Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the display” is used in line 4 but it is not clear which display applicant is referring to the first electronic device or the second electronic device. Examiner believes it is the first electronic device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagnado (20200285438) hereinafter, Lagnado in view of Park et al (2017/0285788) hereinafter, Park.
In regards to claim 1, Lagnado teaches a window switching method (abstract)
Examples of mirroring a screen between two devices include establishing a communication link by a sink device with a source device to mirror a screen of the source device on the sink device. Upon determining a same orientation of the source device for a specific time period, a display OFF command is sent to the source device. The display OFF command is indicative of turning OFF a backlight of the screen of the source device. Further, an event notification may be received by the sink device upon occurrence of an event at the source device. The event includes an incoming communication or a change in the orientation of the source device. In addition, in response to the event notification, a switch command is sent to the source device to pause the signal stream and to turn ON the backlight of the screen of the source device. (abstract)
wherein the method is applied to a first electronic device (fig. 1 (102) source device), the first electronic device is in a scenario of performing screen projection to a second electronic device (fig. 1 100 sink device)) a first display interface displayed on the second electronic device is an interface projected by the first electronic device to the second electronic device, and the method comprises (abstract) [0013-0020]:
determining, by the first electronic device, that the first electronic device or the second electronic device has switched from a first state to a second state (fig. 4 (402-406)), Examiner notes the first device is determining a change in orientation by sending out the event notification in 406.
[0044] In an example, after the backlight of the screen 106 of the source device 102 is turned OFF, if an event takes place at the source device 102, the source device 102 may send an event notification to the electronic device 100. The event may include an incoming communication or a change in the orientation of the source device 102. Examples of the incoming communication may include, but are not limited to, an audio call, a video call, a text message, an e-mail, or a combination thereof. Further, the change in the orientation of the source device 102 may indicate that the source device 102 is moved from a previous position. For example, if the user of the source device 102 picks the source device 102 to dial a phone number or to attend to a communication, the event notification may be sent to the sink device 200.
wherein an electronic device whose status is not switched is in the second state (fig. 4 (406) [0032,0042,0044]);
suspending, by the first electronic device, screen projection to the second electronic device; and (fig. 4 (408)) Examiner notes the source device implements the pause signal.
displaying, by the first electronic device, a first display interface [0026,0044-0047,0049]. Examiner notes Lagnado teaches the display on the source device 102 will be ON (see for example 310-8))
Lagnado fails to expressly teach where the actions are by the first display.
However, Park teaches wherein the actions are by the first display and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first display interface (fig. 1 bi-directional first and second devices)[fig. 9b 100 and 200 same device and [178-183] Park a Examiner notes
[0183] According to another embodiment of the present invention, when the user moves away from the second electronic device 200 while touching the touch screen of the first electronic device 100 that is receiving the content mirroring signal from the second electronic device 200, the second electronic device 200 may perform an operation of terminating the content mirroring signal transmission to the first electronic device 100. For example, when the user of the first electronic device 100 moves away from the second electronic device 200, the second electronic device 200, which is transmitting the content mirroring signal to the first electronic device 100, may measure the strength of a signal received from the first electronic device 100. When the strength of the signal received from the first electronic device 100 exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the second electronic device 200 may terminate the transmission of the content mirroring signal to the first electronic device 100, and continuously output the contents to the screen display unit of the second electronic device 200 from a time point at which the content mirroring is terminated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lagnado to further include wherein the actions are by the first display in order to connect with different terminals [0008] and desired terminal amongst multiple terminals (fig. 9a 100 to 400).
In regards to claim 18, Lagnado teaches a first electronic device, comprising one or more processors and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories store one or more computer programs comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first electronic device to perform operations comprising (abstract) [0026] (smartphones and personal computers):
determining that the first electronic device or a second electronic device has switched from a first state to a second state, (fig. 4 (402-406)) [0042-0044]
wherein an electronic device whose status is not switched is in the second state; (fig. 4 (406) [0032,0042,0044]);
suspending screen projection to the second electronic device; and (fig. 4 (408)) Examiner notes the source device implements the pause signal.
displaying a first display interface [0044-0047].
Lagnado fails to expressly teach where the actions are by the first display.
However, Park teaches wherein the actions are by the first display and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first display interface (fig. 1 bi-directional first and second devices)[fig. 9b 100 and 200 same device and [178-183] a Examiner notes
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lagnado to further include wherein the actions are by the first display in order to connect with different terminals [0008] and desired terminal amongst multiple terminals (fig. 9a 100 to 400).
In regards to claim 3, Lagnado in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first electronic device determines that the first electronic device has switched from the first state to the second state, and the method further comprises: sending, by the first electronic device, first indication information to the second electronic device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the first electronic device has switched from the first state to the second state (fig. 3b 310-7) [0072] “Arrow 310-7 represents a status change message sent from the source device 102 to the sink device 200, when the backlight of the screen of the source device 102 is turned OFF and the stream signal is resumed. The status change message is sent when there is a change in the orientation of the source device 102. In an example, the change in orientation of the source device 102 may be detected by an accelerometer sensor or a gyroscope sensor that may be embedded in the source device 102.” Lagnado
In regards to claim 4, Lagnado in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first electronic device, that the second electronic device has switched from the first state to the second state comprises: receiving, by the first electronic device, second indication information sent by the second electronic device (fig. 1 bi-directional first and second devices)[fig. 9b 100 and 200 same device and [178-183] Park; and when the second indication information indicates that the second electronic device has switched from the first state to the second state, determining, by the first electronic device, that the second electronic device has switched from the first state to the second state. Examiner notes, because of the “or” operator in claim 1 claim 4 further defines the element that was not relied upon to be taught by the prior art.
In regards to claim 5, Lagnado in view of Park teaches method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first state or the second state is a physical form of the electronic device.(fig. 1 (102 and 100))[0026] (“such as smartphones and personal computers”)
In regards to claim 11, Lagnado in view of Park teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, that the first electronic device has switched from the second state to the first state; continuing, by the first electronic device, to display the first display interface; and continuing, by the first electronic device, to perform screen projection to the second electronic device.[0058] Examiner notes a user shake of the source device is need to send the status message which means merely picking up will not. Lagnado.
In regards to claim 12, Lagnado in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein suspending, by the first electronic device, the screen projection to the second electronic device, and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first display interface, or displaying, by the first electronic device, the first display interface based on first data received from the second electronic device comprises: when determining that a distance between the first electronic device and the second electronic device is less than or equal to a preset distance, suspending, by the first electronic device, the screen projection to the second electronic device, and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first display interface, or displaying, by the first electronic device, the first display interface based on the first data received from the second electronic device.)[fig. 9b 100 and 200 same device and [178-183] distance being equal to and terminating Park.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagnado in view of Park further in view of Lee (2019/0212776) hereinafter, Lee.
In regards to claim 6, Lagnado in view of Park fails to teach the method according to claim 5, wherein: the second state is a holder state, and the holder state indicates that the electronic device is in a stable state, or the holder state is a state in which the electronic device is placed on a holder; and the first state is a normal state, and the normal state indicates that the electronic device is in an unstable state, or the normal state is a state in which the electronic device is not placed on the holder.
However, Lee teaches wherein: the second state is a holder state, and the holder state indicates that the electronic device is in a stable state, or the holder state is a state in which the electronic device is placed on a holder; and the first state is a normal state, and the normal state indicates that the electronic device is in an unstable state, or the normal state is a state in which the electronic device is not placed on the holder. (fig. 7 9S701) (fig. 1A docked stated and fig. 2 state change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lagnado in view of Park to further include wherein: the second state is a holder state, and the holder state indicates that the electronic device is in a stable state, or the holder state is a state in which the electronic device is placed on a holder; and the first state is a normal state, and the normal state indicates that the electronic device is in an unstable state, or the normal state is a state in which the electronic device is not placed on the holder as taught by Lee in order to provide a plurality of work environments [0005-007].
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagnado in view of Park further in view of Liao et al (2016/0147300) hereinafter, Liao.
In regards to claim 9, Lagnado in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, that the second electronic device has switched from the second state to the first state; turning off, by the first electronic device, the display; and continuing, by the first electronic device, to perform screen projection to the second electronic device.
However Liao teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, that the second electronic device has switched from the second state to the first state; turning off, by the first electronic device, the display; and continuing, by the first electronic device, to perform screen projection to the second electronic device.[0039].
[0039] In many situations, a user may not benefit from a conventional automatic activation of a function of a device in response to a certain event. For example, a user may not need a presentation of information on the display of a mobile phone whenever there is an incoming call. This may be the case, for instance, if the phone has been left at another place or in case the user does not wish to be disturbed by any call. In this case, it may be a waste of battery power to activate the display. In other cases, it may be a waste of battery power to activate the display right away, because a user may first have to get the phone out of some bag or because a user decides to see who is calling only after the phone has been ringing for a longer time. In order to enable a saving of power in such cases, a device could use an integrated camera to detect when the user is looking at the device and turn the display on and off based on the result. Thus, the display could be kept bright just for as long as the user is looking at it.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lagnado in view of Park to further include wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, that the second electronic device has switched from the second state to the first state; turning off, by the first electronic device, the display; and continuing, by the first electronic device, to perform screen projection to the second electronic device as taught by Liao in order to save battery power [0039].
In regards to claim 10, Lagnado in view of Park and Liao teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein before turning off, by the first electronic device, the display, the method further comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, that no image of a user is obtained when a camera is turned on [0039] Park.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagnado in view of Park further in view of Kang et al (2020/0142566) hereinafter, Kang.
In regards to claim 20, Lagnado in view of Park fails to expressly teach the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the first display interface comprises displaying the first display interface based on first data received from the second electronic device.
However, Kang teaches wherein displaying the first display interface comprises displaying the first display interface based on first data received from the second electronic device.(fig. 3 (default desktop to 305) and fig. 4 250 and 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lagnado in view of Park to further include wherein displaying the first display interface comprises displaying the first display interface based on first data received from the second electronic device in order to have a common interface across devices for consistency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622