DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 1, line 1: “DEOFORANT” should read –DEODORANT—.
Page 2, lines 8-9: duplicate sentence should be deleted.
Page 2, line 17: “an separation plate” should read –a separation plate--.
Page 2, line 19: one of the duplicate commas should be deleted.
Page 6, line 1: “an separation plate” should read –a separation plate--.
Page 6, lines 9-13: instances of “deodorizing bells 1” should likely read –deodorizing balls 1--.
Page 7, lines 4-5: “divergence, and then cover the other three sets of divergence openings with all your heart” does not really make sense as translated and should probably read –dispersion, and then cover the other three sets of dispersion openings as desired--.
Page 7, line 7: “the disassembly and assembly unit include” should read -- plurality of retractable elastic structures--.
Page 7, line 13: “plurality of retractable elastic structure” should read --plurality of retractable elastic structures--.
Page 8, line 23: “deodorization” need not be capitalized.
Page 9, lines 2-3: “diffuser” need not be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in the second line, “the deodorizing ball is provided” should read –wherein the deodorizing ball is provided--.
5. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in the first line, “an separation plate” should read –a separation plate--.
in the fourth line, one of the duplicate commas should be deleted.
in the sixth line, “and the movable disk via a rotating shaft,” should be deleted as it appears to be a duplicate recitation of how the diffuser disk is connected to the movable disk.
6. Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in the second line, “the matching buckle includes a buckle base” should read –wherein the matching buckle includes a buckle base--.
7. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in the second line, “fixed connected with a first magnet” should read –fixedly connected with a first magnet--.
in the last line, “a first magnet” should read –the first magnet--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
8. The present claims and accompanying disclosure contain several terms that are used differently than their ordinary meaning might suggest, possibly as a result of translation. The claim terms are given a broadest reasonable interpretation by the Examiner in light of the specification, including:
in claim 1, “two sets” is interpreted to cover any combination of structures that make up the deodorizing ball.
In all claims, a geometric definition of the term “disk” is adopted to include all possible configurations of openings, holes, etc. within a planar region bounded by a circle, consistent with the various geometric forms of disks 4/5/10 in the drawings.
In claim 3, “spring sheet” is defined in the specification as including a “plurality of retractable elastic structure[s]” but is interpreted with a broad meaning of any elastic or springlike structure, i.e., does not strictly require a spring or a sheet.
In claim 7, “traction rope” is interpreted under BRI to include any rope-like structure that can provide a connection between the two halves, as it is unclear what is meant by “traction” in this description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
11. Regarding claim 1, it is unclear whether the limitation “a set of disassembly and assembly structures in both inner and outer circles” requires a set of these structures for each of these circles, or whether a single set of disassembly and assembly structure could span both the inner and outer circles. This uncertainty in number and structure lends to indefiniteness of the claim as a whole.
Claims 2-7 are indefinite by virtue of their dependence on indefinite claim 1.
12. Regarding claim 2, it is unclear whether the first diffuser disk or second diffuser disk is the same or different than the diffuser disk recited in claim 1, and whether a first diffuser disk and a second diffuser disk are both required to satisfy the claim. Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the first diffuser disk” and “the second diffuser disk” in the claims, which can be cured by positively reciting both a first diffuser disk and a second diffuser disk. Further, it is unclear whether the diffuser ports are required to be inside the same diffuser disk that is movably connected to the deodorizing ball. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted broadly such that the limitation requiring “a first diffuser disk or a second diffuser disk” can be satisfied by only a single first diffuser disk having the diffuser ports and rotatable connection.
13. Regarding claim 3, it is unclear what structure is intended by the limitation “a spring sheet”, if any, beyond that it includes a plurality of retractable elastic structures, as the term “spring sheet” does not carry a meaning that is commonly known in the art. Claim 3 further recites the limitation "the outer periphery of the spring sheet" in the fifth line, and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no definite geometry has been defined for the spring sheet.
14. Claim 7 recites the limitation "two sets of the deodorizing balls" in the second line, and it is unclear whether this is intended to refer to the same two sets (hemispherical halves) of a single deodorizing ball as recited in claim 1 or to two deodorizing balls (complete sets), or to something else entirely.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
16. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haust et al (US 4944455 A).
17. Regarding claim 1, Haust discloses a deodorant ball (FIGS. 1-8, filled with volatilizable deodorizing or air freshening material, col 2 lines 58-68). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020). See MPEP 2111.02(II). Accordingly, the recitation that this device is for shoes is not given patentable weight, though the Examiner notes that the reference contemplates similar air treating balls of a size suitable for insertion into a sneaker (col 1 lines 5-7, FIG. 8). Haust’s deodorant ball is disclosed as comprising:
a deodorizing ball (FIG. 8), the deodorizing ball is provided with two sets (FIGS. 3-7, air treating device illustrated comprises a first hollow body 10 and a second hollow body 11 joining along join line, col 2 lines 10-25);
a diffuser disk (pad 23 and ring 13, FIG. 1), wherein the diffuser disk is capable of freely controlling dispersion of deodorizing substances (ring 13 is rotated by hand so that apertures 17 and 17a are in alignment with the hole 16 to permit volatilizable deodorizing or air freshening material to escape, col 2 lines 58-68; volatilization of odor treating ingredients from both surfaces of pad 23, col 2 lines 36-47); and
a disassembly and assembly unit wherein the disassembly and assembly unit includes a set of disassembly and assembly structures in both inner (FIGS. 3-7, prongs 20 and 22 combine to provide a supporting post 23 which a donut shaped pad of air freshening material may be mounted, col 2 lines 26-44) and outer circles of the diffuser disk (FIG. 7, projections 14a extending from body 10a are recessed as illustrated to leave a pair of projections 25 and 26 to receive a prong 27 in interlocking fashion extending from projection 15a, col 2 lines 48-57).
The limitation wherein the deodorizing ball is freely disassembled and assembled is recited as an intended use of the deodorizing ball structure, which imparts limited patentable weight according to MPEP 2114(II). Examiner notes that the ring assembly of Haust interlocks the two halves in a manner that is readily assembled but not completely childproof (col 1 lines 30-51 and col 2 lines 48-57), finding nothing about the structure of the connections in FIGS. 3-7 that would prevent a user from freely assembling or disassembling the ball.
18. Regarding claim 2, Haust discloses the deodorant ball for shoes according to claim 1, wherein a separation plate is fixedly installed inside the deodorizing ball (FIG.7, projections 14a/15a extending from inside surface of bodies 10a/11a, col 2 lines 48-57) to separate the deodorizing ball into a plurality of cavities (FIG. 1, openings 16), one side of the deodorizing ball is movably connected to a first diffuser disk or a second diffuser disk (body 10 has a pin 19 mounted on prong 20 which engages with a supporting post 23 to which a donut shaped pad of air freshening material may be mounted, col 2 lines 26-44), diffuser ports inside the first diffuser disk or the second diffuser disk match a number and a position of the cavities (apertures 17 and 17a are in alignment with the hole 16 to permit volatilizable deodorizing or air freshening material to escape, coil 2 lines 58-68), one side of the first diffuser disk is rotatably connected to a movable disk (pad 23 is maintained substantially in the plane of ring 13, col 2 lines 26-44) and the movable disk controls the connection or closing of the cavities and the diffuser ports (ring 13 may also quickly be rotated to a sealed position in which apertures 17 and 17a are aligned with projections 14 and 15, col 2 lines 58-68).
Since the ball halves are held together by the shaft (col 2 lines 26-44) and the ball rotates relative to the ring (col 2 lines 58-68), the shaft is capable of rotating with the fragrance pad relative to the ring, reading upon wherein the first diffuser disk is rotatably connected to a movable disk via a rotating shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haust et al (US 4944455 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cutler et al (US 20180311394 A1).
21. Regarding claim 3, Haust discloses the deodorant ball for shoes according to claim 2, further comprising:
a matching buckle and a matching seat (pin and socket connection, col 2 lines 26-44, FIGS. 3-4), the matching buckle includes a buckle base (pin 19 mounted on prong 20, col 2 lines 26-44) and a step (flutes 24, col 2 lines 26-44, FIG. 3), the buckle base is fixedly connected to the first diffuser disk (prongs 20 and 22 combine to provide a supporting post 23 which a donut shaped pad of air freshening material may be mounted, col 2 lines 26-44), the matching seat includes a seat hole and a seat ring (socket 21 within prong 22, col 2 lines 26-44, FIG. 4), the seat hole is fixedly connected to the diffuser disk (prongs 20 and 22 extend internally and have flutes 24 which maintain pad 23, col 2 lines 26-44), and the seat ring is fixedly connected to the seat hole (FIG. 4, top ring of socket 21).
Although Haust does not specifically teach that the seat hole is fixedly connected to a second diffuser disk, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Since the deodorizing pad is made of paper, cardboard or sponge impregnated or coated with conventional air freshening and/or odor treating ingredients (col 2 lines 45-47), stacking a first and second layer to comprise the pad 23 would be expected to function as an air freshener in the same manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the diffuser disk as a first and second diffuser disk, because a stacked configuration of two fragrance disks would predictably diffuse fragrance, and likely for about twice as long.
Haust does not teach that the buckle includes a spring sheet that comprises a plurality of retractable elastic structures and is fixedly connected to the buckle base nor that the step is embedded in the outer periphery of the spring sheet, and the step is movably connected to the seat ring.
Cutler teaches an analogous air freshener (Abstract, FIGS. 1-3) having a similar scent panel that is held in place by engaging a hole with a handle (FIG. 2, hole 28 and handle 32), the handle described as having a flexible plastic material with a c-shape (pars 0036-0037) i.e. having a plurality of protruding structures that are elastic and therefore also retractable. When applied to the product of Haust, the elastic structures would necessarily be fixedly connected to the buckle base and also to somewhere near the end of the seat ring to engage the hole in the fragrance pad, where the step is connected. To position elastic structures as close to the engagement end of the seat ring, the step would then logically be embedded in the outer periphery of the spring structure and by virtue of being elastic, the step would then be movably connected to the seat ring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the engagement element on the seat/buckle ends of Haust as a spring sheet that comprises a plurality of retractable elastic structures as taught by Cutler, because this spring structure would predictably provide flexible engagement to suitably hold the fragrance pad hole in place as an obvious combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
22. Regarding claim 4, Haust as modified by Cutler teaches the deodorant ball for shoes according to claim 3, wherein one side of the first diffuser disk is fixedly connected with a first sealing ring (top side of fragrance pad 23 attached to body 10 which includes projections 14a, Haust FIGS. 3 and 7; sealed position in which apertures 17 and 17a are aligned with projections 14 and 15, Haust col 2 lines 58-68) and one side of the second diffuser disk is fixedly connected with a second sealing ring (bottom side of fragrance pad 23 attached to body 11 which includes projections 15a, Haust FIGS. 4 and 7; sealed position in which apertures 17 and 17a are aligned with projections 14 and 15, Haust col 2 lines 58-68), and an outer periphery of the first sealing ring is movably connected with an inner periphery of the second sealing ring (Haust FIG. 7, 14a/15a; ball can be rotated relative to ring 13 as discussed regarding claim 2 above for movable connection).
23. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haust et al (US 4944455 A) and Cutler et al (US 20180311394 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 20110226866 A1).
24. Regarding claim 5, Haust as modified by Cutler teaches the deodorant ball for shoes according to claim 4, wherein one end of the first sealing ring away from the first diffuser disk is in contact with a second diffuser disk (FIG. 7, projections 14a extend to bottom of fragrance pad 23). The combination does not teach magnets configured such that one side of the second sealing ring is fixedly connected with a second magnet, and one side of the first diffuser disk is fixed connected with a first magnet, and one end of the second magnet away from the second sealing ring is magnetically connected to a first magnet.
Kim teaches an analogous air freshener with movable scent elements (Abstract, par 0023) wherein pairs of magnets 107/108 are used to accurately align the position of the cartridge with respect to the body (pars 0059 and 0064, FIGS. 6-9), which when applied to the base product of Haust would involve matching sets of magnets on projections 14a/15a to align the sealing rings as desired by Haust (Haust col 2 lines 14-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include within the sealing ring projections of modified Haust a pair of magnets such that one side of the second sealing ring is fixedly connected with a second magnet, and one side of the first diffuser disk is fixed connected with a first magnet, and one end of the second magnet away from the second sealing ring is magnetically connected to a first magnet as suggested by Kim, because such a pair of magnets would predictably assist with alignment of the sealing parts and advantageously provide further resistance to easy access (Haust col 4 lines 48-57) with reasonable expectation of success, involving combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
25. Regarding claim 6, Haust as modified by Cutler and Kim teaches the deodorant ball for shoes according to claim 5, wherein a flush hole is provided inside the first diffuser disk or the second diffuser disk (Haust FIG. 6, diffuser disks 23 are donut shaped), one end of the rotating shaft is fixedly connected to a pointer disk (Haust FIGS. 3-6, socket 21 at end of prong 22), and the pointer disk is movably connected to the flush hole (halves may conveniently be connected by a post, Haust col 1 lines 30-38 and FIGS 3-7).
26. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haust et al (US 4944455 A), Cutler et al (US 20180311394 A1), and Kim et al (US 20110226866 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Woods et al (US 20160082139 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Haust as modified by Cutler and Kim teaches the deodorant ball for shoes according to claim 6, but the combination does not teach wherein two sets of the deodorizing balls are connected to a traction rope.
Woods teaches an analogous deodorizer for insertion into gloves and shoes (Abstract, pars 0004-0006) wherein a pair of deodorizers can be attached to a braided rope-shaped handle 70 to conveniently transport or store the deodorizers together (pars 0017-0018, FIGS. 1A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect two sets of the deodorizing balls of modified Haust to a traction rope as taught by Woods, because this rope would predictably enable convenient transportation and storage of the two sets of deodorant balls in the same manner and involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
28. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Green (US 20070001023 A1) teaches a very similar air freshening ball having scent pads anchored in two hemispheres connected by interlocking rings (FIGS. 1-4, pars 0022-0028).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758