DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 21-40 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 21, 23, 30, 31, 33, and 40 are amended
- claims 24, 28-29, 34, and 38-39 are cancelled
b. This is a final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 04/28/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 21 and 31 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “Nothing in Choi, Wang or Agiwal discloses, teaches or suggests that "a UL subband is configured in at least one DL symbol among DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal" as recited in claim 21 (emphasis added).” on page 7, filed on 04/28/2026, with respect to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0119895 (hereinafter "Choi"), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0080174 (hereinafter "Wang"), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0007423 (hereinafter "Agiwal"), have been fully considered but are moot, over the limitations of “wherein a UL subband is configured in at least one DL symbol among DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal” and “wherein the RO is determined as valid if the RO satisfies conditions including: the RO is within the UL subband”. Said limitations are newly added to the amended Claims 21 and 31 and have been addressed in instant office action, as shown in section 35 USC 103 rejection below, with newly identified prior art teaching from newly found reference Xiong et al. US Pub 2023/0156798 (hereinafter “Xiong”), in combination with previously applied reference Choi, thus rendering said Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 27, 31-33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US Pub 2020/0119895 (hereinafter “Choi”), and in view of Xiong et al. US Pub 2023/0156798 (hereinafter “Xiong”).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended)
Choi discloses a user equipment (UE) (“user equipment 100” in Fig. 11; [0116]) configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a communication module (“communication module 120” in Fig. 11; [0116]); and
a processor (“processor 110” in Fig. 11; [0116]) configured to control the communication module,
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a cell-specific radio resource control (RRC) signal regarding a slot format, wherein the slot format includes least one of a downlink (DL) symbol, a flexible symbol, and an uplink (UL) symbol and wherein a UL subband is configured in at least one DL symbol among DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal (“the UE may determine a symbol indicated as the DL slot and the DL symbol by the cell-specific RRC signal as a DL symbol, determine a symbol indicated as the UL slot and the UL symbol by the cell-specific RRC signal as the UL symbol, and determine a symbol indicated as the flexible symbol by the cell-specific RRC signal as the flexible symbol. Alternatively, the UE may determine a symbol not indicated as the DL slot and the DL symbol and not indicated as the UL slot and the UL symbol, by the cell-specific RRC signal, as the flexible symbol.” [0179]);
Choi does not specifically teach determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random access channel (PRACH) slot is valid; and perform UL transmission or DL reception based on whether the RO is valid, wherein the RO is determined as valid if the RO satisfies conditions including:
- the RO is within the UL subband, and
- the RO starts at least Ngap symbols after a last DL symbol, wherein the last DL symbol is determined from DL symbols where the UL subband is not configured, among the DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal.
In an analogous art, Xiong discloses determine whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random access channel (PRACH) slot is valid (“During the random access procedure, the UE needs to determine not only ROs, but also valid ROs that can be used for a PRACH transmission according to predefined rules, before transmitting the PRACH.” [0095]); and
perform UL transmission or DL reception (“In operation S430, the UE performs random access at the valid transmission occasions.” [0093] and furthermore “different frequency-domain resources in one symbol of one carrier/serving cell can be allocated for different transmission directions… the UE can determine that within one symbol, some resources are uplink transmission resources, and some resources are downlink transmission resources.” [0089]) based on whether the RO is valid (“In operation S420, the UE determines valid transmission occasions from among transmission occasions based on the resource configuration information.” [0093]),
wherein the RO is determined as valid if the RO satisfies conditions including:
- the RO is within the UL subband (“If the RO is within uplink symbols determined according to the first-type cell-common UL/DL information, then the RO is valid.” [0096]), and
- the RO starts at least Ngap symbols after a last DL symbol, wherein the last DL symbol is determined from DL symbols where the UL subband is not configured (“according to the first-type cell-common UL/DL information”), among the DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal (“If the RO does not precede a SSB in a PRACH slot, and starts at least Ngap symbols after a last SSB symbol and starts at least Ngap symbols after a last downlink symbol determined according to the first-type cell-common UL/DL information, then the RO is valid.” [0097]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels to include Xiong’s method for determining transmission resources for uplink and downlink signals, in order to effectively minimize collision between uplink and downlink transmissions (Xiong [0002]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Xiong’s method for determining transmission resources for uplink and downlink signals into Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 22
Choi, as modified by Xiong, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Choi further discloses wherein the cell-specific RRC signal comprises common time division duplex (TDD) UL-DL configuration information (“Each symbol of a radio frame operating in a time division duplex (TDD) or an unpaired spectrum may be configured as at least one of a DL symbol, an UL symbol, and a flexible symbol… The flexible symbol may be determined to be used as a DL or an UL according to another signal. Information on the type of each symbol, i.e., DL symbols, UL symbols, and flexible symbols, may be configured by a cell-specific or common radio resource control (RRC) signal.” [0072]).
Regarding claim 23 (Currently Amended)
Choi, as modified by Xiong, previously discloses the UE of claim 21, wherein the conditions further comprise:
Xiong further discloses the RO is within symbols where the UL subband is configured (“If the RO is within uplink symbols determined according to the first-type cell-common UL/DL information, then the RO is valid.” [0096]).
Regarding claim 27
Choi, as modified by Xiong, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Xiong further discloses wherein the PRACH is transmitted in a valid RO (“During the random access procedure, the UE needs to determine not only ROs, but also valid ROs that can be used for a PRACH transmission according to predefined rules, before transmitting the PRACH” [0095]).
Regarding claim 31 (Currently Amended)
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a cell-specific radio resource control (RRC) signal regarding a slot format, wherein the slot format includes at least one of a downlink (DL) symbol, a flexible symbol, and an uplink (UL) symbol and wherein a UL subband is configured in at least one DL symbol among DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal;
determining whether a random access channel occasion (RO) in a physical random access channel (PRACH) slot is valid; and
performing UL transmission or DL reception based on whether the RO is valid,
wherein the RO is determined as valid if the RO satisfies conditions including:
- the RO is within the UL subband, and
- the RO starts at least Ngap symbols after a last DL symbol, wherein the last DL symbol is determined from DL symbols where the UL subband is not configured, among the DL symbols configured by the cell-specific RRC signal.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 31 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 21. Therefore method claim 31 corresponds to apparatus claim 21 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 21 rejection above.
Regarding claim 32
The method of claim 31, wherein the cell-specific RRC signal comprises common time division duplex (TDD) UL-DL configuration information.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 32 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 22. Therefore method claim 32 corresponds to apparatus claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 22 rejection above.
Regarding claim 33 (Currently Amended)
The method of claim 31, when the conditions further comprise: the RO is within symbols where the UL subband is configured.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 33 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 23. Therefore method claim 33 corresponds to apparatus claim 23 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 23 rejection above.
Regarding claim 37
The method of claim 31, wherein the PRACH is transmitted in a valid RO.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 37 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 27. Therefore method claim 37 corresponds to apparatus claim 27 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 27 rejection above.
Claims 25, 26, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Xiong, and further in view of Agiwal US Pub 2022/0007423 (hereinafter “Agiwal”).
Regarding claim 25
Choi, as modified by Xiong, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Choi and Xiong do not specifically teach wherein Ngap is determined based on subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the PRACH.
In an analogous art, Agiwal discloses wherein Ngap is determined based on subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the PRACH (“a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot is valid if it does not precede a synchronization signals (SS) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (SS/PBCH) block in the PRACH slot and starts at least N_gap symbols after a last SS/PBCH block reception symbol, where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS and 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS.” [0080]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels, as modified by Xiong, to include Agiwal’s random access (RA) procedure for large propagation delays in a wireless communication system, in order to effectively support 5G communication (Agiwal [0003]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Agiwal’s random access (RA) procedure for large propagation delays in a wireless communication system into Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 26
Choi, as modified by Xiong and Agiwal, previously discloses the UE of claim 25,
Agiwal further discloses wherein Ngap is determined as follows:
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz, Ngap = 0 (“where N_gap is 0 for a 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz preamble SCS” [0080]); and
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 15 kHz, or 30 kHz, or 60 kHz, or 120 kHz, Ngap =2 (“where N_gap is 2 for a 15 kHz or 30 kHz or 60 kHz or 120 kHz preamble SCS” [0080]).
Regarding claim 35
The method of claim 31, wherein Ngap is determined based on subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the PRACH.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 35 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 25. Therefore method claim 35 corresponds to apparatus claim 25 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 25 rejection above.
Regarding claim 36
The method of claim 35, wherein Ngap is determined as follows:
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 1.25 kHz or 5 kHz, Ngap = 0; and
- when the SCS of the PRACH is 15 kHz, or 30 kHz, or 60 kHz, or 120 kHz, Ngap =2.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 36 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 26. Therefore method claim 36 corresponds to apparatus claim 26 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 26 rejection above.
Claims 30 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Xiong, and further in view of Wang et al. US Pub 2024/0080174, claiming domestic priority 2022-05-10 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 30 (Currently Amended)
Choi, as modified by Xiong, previously discloses the UE of claim 21,
Choi and Xiong do not specifically teach wherein when a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a higher layer overlaps with a symbol set including a valid RO at a slot including the UL subband, the UE does not receive the PDSCH on a resource overlapped with the symbol set.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses wherein when a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a higher layer overlaps with a symbol set including a valid RO at a slot including the UL subband, the UE does not receive the PDSCH on a resource overlapped with the symbol set (“For the collision {circle around (1)}: a resource overlap of at least one symbol exists between the valid RO valid RO for the PRACH of the terminal and DL reception (i.e. PDSCH) dynamically scheduled by a DCI format (a DCI format 1_0, a DCI format 1_1, a DCI format 0_1, a DCI format 1_2, or DCI format 0_2 indicating to the UE to receive a CSI-RS or PDSCH).” [0047]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels, as modified by Xiong, to include Wang’s transmission control method, in order to effectively minimize collision between uplink and downlink transmissions (Wang [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Wang’s transmission control method into Choi’s method for transmitting and receiving data channels and control channels since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 40 (Currently Amended)
The method of claim 31, wherein when a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by a higher layer overlaps with a symbol set including a valid RO at a slot including the UL subband, the UE does not receive the PDSCH on a resource overlapped with the symbol set.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 40 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 30. Therefore method claim 40 corresponds to apparatus claim 30 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 30 rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411