DETAILED ACTION
a. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/27/2025 has been entered.
Claims 21-40 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
- claims 21 and 31 are amended
- claims 24 and 34 are canceled
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 11/27/2025.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 21 and 31 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “None of Choi, Wang and Agiwal discloses, teaches or suggests "determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random-access channel (PRACH) slot is valid, based on conditions wherein the conditions include. - the RO is within DL symbols where a UL subband is configured within a frequency band, the DL symbols including a DL symbol configured by the cell-specific RRC signal" as recited in claim 1” on page 7, filed on 11/27/2025, with respect to Choi et al. US Pub 2020/0119895 (hereinafter “Choi”), in view of Wang et al. US Pub 2024/0080174, claiming domestic priority 2022-05-10 (hereinafter “Wang”), and further in view of Agiwal US Pub 2022/0007423 (hereinafter “Agiwal”), have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Agiwal discloses determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random-access channel (PRACH) slot is valid, based on conditions wherein the conditions include. - the RO is within DL symbols where a UL subband is configured within a frequency band, the DL symbols including a DL symbol configured by the cell-specific RRC signal (“In an embodiment, invalid PRACH occasions from the PRACH occasions indicated by PRACH configuration index can be removed before applying the above rule to determine the FDMed PRACH occasions. For paired spectrum, all PRACH occasions are valid. For unpaired spectrum, if a UE is not provided tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon (where tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is signaled by the gNB in system information or dedicated RRC signaling message), a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if it does not precede a synchronization signals (SS) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (SS/PBCH) block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block reception symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS. The index of the SS/PBCH block (SSB) is provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon. If a UE is provided tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if: it is within UL symbols, or it does not precede a SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last downlink symbol and at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS. The index of the SS/PBCH block is provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon.” [0079-0084]).
Wang also discloses the RO is within DL symbols (“a resource overlap of at least one symbol exists between the downlink transmission configured by the network and the valid RO for the PRACH” [0136] and furthermore “Optionally, the uplink transmission includes a valid RO for the PRACH; and the downlink transmission includes any one of the following: downlink transmission dynamically scheduled by a DCI format; a downlink symbol indicated by a DCI format; and a flexible symbol indicated by a DCI format.” [0169]).
The Choi’s reference, as combined with the references Wang and Agiwal, discloses each and every limitation of the present claims, and therefore render the claims 21-40 obvious. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments that the Examiner fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness MPEP § 2141. Claims 21-40 are still being rejected on the same grounds for rejection as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-33, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US Pub 2020/0119895 (hereinafter “Choi”), in view of Wang et al. US Pub 2024/0080174, claiming domestic priority 2022-05-10 (hereinafter “Wang”), and further in view of Agiwal US Pub 2022/0007423 (hereinafter “Agiwal”).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended)
Choi discloses a user equipment (UE) (“user equipment 100” in Fig. 11; [0116]) configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a communication module (“communication module 120” in Fig. 11; [0116]); and
a processor (“processor 110” in Fig. 11; [0116]) configured to control the communication module,
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a cell-specific radio resource control (RRC) signal regarding a slot format, wherein the slot format includes information about a type of symbol, and the type of symbol includes at least one of a downlink (DL) symbol, a flexible symbol, and an uplink (UL) symbol (“the UE may determine a symbol indicated as the DL slot and the DL symbol by the cell-specific RRC signal as a DL symbol, determine a symbol indicated as the UL slot and the UL symbol by the cell-specific RRC signal as the UL symbol, and determine a symbol indicated as the flexible symbol by the cell-specific RRC signal as the flexible symbol. Alternatively, the UE may determine a symbol not indicated as the DL slot and the DL symbol and not indicated as the UL slot and the UL symbol, by the cell-specific RRC signal, as the flexible symbol.” [0179]);
Choi does not specifically teach determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random- access channel (PRACH) slot is valid; and perform UL transmission or DL reception based on whether the RO is valid, wherein the conditions include: - the RO is within symbols where a UL subband is configured within a frequency band.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random- access channel (PRACH) slot is valid (“it is also necessary to specify behaviors of processing a resource collision between uplink transmission and downlink transmission by the RedCap UE and validating a valid occasion for a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a two-step random access message MsgA.” [0027]), based on conditions; and
perform UL transmission or DL reception based on whether the RO is valid (“For example, the uplink transmission of the terminal may include any one of the following: a valid RACH Occasion (RO) for a physical random access channel (PRACH), uplink transmission dynamically scheduled by a DCI format, or a flexible transmission direction dynamically indicated by a DCI format” [0036]),
wherein the conditions include: - the RO is within DL symbols where a UL subband is configured within a frequency band (“a resource overlap of at least one symbol exists between the downlink transmission configured by the network and the valid RO for the PRACH” [0136] and furthermore “Optionally, the uplink transmission includes a valid RO for the PRACH; and the downlink transmission includes any one of the following: downlink transmission dynamically scheduled by a DCI format; a downlink symbol indicated by a DCI format; and a flexible symbol indicated by a DCI format.” [0169]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels to include Wang’s transmission control method, in order to effectively minimize collision between uplink and downlink transmissions (Wang [0006]).
Choi and Wang do not specifically the DL symbols including a DL symbol configured by the cell-specific RRC signal; whether the conditions include the RO starts at least Ngap symbols after a last DL symbol.
In an analogous art, Agiwal also discloses determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random-access channel (PRACH) slot is valid, based on conditions wherein the conditions include. - the RO is within DL symbols where a UL subband is configured within a frequency band, the DL symbols including a DL symbol configured by the cell-specific RRC signal (“In an embodiment, invalid PRACH occasions from the PRACH occasions indicated by PRACH configuration index can be removed before applying the above rule to determine the FDMed PRACH occasions. For paired spectrum, all PRACH occasions are valid. For unpaired spectrum, if a UE is not provided tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon (where tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is signaled by the gNB in system information or dedicated RRC signaling message), a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if it does not precede a synchronization signals (SS) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (SS/PBCH) block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block reception symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS. The index of the SS/PBCH block (SSB) is provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon. If a UE is provided tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if: it is within UL symbols, or it does not precede a SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last downlink symbol and at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS. The index of the SS/PBCH block is provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon.” [0079-0084]).
- the DL symbols including a DL symbol configured by the cell-specific RRC signal (“if a UE is not provided tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon (where tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is signaled by the gNB in system information or dedicated RRC signaling message)” [0080]).
whether the conditions include the RO starts at least Ngap symbols after a last DL symbol (“it does not precede a SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last downlink symbol and at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS.” [0084] and furthermore “For paired spectrum, all PRACH occasions are valid. For unpaired spectrum, if a UE is not provided tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon (where tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is signaled by the gNB in system information or dedicated RRC signaling message), a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if it does not precede a synchronization signals (SS) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (SS/PBCH) block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block reception symbol” [0079-0080]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels, as modified by Wang, to include Agiwal’s random access (RA) procedure for large propagation delays in a wireless communication system, in order to effectively support 5G communication (Agiwal [0003]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Agiwal’s random access (RA) procedure for large propagation delays in a wireless communication system into Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 22
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Choi further discloses wherein the cell-specific RRC signal comprises common time division duplex (TDD) UL-DL configuration information (“Each symbol of a radio frame operating in a time division duplex (TDD) or an unpaired spectrum may be configured as at least one of a DL symbol, an UL symbol, and a flexible symbol… The flexible symbol may be determined to be used as a DL or an UL according to another signal. Information on the type of each symbol, i.e., DL symbols, UL symbols, and flexible symbols, may be configured by a cell-specific or common radio resource control (RRC) signal.” [0072]).
Regarding claim 23
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Agiwal further discloses when the RO is within a time-frequency resource where the UL subband is configured (“The RA-RNTI identifies the time-frequency resource (also referred as physical RA channel (PRACH) occasion or PRACH transmission (TX) occasion or RA channel (RACH) occasion) in which an RA preamble was detected by the gNB” [0052]), the last DL symbol is determined based on symbols (“it does not precede a SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last downlink symbol and at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS.” [0084],
Choi further discloses where the UL subband is not configured, among DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal (“The base station informs, by using the cell-specific RRC signal, the number of slots with only DL symbols from the starting of the period of cell-specific slot configuration and the period of cell-specific slot configuration, the number of DL symbols from the first symbol of the slot immediately following the slot with only DL symbols, the number of slots with only UL symbols from the end of the period of cell-specific slot configuration, and the number of UL symbols from the last symbol of the slot immediately before the slot with only the UL symbol.” [0072]).
Regarding claim 25
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Agiwal further discloses wherein Ngap is determined based on subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the PRACH (“a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if it does not precede a synchronization signals (SS) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (SS/PBCH) block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block reception symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS.” [0080]).
Regarding claim 26
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 25,
Agiwal further discloses wherein Ngap is determined as follows:
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz, Ngap = 0 (“where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS” [0080]); and
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 15 kHz, or 30 kHz, or 60 kHz, or 120 kHz, Ngap =2 (“where N_gap is 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS” [0080]).
Regarding claim 27
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Wang further discloses wherein the PRACH is transmitted in a valid RO (“the uplink transmission of the terminal may include any one of the following: a valid RACH Occasion (RO) for a physical random access channel (PRACH), uplink transmission dynamically scheduled by a DCI format, or a flexible transmission direction dynamically indicated by a DCI format.” [0036]).
Regarding claim 28
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Wang further discloses wherein within a slot including the UL subband, the UE does not expect a collision between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) and a symbol set including a valid RO (“For the collision {circle around (1)}: a resource overlap of at least one symbol exists between the valid RO valid RO for the PRACH of the terminal and DL reception dynamically scheduled by a DCI format (a DCI format 1_0, a DCI format 1_1, a DCI format 0_1, a DCI format 1_2, or DCI format 0_2 indicating to the UE to receive a CSI-RS or PDSCH).” [0047]).
Regarding claim 29
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 28,
Wang further discloses wherein when the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected, the UE does not expect a detection of DCI indicating the PRACH transmission (“For example, the PRACH includes the first-part PRACH and the second-part PRACH. The first-part PRACH includes symbols of the PRACH in a target time period; duration of the target time period is target duration, and the target duration is Tproc,2; a start point of the target time period is a last symbol of a target CORESET; the target CORESET includes either of the following: a CORESET in which a downlink symbol or a flexible symbol indicated by a DCI format detected by the terminal is located and a CORESET in which downlink transmission scheduled by a DCI format detected by the terminal is located; and the second-part PRACH includes: a PRACH part other than the first-part PRACH in the PRACH.” [0069]).
Regarding claim 30
Choi, as modified by Wang and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Wang further discloses wherein within a slot including the UL subband, when a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a higher layer overlaps with a symbol set including a valid RO, the UE does not receive the PDSCH on a resource overlapped with the symbol set (“For the collision {circle around (1)}: a resource overlap of at least one symbol exists between the valid RO valid RO for the PRACH of the terminal and DL reception (i.e. PDSCH) dynamically scheduled by a DCI format (a DCI format 1_0, a DCI format 1_1, a DCI format 0_1, a DCI format 1_2, or DCI format 0_2 indicating to the UE to receive a CSI-RS or PDSCH).” [0047]).
Regarding claim 31 (Currently Amended)
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a cell-specific radio resource control (RRC) signal regarding a slot format, wherein the slot format includes information about a type of symbol, and the type of symbol includes at least one of a downlink (DL) symbol, a flexible symbol, and an uplink (UL) symbol;
determining whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random-access channel (PRACH) slot is valid, based on conditions; and
performing UL transmission or DL reception based on whether the RO is valid,
wherein the conditions include:
- the RO is within DL symbols where a UL subband is configured within a frequency band, the DL symbols including a DL symbol configured by the cell-specific RRC signal, and
- the RO starts at least Neap symbols after a last DL symbol.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 31 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 21. Therefore method claim 31 corresponds to apparatus claim 21 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 21 rejection above.
Regarding claim 32
The method of claim 31, wherein the cell-specific RRC signal comprises common time division duplex (TDD) UL-DL configuration information.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 32 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 22. Therefore method claim 32 corresponds to apparatus claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 22 rejection above.
Regarding claim 33
The method of claim 31, when the RO is within a time-frequency resource where the UL subband is configured, the last DL symbol is determined based on symbols, where the UL subband is not configured, among DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 33 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 23. Therefore method claim 33 corresponds to apparatus claim 23 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 23 rejection above.
Regarding claim 34
The method of claim 31, wherein the determination comprises determining that the RO is valid when the RO is present on a UL symbol set configured by the common RRC signal.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 34 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 24. Therefore method claim 34 corresponds to apparatus claim 24 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 24 rejection above.
Regarding claim 35
The method of claim 31, wherein Ngap is determined based on subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the PRACH.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 35 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 25. Therefore method claim 35 corresponds to apparatus claim 25 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 25 rejection above.
Regarding claim 36
The method of claim 35, wherein Ngap is determined as follows:
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz, Ngap = 0; and
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 15 kHz, or 30 kHz, or 60 kHz, or 120 kHz, Ngap =2.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 36 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 26. Therefore method claim 36 corresponds to apparatus claim 26 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 26 rejection above.
Regarding claim 37
The method of claim 31, wherein the PRACH is transmitted in a valid RO.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 37 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 27. Therefore method claim 37 corresponds to apparatus claim 27 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 27 rejection above.
Regarding claim 38
The method of claim 31, wherein within a slot including the UL subband, the UE does not expect a collision between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) and a symbol set including a valid RO.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 38 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 28. Therefore method claim 38 corresponds to apparatus claim 28 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 28 rejection above.
Regarding claim 39
The method of claim 38, wherein when the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected, the UE does not expect a detection of DCI indicating the PRACH transmission.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 39 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 29. Therefore method claim 39 corresponds to apparatus claim 29 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 29 rejection above.
Regarding claim 40
The method of claim 31, wherein within a slot including the UL subband, when a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a higher layer overlaps with a symbol set including a valid RO, the UE does not receive the PDSCH on a resource overlapped with the symbol set.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 40 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 30. Therefore method claim 40 corresponds to apparatus claim 30 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 30 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411