Detailed Action
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/2026
claims 1-10 are pending for examination. Claims 11-20 need to be cancelled. Claims 21-40 are previously cancelled.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frolikov et al., US 2020/0326851 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Frolikov teaches a computational storage device (section 0029; a computing system) comprising:
a non-volatile memory to store data therein (Fig.1; non-volatile media 109);
a storage controller (the controller 116) configured to control the non-volatile memory (section 0035; The controller (116) of the host system (120) can communicate with controller (115) of the memory sub-system (110) to perform operations such as reading data, writing data, or erasing data in the non-volatile media (109) and other such operations); and
an first accelerator(Fig.1; a processing device 118) configured to process computing on the data based on an execute command received from a first host device and using a first program provided from the first host device (section 0033-0034; The host system (120) includes a processing device (118) and a controller (116). The processing device (118) of the host system (120) can be, for example, a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), a processing core of a processor, an execution unit, etc; section 0076; The controller (e.g., 115) of a memory sub-system (e.g., 110) can run firmware to perform operations responsive to the communications from the processing device (118)), wherein:
the execute command includes a first execute command and a second execute command (abstract; section 0012-0025; a sequence of commands),
the storage controller is configured to: receive a first compute namespace setting instruction establishing a first compute namespace (section 0004; Some commands manage the infrastructure in the memory sub-system and/or administrative tasks, such as commands to manage namespaces, commands to attach namespaces), a first latency threshold value related to the first compute namespace, a first program, a first execute command using the first program and a second execute command using the first program (section 0040 and section 0042; Some of the infrastructure commands can be high impact commands that cause more than a threshold amount of latency increase in the execution of certain commands in the queue (123));
in response to a latency-related state being: a first state while storing the second execute command received from the first host device in a first command queue to await processing by the first accelerator, store the second execute command in the first command queue (section 0016-007; the predictive model can be trained to classify a sequence of commands. Each infrastructure commands in the sequence can be classified as either having potential for high impact or not having the potential for the commands in the sequence; the predictive model can be trained to predict, for a sequence of commands, an infrastructure command that will enter the data storage device/system to cause more than a threshold amount of increase in the execution latency of some of the commands in the sequence), and
a second state different from the first state, transmit a first latency message to the first host device (section 0015; high impact commands cause more than a threshold amount of increased latency in the execution of other commands; and low impact commands cause no more than the threshold amount of increase in latency of other commands).
Regarding claim 2, Frolikov teaches at least some components of the storage controller and the first accelerator are set, by the first host device, as a first compute namespace used to process the computing based on the execute command received from the first host device (section 0033-0034; The host system (120) includes a processing device (118) and a controller (116). The processing device (118) of the host system (120) can be, for example, a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), a processing core of a processor, an execution unit, etc; section 0076; The controller (e.g., 115) of a memory sub-system (e.g., 110) can run firmware to perform operations responsive to the communications from the processing device (118)).
.
Regarding claim 9, Frolikov teaches further comprising: receiving by the storage controller and from a second host device: the first compute namespace setting instruction, a second latency threshold value related to the first compute namespace, and a third execute command using the first program; and transmitting, by the storage controller and to the second host device, a second latency message in response to the third execute command (section 0040 and section 0042; Some of the infrastructure commands can be high impact commands that cause more than a threshold amount of latency increase in the execution of certain commands in the queue (123)).
Regarding claim 10, Frolikov teaches further comprising: in response to a latency-related state being: a third state while storing the third execute command in the first command queue, storing by the storage controller the third execute command in the first command queue, and a fourth state while storing the third execute command in the first command queue, transmitting by the storage controller the second latency message to the second host device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The limitations not found in the prior art of record include the first state is a state in which a sum is equal to or smaller than the first latency threshold value, the sum acquired by adding: a first processing time required to process a first computing based on the first execute command using the first accelerator; and a second processing time required to process a second computing based on the second execute command using the first accelerator, and the second state is a state in which the sum is greater than the first latency threshold value in combination with the other claimed limitations as described in the claim 3.
The limitations not found in the prior art of record include receiving, by the storage controller and from a second host device, a second compute namespace setting instruction establishing a second compute namespace different from the first compute namespace setting instruction, a second latency threshold value related to the second compute namespace, a second program different from the first program, a third execute command using the second program and a fourth execute command using the second program; transmitting, by the storage controller and to the second host device, a second latency message based on executing of the fourth execute command in combination with the other claimed limitations as described in the claim 4 (claims 5-8 are depended on claim 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kane et al., US 2024/0012751 A1 teaches a memory system may implement an adaptive rate for performing various wear leveling operations, such as an adaptive rate for performing wear leveling evaluations, or an adaptive rate for performing wear leveling data transfers.
When responding to the office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111 (c).
When responding to the office action, Applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner to locate the appropriate paragraphs.
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUA J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133