DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Siebert et al (DE 102016101554 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Siebert et al discloses an automated cleaning system (1), comprising: a first illumination source (4) for emitting radiation at a first wavelength in the short wave infrared range (SWIR) towards a field of view (FOV) (1300-1400 nm (page 7, second paragraph); a receiver (page 7, second paragraph) operating in the SWIR to acquire SWIR image data based on radiation reflected from elements located in the FOV; and a processor (electronic system for controlling and evaluating the intensities) (page 2) for determining, based on the SWIR image data, presence of water- based liquids in the FOV (pages 2 and page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Siebert et al discloses wherein further comprising: a second illumination source for emitting radiation at a second wavelength in the SWIR (800-1000 nm) (page 7, second paragraph) towards a target within the FOV, wherein the processor is operative to determine a spectral characteristic of the target based on absorption of the target at the first wavelength and absorption of the target at the second wavelength (page 10).
Regarding claim 3, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second illumination source is to emit radiation towards the target by emitting radiation at the second wavelength in the SWIR towards (800-1000 nm) (page 7, second paragraph) a second FOV included in the first FOV.
Regarding claim 4, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second illumination source comprises a low power illumination source (page 9).
Regarding claim 5, Siebert et al discloses wherein the receiver comprises one or more germanium photodiodes (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Siebert et al discloses wherein the first illumination source comprises a laser source (page 2).
Regarding claim 7, Siebert et al discloses wherein the first wavelength is between 1300-1400 nm (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second illumination source comprises a LED (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second wavelength is between 800-1000 nm (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Siebert et al discloses wherein further comprising: a third illumination source (detection device can have both one or more light sources and one or more receivers (page 2) for emitting radiation at a third wavelength in the SWIR towards the target within the FOV, wherein the processor is further operative to determine a spectral characteristic of the target based on absorption of the target at the first wavelength, absorption of the target at the second wavelength and absorption of the target at the third wavelength.
Regarding claim 11, Siebert et al discloses a method for using short wave infrared range (SWIR) (1300-1400 nm (page 7, second paragraph) vision system in an automated cleaning system (1), comprising: emitting, by a first illumination source (4), radiation at a first wavelength in the SWIR towards a field of view (FOV) (1300-1400 nm (page 7); receiving, by receiver operating in the SWIR, radiation reflected from elements located in the FOV (page 7, second paragraph); acquiring SWIR image data based on radiation reflected from elements located in the FOV (electronic system for controlling and evaluating the intensities) (page 2); and determining based on the SWIR image data presence of water-based liquids in the FOV (pages 2 and page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Siebert et al discloses wherein further comprising: emitting, by a second illumination source, radiation at a second wavelength in the SWIR towards (800-1000 nm) (page 7, second paragraph) a target within the FOV; and determining a spectral characteristic of the target based on absorption of the target at the first wavelength and absorption of the target at the second wavelength (page 10).
Regarding claim 13, Siebert et al discloses wherein emitting radiation at a second wavelength in the SWIR (800-1000 nm) (page 7, second paragraph) towards a target within the FOV comprises emitting radiation at the second wavelength in the SWIR towards a second FOV included in the first FOV.
Regarding claim 14, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second illumination source comprises a low power illumination source (page 9).
Regarding claim 15, Siebert et al discloses wherein the receiver comprises one or more germanium photodiodes (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, Siebert et al discloses wherein the first illumination source comprises a laser source (page 2).
Regarding claim 17, Siebert et al discloses wherein the first wavelength is between 1300-1400 nm (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second illumination source comprises a LED (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 19, Siebert et al discloses wherein the second wavelength is between 800-1000 nm (page 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Siebert et al discloses further comprising: emitting radiation at a third wavelength, by a third illumination source, in the SWIR towards the target within the FOV (detection device can have both one or more light sources and one or more receivers (page 2) for emitting radiation at a third wavelength in the SWIR towards the target within the FOV); and determining a spectral characteristic of the target based on absorption of the target at the first wavelength, absorption of the target at the second wavelength and absorption of the target at the third wavelength.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Islam et al (US 20230172455 A1) discloses an optical system operating in the near or short-wave infrared wavelength range identifies an object based on water absorption. The system comprises a light source with modulated light emitting diodes operating at wavelengths near 1090 and 1440 nanometers, corresponding to lower and higher water absorption. The system further comprises one or more wavelength selective filters and a housing that is further coupled to an electrical circuit and a processor. The detection system comprises photodetectors that are synchronized to the light source, and the detection system receives at least a portion of light reflected from the object. The system is configured to identify the object by comparing the reflected light at the first and second wavelength to generate an output value, and then comparing the output value to a threshold. The optical system may be further coupled to a wearable device or a remote sensing system with a time-of-flight sensor.
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884