DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
The amendment filed on 06/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 46-65 are pending.
Claims 46-65 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 46-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
In the instant case, claims 46-65 are directed to a method. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claim(s) recite(s) beneficiary asset allocation. Specifically, the claims recite “a) creating, by a user, a Digital Directive account, the Digital Directive account allowing the user to direct the dispensation of digital assets upon the occurrence of a denominated life event; b) validating, by the [processor], the identity of the user; c) initiating, by the user, a Conveyance contract which specifies the digital assets, the denominated life event and the desired dispensation; d) selecting, by the [user], a custody partner or a custodial account; e) creating, by the [user], a list of beneficiaries of the digital assets; f) validating, by the [processor], the identification of the beneficiaries; g) optionally creating, by the user, a list of guardians for the Conveyance contract and if guardians are selected, validating, by the processor, the identification of the guardians; and h) finalizing, by the processor, the Conveyance contract.”, which is “fundamental economic principles or practices” within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106) because the claims involve a series of steps for beneficiary asset allocation. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of processor merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The processor is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of beneficiary asset allocation) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using processor to perform beneficiary asset allocation steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 47 describes the digital assets. Dependent claims 48-50 describe the conveyance contract. Dependent claim 51 describes the process of transferring digital assets. Dependent claim 52 describes the denominated life event is reported. Dependent claim 53 describes validating of the denominated life event. Dependent claim 54 describes tasks to perform prior to transfer of the account keys. Dependent claims 55-57 describe custody partner. Dependent claim 58 describes crypto wallets for beneficiary. Dependent claims 59-60 describe beneficiary validation. Dependent claim 61 describes user's dispensation. Dependent claim 62 describes conveyance contract creation. Dependent claim 63 describes executor. Dependent claim 64 described allocating digital assets. Dependent claim 65 describes custodial account. These claims further recite the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as the use of processor, NFT, smart contract and crypto wallets merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims simply recite the concept of beneficiary asset allocation. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field.
The use of a processor, NFT, smart contract and crypto wallets as tools to implement the abstract idea does not render the claim patent eligible because it does not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea.
Claim 46-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 46 recites “a) creating, by a user, a Digital Directive account, the Digital Directive account...; ...c) initiating, by the user, a Conveyance contract which specifies the digital assets, the denominated life event and the desired dispensation; d) selecting, by the user, a custody partner or a custodial account; e) creating, by the user, a list of beneficiaries of the digital assets;... g) optionally creating, by the user, a list of guardians for the Conveyance contract...” Given the language its broadest reasonable interpretation, “user” is human. Therefore, the claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C. 101 (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) because claim 46 is directed to human being (see MPEP § 2106, subsection I).
Claims 47-65 are rejected as each depends from claim 46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 52 and 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Insufficient Antecedent Basis
Claim 52 recites the limitation “wherein the denominated life event is reported by a guardian,... and the system notifies the remaining beneficiaries …” in line 2 of claim 52.
Claim 63 recites the limitation “wherein the user is an executor, and the executor provides the system with the account keys” in line 2 of claim 63.
Claim 64 is also rejected as it depends from claim 63.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 46-47, 49-50, 55-56 and 59-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by US Application Publication US20180205546A1 (“Haque et al.”).
Regarding 46, Haque et al. discloses:
A method for allocating digital assets to a beneficiary subsequent to a denominated life event comprising: (Fig. 9A-B; ¶0051)
a) creating, by a user, a Digital Directive account, the Digital Directive account allowing the user to direct the dispensation of digital assets upon the occurrence of a denominated life event; (Figs. 10A-B and 22; ¶0100, ¶0111)
b) validating, by the processor, the identity of the user; (¶0111)
c) initiating, by the user, a Conveyance contract which specifies the digital assets, the denominated life event and the desired dispensation; (Figs. 9A-B; ¶0015)
d) selecting, by the user, a custody partner or a custodial account; (¶0046 and ¶0111)
e) creating, by the user, a list of beneficiaries of the digital assets; (Fig. 11A-P; ¶0017)
f) validating, by the processor, the identification of the beneficiaries; (¶0113)
g) optionally creating, by the user, a list of guardians for the Conveyance contract and if guardians are selected, validating, by the processor, the identification of the guardians; and (Figs. 9A-B and 22)
h) finalizing, by the processor, the Conveyance contract. (Fig. 9B and ¶0113)
Regarding claim 47, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the digital assets are chosen from one or more of Cryptocurrency or non-fungible tokens (NFT)s. (¶0051)
Regarding claim 49, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
i) generating certificates representing the Conveyance contract; and (¶0113)
j) entering the Conveyance contract into the blockchain to establish provenance. (¶0043)
Regarding claim 50, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
receiving, by the processor, confirmation of the denominated life event; (¶0117)
distributing, via the Conveyance contract, the cryptocurrency and/or NFTs to the beneficiaries; and (¶0117)
entering the distribution into the blockchain to establish provenance (¶0115)
Regarding claim 55, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the user selects a custody partner to hold the digital assets or the keys to the digital assets. (¶0046)
Regarding claim 56, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the custody partner transfers the account keys to an executor or account administrator upon the occurrence of the denominated life event. (¶0117)
Regarding claim 59, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the identification of the user or beneficiary is validated using one or more authentication factors. (¶0089)
Regarding claim 60, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the authentication factors are chosen from passwords, phone numbers, social security numbers, fingerprints, voice recognition, facial recognition, eye scans, digital certificates, or authentication tokens. (¶0089)
Regarding claim 61, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the user's dispensation comprises associating each of the user's assets with a beneficiary and providing a percent distribution. (¶0131)
Regarding claim 62, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
generating as part of creating the Conveyance contract, via the processor, a query to the user on asset fractionability for any NFT that is distributed at less than 100% and requesting that the user either provide a single beneficiary for any unfractionable NFT or agree that any unfractionable NFT should be sold prior to transfer to multiple beneficiaries. (¶0131)
Regarding claim 63, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the user is an executor, and the executor provides the system with the account keys (¶0111)
Regarding claim 64, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the digital assets have been allocated to the beneficiaries via a will or trust. (¶0113)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48, 51-54 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Application Publication US20180205546A1 (“Haque et al.”) in view of International Application Publication WO2020094875A1 (“Sauer”).
Regarding claim 48, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the conveyance contract is a SMART contract.
However, Sauer discloses:
wherein the conveyance contract is a SMART contract. (¶0057)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify System Methods Apparatuses for Secure Management of Legal Documents of Haque et al. by including smart contract in accordance with the teaching of Sauer. This modification allows the contract to be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 51, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
i) reporting, by a nominee, the denominated life event; (¶0117)
j) validating, by the processor, the occurrence of the denominated life event; (¶0117)
k) providing, by the Conveyance contract, access to keys associated with the digital assets; (¶0117)
I) unlocking, by the processor, the digital assets; (¶0065 and ¶0081)
n) validating, by the processor, the identification of the beneficiaries; and (¶0113)
o) transferring, by the processor, the digital assets to the beneficiary. (¶0117)
Haque et al. does not explicitly disclose:
m) holding, in the escrow account, the digital assets for the escrow time;
However, Sauer discloses:
m) holding, in the escrow account, the digital assets for the escrow time; (Fig. 4A step 401; ¶0019 and ¶00121)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify System Methods Apparatuses for Secure Management of Legal Documents of Haque et al. by including holding assets in an escrow account in accordance with the teaching of Sauer. This modification provides opportunity to ensure all conditions are met prior to releasing the asset to the recipient.
Regarding claim 52, Haque et al. in view of Sauer discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein the denominated life event is reported by a guardian, a beneficiary or an account designee and the system notifies the remaining beneficiaries, guardians and account designees of the denominated life event. (¶0117)
Regarding claim 53, Haque et al. in view of Sauer discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein validating of the denominated life event includes receiving confirmation of the denominated life event from one or more account designees or an account administrator. (¶0117)
Regarding claim 54, Haque et al. in view of Sauer discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further discloses:
wherein prior to transfer of the account keys, one or more account designees or an account administrator approves the transfer. (¶0117)
Regarding claim 57, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. further disclose:
wherein the custody partner unlocks the accounts using the account keys and transfers the digital assets to an account upon the occurrence of the denominated life event. (¶0117)
Haque et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the account is an escrow account;
However, Sauer discloses:
wherein the account is an escrow account; (Fig. 4A step 401; ¶0019 and ¶00121)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify System Methods Apparatuses for Secure Management of Legal Documents of Haque et al. by including holding assets in an escrow account in accordance with the teaching of Sauer. This modification provides opportunity to ensure all conditions are met prior to releasing the asset to the recipient.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Application Publication US20180205546A1 (“Haque et al.”) in view of US Grant Publication US11164251B1 (“Skala et al.”).
Regarding claim 58, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. does not explicitly disclose:
i) creating, via the processor, one or more crypto wallets for each beneficiary.
However, Skala et al. discloses:
i) creating, via the processor, one or more crypto wallets for each beneficiary. (Fig. 14A step S02; col 60 lines 53-56)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify System Methods Apparatuses for Secure Management of Legal Documents of Haque et al. by including digital wallet creation in accordance with the teaching of Skala et al.. This modification enables the combined system to create digital wallet for beneficiary so the beneficiary can receive digital asset.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Application Publication US20180205546A1 (“Haque et al.”) in view of US Application Publication US20200160288A1 (“Bauerschmidt et al.”).
Regarding claim 65, Haque et al. discloses all limitations as described above. Haque et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the user selects a custodial account, and the custodial account is held by an exchange and may be a retirement account, and wherein and an escrow wallet for the beneficiary is created, via the processor, on the same exchange as the user's account.
However, Bauerschmidt et al. discloses:
wherein the user selects a custodial account, and the custodial account is held by an exchange and may be a retirement account, and wherein and an escrow wallet for the beneficiary is created, via the processor, on the same exchange as the user's account. (¶0023)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify System Methods Apparatuses for Secure Management of Legal Documents of Haque et al. by including a custody account and escrow wallet on an exchange in accordance with the teaching of Bauerschmidt et al.. This modification simplifying key management for user and ensures conditions are met prior to releasing funds from escrow.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20190147554A1 (“Chintala et al.”) discloses methods for digital asset management. The method includes receiving an authorization event request from a user. The authorization event request includes authorization documents and information related to testifiers and legal authority. The method includes creating an authorization event for an authorization session. The method includes sending event details associated with the authorization event to participants of the authorization event. The method includes facilitating access to the authorization session for participants of the authorization event. Each participant of authorization event can be present for the authorization session either physically or virtually. The method includes provisioning an option to record the authorization session when the participants are present for the authorization session. The method includes sending a request to participants to sign the authorization documents either electronically or physically. The method includes terminating recording of the authorization session after the participants sign the authorization documents.
US11599961B1 (“Foote”) discloses a estate planning and beneficiary management system according to an embodiment includes a system controller which may prompt and receive from a user information which may be necessary to create and estate planning model. The system may provide for traditional assets and digital assets, such as cryptocurrency and NFTs. The system may provide for distribution of the digital assets using smart contracts and blockchain wallets. The system may provide access by beneficiaries and trusted contacts to the user selected documents at different user defined permission levels. Upon the user's death, the system may automatically notify the beneficiaries and trusted contacts, execute block transactions between the user's wallets and beneficiaries' wallets according to the smart contracts, and notify outside world platforms of the user's death and the user's directives for the particular platforms as laid out in the user's will.
/YINGYING ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697