disclose the method further comprising removing the head receiving structure from the head of the individual by pivoting the first portion relative to the second portion about the hinge or linkage.
However, Gardin teaches in another embodiment, the strap may be pivotally affixed to the frame at a first end, and removably attached to the frame at a second end [0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the pivotal affixion and removable attachment of the frame of Gardin with the method of applying at least one electrode array to a head of an individual of Dar because it allows for the user to fully adjust and control the headband based on their particular treatment needs.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dar.
Regarding claim 9, Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1, wherein the adhesive or hook or loop material is selected to have a first adhesion between the head receiving structure and the at least one electrode array (“electrode pad may be configured to include…a double adhesive layer, coupled to at least portion of the bottom perimeter of electrode pad which is configured to face conductive layer of housing” [0145]) and a second adhesion between an adhesive of the at least one electrode array and the head of the individual (“stimulation in the presence of hair, such as when attempting to non-invasively stimulate various areas of the head, presents a challenge, since the hair creates a high impedance layer between the superficial electrodes and the skin…solid adhesive hydrogel is the most common conductive medium used in electrical stimulation electrodes [0151]).
Dar does not disclose wherein the first adhesion of the adhesive or hook or loop material is less than the second adhesion.
However, the specification of the present invention provides no criticality or unexpected result for the claimed configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the adhesive of the strength needed in order to secure the electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the adhesive portions of varying levels of adhesion, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dar in view of Munster (hereinafter known as modified Dar) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Shambroom et. al, (US 20160325071 A1, published 11/10/2016, hereinafter known as Shambroom).
Regarding claim 15, modified Dar discloses the apparatus as described in claim 14.
Modified Dar does not disclose wherein the visible markings of the electrode placement map comprise ink or toner printed on the 2-dimensional substrate
However, Shambroom teaches a dream stimulator that may include a substrate and a plurality of electrodes positioned along a first side of the substrate (Abstract). The electrodes may be printed on the substrate…printing materials may include silver ink [0031].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the use of visible ink markings on the electrodes of Shambroom with the modified apparatus and electrode placement map of Dar because this allows for better visualization of the electrodes within the electrode placement map.
Conclusion
/F.M.K./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796