Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 4, 2026 amends claims 1, 9, and 16, cancels claims 10-11 and 17-18, and adds claims 21-23. Claims 1-9, 12-16, and 19-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 4, 2026 regarding the newly presented claim limitations have been fully considered. The newly presented amendment to independent claim 1, which necessitates a new ground of rejection, is taught by the combination of Aylward and newly cited reference, von Saint George et al. (US 2019/0039492), as shown in the rejections that follow. Further, the limitations of new claim 23 are taught by newly cited reference, Boothe et al. (US 2023/0217204).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12-16, and 19-22 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aylward et al. (US 2004/0105550) in view of von Saint George et al. (US 2019/0039492).
Regarding claim 1, Aylward teaches a headrest assembly comprising: a headrest body defining a forward surface configured to contact a user’s head or neck; and an audio playback device disposed within headrest body and facing in a forward direction, the audio playback device comprising: (see Aylward at [0079] in conjunction with Fig. 6 which discloses that each of seating positions 80-83 has associated with it a pair of directional acoustic radiating devices positioned behind and to the left (designated "LR") and behind and to the right (designated "RR") and that devices 80LR, 80RR, 81LR, 81RR, 82LR, 82RR, 83LR, and 83RR may be mounted in the headrest or seat back. Examiner maps the pair of directional acoustic radiating devices 81LR, 81RR, for example, to the recited audio playback device.)
a left audio transducer; a left waveguide in fluid communication with the left audio transducer and configured to direct audio from the left audio transducer along a left sound axis; (see Aylward at [0041] which discloses that the acoustic radiating devices may include acoustic elements, such as ported enclosures, acoustic waveguides, transmission lines, passive radiators, and other radiators, and may also include directionality modifying devices such as horns, lenses, or directional arrays, which will be discussed in more detail below; see Aylward at [0079] in conjunction with Fig. 6 which depicts and discloses acoustic device 81LR and further discloses that each of seating positions 80-83 has associated with it a pair of directional acoustic radiating devices. Examiner maps acoustic radiating device 81LR to the recited left audio transducer. Examiner notes that a left directional acoustic radiating device directs sound along a left sound axis.)
a right audio transducer; and a right waveguide in fluid communication with the right audio transducer and configured to direct audio from the right audio transducer along a right sound axis, (see Aylward at [0041] which discloses that the acoustic radiating devices may include acoustic elements, such as ported enclosures, acoustic waveguides, transmission lines, passive radiators, and other radiators, and may also include directionality modifying devices such as horns, lenses, or directional arrays, which will be discussed in more detail below; see Aylward at [0079] in conjunction with Fig. 6 which depicts and discloses acoustic device 81RR and further discloses that each of seating positions 80-83 has associated with it a pair of directional acoustic radiating devices. Examiner maps acoustic radiating device 81RR to the recited right audio transducer. Examiner notes that a right directional acoustic radiating device directs sound along a right sound axis.)
wherein the left sound axis and the right sound axis diverge along the forward direction (see Aylward at [0051] which discloses that the drivers are shown in Fig. 4A as positioned so that the axes of the radiation surfaces diverge; see Aylward at Fig. 6 which illustratively depicts directional acoustic radiating devices pointed in the forward direction.)
While Aylward at Fig. 6 provides an illustrative disclosure that appears to teach the recited features, Aylward does not expressly disclose and wherein the left sound axis is configured to extend adjacent a left side of a head of a user seated against the forward surface of the headrest body and the right sound axis is configured to extend adjacent a right side of a head of the user seated against the forward surface of the headrest body, which in a related art, von Saint-George teaches (see von Saint-George at [0033-0036] in conjunction with Fig. 2, for example, which discloses that the loudspeaker driver 32 has a central axis of radiation 44, that unlike some speakers mounted in head restraints where the loudspeaker driver 32 is facing forward such that the central axes are parallel to a centerline of a head restraint, the central axis of radiation 44 of each of the loudspeaker driver 32 diverges away from a centerline 46 of the head restraint 12, and as such, the central axis of radiation 44 of the driver 32 extends at an angle that is non-parallel to the centerline 46 of the head restraint, and that similarly, the central axis of radiation 44 is generally non-perpendicular to the forward contact surface 26 and generally non-perpendicular to a fore-aft direction of the head restraint 12; also see Fig. 2 which illustratively discloses the axis of radiation 44 of each loudspeaker driver 32 on each of the left and right sides of the head restraint 12 which corresponds to the left sound axis is configured to extend adjacent a left side of a head of a user seated against the forward surface of the headrest body and the right sound axis is configured to extend adjacent a right side of a head of the user seated against the forward surface of the headrest body.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aylward to include wherein the left sound axis is configured to extend adjacent a left side of a head of a user seated against the forward surface of the headrest body and the right sound axis is configured to extend adjacent a right side of a head of the user seated against the forward surface of the headrest body, as taught by von Saint-George.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to mount speakers in the seatbacks or headrests of seats in a vehicle, as suggested by von Saint-George at [0003].
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aylward et al. (US 2004/0105550) in view of von Saint George et al. (US 2019/0039492) and further in view of Boothe et al. (US 2023/0217204).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Aylward does not expressly disclose the headrest assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the left waveguide and the right waveguide comprises a horn having a throat acoustically coupled to a respective one of the left audio transducer and the right audio transducer and a mouth having a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the throat, which in a related art Boothe teaches (see at least Boothe at [0088], for example, which discloses that as shown in Fig. 11, each of the horns 1102, 1104, and 1106 may have a body 1108, that includes a first opening 1110 (e.g., a throat) that is acoustically coupled to the speaker, a second opening 1112 (e.g., a mouth) at or near the head-interface surface 1100, and a cross-sectional area that expands along the length of the horn from the first opening 1110 to the second opening 1112 (e.g., from the throat to the mouth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aylward to include wherein each of the left waveguide and the right waveguide comprises a horn having a throat acoustically coupled to a respective one of the left audio transducer and the right audio transducer and a mouth having a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the throat, as taught by Boothe.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to include a horn that increases the effective area of the speaker, as suggested by Boothe at [0087].
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aylward et al. (US 2004/0105550) in view of von Saint George et al. (US 2019/0039492) and further in view of Addepalli et al. (US 2014/0303807).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Aylward teaches the headrest assembly of claim 1, wherein the audio playback device further comprises: one or more processors; and data storage having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the audio playback device to perform operations comprising: obtaining a vehicle parameter; and based at least in part on the vehicle parameter, modifying output of audio via the audio playback device (see Addepalli at [0129], for example, which discloses a need to use noise cancellation techniques to enhance audio quality. Examiner maps noise to the vehicle parameter. Addepalli at [0129] further discloses that beamforming of voice with multiple speakers may be implemented followed by active noise cancellation with multiple microphones to cancel ambient noise and improve audio quality. Addepalli at [0130] further discloses that beamforming is a signal processing technique used for directional signal transmission or reception involving combining audio signals from multiple microphones in such a way that signals at a particular angle experience constructive interference and signals at other angles experience destructive interference. Examiner notes that improving audio quality by cancelling noise by way of combining audio signals from multiple microphones in such a way that signals at a particular angle experience constructive interference and signals at other angles experience destructive interference corresponds to modifying output of audio via the audio playback device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aylward to include wherein the audio playback device further comprises: one or more processors; and data storage having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the audio playback device to perform operations comprising: obtaining a vehicle parameter; and based at least in part on the vehicle parameter, modifying output of audio via the audio playback device, as taught by Addepalli.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to cancel ambient noise and improve audio quality, as suggested by Addepalli at [0129].
Regarding claim 3, the modified Aylward teaches the headrest assembly of claim 2, wherein the vehicle parameter comprises one or more of: a detected-sound parameter; a user-presence parameter; or an audio content parameter (see Addepalli at [0129] further discloses that beamforming of voice with multiple speakers may be implemented followed by active noise cancellation with multiple microphones to cancel ambient noise and improve audio quality. Examiner maps noise to the detected sound parameter.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Aylward teaches the headrest assembly of claim 2, wherein modifying the audio output comprises one or more of: inhibiting audio output via the right audio transducer and/or the left audio transducer; adjusting equalization settings of the left audio transducer and/or the right audio transducer; or adjusting a playback volume (see Addepalli at [0131], for example, which discloses that communication system 10 may also automatically cause adjustments to voice volume and equalization, and may employ beamforming techniques to maximize speech quality. Examiner notes that Applicant has used the phrase “and/or” in the instant claim. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) has held that use of the phrase “and/or” within a claim is not indefinite. According to the PTAB, “and/or” is not wrong, but it’s not preferred verbiage (see Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811). Nevertheless, during patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (see MPEP § 2111; Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). Based upon this guidance from the MPEP and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or” under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Aylward teaches the headrest assembly of claim 2, wherein the audio playback device further comprises one or more microphones, and wherein modifying the audio output comprises performing active noise cancellation based on sound detected via the one or more microphones (see Addepalli at [0129] further discloses that beamforming of voice with multiple speakers may be implemented followed by active noise cancellation with multiple microphones to cancel ambient noise and improve audio quality.)
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aylward et al. (US 2004/0105550) in view of von Saint George et al. (US 2019/0039492) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2011/0128452).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Aylward does not expressly disclose the headrest assembly of claim 1, further comprising a center audio transducer which in a related art, Kim teaches (see Kim at [0134] which discloses that since mode 2 only contains internal speakers without other external speakers, the audio signal of internal 2.1 channels is outputted from internal speakers, in addition to left and right side of stereo sound, the center woofer speaker sound also can be heard. Examiner maps center woofer speaker to center audio transducer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aylward to include a center audio transducer, as taught by Kim.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to create a 2.1 channel implementation that includes a center woofer speaker, as suggested by Kim at [0134].
Regarding claim 7, the modified Aylward teaches the headrest assembly of claim 6, wherein the center audio transducer comprises a central woofer, the left audio transducer comprises a left tweeter, and the right audio transducer comprises a right tweeter (see Kim at [0134] which discloses that since mode 2 only contains internal speakers without other external speakers, the audio signal of internal 2.1 channels is outputted from internal speakers, in addition to left and right side of stereo sound, the center woofer speaker sound also can be heard. Also, see Aylward at [0039] which discloses the use of high frequency acoustic drivers; see Aylward at [0058] which further discloses the use of two high frequency acoustic drivers 1214LH and 1214RH. Examiner maps high frequency acoustic driver to tweeter. Examiner maps internal speakers related to left and right side of stereo sound to the left tweeter and right tweeter.)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aylward et al. (US 2004/0105550) in view of von Saint George et al. (US 2019/0039492) in view of Kim et al. (US 2011/0128452) and further in view of Vezzoli et al. (EP 4459428).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Aylward does not expressly disclose the headrest assembly of claim 7, wherein the central woofer is configured to provide haptic output to a user in a vehicle seat coupled to the headrest body which in a related art Vezzoli teaches (see Vezzoli at [0001] which discloses that the present application also relates to method and apparatus of processing data representative of a multichannel audio signal to generate data representative of a multichannel haptic signal representative of one or more haptic effects to be rendered by a haptic device; see Vezzoli at [0163] which discloses that when a frequency component is detected, the data representative of the first low passed signal is used by unit 23 as driving signal for synthesizing the corresponding haptic effect; see Vezzoli at [0173], for example, which discloses that according to another example, haptic actuators are grouped according to their location, e.g., according to the part of the chair they belong to and that according to this another example, the number of haptic channels is equal to 4, i.e., 1 haptic channel for the headrest (haptic actuators 41, 42), 1 haptic channel for the backrest (haptic actuators 43 to 46) and 1 haptic channel for the seat (haptic actuators 47, 48).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aylward to include wherein the central woofer is configured to provide haptic output to a user in a vehicle seat coupled to the headrest body, as taught by Vezzoli.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a method and apparatus for representing multichannel audio signal by way of generating one or more haptic effects to be rendered by a haptic device, as suggested by Vezzoli at [0001].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664