This Office Action replaces the previous Final Office Action mailed on May 21, 2026.
All rejections remain unchanged; but this Office Action is Non-Final. The finality of the prior Office Action is withdrawn.
Status of Claims / Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to Applicant's response after final action, filed on May 01, 2026.
All of the previously set forth rejections have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 17-31 are currently pending, with claims 8-11, 15, 17-19 and 23-28 withdrawn. Claims 1-6, 12-14, 20-22 and 29-31 are under consideration.
Applicant' s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
This office action contains new grounds for rejection necessitated by amendment.
This office action is Non-Final.
Priority
The priority date of the instant claims 1-6, 12-14, 20-22 and 29-31 is 06/15/2023, filling date of the US provisional application NO.63/508,353.
Claim Interpretation
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 1 recites "a nucleic acid sequence of interest operably linked to an exogenous promoter."
The application's disclosure does not expressly define the term "operably linked."
Para. [0079] and FIG. 1B provides the following relevant description:
"FIG. 1B illustrates an exemplary workflow of a method provided herein. At panel 100, a DNA molecule (101) comprising a nucleic acid sequence of interest (102) (e.g., a nucleic acid barcode) operably linked to a promoter (103) configured to promote transcription of the nucleic acid sequence of interest in the presence of a sequence-specific RNA polymerase is depicted within a fixed cell comprising the exogenous promoter and a nucleic acid sequence that partially overlaps with the nucleic acid sequence of interest." ([0079])
Therefore, under BRI and in light of the specification, the term "operably linked" is interpreted to mean that the two nucleic acid sequences are positioned on the same strand of nucleic acid in cis configuration. Although FIG. 1B depicts the promoter located upstream of the nucleic acid sequence of interest in the transcriptional orientation, this positional relationship is not considered as a limiting feature in the interpretation under BRI, because promoters can be bidirectional 1.
New Grounds of Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 12-14, 20-22 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer (US20220042084A1 - Spatial sequencing ; Published 2022-09-06), in view of Askary2 (Askary et al. In situ readout of DNA barcodes and single base edits facilitated by in vitro transcription. Nat Biotechnol. 2020 Jan;38(1):66-75. doi: 10.1038/s41587-019-0299-4. Epub 2019 Nov 18),
Yan (Yan et al., The search for an optimal DNA, RNA, and protein detection by in situ hybridization, immunohistochemistry, and solution-based methods. Methods. 2010 Dec;52(4):281-6. doi: 10.1016/j.ymeth.2010.09.005. Epub 2010 Oct 1. PMID: 20888418; PMCID: PMC3375896),
Cubas-Nuñez (Cubas-Nuñez et al., (2017) In situ RT-PCR Optimized for Electron Microscopy Allows Description of Subcellular Morphology of Target mRNA-Expressing Cells in the Brain. Front. Cell. Neurosci. 11:141. doi: 10.3389/fncel.2017.00141), and
Lu (Lu et al., Spatially resolved epigenomic profiling of single cells in complex tissues. Cell. 2022 Nov 10;185(23):4448-4464.e17. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2022.09.035. Epub 2022 Oct 21. 186(10):2275-2279. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2023.04.006. PMID: 36272405; PMCID: PMC9691621).
A) Glezer teaches in situ sequencing methods via imaging fixed mammalian cells, wherein the fixation is performed using a solution comprising formaldehyde ([0228]; [0204] lines 5-6; [0117]).
Regarding claim 1, Glezer further teaches a method comprising reacting RNA transcript in situ with a reverse transcriptase enzyme to generate a cDNA molecule comprising the nucleic acid sequence of interest ([0227]; [0101]; [0023]); and in situ sequencing the cDNA molecule to visualize the nucleic acid sequence of interest in the one or more fixed mammalian cells thereby to determine the presence and/or localization of the nucleic acid sequence of interest ([0020]; FIG. 11-14; [0227] Example 14).
In other words, Glezer teaches RNA in situ sequencing methods that include reverse transcription of RNA to generate cDNA, followed by in situ sequencing of sequences of interest within the fixed cells using fluorescence imaging. Glezer also teaches that barcoding can be used to determine the association of polynucleotides within a mixture, such as identifying which polynucleotide is associated with a particular sample (e.g., a single cell) (see [0032] lines 30-33; [0054]).
Glezer does not explicitly teach generating RNA transcripts from a nucleic acid sequence of interest using an RNA polymerase and exogenous promoter. Askary2 fills this gap by teaching methods for in situ readout of DNA barcodes via in vitro transcription (Fig.1; Abstract), using fixed cells (page 76, left-hand col, para 7).
Askary2 identifies that existing imaging methods suffer from limited sensitivity in barcode sequence detection, particularly in single-cell contexts (Abstract, lines 1-3). To overcome this limitation, Askary2 introduces an enhanced system and method that enables sensitive read out of compact and diverse DNA barcodes by imaging, stating that it will "facilitate a broad range of barcoding and genomic recording strategies."
Regarding claim 1, Askary2 teaches fixed mammalian cells comprising nucleic acid sequence of interest operably linked to an exogenous promoter (Fig.1; page 76, left-hand col, para 7), and reacting, within the one or more fixed mammalian cells, (i) a DNA molecule comprising the nucleic acid sequence of interest operably linked to the exogenous promoter (Fig. 1 and legend, “barcode constructs containing a phage promoter that is inactive in live cells, such as T7, are integrated in the genome”) , and (ii) an RNA polymerase that specifically recognizes the exogenous promoter, thereby to generate an RNA transcript of the nucleic acid sequence of interest (Fig. 1 and legend).
Askary2 further teaches that the use of bacterial phage RNA polymerase and exogenous promoter to produce amplified RNA products is compatible with downstream imaging in situ detection approaches (page 66, right-hand col, lines 3-9) and "should thus enable a more powerful imaging-based recording system, while maintaining compatibility with subsequent transcriptome readout" (page 74, left-hand col, para 4, lines 11-14).
Askary2 teaches performing in situ transcription in fixed mammalian cells, but it teaches initially fixing the cells in methanol and acetic acid rather than formaldehyde, because "Cross-linking fixation interferes with transcription by phage RNA polymerases, and therefore, should be avoided before the transcription step." (page 76, left-hand col, para 7).
However, this merely reflects Askary2 preference in the context of the specific assay therein and does not constitute teaching away when the prior art is considered as a whole.
“When a piece of prior art ‘suggests that the line of development flowing from the reference's disclosure is unlikely to be productive of the result sought by the applicant’ the piece of prior art is said to ‘teach away’ from the claimed invention. In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 553 (Fed.Cir.1994). As with other subsidiary obviousness inquiries, ‘[w]hat a reference teaches and whether it teaches toward or away from the claimed invention are questions of fact.’ [Winner Intern. Royalty Corp. v. Wang, 202 F.3d 1340, 1349 n. 8 (Fed. Cir. 2000)] (internal quotations omitted). However, obviousness must be determined in light of all the facts, and there is no rule that a single reference that teaches away will mandate a finding of nonobviousness. Likewise, a given course of action often has simultaneous advantages and disadvantages, and this does not necessarily obviate motivation to combine. See id. at 1349 n. 8 (“The fact that the motivating benefit comes at the expense of another benefit, however, should not nullify its use as a basis to modify the disclosure of one reference with the teachings of another. Instead, the benefits, both lost and gained, should be weighed against one another.”). Where the prior art contains ‘apparently conflicting’ teachings (i.e., where some references teach the combination and others teach away from it) each reference must be considered “for its power to suggest solutions to an artisan of ordinary skill.... consider[ing] the degree to which one reference might accurately discredit another.’ In re Young, 927 F.2d 588, 591 (Fed.Cir.1991).” Medichem, S.A. v. Rolabo, S.L., 437 F.3d 1157, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
In this instant case, the knowledge in the prior art shows that the use of cross-linking reagents, such as paraformaldehyde, in in situ molecule assays has both recognized advantages and disadvantages.
For example, it is well known in the art that over-fixation with cross-linking reagents can negatively impact in situ detection of molecular targets (see Yan, page 6, para 3). But it is just as well known that such negative effects can be mitigated through routine laboratory techniques, such as reducing fixation time, lowering fixative concentration, and using protease digestion to improve reagent access to sites near the target analytes (see Yan, page 6, para 4).
"10% buffered formalin fixed for 4–15 hours is the standard for the surgical biopsies commonly used for human molecular based studies. Our data shows that such fixation may negatively impact on in situ hybridization and solution phase PCR. Prolonged formaldehyde fixation may generate free aldehyde groups in sections resulting in non-specific binding of antibodies and formaldehyde may also alter the tertiary and quaternary conformation of proteins and deter the link to antibodies. Our results showed that for tumor tissue, either low concentration of formalin (5%) or weak cross linking fixative such as paraformaldehye is superior to other fixatives for in situ hybridization. We recommend if ones have the ability to fix research tissues directly for the purpose of in situ hybridization, low concentration of formalin or weak cross linking fixatives is superior to the traditional 10% buffered formalin. Longer fixation may make proteins, DNA, and RNA more difficult to detect in situ because of more extensive protein-target cross hybridization with loss of “detectable” or “unexposed” target, this problem can be solved by increased protein crosslink destruction by either increased protease digestion or increased time in cell conditioning, we tried to enhance protein/DNA/RNA detection in the longer fixed samples by analyzing increased protease digestion time and it helped to enhance the signal of in situ hybridization. " (Yan, page 6, para 4).
The prior art also teaches that paraformaldehyde (PFA) fixation, when properly performed, can yield superior results compared with other fixatives, as disclosed in Yan, which explores optimal sample fixation conditions for in situ analysis (abstract). Yan teaches that a weak cross linking fixative, such as paraformaldehyde is superior:
"Our data suggests that for tumor tissue prepared for IHC, in situ hybridization, and molecular techniques such as DNA/RNA extraction and real-time PCR of miRNA, a weak cross linking fixative, such as paraformaldehyde is superior to other fixative methods." (page 7, para 2, lines 15-18).
Cubas-Nuñe explains that in in situ molecular assays such as in situ PCR, cross-linking agents are more suitable than ethanol- or acetone-fixed tissues for better DNA preservation and amplicon diffusion. Because fixation with cross-linking agents creates an “amplicon migration barrier,” a three-dimensional matrix of proteins and nucleic acids. The pore size of the amplicon migration barrier can be modified by protease digestion, so reagents are able to penetrating into the tissue, but at the same time a careful set up of exposure conditions is required to avoid deterioration of cell membranes. (page 5-6, "Discussion")
Yan also teaches increased protease digestion time in longer formaldehyde fixed samples and helped to enhance the signal of in situ hybridization (page 6, para 4, lines 13-14).
Weak crosslinking fixative such as PFA, followed by protease digestion, is exactly the approach Lu uses in its method using cells fixed with light PFA (page 18, para 2, 1% PFA; Figure 1A) to ensure efficient in situ transcription:
"To ensure efficient transcription, we embedded the sample in polyacrylamide gel and digested the sample by proteinase K to remove DNA-interacting proteins that could impede T7 transcription (Figure 1A). This embedding and clearing procedure improved T7 amplification and generated more RNAs for more efficient capture of the histone modification peaks (Figure S1B)." (page 4, para 4).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the in situ sequencing imaging method taught in Glezer by incorporating the barcode amplification strategy of Askary2 ꟷ specifically, using bacterial phage RNA polymerase and its promoter to generate RNA products comprising barcode copies ꟷ in order to achieve more sensitive barcode detection via imaging, as suggested by Askary2.
Although Askary2 expresses a preference of non-cross-linking fixatives over cross-linking fixatives, a skilled artisan, in view of the knowledge in the art, would understand that both are known and effective approaches sample fixation approaches within the context of in situ molecular analysis, thus one may be substituted for the other. Therefore, the skilled artisan, weighing both the advantages and disadvantages, would not have been dissuaded from combining the teachings of Glezer and Askary2 merely because they use different fixation reagents. Rather, the skilled artisan would still have been motivated to combine the teachings, particularly in view of the knowledge in the art suggesting potential benefits of using cross-linking reagents such as superior in situ molecular detection and DNA preservation; and providing optimization approaches to mitigate the known negative effects of over cross-linking. In particular, Lu teaches methods for ensuring efficient in situ transcription in a paraformaldehyde-fixed sample. Thus, a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because in situ transcription in a cross-linking reagent -fixed sample had already been successfully implemented.
Further, both Glezer and Askary2 pertain to the same technical field of in situ nucleic acid imaging and analysis in fixed cells, and their teachings are complementary and technically compatible. Askary2 explicitly states that its method is compatible with subsequent transcription readout and that the resulting amplified RNA products can be detected by various techniques based on the same in situ hybridization principle as what is disclosed in Glezer. Thus, a skilled artisan would have reasonably expected that modifying the method of Glezer to incorporate the barcode amplification strategy of Askary2 would yield the predictable result of improved sensitivity for in situ barcode identification in single-cell imaging analysis.
B) Regarding claim 3, Askary2 teaches the DNA molecule is, or is derived from, an exogenous nucleic acid molecule that is introduced to the one or more mammalian cells prior to fixation (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Askary2 teaches the nucleic acid sequence of interest is a barcode polynucleotide(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Askary2 teaches wherein the exogenous nucleic acid molecule is incorporated into a genome of the one or more mammalian cells by viral transduction (page 76, Lentiviral delivery of barcodes).
Regarding claim 6, Askary2 teaches a lentiviral vector (page 76, Lentiviral delivery of barcodes).
Regarding claim 12, Glezer teaches sequencing-by- synthesis ([0243]; claim 20; [0148).
Regarding claims 13-14, Askary2 teaches exogenous promoter is a T7 phage promoter and the RNA polymerase is T7 phage RNA polymerase (Fig 1 and legend; T7 promoter and T7 RNA polymerase).
Regarding claims 20-22, Askary2 teaches DNA molecule further comprises a polynucleotide sequence encoding a nucleic acid sequence that alters expression, function, and/or sequence of one or more genes (Fig. 4, gRNA), wherein the nucleic acid sequence that alters expression, function, and/or sequence of one or more genes is a gRNA (Fig. 4, gRNA).
Regarding claim 29, Glezer teaches the in situ sequencing is performed directly on the cDNA ([0238] lines 9-15; [0244]).
Regarding claims 30 and 31, Glezer teaches methods for sequencing DNA products and does not comprise treating the fixed sample with DNase (entire document).
Independent Claim 31 is largely overlaps in scope with independent claim 1 except that, instead of reciting that the biological sample to be analyzed is fixed via formaldehyde or PF A, claim 31 recites that the method does not comprise contacting the one or more fixed mammalian cells with a DNase.
This negative limitation is obvious in view of the combined teaching of Glezer and Askary2.
As discussed above for claim 1, the combined teachings of Glezer and Askary2 disclose an in situ sequencing method of cDNA molecules using bacterial phage RNA polymerase and its promoter to generate amplified barcode copies. Therefore, the imaging-based sequencing approach, according to Glezer utilizes cDNA as the target for analysis.
A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, and in many cases will be able to fit teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle (See MPEP § 2141.03). Here, the entirety of Glezer does not disclose the use of DNase, a skilled artisan would have find this omission technically reasonable and obvious, as treating the sample for in situ analysis with DNase could result in loss of cDNA, which is undesirable in a method that analysis cDNA.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of Askary2, Yan, Cubas-Nuñez, and Lu as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of
Byron (Byron et al. A multifaceted FISH approach to study endogenous RNAs and DNAs in native nuclear and cell structures. Curr Protoc Hum Genet. 2013 Jan;Chapter 4:Unit 4.15. doi: 10.1002/0471142905.hg0415s76. PMID: 23315927; PMCID: PMC3556644) and
Creative-diagnostics (In Situ Hybridization (ISH) and Fluorescence in Situ Hybridization (FISH); www.creative-diagnostics.com/in-situ-hybridization-and-fluorescence-in-situ-hybridization.htm; archived on Wayback machine Jan 26, 2022).
The teachings of Glezer and Askary2 are recited above and applied as for base claim 1.
Claim 2 recites a step, prior to step (a), contacting the one or more fixed mammalian cell with an RNase to degrade endogenous RNA molecules.
Although the combined teachings of Glezer and Askary2 do not explicitly disclose an RNase treatment step prior to generating RNA transcripts, such as step would have been obvious in view of the common knowledge in the prior art. It is well-known in fluorescence in situ assays to use RNase treatment to reduce background in subsequence hybridization reactions.
Byron teaches that, for analyzing DNA as a hybridization target, endogenous RNA should be removed using RNase treatment to reduce non-specific binding (page 9, para 1). Similarly, Creative-diagnostics teaches that RNase treatment can be used in in situ hybridization assays to remove endogenous RNA and decrease background (page 4, "RNase treatment").
In light of the in situ method taught by the combined teachings of Glezer and Askary2, where cDNA comprising barcodes are the targets for analysis, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to apply RNase treatment to reduce potential background caused by endogenous RNA. This would ensure that primers used in the in situ reverse transcription do not non-specifically hybridize to endogenous RNA instead of the T7 RNA polymerase transcribed RNA. Furthermore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to perform the RNase treatment step prior to the T7 transcription step taught by Askary2, to avoid interference with the RNA products that comprise the barcode sequences of interest for in situ reverse transcription and sequencing.
This combination would have been obvious under the KSR principle, as it represents a predictable use of prior art elements (e.g., RNase treatment to reduce background in in situ assays) to a known method (e.g. the combined teachings of Glezer and Askary2, disclosing in situ barcode amplification and decoding using in situ sequencing), to yield predictable results (e.g., reduced endogenous RNA in cells and minimized background signal). (See MPEP §2143)
Responses to arguments.
Applicant's arguments filed on May 01, 2026 have been fully considered.
First, Applicant's argument that Askary2 teaches away (Remarks, page 10-13) has been fully considered but is not found persuasive in view of the knowledge in the art, as discussed in detail in rejection above.
Second, Applicant separately traverse the rejection of claim 31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 on the grounds that:
(1) excluding the DNase step from Askary2 would change the principle of operation of its method because Askary2's hybridization and imaging step use DNase; and
(2) non-disclosure in another reference on its own in view of the totality of the cited references is insufficient to establish the obviousness of a negative limitation. (Remarks, page 13-16)
These arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In reKeller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In reMerck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)
Further, as discussed in the rejection above, the rejection combines one feature from Glezer with a second feature from Askary2, whereas Applicant's argument relies on alleged inoperability arising from a third feature, which is not part of the proposed combination in the rejection.
Specifically, as detailed above, the rejection describes the following combination: Glezer's RNA in situ sequencing methods that include reverse transcription of RNA to generate cDNA, followed by in situ sequencing of sequences of interest within the fixed cells using fluorescence imaging, combined with the barcode amplification strategy of Askary2 ꟷ specifically, using bacterial phage RNA polymerase and its promoter to generate RNA products comprising barcode copies, which can be readily detected by Glezer's RNA in situ sequencing method.
In contrast, the probe hybridization approach, to which the Applicant's argument relies upon, represents a separate analyte detection strategy from the situ sequencing taught by Glezer and is not in the rejection. Accordingly, Applicant's argument regarding the DNase-dependent hybridization and imaging steps of Askary2 is not responsive to the actual rejection and does not rebut the stated rationale supporting obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681
1 see en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promoter_(genetics)