DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shichino (US 10,840,747).
Shichino discloses:
In regard to claim 1: (Currently Amended)
A power receiving apparatus (Figs. 3& 6 Item 111 and RX1) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (Figs. 3 & 6 Item 308); and one or more processors executing the instructions (Figs. 3 &6 Item 301 i.e. processor/cpu or mpu) to: wirelessly receive power from a power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 3& 6 Items 101 and TX); and perform communication (Figs. 3 & 6 Items 303, 304 i.e. 1st and second communication units) with the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items 101, 204 and 206), wherein the communication comprising: transmitting identification information of the power receiving apparatus (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M604 and M605) to the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items 101, 204 and 206) at a first frequency (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M604 and M605 & 303 i.e. in -band communication used with 204), after transmission of the identification information (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M604 and M605), transmitting, at the first frequency, a request for communication at a second frequency higher than the first frequency (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M608, and M610 i.e. in -band communication requesting if TX 101 is BLE capable for communication) , and after transmission of the request, performing, at the second frequency, communication related to authentication for the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 3 & 6 Item M612, i.e. after determination that TX 101 is BLE capable for communication RX1 sends that ADV_IND through BLE standards)
In regard to claim 2: (New)
The power receiving apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication comprises receiving, from the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items 101, 204 and 206), information indicating whether authentication at the second frequency is available (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M611, followed by M612, i.e. determination that TX 101 is BLE capable for communication).
In regard to claim 5: (New)
A method executed by a power receiving apparatus (Figs. 3& 6 Item 111 and RX1), comprising: wirelessly receiving power from a power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 3& 6 Items 101 and TX); transmitting identification information of the power receiving apparatus (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M604 and M605) to the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items 101, 204 and 206) at a first frequency (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M604 and M605 & 303 i.e. in -band communication used with 204); after transmission of the identification information (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M604 and M605), transmitting, to the power transmitting apparatus at the first frequency, a request for communication at a second frequency higher than the first frequency (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M608, and M610 i.e. in -band communication requesting if TX 101 is BLE capable for communication); and after transmission of the request, performing, at the second frequency, communication related to authentication for the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 3 & 6 Item M612, i.e. after determination that TX 101 is BLE capable for communication RX1 sends that ADV_IND through BLE standards).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shichino (US 10,840,747) in view of Luke et al. (US 2013/0026973).
In regard to claim 3: (New)
Shichino discloses the power receiving apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the communication (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M601-M619) comprises transmitting, to the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items 101, and Tx1), a request regarding a transmitting apparatus ID packet (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items M610, and M611 i.e. ID Packet may be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as an electronic certificate).
However, Shichino is vague in its disclosure of a request regarding an electronic certificate.
Luke teaches, an electronic storage device that cannot accept a charge unless it receives an authentication from the charging device that authentication can include an electronic security certificate etc. (Par. [0077]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of an electronic certificate for authentication as taught by Luke with the known power receiving apparatus control method as doing so would have yielded the obvious result of secured power transmission as taught by Luke (Par. [0077]).
In regard to claim 4: (New)
Shichino discloses the power receiving apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the communication (Figs. 3 & 6 Items M601-M619) comprises receiving , after transmitting the request regarding the ID packet (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Item M610, i.e. ID Packet may be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as an electronic certificate), information of the ID packet (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Item M611 i.e. ID Packet may be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as an electronic certificate) from the power transmitting apparatus (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items 101, and Tx1).
However, Shichino is vague in its disclosure of receiving , after transmitting the request regarding the electronic certificate (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Item M610, i.e. ID Packet may be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as an electronic certificate), information of the electronic certificate (Figs. 2, 3 & 6 Items M610, and M611 i.e. ID Packet may be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as an electronic certificate).
Luke teaches, an electronic storage device that cannot accept a charge unless it receives an authentication from the charging device that authentication can include an electronic security certificate etc. (Par. [0077]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known use of an electronic certificate for authentication as taught by Luke with the known power receiving apparatus control method as doing so would have yielded the obvious result of secured power transmission as taught by Luke (Par. [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. *Please See attached form PTO-892*.
MW
2/18/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849