DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/25, 11/25/25, and 05/06/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0061, “the one or more second loads 322, both of which correspond to the power supply A” should be changed to “the one or more second loads 322, both of which correspond to the power supply B”.
Paragraph 0063, “DC/DC converter 313” should be changed to “DC/DC converter 312”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paryani (US 2020/0282853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Paryani teaches a power supply system (Figure 1), comprising: a first power supply circuit (Figure 1 Components 112+124+110), comprising: a first battery (Figure 1 Component 112); a battery management system (BMS) operably coupled with the first battery (Figure 1 Component 124 which is operably coupled to Component 112; Paragraph 0044); one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components LV load output branches; Figure 1 Component Out A and 172); and a direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter (Figure 1 Components 106+132) comprising: a controller (Figure 1 Component 132); an input end coupled with the first battery (Figure 1 Component 112 provides an HV input of Component 106 through Component 110; Paragraph 0042; Claim 14); and an output end configured to supply power to the BMS, the controller, and the one or more first loads (Paragraph 0041 highlights that a lot of the components are integrated into a single unit and use the voltage available; Paragraph 0044; LV is the voltage used for a controller to be powered due to it not being a high intensive power unit; It is well known in the art that OBC and other low voltage electronics are powered by the 12 V on-board battery through a DC/DC converter therefore the BMS, controller and loads are powered at the output of the DC/DC Converter); a switch (Figure 1 Component 138); and a second power supply circuit (Figure 1 Components 104+184+148), comprising: one or more second loads (Figure 1 Component HV load output branches; Figure 1 Component 184); and a second battery coupled with the output end through the switch (Figure 1 Component 104), wherein the second battery is configured to supply power to the controller and the one or more second loads (Paragraph 0041 highlights that a lot of the components are integrated into a single unit and use the voltage available; Paragraph 0044; LV is the voltage used for a controller to be powered due to it not being a high intensive power unit; It is well known in the art that OBC and other low voltage electronics are powered by the 12 V on-board battery; Figure 1 Component LV outputs power to charge HV and thus charges the HV output loads due to the connection going directly through the DC/DC converter).
Regarding claim 2, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Paryani further teaches wherein the switch is configured to: be on in a normal state; and to be switched from on to off when a short-circuit fault occurs in the one or more first loads (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”).
Regarding claim 3, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Paryani further teaches wherein the one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components LV load output branches; Figure 1 Component Out A and 172) comprises: a third load (Figure 1 component 172); and a fuse coupled with the third load (Figure 1 Component 162), wherein the first power supply circuit is configured to, blow the fuse when the short-circuit fault occurs in the third load (Figure 1 Component 162 is a fuse and a fuse’s operation is to blow when a short-circuit occurs).
Regarding claim 4, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Paryani further teaches wherein the switch is configured to: be on in a normal state; be switched from on to off when a fault occurs in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit; and be switched from off to on when the fault is cleared (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”).
Regarding claim 5, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Paryani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: detect one or more currents or voltages of the first power supply circuit and the second power supply circuit (Figure 1 Components 140+142+146); and detect, based on the one or more voltages or currents, whether the fault occurs in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit (Table 3 “iSensor A, B or LVB 140, 142, 146 detect a short circuit”), and whether the fault in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit is cleared (Table 4).
Regarding claim 7, Paryani teaches a control method for a power supply system (Figure 1), the control method comprising: detecting a first fault status of a first power supply circuit of the power supply system (Figure 1 Components 112+124+110 are the first power supply circuit; Figure 1 Component 146; Claim 8; Paragraph 0046; Table 4 Component 146; Table 3 “iSensor A, B or LVB 140, 142, 146 detect a short circuit”); detecting a second fault status of a second power supply circuit of the power supply system (Figure 1 Components 104+184+148 are the second power supply circuit; Figure 1 Components 142+140; Claim 8); and controlling, based on the first fault status and the second fault status, a switch of the power supply system to be turned on or turned off (Figure 1 Component 134 or 138; Table 4 says that switch is turned on or off based on the fault status).
Regarding claim 8, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Paryani further teaches wherein controlling the switch to be turned on or turned off comprises: controlling the switch to be turned off when a short-circuit fault occurs in a third load (Figure 1 Component 172) among the one or more first loads (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”); and blowing a fuse connected to the third load (Figure 1 Component 162).
Regarding claim 9, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Paryani further teaches wherein controlling the switch to be turned on or turned off comprises: controlling the switch to turn off when a fault occurs in the first power supply circuit and/or the second power supply circuit; and controlling the switch to turn on when a fault in the first power supply circuit and/or the second power supply circuit is cleared (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”).
Regarding claim 10, Paryani teaches a computer program product comprising instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and that, when executed by one or more processors (Figure 1; Paragraph 0044 highlights that the instructions can be implemented in firmware), cause an apparatus to: detect a first fault status of a first power supply circuit of a power supply system (Figure 1 Components 112+124+110 are the first power supply circuit; Figure 1 Component 146; Claim 8; Paragraph 0046; Table 4 Component 146; Table 3 “iSensor A, B or LVB 140, 142, 146 detect a short circuit”); detect a second fault status of a second power supply circuit of the power supply system (Figure 1 Components 104+184+148 are the second power supply circuit; Figure 1 Components 142+140; Claim 8); and control, based on the first fault status and the second fault status, a switch of the power supply system to be turned on or turned off (Figure 1 Component 134 or 138; Table 4 says that switch is turned on or off based on the fault status).
Regarding claim 11, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Paryani further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: maintain a normal state with the switch on; and switch the switch from on to off when a short-circuit fault occurs in one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components Out A and 172) coupled with the first power supply circuit (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”).
Regarding claim 12, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Paryani further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: control the switch to be turned off when a short-circuit fault occurs in a third load (Figure 1 Component 172) among the one or more first loads (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”); and blow a fuse connected to the third load (Figure 1 Component 162).
Regarding claim 13, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Paryani further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: control the switch to turn off when a fault occurs in the first power supply circuit and/or the second power supply circuit; and control the switch to turn on when a fault in the first power supply circuit and/or the second power supply circuit is cleared (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”).
Regarding claim 14, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Paryani further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: detect one or more currents or voltages of the first power supply circuit and the second power supply circuit (Figure 1 Components 140+142+146); and detect, based on the one or more voltages or currents, whether the fault occurs in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit (Table 3 “iSensor A, B or LVB 140, 142, 146 detect a short circuit”), and whether the fault in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit is cleared (Table 4).
Regarding claim 16, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Paryani further teaches maintaining a normal state with the switch on; and switching the switch from on to off when a short-circuit fault occurs in one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components Out A+172) coupled with the first power supply circuit (Figure 1 Component 138; Table 4 “The ampSwitch 138 will detects a short on either bus by detecting a voltage drop on either Bus A or Bus B (a controller or simple comparator can be used) or using a comparator of the current sensor outputs. When this happens, the switch 138 will be commanded to open by either the hardware circuit of block 134. 2. When voltage returns to normal (>10 V), the ampSwitch 138 will command the DC-DC or alternator to match the battery's voltage. At that point the switch 138 will be re-closed”).
Regarding claim 17, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Paryani further teaches detecting one or more currents or voltages of the first power supply circuit and the second power supply circuit (Figure 1 Components 140+142+146); and detecting, based on the one or more voltages or currents, whether the fault occurs in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit (Table 3 “iSensor A, B or LVB 140, 142, 146 detect a short circuit”), and whether the fault in the first power supply circuit or the second power supply circuit is cleared (Table 4).
Regarding claim 19, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Paryani further teaches wherein the first battery comprises a high-voltage battery (Figure 1 Component 112), and wherein the second battery comprises a low-voltage battery (Figure 1 Component 104).
Regarding claim 20, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Paryani further teaches wherein the first power supply circuit is configured to supply high voltage to one or more first loads and wherein the second power supply circuit is configured to supply low voltage to one or more second loads (Figure 1 shows that Component 112 outputs a voltage to Component 106 that outputs to Components Out A and 172; Component 104 outputs to Component 112 through Component 106 and thus also provides voltage to Components 184 due to the bus line connection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paryani (US 2020/0282853 A1) in view of Sturza (US 2019/0135206 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Paryani does not teach wherein both the one or more first loads and the one or more second loads comprise a fourth load comprising an intelligent driving controller, and wherein the power supply system is configured to provide redundant power to the fourth load.
Sturza teaches an power supply system (Figure 1), comprising: a first battery (Figure 1 Component 110); a second battery (Figure 1 Component 120); one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components 150A, 152A and 154A); one or more second loads (Figure 1 Components 150B, 152B and 154B); wherein both the one or more first loads and the one or more second loads comprise a fourth load comprising an intelligent driving controller (Figure 1 Components 154A+154B; Paragraph 0020 “vehicle drive control systems 154A and 154B”), and wherein the power supply system is configured to provide redundant power to the fourth load (Paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paryani to incorporate a fourth load being continuously powered as taught by Sturza. The advantage of this design is that it ensures that vehicle control functionalities are not disabled in the case where a failure or shorting of a bus is detected.
Regarding claim 15, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Paryani does not teach wherein both the first power supply circuit and the second power supply circuit are configured to supply power to an intelligent driving controller, and wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to provide redundant power to the intelligent driving controller.
Sturza teaches an power supply system (Figure 1), comprising: a first battery bus power supply (Figure 1 Component 110); a second battery bus power supply (Figure 1 Component 120); one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components 150A, 152A and 154A); one or more second loads (Figure 1 Components 150B, 152B and 154B); wherein both the one or more first loads and the one or more second loads comprise a fourth load comprising an intelligent driving controller (Figure 1 Components 154A+154B; Paragraph 0020 “vehicle drive control systems 154A and 154B”), and wherein the power supply system is configured to provide redundant power to the fourth load (Paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paryani to incorporate a fourth load being continuously powered as taught by Sturza. The advantage of this design is that it ensures that vehicle control functionalities are not disabled in the case where a failure or shorting of a bus is detected.
Regarding claim 18, Paryani teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Paryani does not teach wherein both the first power supply circuit and the second power supply circuit are configured to supply power to an intelligent driving controller, and wherein the method further comprises providing redundant power to the intelligent driving controller.
Sturza teaches an power supply system (Figure 1), comprising: a first battery bus power supply (Figure 1 Component 110); a second battery bus power supply (Figure 1 Component 120); one or more first loads (Figure 1 Components 150A, 152A and 154A); one or more second loads (Figure 1 Components 150B, 152B and 154B); wherein both the one or more first loads and the one or more second loads comprise a fourth load comprising an intelligent driving controller (Figure 1 Components 154A+154B; Paragraph 0020 “vehicle drive control systems 154A and 154B”), and wherein the power supply system is configured to provide redundant power to the fourth load (Paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paryani to incorporate a fourth load being continuously powered as taught by Sturza. The advantage of this design is that it ensures that vehicle control functionalities are not disabled in the case where a failure or shorting of a bus is detected.
Conclusion
/Shahzeb K Ahmad/Examiner, Art Unit 2838