DETAILED ACTION
2. This is the initial Office Action based on the application filed on March 28, 2054. The Examiner acknowledges the following:
3. Claims 1 – 20 were filed by Applicant.
4. The drawings filed on 03/28/2025are accepted by the Examiner.
5. Current claims 1 – 20 are pending and they are being considered for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The IDS documents filed on filed on 03/28/2025 and 02/10/2026 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Priority
7. Priority data is based on a PCT application PCT/KR2023/014387, which refers to two previous Korean applications: KR-10-2022-0137169, filed on 10/24/2022 and KR-10-2022-0159927, filed on 11/25/2022. Certified copies for both Korean applications were filed to the office on 04/21/2025
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “S. Sagar et al., US 2017/0111588 A1, hereinafter Sagar”. (Note: art from the IDS document).
Regarding Claims 1 and 9:
Sagar teaches an image capture device comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to: capture a first image; determine a distance between a lens and an image sensor of the image capture device for capturing the first image; determine a portion of the image sensor to use for the first image based on the determined distance in order to maintain a constant field of view for one or more images captured by the image capture device; and adjust the portion of the image sensor used for the first image based on the determined portion of the image sensor to generate an adjusted first image, wherein the processor is further configured to: capture a plurality of images, the plurality of images comprising the first image; adjust the portion of the image sensor used for at least one of the plurality of images to maintain the constant field of view for the plurality of images; and display the plurality of images in an image preview mode on a display of the image capture device so as to maintain the constant field of view for the plurality of images, wherein the distance between the lens and the image sensor is based on a focus operation and, wherein the processor is further configured to determine an optical zoom position for the lens, wherein the distance between the lens and the sensor is further based on the optical zoom position for the lens, and wherein to determine the portion of the image sensor to use for the first image is further based on the optical zoom position for the lens.
Regarding Claim 1:
As for claim 1, Sagar teaches,
An electronic device (Fig 3 image capturing device 300 (See [0034]). Fig 4, image capture device 400 (See [0040]) comprising: a first camera configured to support an optical zoom (Fig 4, camera 400 includes a zoom module 427, which controls a level of digital and/or optical zoom used to capture an image. See [0044]); at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig 3, processor 310 (See [0034;0035; 0037; 0038]). Fig 4, processor 410, signal processing pipeline module 410 (See [0040; 0041])); and memory (Fig 3, memory 320 (See [0034; 0036])) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on an input, increase a zoom magnification (Fig 7, block 705, the image capture device begins capturing an image of a scene in a preview mode. At block 710, one optical zoom operation may be performed by the image capture device, causing a lens of the image capture device to move to a particular distance from an image sensor of the image capture device. See [0068]), based on the zoom magnification falling within a first zoom magnification range corresponding to the first camera, obtain a first image by using the first camera at a first position of a lens of the first camera while the lens of the first camera is moved to a position corresponding to the zoom magnification (Fig 7, block 705, the image capture device begins capturing an image of a scene in a preview mode, wherein the zoom lens is at its initial position. See [0068]),
based on the zoom magnification and an optical zoom magnification corresponding to the first position, determine a first ratio for cropping the obtained first image, and by cropping (Fig 4, the lens shift crop factor module 430 may send information regarding the amount to crop the full resolution image to the post processing module 420as for example, percentage of the full resolution 80% and crop of 20%, which corresponds to the first ratio. See [0047]), based on the first ratio, the first image (Fig 4 , lens shift crop factor module 430 may determine the amount to crop of the image sensor 405 to use capturing the image based on the lens position (See [0045]). Fig 7, block 725, the image capture device may determine a portion of the image sensor to use for storing one or more images and/or displaying a preview of the scene on a display of the image capture device. See [0071]), obtain a second image (Fig 7, block 730, the image capture device may crop the full resolution image being captured by the image sensor according to the determined portion of the image sensor to use. At block 735, the cropped image (or second or new image) may be displayed and stored as a single image. At block 740, more image scan be captured. See [0073 – 0075]).
Regarding Claim 9:
The rejection o claim 1 is incorporated herein. Claim 9 pertains to the method for providing an image in an electronic device as disclosed in claim 1. In order to operate an electronic device as the ones disclose in claim 1, it would have necessitated to perform a method/procedure as disclosed in claim 9. Claim 9 includes similar limitations as disclosed in claim 1. As for claim 9 limitations:
A method for providing an image in an electronic device (Fig 7 shows a flowchart for operating the image capturing device. See [0067 – 0075]), the method comprising: based on an input (Fig 3, interface 330 can be used for an input. See [0034; 0037]), increasing a zoom magnification (Fig 7, block 705, the image capture device begins capturing an image of a scene in a preview mode. At block 710, one optical zoom operation may be performed by the image capture device, causing a lens of the image capture device to move to a particular distance from an image sensor of the image capture device. See [0068]);
based on the zoom magnification falling within a first zoom magnification range corresponding to a first camera included in the electronic device and configured to support an optical zoom, obtaining a first image by using the first camera at a first position of a lens of the first camera while the lens of the first camera is moved to a position corresponding to the zoom magnification (Fig 7, block 705, the image capture device begins capturing an image of a scene in a preview mode, wherein the zoom lens is at its initial position. See [0068]);
based on the zoom magnification and an optical zoom magnification corresponding to the first position, determining a first ratio for cropping the obtained first image; and by cropping (Fig 4, the lens shift crop factor module 430 may send information regarding the amount to crop the full resolution image to the post processing module 420as for example, percentage of the full resolution 80% and crop of 20%, which corresponds to the first ratio. See [0047]), based on the first ratio (Fig 4 , lens shift crop factor module 430 may determine the amount to crop of the image sensor 405 to use capturing the image based on the lens position (See [0045]). Fig 7, block 725, the image capture device may determine a portion of the image sensor to use for storing one or more images and/or displaying a preview of the scene on a display of the image capture device. See [0071]), the first image, obtaining a second image (Fig 7, block 730, the image capture device may crop the full resolution image being captured by the image sensor according to the determined portion of the image sensor to use. At block 735, the cropped image (or second or new image) may be displayed and stored as a single image. At block 740, more image scan be captured. See [0073 – 0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “S. Sagar et al., US 2017/0111588 A1, hereinafter Sagar”, in view of “Yi Guo et al., US2020/0092486 A1, hereinafter Guo”. (Note: art from the IDS document).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13:
The rejection of claims 1 and 9 is incorporated herein. Sagar teaches claim 1; however, it is silent about claim 5 limitations, which in the same field of endeavor is taught by Guo. Guo teaches a multi- zooming camera system. Guo Fig 1 teaches,
Zoom magnification range for different cameras: an i-th camera corresponds to an i-th magnification range, the magnification range corresponding to each camera is different from the magnification ranges corresponding to every other camera and each camera has relatively high focusing performance in its own magnification range. Schematically:
a first camera.fwdarw. a first magnification range, for example, 0.5×-1×;
a second camera.fwdarw. a second magnification range, for example, 1×-2×;
a third camera.fwdarw. a third magnification range, for example, 2×-3×; and
an nth camera.fwdarw.an nth magnification range, for example, 4×-5×. As seen in Guo any camera can be selected by a user(See [0056 – 0061]).
Additionally, Guo discloses that the whole zooming focal length is divided into n magnification ranges and each camera in the terminal corresponds to a magnification range which matches with itself. An i-th camera corresponds to the i-th magnification range and two adjacent magnification ranges can be continuous and not intersected. During zooming in a shooting process, the mobile terminal can acquire an expected magnification set by a user (or determined by an automatic focusing program), the expected magnification being a specified zooming magnification. The mobile terminal determines the magnification range matched with the expected magnification to select the camera which will be used firstly. Zooming from the i-th magnification range to the adjacent j-th magnification range can refer to zooming from a relatively low magnification range to a relatively high magnification range, i.e., zooming from the i-th magnification range to an (i+1)th magnification range, and can also refer to zooming from the relatively high magnification range to the relatively low magnification range, i.e., zooming from the i-th magnification range to an (i−1)th magnification range. (See [0066; 0067]).
By modifying Sagar system with additional cameras as taught by Guo, that would allow the user to be able to acquire images at different zoom levels.
Regarding Claim 17:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. As for claim 19, Sagar teaches,
An electronic device (Fig 3 image capturing device 300 (See [0034]). Fig 4, image capture device 400 (See [0040]) comprising: a first camera configured to support an optical zoom (Fig 4, camera 400 includes a zoom module 427, which controls a level of digital and/or optical zoom used to capture an image. See [0044]); at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig 3, processor 310 (See [0034;0035; 0037; 0038]). Fig 4, processor 410, signal processing pipeline module 410 (See [0040; 0041])); and memory (Fig 3, memory 320 (See [0034; 0036])) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device. Sagar also teaches Fig 4, the lens shift crop factor module 430 may send information regarding the amount to crop the full resolution image to the post processing module 420as for example, percentage of the full resolution 80% and crop of 20%, which corresponds to the first ratio. See [0047]), based on the first ratio (Fig 4 , lens shift crop factor module 430 may determine the amount to crop of the image sensor 405 to use capturing the image based on the lens position (See [0045]). Fig 7, block 725, the image capture device may determine a portion of the image sensor to use for storing one or more images and/or displaying a preview of the scene on a display of the image capture device. See [0071]).
As for the other limitations of claim 17, Guo teaches in Figs 10 (See [0158 – 0161]) and 11 (See [0170 -- 0183]), a method for zooming from a minimum magnification to a maximum magnification range in a multi-camera scenario. Fig 13 show a flowchart showing the zooming from a minimum magnification range to a maximum magnification range in a multi-camera system (See [0185 – 0198]). During zooming of the mobile terminal, the cameras with different focal length performance can be switched to change a zooming ratio. In the present disclosure, the number of cameras on the mobile terminal is more than two, that is, the mobile terminal is wider in zooming range and a shot image has a better effect (See [0046]). In addition, during a zoom in or zoom out operation of the user, the zooming data region 1202 on one side of the display screen of the mobile phone displays a zooming magnification and a data scale corresponding to the zooming magnification (See [0161]). In case of zooming from low to high magnification ranges, the preview image displayed in the preview region 1203 is gradually magnified, the zooming magnification gradually increases and the corresponding data scale gradually increases from bottom to top. In case of zooming from the high to low magnification ranges, the preview image displayed in the preview region 1203 is gradually reduced, the zooming magnification gradually decreases and the corresponding data scale gradually decreases from top to bottom (See [0162]).
By modifying Sagar with Guo teachings, that would allow the user to do multitasking and parallel processing with the multi-camera system. See Guo [0298]).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “S. Sagar et al., US 2017/0111588 A1, hereinafter Sagar”, in view of “Hideki Akiyama et al., US 2007/0120988 A1, hereinafter Akiyama”. (Note: art from the IDS document).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12:
The rejection of claims 1 and 9 is incorporated herein. Sagar teaches claims 1 and 9. As for claims 4 and 12 limitations, Sagar teaches: Fig 7, block 705, the image capture device begins capturing an image of a scene in a preview mode wherein the zoom lens is at its initial position . At block 710, one optical zoom operation may be performed by the image capture device, causing a lens of the image capture device to move to a particular distance from an image sensor of the image capture device (See [0068]). Fig 9C shows the drive state of the zoom lens 3 after the electronic zoom is performed. The zoom and focus motor 5a drives the zoom lens 3 towards the zoom position 900 set by the user in accordance with a command from the control processor and timing generator 40. The zoom lens 3 is driven discretely. In the figure, reference numeral 4 indicates discrete zoom positions of the zoom lens 3. Although the zoom lens 3 cannot be stopped at the user's setting zoom position 900, it passes through the user's setting position 900. The control processor and timing generator 40 supplies the digital image obtained by the second image sensor 14 to the image processor 50 at the point of time when the zoom lens 3 passes the user's setting zoom position 900, and the image processor 50 processes the digital image to store the digital image in the memory card 54. Consequently, although an electronic zoom image is displayed on the LCD 70, the image which is photographed and is stored in the memory card 54 is an optical zoom image only, or the electronic zoom image and the optical zoom image (See [0074]).
By modifying Sagar with the teachings of Akiyama, it is possible for the user to capture an image when the zoom position of the zoom lens passes the user's setting zoom position, and an optical zoom image is stored in a memory card.
Claims 6, 7, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “S. Sagar et al., US 2017/0111588 A1, hereinafter Sagar”, in view of “Hideki Akiyama et al., US 2007/0120988 A1, hereinafter Akiyama” and in further view of “Yi Guo et al., US2020/0092486 A1, hereinafter Guo”. (Note: art from the IDS document).
Regarding Claims 6, 7, 14, 15, 18 and 20:
The rejection of claims 1, 9 and 17 is incorporated herein. Sagar teaches claims 1 and 9 and determines the cropping factors based on the lens position in the direction of the lens movement. As for the additional limitations of claims 6, 7, 14, 15,18 and 20, Akiyama teaches in Figs 9A to 9C the electronic zoom of the fixed focal distance lens 2 and the optical zoom of the zoom lens 3 when the user sets the zoom button 42c as the “wide” side. As seen in Akiyama, Fig 9A shows a case where the user operates the zoom button 42c to the "wide" side and sets a zoom position at a focal distance of about 45 mm. the figure, reference numeral 900 indicates the zoom position set by the user. The zoom lens 3 is supposed to be set at a zoom position of a focal distance of 80 mm. At this time, because the drive speed of electronic zoom is faster than the drive speed of the optical zoom, the control processor and timing generator 40 selects the output of the first image sensor 12, and supplies it to the image processor 50. The image processor 50 performs the zoom of the digital image from the first image sensor 12 electronically, and displays it on the LCD 70. Fig 9B shows a case where the electronic zoom is performed, reference numeral 910 indicates the zoom position of the electronic zoom. This electronic zoom position coincides with the zoom position set by the user. Because an image having been received as a result of electronic zoom of the digital image obtained by the first image sensor 12 is displayed on the LCD 70, the angle of view of the image is the one which the user intended. However, the image quality thereof is inferior. When the user operates the shutter button 42a in this state, an electronic zoom image is stored in the memory card 54. In the present embodiment, the control processor and timing generator 40 obtains an optical zoom image in place of the electronic zoom image, or in combination with the electronic zoom image, and stores the obtained images in the memory card 54. Fig 9C shows the drive state of the zoom lens 3 after the electronic zoom is performed. The zoom and focus motor 5a drives the zoom lens 3 towards the zoom position 900 set by the user in accordance with a command from the control processor and timing generator 40. The zoom lens 3 is driven discretely. In the figure, reference numeral 4 indicates discrete zoom positions of the zoom lens 3. Although the zoom lens 3 cannot be stopped at the user's setting zoom position 900, it passes through the user's setting position 900. The control processor and timing generator 40 supplies the digital image obtained by the second image sensor 14 to the image processor 50 at the point of time when the zoom lens 3 passes the user's setting zoom position 900, and the image processor 50 processes the digital image to store the digital image in the memory card 54. Consequently, although an electronic zoom image is displayed on the LCD 70, the image which is photographed and is stored in the memory card 54 is an optical zoom image only, or the electronic zoom image and the optical zoom image. (See [0071 – 0074]).
By modifying Sagar with the teachings of Akiyama, it is possible for the user to capture an image when the zoom position of the zoom lens passes the user's setting zoom position, and an optical zoom image is stored in a memory card.
As for the decreasing of the zoom magnification, Guo teaches in Figs 10 (See [0158 – 0161]) and 11 (See [0170 -- 0183]), a method for zooming from a minimum magnification to a maximum magnification range in a multi-camera scenario. Fig 13 show a flowchart showing the zooming from a minimum magnification range to a maximum magnification range in a multi-camera system (See [0185 – 0198]). During zooming of the mobile terminal, the cameras with different focal length performance can be switched to change a zooming ratio. In his disclosure, the number of cameras on the mobile terminal is more than two, that is, the mobile terminal is wider in zooming range and a shot image has a better effect (See [0046]). In addition, during a zoom in or zoom out operation of the user, the zooming data region 1202 on one side of the display screen of the mobile phone displays a zooming magnification and a data scale corresponding to the zooming magnification (See [0161]). In case of zooming from low to high magnification ranges, the preview image displayed in the preview region 1203 is gradually magnified, the zooming magnification gradually increases and the corresponding data scale gradually increases from bottom to top. In case of zooming from the high to low magnification ranges, the preview image displayed in the preview region 1203 is gradually reduced, the zooming magnification gradually decreases and the corresponding data scale gradually decreases from top to bottom (See [0162]).
By modifying the combination of Sagar and Akiyama with Guo teachings, that would allow the user to do multitasking and parallel processing with the multi-camera system. See Guo [0298]).
Allowable Subject matter
10. Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 16 and 19 are objected because its dependence to a base rejected claim; however, they would be allowed if written in an independent form.
Conclusion
11. The prior art is made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
1. G. An et al., US 2026/0059199 A1 – it includes the same assignee and different inventor(s). It teaches an electronic device comprising: a display; an image sensor; an image signal processor configured to process frames transferred from the image sensor; a scaler disposed between an output terminal of the image signal processor and an input terminal of the display; memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; one or more processors operatively connected to the display, the image sensor, the image signal processor, the scaler, and the memory; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: acquire a first frame of a first zoom magnification from the image sensor by the image signal processor, perform control to image-process a second frame to an N.sup.th frame at the first zoom magnification through the image signal processor while the first frame of the first zoom magnification processed through the image signal processor is output on the display, receive a user input requesting displaying at a second zoom magnification different from the first zoom magnification at a time point at which an (N+1).sup.th frame is acquired, request the image signal processor to process the (N+1).sup.th frame and transfer, to the scaler, the second zoom magnification request at the time point at which the (N+1).sup.th frame is acquired, and in an output order of the second frame, scale the second frame processed at the first zoom magnification by the image signal processor to the second zoom magnification requested at the time point at which the (N+1).sup.th frame is acquired and transfer the second frame to the display by the scaler.
Contact
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lin Ye can be reached on 571-272-7372. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARLY S CAMARGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638