DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Embodiment 3 (for group 1 – driving force receiving member) in the reply filed on 7/7/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Embodiments 3 and 5 share common features that would not require different fields of search. This is found persuasive. As such, the restriction requirement between Embodiments 3 and 5 is withdrawn, and these embodiments will be examined.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment 18 (for group 2 – toggle member) in the reply filed on 7/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawanami et al. (US 2022/0050416; “Kawanami”).
Regarding claim 1, Kawanami discloses a process cartridge PPK/PP (Figs. 2 & 3A) detachably installable in an imaging device 100 ([0069]), comprising:
a driving force receiving member 1c (Fig. 3A [0072]);
a housing (body of PP; Fig. 3A), comprising a drive end (right side) where the driving force receiving member 1c is provided and an opposite non-drive end (left side; Fig. 3A);
a photosensitive drum 1, rotatably mounted in the housing, wherein the photosensitive drum is driven by driving force received by the driving force receiving member 1c (Fig. 3A [0072]), and the driving force receiving member 1c is exposed from the drive end (Fig. 3A);
a charging member 5, configured to charge the photosensitive drum 1 (Fig. 2 [0081]);
a charging electrode assembly 6, comprising a power receiving portion 6 configured to receive electrical power and a power transmission portion (not shown, but must be present in order for the process cartridges to “have charging contacts 6 electrically connected to the charging rollers 5”) configured to make electrical connection with the charging member 5 (Fig. 20A [0148]), wherein the power receiving portion 6 is electrically connected to the power transmission portion ([0148]);
a chip 7, comprising a storage portion for storing process cartridge information and an electrical contact portion (portion of chip 7 that connects with contact portions 33a/39) electrically connected to the storage portion (Fig. 18C [0147]); and
a developing roller 3, rotatably mounted in the housing ([0072]), with the photosensitive drum 1 and the developing roller 3 being mounted in a lower side of the housing (Fig. 3A);
wherein the electrical contact portion (Fig. 18C) and the power receiving portion 6 (Fig. 20A) are disposed at an upper portion of the non-drive end (left side) (note that 41L is disposed on the left/non-drive side; [0088]), and are exposed upward from the housing ([0148]).
Regarding claim 2, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a first unit housing OP, a second unit housing DP, and a second end cover 1aL mounted at the non-drive end (Figs. 3A-3B), the second end cover 1aL engages with the first unit housing OP and the second unit housing DP (Figs. 3A-3B), the electrical contact portion is disposed on the second end cover 1aL (Fig. 18B), and the charging electrode assembly 6 is disposed on the second unit housing 1AL (Fig. 20A).
Regarding claim 3, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the electrical contact portion and the power receiving portion 6 both face upward (Figs. 18B-18C & 20A [0144, 0147-0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a first unit housing OP, a second unit housing DP, and a second end cover 1aL mounted at the non-drive end (Figs. 3A-3B), the second end cover 1aL engages with the first unit housing OP and the second unit housing DP (Figs. 3A-3B), the second end cover 1aL is further provided with an electrical contact cavity, and at least the power receiving portion 6 is positioned in the electrical contact cavity (Fig. 20A).
Regarding claim 5, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device further comprises a door cover 31, and a top plate 33 (Fig. 14B) provided with a power output member 37 ([0148]) and a contact pin (“pressing portions 33a that are part of the contact portions 39 of the pressing unit 33 are also provided with contacts for the memory members 7” [0147]), the contact pin and the power output member 37 are both exposed downward (Figs. 18B & 20A-20B [0148]), before the door cover of the imaging device closes, the top plate does not abut against the process cartridge, when the door cover closes, the top plate 33 abuts against the process cartridge, the electrical contact portion achieves electrical connection with the contact pin, and the power receiving portion 6 also achieves electrical connection with the power output member 37 (see Figs. 14A-15B [0096]). (Note that the claims are drawn to a process cartridge and not an imaging device. As such, the claimed process cartridge is only required to be capable of connecting to an imaging device that has a door cover, top plate, etc.)
Regarding claim 6, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 5, wherein the power receiving portion 6 contacts either a lower conductive surface or a side conductive surface of the power output member 37 (Fig. 20A).
Regarding claim 7, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, further comprising a toggle member 40 (Fig. 5A) configured to toggle the power receiving portion 6, causing the power receiving portion 6 to transition from a first state (when drawn out of apparatus main body 100A; Fig. 17A) where the power receiving portion is not capable of receiving power to a second state (when inserted into apparatus main body 100A; Fig. 15A) where the power receiving portion is capable of receiving power ([0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanami (US 2022/0050416) in view of Kitajima et al. (US 2014/0086630; “Kitajima”).
Regarding claim 8, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the charging member 5 is rotatably supported by a bracket on the housing (although not explicitly disclosed, the charging member must be supported by some sort of bracket in order for the device to operate as intended).
Kawanami is silent regarding any spring used to maintain contact between the charging member and photosensitive drum.
Kitajima teaches a similar process cartridge 1 (Figs. 1-2 [0024]) wherein the charging member 8 is rotatably supported by a bracket 21 (Fig. 5) on the housing 17 (Fig. 6), a spring 25 is disposed between the bracket 21 and the housing 17 (Figs. 8-9), and through pushing of the spring 25, the charging member 8 maintains contact with the photosensitive drum 7 ([0069-0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a spring disposed between the bracket and housing of Kawanami, as taught by Kitajima. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a stable charge nip between the charging member and photosensitive drum, thereby making it possible for the charging member to uniformly charge the peripheral surface of the photosensitive drum (Kitajima [0071]).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanami (US 2022/0050416) in view of Ichikawa et al. (JP 2007-241106; “Ichikawa”). (Note: cited paragraphs of Ichikawa are from the machine translation of the JP document included herewith.)
Regarding claim 9, Kawanami discloses the process cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the charging member is rotatably supported by a bracket on the housing (although not explicitly disclosed, the charging member must be supported by some sort of bracket in order for the device to operate as intended).
Kawanami fails to teach the process cartridge further comprising a friction member disposed adjacent to and in contact with the charging member, wherein the friction member extends along a direction of a rotational axis of the driving force receiving member.
Ichikawa teaches disposing a friction member 200 adjacent to and in contact with a charging member 14, wherein the friction member 200 extends along a direction of a rotational axis of a driving force receiving member, and the charging member 14 is rotatably supported by a bracket 110 on a housing 120 (Fig. 13 [0149-0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process cartridge of Kawanami to include a friction member disposed adjacent to and in contact with the charging member, wherein the friction member extends along a direction of a rotational axis of the driving force receiving member, as taught by Ichikawa. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to clean the charging member while preventing the deformation of the charging member and suppressing the occurrence of rotation failure or charging failure (Ichikawa [0155]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kawanami teaches the process cartridge according to claim 9, wherein the charging member is driven to rotate by a friction force between a surface of the photosensitive drum and a surface of the charging member (Ichikawa [0152, 0160]), and when the charging member loses its drive source, a friction force between the friction member and the charging member forces the charging member, which continues to rotate due to inertia, to stop rotating (Ichikawa [0155]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kawanami teaches the process cartridge according to claim 9, wherein the friction member is an elastic component (the sponge layer is described as a spongy elastic layer; Ichikawa [0085]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kawanami teaches the process cartridge according to claim 9, wherein the friction member is configured as a sponge body (Ichikawa [0149]).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852