DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the width narrower than a threshold width and a length longer than a threshold length of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xionghao (CN 209693360).
re claim 1, Xionghao discloses a surface mount gasket (100) comprising:
an upper plate (174);
a lower plate (114) arranged below the upper plate; and
a plurality of connection members (144, 156, 164) comprising a deformable material (deformation)[0077] connecting the upper plate and the lower plate, wherein one end of each of the plurality of connection members is connected to an edge of the upper plate, and another end of each of the plurality of connection members is connected to an edge of the lower plate (Fig 7), and wherein the plurality of connection members are disposed at a specified interval along the edge of the upper plate and the edge of the lower plate (Fig 1).
re claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of connection members is inclined with respect to the upper plate and the lower plate.
re claim 7, wherein each of the plurality of connection members is bent (152, 160) at least once.
re claim 10, wherein the upper plate and the lower plate are formed in one of a circle (Fig 1), an oval, and a rectangle.
re claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of connection members includes an upper vertical portion (164), a bent portion (152, 160), and a lower vertical portion (144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xionghao (CN 209693360).
wherein each of the plurality of connection members comprises an elastic material [0107] having a thin flat plate shape (Fig 7), but does not disclose the connection member with a width narrower than a threshold width and a length longer than a threshold length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the specific size of the connection member of Xionghao for fitting with the threshold, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xionghao (CN 209693360) in view of Kawamoto et al (US 5,511,798).
The teaching as discussed above does not disclose wherein the plurality of connection members comprise a sponge, and wherein a metal coating layer is formed on an outer surface of the sponge (re claim 4).
Re claim 5, wherein the upper plate, the lower plate, and the plurality of connection members are integrally formed (Fig 1) and Xionghao recites “A wide range of materials, preferably elastically flexible and conductive materials, can be used for the gaskets disclosed herein” [0107], but does not disclose a non-conductive elastic material, and wherein a conductive coating layer is formed on an outer surface of the upper plate, an outer surface of the lower plate, and outer surfaces of the plurality of connection members.
Kawamoto et al teach the use of a non-conductive elastic material (compressible urethane foam 2, 41), and wherein a conductive coating layer (3, 42) is formed on an outer surface of the upper plate, an outer surface of the lower plate, and outer surfaces of the plurality of connection members (Figs 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use nonconductive elastic material and the conductive coating layer for the gasket of Xionghao to reduce manufacturing cost.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xionghao (CN 209693360) in view of Kim (KR 101 854 318).
The teaching as discussed above does not disclose a double-sided tape disposed on an upper surface of the upper plate.
Kim teaches the use of a double-sided tape (152) disposed on an upper surface of the upper plate [0055]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the tape with the gasket of Xionghao for bonding to the upper member.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xionghao (CN 209693360) in view of Brodsky et al (US 2016/0309625).
The teaching as discussed above does not disclose the plurality of connection members having a mesh shape.
Brodsky et al teach the use of a plurality of connection members of a gasket (308) have a mesh shape [0034] (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the mesh with the connection member of Xionghao for EMI shielding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Communication
/HUNG V NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841