DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 16-18, 23-25, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yates U.S. 2015/0272657 (herein referred to as “Yates ‘657”).
5. Regarding Claim 16, Yates ‘657 teaches an electrosurgical generator (Fig. 1, ref num 120), comprising:
a. a power supply configured to generate electrosurgical energy (para 0002, “Electrical energy applied by an electrosurgical instrument can be transmitted to the instrument by a generator”; para 0043, “the power generated by the generator 120”);
b. an output stage configured to supply the electrosurgical energy to an electrosurgical instrument for treating tissue (Fig. 1, ref num 131; para 0035, “supply conductor 131”);
c. a processor in signal communication with at least one of the power supply or the output stage (Fig. 1 or 6, ref num 125); and
d. a memory having stored thereon instructions which (implicit with the control unit for controlling purposes; para 0034), when executed by the processor, cause the electrosurgical generator to:
d.1 set a voltage rate of change for the electrosurgical energy (para 0035, “ the generator 120 can be configured to apply a sufficient voltage differential between the supply conductor 131 and the return conductor 133 such that sufficient current can be supplied to the end effector 126”; see Fig. 13);
d.2 receive signals from the electrosurgical instrument over time indicative of a load impedance between a first electrode and a second electrode of the electrosurgical instrument (Fig. 1, ref num 164a/164b; Fig. 13; para 0096, “two impedance thresholds are utilized”);
d.3 compare the load impedance with a first threshold (para 0096, “when the tissue impedance is below a first threshold”);
d.4 when the load impedance is below the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a first rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while increasing a voltage of the electrosurgical energy at the first rate (Fig. 13, para 0096, “between the first threshold and the second threshold the maximum voltage of the drive signal ramps between 50 volts and 60 volts, which limits the drive signal power to 45 Watts”; Fig. 13, voltage increases below the second impedance threshold); and
d.5 when the load impedance meets or exceeds the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a second rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while decreasing the voltage at the second rate (para 0096, “above the second threshold, drive signal voltage is limited to 60 Volts”; Fig. 13, voltage decreases after hitting second impedance threshold).
6. Regarding Claim 29, Yates ‘657 teaches an electrosurgical system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a. an electrosurgical instrument (Fig. 1, ref num 100) having an active electrode and a return electrode (Fig. 1, ref num 164a/164b); and
b. an electrosurgical generator (Fig. 1, ref num 120) configured to provide electrosurgical energy to the electrosurgical instrument for treating tissue (para 0034), the electrosurgical generator including:
c. a power supply configured to generate electrosurgical energy (para 0002, “Electrical energy applied by an electrosurgical instrument can be transmitted to the instrument by a generator”; para 0043, “the power generated by the generator 120”);
d. an output stage configured to supply the electrosurgical energy to an electrosurgical instrument for treating tissue (Fig. 1, ref num 131; para 0035, “supply conductor 131”);
e. a processor in signal communication with at least one of the power supply or the output stage (Fig. 1 or 6, ref num 125); and
f. a memory having stored thereon instructions which (implicit with the control unit for controlling purposes; para 0034), when executed by the processor, cause the electrosurgical generator to:
f.1 set a voltage rate of change for the electrosurgical energy (para 0035, “ the generator 120 can be configured to apply a sufficient voltage differential between the supply conductor 131 and the return conductor 133 such that sufficient current can be supplied to the end effector 126”; see Fig. 13);
f.2 receive signals from the electrosurgical instrument over time indicative of a load impedance between a first electrode and a second electrode of the electrosurgical instrument (Fig. 1, ref num 164a/164b; Fig. 13; para 0096, “two impedance thresholds are utilized”);
f.3 compare the load impedance with a first threshold (para 0096, “when the tissue impedance is below a first threshold”);
f.4 when the load impedance is below the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a first rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while increasing a voltage of the electrosurgical energy at the first rate (Fig. 13, para 0096, “between the first threshold and the second threshold the maximum voltage of the drive signal ramps between 50 volts and 60 volts, which limits the drive signal power to 45 Watts”; Fig. 13, voltage increases below the second impedance threshold); and
f.5 when the load impedance meets or exceeds the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a second rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while decreasing the voltage at the second rate (para 0096, “above the second threshold, drive signal voltage is limited to 60 Volts”; Fig. 13, voltage decreases after hitting second impedance threshold).
7. Regarding method claim 23, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claims 16 and 29, since operation of the prior art relied on to reject apparatus claims 16 and 29 would naturally result in the step of method claim 23 being satisfied.
8. Regarding Claims 17 and 30, Yates ‘657 teaches the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electrosurgical generator to:
determine, based on the load impedance over time, that the electrosurgical instrument is currently grasping tissue (para 0066, “When tissue is grasped by an end effector with bipolar electrodes and a full range load curve is applied, there is sometimes a short time when the tissue impedance makes a drastic change from the lower impedance to the higher impedances”);
determine, based on the load impedance over time, that prior to the grasp, the electrosurgical instrument was not grasping tissue (para 0103, “jaw members 164a, 164b are in an open position without tissue between them, it may create an equivalent of an open circuit resulting in large impedance. When the electrodes then contact a subsequent tissue bite, the impedance sense by a sub-therapeutic signal is reduced. In some embodiments, the surgical system 100, 200 may detect an increase in impedance (indicating an opening of the jaws 164a,164b) followed by a decrease in impedance (indica ting a closure of jaws 164a, 164b on a new tissue bite). Impedance changes may be measured relative to any suitable references including, an impedance measured at the completion of the previous application or cycle of the tissue bite algorithm at 904”);
set the voltage rate of change to an initial value defining an initial rate for coagulation without dissection of the tissue (Figs. 13-15 with different voltage slopes shown, ref nums 2000, 2010, 2020; para 0041, “energy delivery surface may be rounded to prevent the dissection of tissue”); and
deliver the electrosurgical energy at the initial rate (para 0041).
9. Regarding method claim 24, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claims 17 and 30, since operation of the prior art relied on to reject apparatus claims 17 and 30 would naturally result in the step of method claim 24 being satisfied.
10. Regarding Claims 18 and 31, Yates ‘657 teaches determining that the electrosurgical instrument is currently grasping tissue comprises:
Comparing the load impedance over time with a second threshold, higher than the first threshold; and determining that the load impedance meets or exceeds the first threshold and is below the second threshold (para 0103, “when the jaw members 164a, 164b are in an open position without tissue between them, it may create the equivalent of an open circuit or near-open circuit, resulting in a large impedance. When the electrodes then contact a subsequent tissue bite, the impedance sensed by the sub-therapeutic signal is reduced. In some embodiments, the surgical system 100, 200 may detect an increase in impedance (indicating an opening of the jaws 164a, 164b) followed by a decrease in impedance (indicating closure of the jaws 164a, 164b on a new tissue bite). Impedance changes may be measured relative to any suitable reference including, for example, an impedance measured at the completion of the previous application or cycle of the tissue bite algorithm at 904”).
11. Regarding method claim 25, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claims 18 and 31, since operation of the prior art relied on to reject apparatus claims 18 and 31 would naturally result in the step of method claim 25 being satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 19, 26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates ‘657 and in view of Yates U.S. 2016/0270840 (herein referred to as “Yates ‘840”).
14. Regarding Claims 19 and 32, Yates ‘657 fails to teach determining that prior to the grasp, the electrosurgical instrument was not grasping tissue comprises determining that the load impedance over time decreases from a higher value that meets or exceeds the second threshold, to a lower value that meets or exceeds the first threshold and is below the second threshold.
Yates ‘840 teaches an electrosurgical generator of analogous art (Fig. 1), wherein determining that prior to a grasp of the tissue, the electrosurgical instrument was not grasping tissue comprises determining that the load impedance over time decreases from a higher value that meets or exceeds the second threshold, to a lower value that meets or exceeds the first threshold and is below the second threshold (para 0128, “the generator 102, 220 may monitor an impedance between electrodes in the end effector, such as 157, 159 of the end effector 126, electrodes 177, 179 of the end effector 132, the electrodes 4177, 4179 of the end effector 4132, etc. For example, after an energy cycle, the generator 102, 220 may provide a non-therapeutic signal to the electrodes and monitor whether an open circuit is detected. An open circuit may be detected, for example, if the impedance exceeds a threshold value, if the current between the electrodes falls below a threshold value, etc. If an open circuit is detected after an energy cycle, the generator 102, 220 may determine that the end effector is no longer in contact with the tissue that was treated during the energy cycle. If no open circuit is detected after the energy cycle, the generator 102, 220 may determine that the end effector is still in contact with the tissue that was treated during the energy cycle…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yates ‘657 to cause the generator to determine whether the tissue is grasped based on a load impedance, as this allows for improved efficiency of the treatment to the target tissue.
15. Regarding method claim 26, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claims 19 and 32, since operation of the prior art relied on to reject apparatus claims 19 and 32 would naturally result in the step of method claim 26 being satisfied.
16. Claims 20 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates ‘657 and Yates ‘840, and further in view of Schulte U.S. 2013/0296908 (herein referred to as “Schulte”) and Trees U.S. 2016/0175028 (herein referred to as “Trees”).
17. Regarding Claims 20 and 33, Yates ‘657 fails to teach the first threshold is about 500 ohms to about 550 ohms, and wherein the second threshold is approximately 8,000 ohms.
Schulte teaches a threshold between 500 and 550 ohms (para 0208, “the tissue impedance may be monitored to provide an indication of the completeness of the tissue cutting and/or coagulating process or to stop the activation of the ultrasonic generator 500 when the tissue impedance reaches a predetermined threshold value… the tissue impedance may range between about 10 Ohms to about 1000 Ohms from an initial point to a point just before the muscle layer is transected and sealed”). This threshold is selected to indicate that the vessel has been transected (para 0208) or other various tissue states such as sealing or dissection (para 0205). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yates ‘657 in order to monitor the tissue state as the therapy is being applied.
Trees teaches a threshold that is approximately 8000 ohms (para 0049, “threshold impedance can be greater than or equal to about 4000 ohms”). This determines whether the tissue has been captured by the electrodes and whether the tissue has been cute (para 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yates ‘657 to include the values taught by Trees for the second threshold in order to determine whether or not the tissue had been cut.
18. Claims 21, 27, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates ‘657 and Yates ‘840, and further in view of Schulte, Trees, and Yates U.S. 2017/0000554 (herein referred to as “Yates ‘554”).
19. Regarding Claims 21 and 34, Yates ‘657 fails to teach the first rate is approximately 180 volts per second, and the second rate is approximately 200 volts per second.
Yates ‘554 teaches the voltage ramp rate set to approximately 180 volts per second and 200 volts per second as the impedance is varied below and above a threshold (para 0221, “Mode 1, the tissue impedance is low… mode 3 when the tissue impedance reaches a termination impedance”; see Fig. 47B where the voltage varies between 0-350 volts through 0-8 seconds and through various modes in which the impedance is varied). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a specific voltage ramp rate, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
20. Regarding method claim 27, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claims 20, 21, 33 and 34, since operation of the prior art relied on to reject apparatus claims 20, 21, 33 and 34 would naturally result in the step of method claim 27 being satisfied.
Allowable Subject Matter
21. Claims 22, 28, and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
22. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to specifically teach setting a voltage rate of change to a third rate causing dissection of the tissue. The prior art also fails to provide sufficient motivation to make such specific modifications and would require improper use of hindsight to arrive at the claimed invention when considered along or in any proper combination.
Double Patenting
27. Claims 16-21, 23-27, and 29-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,744,631. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent anticipate the claims of the instant application. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader instant application claims. For example, Claim 1 of the instant application discusses a generic system/instrument comprising a power supply, an output stage, a processor, and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to cause 1) setting a voltage rate of change for the electrosurgical energy, 2) receiving signals from the instrument over time indicative of a load impedance, 3) comparing the load impedance with a first threshold, 4) when the load impedance is below the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a first rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while increasing a voltage of the electrosurgical energy at the first rate; and 5) when the load impedance meets or exceeds the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a second rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while decreasing the voltage at the second rate, which is a broader recitation compared to the limitations outlined in the reference patent. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, wherein the applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, the applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
28. Claims 16-21, 23-27, and 29-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,262,936. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent anticipate the claims of the instant application. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader instant application claims. For example, Claim 1 of the instant application discusses a generic system/instrument comprising a power supply, an output stage, a processor, and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to cause 1) setting a voltage rate of change for the electrosurgical energy, 2) receiving signals from the instrument over time indicative of a load impedance, 3) comparing the load impedance with a first threshold, 4) when the load impedance is below the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a first rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while increasing a voltage of the electrosurgical energy at the first rate; and 5) when the load impedance meets or exceeds the first threshold: set the voltage rate of change to a second rate, and deliver the electrosurgical energy while decreasing the voltage at the second rate, which is a broader recitation compared to the limitations outlined in the reference patent. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, wherein the applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, the applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
/ANNIE L SHOULDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794