DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 4, Figures 18 and 19, in the reply filed on June 19, 2026, is acknowledged. Claim 5 is withdrawn by the Applicant, Claims 9 and 12 are withdrawn by the Examiner as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, Claim 6 is canceled, and Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 13-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 204245866 (CN 866) in view of CN 108533604 (CN 604).
Regarding Claim 1: CN 866 discloses a detachable apparatus for mounting onto a support surface and supporting a device, comprising: a backrest (See Annotated Fig. A) including a forward facing surface (See Annotated Fig. A) and a rearward facing surface (See Annotated Fig. A); [an adhesive] surface (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to the rearward facing surface of the backrest, wherein the [adhesive] surface (See Annotated Fig. A) faces rearward from the backrest and is configured to self-adhere to the support surface; a holder (See Annotated Fig. A) projecting forward from the forward facing surface of the backrest, configured to support the device; and a detachable back plate (See Annotated Fig. B) configured to couple to the backrest (See Annotated Fig. A), wherein the rearward facing surface (See Annotated Fig. A) and the [adhesive] surface (See Annotated Fig. A) are on the back plate.
CN 866 does not disclose the adhesive surface being a nano-suction cup surface. However, CN 604 teaches a nano-suction cup surface (See Annotated Fig. C and #5) for use with a detachable apparatus. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of CN 866 by using a nano suction cup surface similar to that taught by CN 604 provide an adhesive surface that has high durability with no residue.
Regarding Claim 2: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the nano-suction cup surface is integrated onto a pad (See Annotated Fig. B).
Regarding Claim 3: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a rounded corner (See Annotated Fig. B) of the nano- suction cup surface, spaced from (See Annotated Fig. A) an edge of the backrest.
Regarding Claim 4: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the holder comprises one or more arms (See Annotated Fig. A) projecting forward from the forward facing surface.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15: CN 866 discloses an apparatus further comprising a tongue (See Annotated Fig. B) and groove (See Annotated Fig. A) system coupling the back plate to the backrest.
Regarding Claim 8: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a spacer (See Annotated Fig. B) feature on a forward facing side (See Annotated Fig. B) of the back plate, wherein the spacer is configured to create a gap between the rearward facing side of the backrest and the forward facing side of the back plate.
Regarding Claim 10: CN 866 discloses a detachable apparatus for mounting onto a support surface and supporting a device, comprising: a support element (See Annotated Fig. A) including a front side (See Annotated Fig. A) and a rear side (See Annotated Fig. A); a detachable back plate (See Annotated Fig. B) configured to couple to the rear side of the support element; a rear surface (See Annotated Fig. A) of the back plate; [an adhesive] pad (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to the rear surface of the back plate, configured to removably adhere to the support surface; and a retention element (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to the support element and configured to support the device.
CN 866 does not disclose the adhesive surface being a nano-suction pad. However, CN 604 teaches a nano-suction pad (See Annotated Fig. C and #5) for use with a detachable apparatus. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of CN 866 by using a nano suction pad similar to that taught by CN 604 provide an adhesive surface that has high durability with no residue.
Regarding Claim 11: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 10, wherein the support element is a wall (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 13: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 10, wherein the retention element is a pair of arms (See Annotated Fig. A) with ends spaced from each other.
Regarding Claim 14: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 10, wherein the retention element includes a retaining wall (See Annotated Fig. A) on a distal end of the retention element.
Regarding Claim 17: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of spacers (See Annotated Fig. B – See “spacer” and “another spacer”) on a front surface of the back plate, wherein the spacers are configured to create a gap between the front surface of the back plate and a rear side of the support element.
Regarding Claim 18: CN 866 discloses a detachable apparatus for mounting onto a support surface and supporting a device, comprising: a wall (See Annotated Fig. A) including a front side (See Annotated Fig. A) and a rear side (See Annotated Fig. A); a detachable back plate (See Annotated Fig. B) configured to couple to the rear side of the wall; a rear surface (See Annotated Fig. B) of the back plate; [an adhesive] pad (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to the rear surface of the back plate, configured to removably adhere to the support surface; and a cradle (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to the front side of the wall, configured to support the device.
CN 866 does not disclose the adhesive surface being a nano-suction pad. However, CN 604 teaches a nano-suction pad (See Annotated Fig. C and #5) for use with a detachable apparatus. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of CN 866 by using a nano suction pad similar to that taught by CN 604 provide an adhesive surface that has high durability with no residue.
Regarding Claim 19: CN 866 discloses an apparatus of claim 18, wherein the cradle includes: a pair of spaced arms (See Annotated Fig. A) projecting forward from the front side of the wall configured to provide an unobstructed opening for microphones or speakers of electronic devices; and one or more ridges (See Annotated Fig. A) positioned on at least one of the arms to prevent movement of the electronic devices in the pair of spaced arms.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches a tongue and groove system with tapered slots in a groove and a tapered profile of a tongue; and spacers distributed evenly across the front surface of the back plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 11402061, 10470542.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632