DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of documents required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/20/2026 and 03/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and were considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, lines 3-6, it recites “the second reflective area. In an embodiment, the first reflective area may be configured to reflect light incident through the second transmissive area to be guided to the second reflective area, and the second reflective area is configured to reflect incident light to be guided to the first transmissive area.”
Claim 19, lines 3-6, it recites “a second transmissive area disposed to surround the second reflective area. In an embodiment, the first reflective area may be configured to reflect light incident through the second transmissive area to be guided to the second reflective area, and the second reflective area is configured to reflect incident light to be guided to the first transmissive area.”
However, The MPEP 608.01(m) states:
"...Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations..."
Thus, claims 18-19 comprise multiple periods and capital letters. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-4, 13 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsunashima (US Patent 6,169,637).
Regarding claim 1, Tsushima discloses a lens assembly (Catadioptric lens 70; see fig. 7 and Table 4 and column 3, lines 54-55; column 7, lines 28-43), comprising:
a plurality of lenses sequentially aligned along an optical-axis toward an image sensor (Catadioptric lens 70 comprises along optical axis AX toward imaging plane 14 of an image pickup device, lenses L71-L75; see column 7, lines 28-43; column 4, lines 14-18, and lines 43-44); and
at least two reflective surfaces between an object-side surface of a first lens that is farthest from the image sensor and an image-side surface of a closest lens that is closest to the image sensor, along the optical-axis (The peripheral part of the image-wise lens surface of lens L73 constitutes annular main mirror MM, and the object-wise lens surface of lens L71 constitutes secondary mirror MS; see column 7, lines 28-43. Lens L73 is the closest to the imaging plane 24 from the group L1),
wherein an Abbe number V1 of the first lens and an Abbe number V4 of a second-closest lens that is second from the image sensor satisfy 28 ≤ V1-V4 ≤ 42 (Vd indicates the d-line Abbe number; see column 8, lines 32-33. Lens L71 having Abbe number =64.1 and Lens L74, the second lens from the sensor, having an Abbe number =25.3; then 64.1-25.3=38.8; this value satisfying the claimed condition).
Regarding claim 2, Tsushima discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Tsushima discloses a first reflective surface, among the at least two reflective surfaces, comprises a first reflective area in any one of an image-side surface of a second lens between the first lens and the second-closest lens, or an image-side surface of a third lens that is between the second lens and the second-closest lens (The peripheral part of the image-wise lens surface of lens L73 constitutes annular main mirror MM, and the object-wise lens surface of lens L71 constitutes secondary mirror MS; see column 7, lines 28-43).
Regarding claim 3, Tsushima discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Tsushima discloses the first reflective area is configured to reflect light incident from an outside of the lens assembly to the first lens (Main mirror MM reflects outside light to reflective surface R2 and from surface R2 light is directed to imaging plane 14; see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Tsushima discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Tsushima discloses any one the image-side surface of the second lens or the image-side surface of the third lens comprises a first transmissive area, around which the first reflective area is provided (Mirror MM is provided in a peripheral area of the image-side surface of lens L73; where the central area of lens L73 transmits reflected light to the imaging plane 14; see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Tsushima discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Tsushima discloses at least one of the plurality of lenses is configured to reciprocate along the optical-axis (The latter travel within first lens group L.sub.1 toward reflective surface R1. Light rays 22 convergently reflect from reflective surface R1, thereby forming light rays 23 which travel object-wise toward reflective surface R2. Light rays 23 reflect from reflective surface R2 forming light rays 24 which travel image-wise and pass through surface SM and aperture 20. Light rays 24 are refracted at surface SM thereby forming light rays 25 which converge on image plane 14, thereby forming an image on image plane 14 having a maximum image height H; see fig. 7 and column 4, lines 33-48).
Regarding claim 16, Tsushima discloses an electronic device (Imaging lens for a camera having an image pickup device; see column 2 and lines 51-56) comprising:
a lens assembly an image sensor configured to receive light focused or guided by the lens assembly (Catadioptric lens 70 with imaging plane 14 of an image pickup device; see fig. 7 and Table 4 and column 3, lines 54-55; column 7, lines 28-43), and a processor configured to obtain a subject image based on the light received through the image sensor (Forming an image on image plane 14 having a maximum image height H; see column 4, lines 43-46), wherein the lens assembly comprises:
a plurality of lenses sequentially aligned along an optical-axis direction toward an image sensor (Catadioptric lens 70 comprises along optical axis AX toward imaging plane 14 of an image pickup device, lenses L71-L75; see column 7, lines 28-43; column 4, lines 14-18, and lines 43-44); and
at least two reflective surfaces disposed between an object-side surface of a first lens disposed farthest from the image sensor and an image-side surface of a lens disposed closest to the image sensor, in the optical-axis direction (The peripheral part of the image-wise lens surface of lens L73 constitutes annular main mirror MM, and the object-wise lens surface of lens L71 constitutes secondary mirror MS; see column 7, lines 28-43. Lens L73 is the closest to the imaging plane 24 from the group L1), wherein the lens assembly satisfies: 28 ≤ V1-V4 ≤ 42, wherein V1 in is an Abbe number of the first lens and V4 is an Abbe number of the disposed second from the image sensor (Vd indicates the d-line Abbe number; see column 8, lines 32-33. Lens L71 having Abbe number =64.1 and Lens L74, the second lens from the sensor, having an Abbe number =25.3; then 64.1-25.3=38.8; this value satisfying the claimed condition).
Regarding claim 17, Tsushima discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Tsushima discloses any one of the image-side surface of the second lens or the image-side surface of the third lens include a first reflective area functioning as the first reflective surface and a first transmissive area surrounded by the first reflective area (Mirror MM is provided in a peripheral area of the image-side surface of lens L73; where the central area of lens L73 transmits reflected light to the imaging plane 14; see fig. 7).
7. Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Patent 10,877,244).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a lens assembly (Optical photographing system; see fig. 9), comprising:
a plurality of lenses sequentially aligned along an optical-axis toward an image sensor (Optical photographing system includes four lens elements 510, 520, 530 and 540 along an optical-axis toward an image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and page 25, lines 52-67); and
at least two reflective surfaces between an object-side surface of a first lens that is farthest from the image sensor (Lens element 510 has refractive surface 513 that is in a central area of the object-side surface; see fig. 9 and page 26, lines 1-4) and an image-side surface of a closest lens that is closest to the image sensor, along the optical-axis (Reflective surface 512 is in a peripheral area of an image-side surface of the first lens element 510 on the side closer to the image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and page 26, lines 14-17),
wherein an Abbe number V1 of the first lens and an Abbe number V4 of a second-closest lens that is second from the image sensor satisfy 28 ≤ V1-V4 ≤ 42 (Lens 510 has an Abbe number = 56 and Lens 530, second lens from the sensor, has an Abbe number of 21.5; then 56-21.5=34.5; which satisfies the claimed condition; see table 9 and column 25, lines 50-67 and column 27).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Chen discloses a first reflective surface, among the at least two reflective surfaces, comprises a first reflective area in any one of an image-side surface of a second lens between the first lens and the second-closest lens, or an image-side surface of a third lens that is between the second lens and the second-closest lens (Reflective surface 512 is in a peripheral area of an image-side surface of lens element 510 on the side closer to the image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and page 26, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Chen discloses any one the image-side surface of the second lens or the image-side surface of the third lens comprises a first transmissive area, around which the first reflective area is provided (Reflective surface 512 is provided in a peripheral area of the image-side surface of lens 510; where the central area of lens 510, on the image-side, transmits light reflected from surface 513 to the image sensor 570; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). In addition, Chen discloses a radii of curvature of the first reflective area is different from a radii of curvature of the first transmissive area (Reflective surface 512 can be distributed between two concentric circles respectively having radii of YM1o and YM1i. Surface 514 having a different radii of curvature as illustrated in figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Chen discloses a second reflective surface, among the at least two reflective surfaces, comprises a second reflective area in the object-side surface of the first lens (Reflective surface 513 is in a central area of the object-side surface of lens 510; see fig. 9 and column 26, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). In addition, Chen discloses the second reflective area is configured to reflect incident light toward the image sensor (Reflective surface 513 reflects light towards image sensor 570; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). In addition, Chen discloses the first lens comprises a second transmissive area on the object-side surface and around the second reflective area (The peripheral areas of object-side surface of lens 510 transmit light towards surface 512, the peripheral areas surrounding the central area of the object side surface which is provided with reflective surface 513; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). In addition, Chen discloses a radii of curvature of the second reflective area is different from a radii of curvature of the second transmissive area (Reflective surface 513 can be distributed within a range of a maximum effective radius YM2 having different radii of curvature; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Chen discloses any one of an image-side surface of a second lens that is between the first lens and the second-closest lens or an image-side surface of a third lens that is between the second lens and the second-closest lens, comprises a first reflective surface, among the at least two reflective surfaces, comprising a first reflective area and a first transmissive area around which the first reflective area is provided (Reflective surface 512 is provided in a peripheral area of the image-side surface of lens 510; where the central area of lens 510 on the image-side, transmits light reflected from surface 513 to the image sensor 570; see fig. 9), wherein the first lens comprises a second reflective surface, among the at least two reflective surfaces, comprising a second reflective area and a second transmissive area around which the second reflective area is provided (The peripheral areas of object-side surface of lens 510 transmit light towards surface 512, the peripheral areas surrounding the central area of the object side surface which is provided with reflective surface 513; see fig. 9), and wherein the first reflective area is configured to reflect light incident through the second transmissive area to the second reflective area, and the second reflective area is configured to reflect incident light to the first transmissive area (Reflective surface 513 reflects light towards image sensor 570; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). In addition, Chen discloses a radii of curvature of the first reflective area is different from a radii of curvature of the first transmissive area (Reflective surface 512 can be distributed between two concentric circles respectively having radii of YM1o and YM1i. Surface 514 having a different radii of curvature as illustrated in figure 9), and a radii of curvature of the second reflective area is different from a radii of curvature of the second transmissive area (Reflective surface 513 can be distributed within a range of a maximum effective radius YM2 having different radii of curvature; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). In addition, Chen discloses the lens assembly is configured to have an angle of view of 15 degrees or more and 25 degrees or less (Half of a maximum field of view of the optical photographing system can be less than 15 degrees, thus a maximum field of view can be higher than 15 degrees and less than 25 degrees; see column 8, lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Chen discloses an electronic device (Optical photographing system installed in a smartphone; see column 36, lines 43-48) comprising the lens assembly of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above in section 7), further comprising: the image sensor, wherein the image sensor is configured to receive light focused or guided by the lens assembly (Image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and column 26, lines 59-64); a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to obtain a subject image based on the light received through the image sensor (The optical photographing system installed in a smartphone with a movable focus; see column 36, lines 43-56 and column 7, lines 18-27).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, Chen discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: perform a focal length adjustment or a focus adjustment by reciprocating at least one of the first lens, a second lens, a third lens, the second-closest lens, or the closest lens along the optical-axis (The optical photographing system installed in a smartphone with a movable focus balancing lens focus positions; see column 36, lines 43-56 and column 7, lines 18-27), or** perform an image stabilization operation by horizontally reciprocating at least one of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the second-closest lens, the closest lens on a plane perpendicular to the optical-axis.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses an electronic device (Optical photographing system installed in a smartphone; see column 36, lines 43-48) comprising:
a lens assembly an image sensor configured to receive light focused or guided by the lens assembly (Optical photographing system; see fig. 9), and a processor configured to obtain a subject image based on the light received through the image sensor (Forming an image on the image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and column 26, lines 59-64), wherein the lens assembly comprises:
a plurality of lenses sequentially aligned along an optical-axis direction toward an image sensor (Optical photographing system includes four lens elements 510, 520, 530 and 540 along an optical-axis toward an image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and page 25, lines 52-67); and
at least two reflective surfaces disposed between an object-side surface of a first lens disposed farthest from the image sensor and an image-side surface of a lens disposed closest to the image sensor, in the optical-axis direction (Lens element 510 has refractive surface 513 that is in a central area of the object-side surface; see fig. 9 and page 26, lines 1-4. Reflective surface 512 is in a peripheral area of an image-side surface of the first lens element 510 on the side closer to the image sensor 570; see fig. 9 and page 26, lines 14-17),
wherein the lens assembly satisfies: 28 ≤ V1-V4 ≤ 42, wherein V1 in is an Abbe number of the first lens and V4 is an Abbe number of the disposed second from the image sensor (Lens 510 has an Abbe number = 56 and Lens 530, second lens from the sensor, has an Abbe number of 21.5; then 56-21.5=34.5; which satisfies the claimed condition; see table 9 and column 25, lines 50-67 and column 27).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, Chen discloses the object-side surface of the first lens include a second reflective area functioning as the second reflective surface and a second transmissive area disposed to surround the second reflective area (The peripheral areas of object-side surface of lens 510 transmit light towards surface 512, the peripheral areas surrounding the central area of the object side surface which is provided with reflective surface 513; see fig. 9). In an embodiment, the first reflective area may be configured to reflect light incident through the second transmissive area to be guided to the second reflective area, and the second reflective area is configured to reflect incident light to be guided to the first transmissive area (Reflective surface 512 is provided in a peripheral area of the image-side surface of lens 510; where the central area of lens 510 on the image-side, transmits light reflected from surface 513 to the image sensor 570; see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Chen discloses the object-side surface of the first lens include a second reflective area functioning as the second reflective surface and a second transmissive area disposed to surround the second reflective area (The peripheral areas of object-side surface of lens 510 transmit light towards surface 512, the peripheral areas surrounding the central area of the object side surface which is provided with reflective surface 513; see fig. 9). In an embodiment, the first reflective area may be configured to reflect light incident through the second transmissive area to be guided to the second reflective area, and the second reflective area is configured to reflect incident light to be guided to the first transmissive area (Reflective surface 513 reflects light towards image sensor 570; see fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen et al. (US Patent 12,481,138), hereinafter reference as Chen ‘138.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Chen discloses the processor is configured to perform focal length adjustment or focus adjustment by reciprocating at least one of a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, and a fifth lens along an optical-axis direction (The optical photographing system installed in a smartphone with a movable focus balancing lens focus positions; see column 36, lines 43-56 and column 7, lines 18-27).
However, Chen fails to disclose the processor is configured to perform an image stabilization operation by horizontally reciprocating at least one of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis.
On the other hand, Chen ‘138 discloses the processor is configured to perform an image stabilization operation by horizontally reciprocating at least one of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens (The lens module 100 includes a first lens module 10 and a second lens module 20. Fig. 8 illustrates the first and second lens module cooperation. Lens P1-P5; see fig. 8; column 4, lines 63-64 and column 9, lines 27-48) on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (Lens module 100 is provided with an image stabilization function. After a gyroscope in the camera module detects slight lens movement, the gyroscope transmits a signal to a microprocessor, the microprocessor immediately calculates, based on a jittering direction and displacement, a displacement amount that needs to be compensated for, and then the OIS motor drives the lens module G1 and the lens module G2 to move to compensate for the displacement amount, thereby effectively overcoming an image blur generated through camera vibration; see from column 11, line 51 to column 12, line 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Chen ‘138 to provide the processor is configured to perform an image stabilization operation by horizontally reciprocating at least one of the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens for the purpose of effectively overcoming an image blur and improving image quality.
**Note: The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office considers Applicant’s “or”, “one of”, and “at least one of” language to be anticipated by any reference containing one of the subsequent or preceding corresponding elements.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 05/29/2026