DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 17 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al – hereafter Chen – (CN 213450910 U).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an air guide structure of an axial flow fan (Fig.3/5/6), comprising a first inner ring (3212), an outer ring (3211) and a plurality of first grille bars (3213), wherein:
the first inner ring and the outer ring are both annular (Fig.5/6), the outer ring is arranged around a periphery of the first inner ring (Fig.5/6), and the plurality of first grille bars are evenly spaced in a circumferential direction of the first inner ring (Fig.5), and one end of each of the plurality of first grille bars is connected to the first inner ring and other end of each of the plurality of first grille bars is connected to the outer ring (Fig.5); and
each of the plurality of first grille bars is in a shape of a twisted sheet extending in a spiral (Fig.5).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further teaches a radial plane of the first inner ring and a radial plane of the outer ring are not in the same plane and are parallel to each other (Fig.6).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further teaches a vertical distance (A) between the radial plane of the first inner ring and the radial plane of the outer ring is less than or equal to 5-10% of a diameter of the outer ring (machine translation ¶34).
Regarding claim 5, Chen further teaches each first grille bar of the plurality of first grille bars comprises a first end (103) and a second end (102), the first end of the first grille bar is connected to the first inner ring (Fig.5), and the second end of the first grille bar is connected to the outer ring (Fig.5); and
an orthographic projection of a line connecting a center point of the first end of the first grille bar and a center of the first inner ring on a radial plane of the outer ring is a first connection line (M); an orthographic projection of a line connecting a center point of the second end of the first grille bar and the center of the first inner ring on the radial plane of the outer ring is a second connection line (S); the first connection line and the second connection line intersect to form a first angle (α), and a value range of the first angle is less than or equal to 75° and greater than 50° (machine translation ¶36).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further teaches a second inner ring (3214) and a second grille bar (3215), wherein:
the second inner ring is annular and is arranged along an inner circumference of the first inner ring (Fig.5); and
two ends of the second grille bar are respectively connected to the first inner ring and the second inner ring (Fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, see above, however, does not explicitly teach a diameter of the first inner ring is 0.1-0.3 times a diameter of the outer ring.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In the current instance the only difference between claim 2 and the disclosed air guide structure of Chen is the relative dimensions of the first inner ring diameter and the outer ring diameter. Since Chen has disclosed an air guide structure with the claimed components and, if having said claimed relative dimensions between the first inner ring diameter and the outer ring diameter would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claims are not patentably distinct and said relative dimensions modification would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liang et al – hereafter Liang – (CN 214499480 U).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, see above, however, does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of first grille bars comprises a windward surface in a thickness direction of the each of the plurality of first grille bars, and the windward surface of each of the plurality of first grille bars faces a radial plane of the outer ring; a second angle is formed between the windward surface of each of the plurality of first grille bars and the radial plane of the outer ring, and a value range of the second angle is greater than or equal to 50° and less than 90°; and a numerical value and a direction of the second angle at each position on the windward surface of each of the first grille bars are in continuous relationship.
Liang teaches an air guide structure of an axial flow fan (Fig.1/6/7/8), comprising a first inner ring (213), an outer ring (223) and a plurality of first grille bars (222), wherein: the first inner ring and the outer ring are both annular (Fig.7), and each of the plurality of first grille bars is in a shape of a twisted sheet extending in a spiral (Fig.7). Liang further teaches each of the plurality of first grille bars comprises a windward surface (where 222 points to) in a thickness direction of the each of the plurality of first grille bars (Fig.8), and the windward surface of each of the plurality of first grille bars faces a radial plane of the outer ring (Annotated Fig.8); a second angle (Annotated Fig.8, second angle is defined by 90°-α2) is formed between the windward surface of each of the plurality of first grille bars and the radial plane of the outer ring (Annotated Fig.8), and a value range of the second angle is greater than or equal to 50° and less than 90° (machine translation page 8 ¶6, note alpha 2 as defined between windward surface and rotating axis b is 10 degrees to 30 degrees; to determine the second angle as claimed we subtract 10 degrees to 30 degrees from 90 degrees, which gives us a value range of 60° to 80° for the second angle); and a numerical value and a direction of the second angle at each position on the windward surface of each of the first grille bars are in continuous relationship (Annotated Fig.8); said configuration avoids bad wind expanding and wind increased resistance effects (machine translation page 8 ¶6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the air guide structure of Chen by having each of the plurality of first grille bars comprises a windward surface in a thickness direction of the each of the plurality of first grille bars, and the windward surface of each of the plurality of first grille bars faces a radial plane of the outer ring; a second angle is formed between the windward surface of each of the plurality of first grille bars and the radial plane of the outer ring, and a value range of the second angle is greater than or equal to 50° and less than 90°; and a numerical value and a direction of the second angle at each position on the windward surface of each of the first grille bars are in continuous relationship based on the teachings of Liang because this would help avoid bad wind expanding and wind increased resistance effects.
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Liang teach all the limitations of claim 7, see above, however, do not explicitly teach the second angle at each position on the windward surface of each first grille bar of the plurality of first grille bars continuously decreases along a direction from a connection position between the first grille bar and the outer ring to a connection position between the first grille bar and the first inner ring; and a difference between the second angle of the windward surface at the connection position between the first grille bar and the outer ring and the second angle of the windward surface at the connection position between the first grille bar and the first inner ring is less than or equal to 5°.
However, Liang recognizes the second angle as being a result effective variable that could be optimized to help avoid bad wind expanding and wind increased resistance effects (Liang machine learning page 8 ¶6).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the air guide structure of Chen and Liang by having the second angle at each position on the windward surface of each first grille bar of the plurality of first grille bars continuously decreases along a direction from a connection position between the first grille bar and the outer ring to a connection position between the first grille bar and the first inner ring; and a difference between the second angle of the windward surface at the connection position between the first grille bar and the outer ring and the second angle of the windward surface at the connection position between the first grille bar and the first inner ring is less than or equal to 5° via routine optimization based on the teachings of Liang.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745