DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markuze et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0221874) in view of Mundkur et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0081899).
Regarding claim 1, Markuze teaches A network communication system, comprising: a first communication device, comprising: the first network interface controller comprises a first buffer for temporarily storing a packet to be transmitted to the first virtual machine, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs)) It is noted that the limitation “to be transmitted to the first virtual machine” is interpretated as an intended use or purpose limitation because it merely indicates the purpose or intended use of the packet.
wherein in response to an available space in the first buffer being insufficient, the first network interface controller generates and transmits a pause frame corresponding to the first virtual network interface, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
a second communication device, comprising: a second network interface controller, communicatively connected to the first network interface controller, wherein when the second network interface controller receives the pause frame, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
the second network interface controller suspends the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
However, Markuze does not explicitly teach a processor, configured to operate a first virtual machine; and
a first network interface controller, coupled to the processor, wherein the first network interface controller is configured to simulate a first virtual network interface having a first virtual network address,
the first network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the pause frame; and
Mundkur teaches a processor, configured to operate a first virtual machine; and (Mundkur, see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses.)
a first network interface controller, coupled to the processor, wherein the first network interface controller is configured to simulate a first virtual network interface having a first virtual network address, (Mundkur, see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses.)
the first network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the pause frame; and (Mundkur, see fig. 6A; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses...; see paragraph 0083 a packet header in accordance with embodiments of the disclosed technology. As shown in FIG. 6A, the data schema 180 can include a MAC field 181, an IP field 182...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze and Mundkur to provide the technique of a first communication device, comprising: a processor, configured to operate a first virtual machine, a first network interface controller, coupled to the processor, wherein the first network interface controller is configured to simulate a first virtual network interface having a first virtual network address and the first network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the pause frame of Mundkur in the system of Markuze in order to reduce the heavy burden on processing resources (Mundkur, see paragraphs 0004 and 0065).
Regarding claim 4, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein the processor is further configured to operate a second virtual machine, and (Mundkur, see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses.)
the first network interface controller is further configured to simulate a second virtual network interface having a second virtual network address, and (Mundkur, see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses.) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 1 is also applied to claim 4.
the first network interface controller comprises a second buffer for temporarily storing another packet to be transmitted to the second virtual machine. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs))
Regarding claim 5, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein when the second network interface controller receives the pause frame and suspends the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
the second network interface controller transmits the another packet to be transmitted to the second virtual network address to the second virtual network interface of the first network interface controller. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs))
Regarding claim 6, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein the first virtual network address and the second virtual network address are different media access control addresses. (Mundkur, see figs. 1-2 (plurality of virtual devices each with a virtual network address) and 6A; see paragraph 0083 contain a MAC address, an IP address, and a port number of the NIC 136 (FIG. 2) and/or the host 106 (FIG. 2)…; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 1 is also applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein the first network interface controller is configured to operate a physical network interface having a physical network address, (Mundkur, see fig. 6A; see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0081 source/destination IP address, source/destination MAC address (physical address))
wherein the first virtual network address and the physical network address are different media access control addresses. (Mundkur, see figs. 1-2 and 6A; see paragraph 0083 contain a MAC address, an IP address, and a port number of the NIC 136 (FIG. 2) and/or the host 106 (FIG. 2)…; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 1 is also applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Markuze teaches A communication device, comprising: the network interface controller comprises a first buffer for temporarily storing a packet to be transmitted to the first virtual machine, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs))
wherein in response to an available space in the first buffer being insufficient, the first virtual network interface generates and transmits a suspension notification to the second virtual network interface or the physical network interface, and (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
when the second virtual network interface or the physical network interface receives the suspension notification, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
the second virtual network interface or the physical network interface suspends the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
However, Markuze does not explicitly teach a processor, configured to operate a first virtual machine; and a network interface controller, configured to operate a physical network interface having a physical network address,
wherein the network interface controller is configured to simulate a first virtual network interface having a first virtual network address, and the network interface controller is configured to simulate a second virtual network interface having a second virtual network address,
the first virtual network interface records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the suspension notification,
Mundkur teaches a processor, configured to operate a first virtual machine; and a network interface controller, configured to operate a physical network interface having a physical network address, (Mundkur, see fig. 6A; see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0081 source/destination IP address, source/destination MAC address (physical address))
wherein the network interface controller is configured to simulate a first virtual network interface having a first virtual network address, and the network interface controller is configured to simulate a second virtual network interface having a second virtual network address, (Mundkur, see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses.)
the first virtual network interface records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the suspension notification, (Mundkur, see fig. 6A; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses...; see paragraph 0081-0083 an encapsulation rule 116 can takes as input data a source/destination IP address, source/destination MAC address...a packet header in accordance with embodiments of the disclosed technology. As shown in FIG. 6A, the data schema 180 can include a MAC field 181, an IP field 182...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze and Mundkur to provide the technique of a first virtual machine; and a network interface controller, configured to operate a physical network interface having a physical network address, the network interface controller is configured to simulate a first virtual network interface having a first virtual network address, and the network interface controller is configured to simulate a second virtual network interface having a second virtual network address and the first virtual network interface records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the suspension notification of Mundkur in the system of Markuze in order to reduce the heavy burden on processing resources (Mundkur, see paragraphs 0004 and 0065).
Regarding claim 12, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein the processor further operates a second virtual machine, and the second virtual network interface has the second virtual network address, (Mundkur, see paragraph 0007 provide a gateway virtual machine (“VM”) that simply routes the received packets back to the NIC. The NIC, in turn, transmits the packets to a destination VM hosted on, for instance, another server, using IP forwarding or other suitable routing protocols. Thus, sending traffic via the VM at the ER gateway can add to network latency related to processing the packets from the on-premise network...; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses.) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 9 is also applied to claim 12.
the network interface controller comprises a second buffer for temporarily storing another packet to be transmitted to the second virtual machine. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs))
Regarding claim 13, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein when the physical network interface receives the suspension notification and suspends the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
the physical network interface transmits the another packet to be transmitted to the second virtual network address to the second virtual network interface. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs))
Regarding claim 14, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein the first virtual network address and the second virtual network address are different media access control addresses. (Mundkur, see figs. 1-2 (plurality of virtual devices each with a virtual network address) and 6A; see paragraph 0083 contain a MAC address, an IP address, and a port number of the NIC 136 (FIG. 2) and/or the host 106 (FIG. 2)…; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses...)
Regarding claim 15, Markuze-Mundkur teaches wherein the first virtual network address and the physical network address are different media access control addresses. (Mundkur, see figs. 1-2 and 6A; see paragraph 0083 contain a MAC address, an IP address, and a port number of the NIC 136 (FIG. 2) and/or the host 106 (FIG. 2)…; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses...)
Regarding claim 17, Markuze teaches A network communication method, comprising: monitoring an available space of a first buffer on a first communication device, (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
wherein the first buffer temporarily stores a packet to be transmitted to a first virtual machine on a first virtual network address; (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraph 0006 the allocated virtual region implements a dedicated receiving (RX) ring for a network interface controller…; see paragraph 0062 receiving data at a network interface controller (MC) and a second dedicated ring memory buffer is used for transmitting data from the NIC.; see paragraph 0121 specification refers throughout to computational and network environments that include virtual machines (VMs)). It is noted that the limitation “to be transmitted to a first virtual machine on a first virtual network address” is interpretated as an intended use or purpose limitation because it merely indicates the purpose or intended use of the packet.
when the available space of the first buffer is insufficient, by the first communication device, generating a pause frame corresponding to the first virtual network address and (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...) It is noted that although Markuze teaches this limitation, this limitation is interpretated as a contingent limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (see MPEP 2111.04). The claim has been interpreted to not require the condition (when the available space of the first buffer is insufficient) stated to be met.
transmitting the pause frame to a second communication device by the first communication device; and (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
according to the pause frame which is received, by the second communication device, suspending the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address. (Markuze, see fig. 8; see paragraphs 0085-0087 incoming packets will eventually result in the buffer dropping below a threshold...the buffer may become nearly or entirely full...sends (at 825) an indicator to the original source of the set of packets, that the receive window size is zero, stopping the transmission of packets to the receiving socket entirely until the transmitting socket clears enough space in the buffer...)
However, Markuze does not explicitly teach recording the first virtual network address in a source address field of the pause frame;
Mundkur teaches recording the first virtual network address in a source address field of the pause frame; (Mundkur, see figs. 5-6A; see paragraph 0045 A virtual network address can correspond to one of the virtual machine 144 in a particular virtual network 146. Thus, different virtual networks 146 can use one or more virtual network addresses that are the same. Example virtual network addresses can include IP addresses, MAC addresses, and/or other suitable addresses...; see paragraph 0083 a packet header in accordance with embodiments of the disclosed technology. As shown in FIG. 6A, the data schema 180 can include a MAC field 181, an IP field 182...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze and Mundkur to provide the technique of recording the first virtual network address in a source address field of the pause frame of Mundkur in the system of Markuze in order to reduce the heavy burden on processing resources (Mundkur, see paragraphs 0004 and 0065).
Claims 2-3, 8, 10-11, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markuze-Mundkur in view of Zhang (U.S. PGPub 2022/0046465).
Regarding claim 2, Markuze-Mundkur teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Markuze-Mundkur does not explicitly teach wherein when the first network interface controller generates the pause frame, a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address is recorded in a pause time field of the pause frame.
Zhang teaches wherein when the first network interface controller generates the pause frame, a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address is recorded in a pause time field of the pause frame. (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0054 an information structure similar to that used in the PFC-PAUSE frame... duration of the pause is encoded in the time vector 304 in the value corresponding to priority level 4, i.e. Time (4). In this way pause durations for all eight priority levels can be indicated. Each Time(n) field can assume a value in the range of 0 to 65535 pause quanta...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze-Mundkur and Zhang to provide the technique of when the first network interface controller generates the pause frame, a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address is recorded in a pause time field of the pause frame of Zhang in the system of Markuze-Mundkur in order to provide a network with low latency and minimal jitter (Zhang, see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 3, Markuze-Mundkur-Zhang teaches wherein the second network interface controller includes a time counter and a packet waiting queue, and the time counter calculates a paused duration based on the pause frame, (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0069 In the PFC-PAUSE MAC flow control timers are started, 610, for the various priority levels based on the priority enable vector and time vector….612-Yes and the operation of the eCPRI interface (and also the transport interface) resumes...; see paragraph 0064 encapsulation of eCPRI packets and pausing, 608, transmission of traffic over a transport interface to the receiver node, 504.)
when the paused duration has not reached the pause time parameter, the second network interface controller temporarily stores the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address in the packet waiting queue, (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0031 MAC flow control mechanism is PAUSE specified in IEEE 802.3x. In this mechanism a MAC control frame, known as IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame is transmitted by a node receiving traffic to a node sending the traffic when buffer level at the node receiving traffic reaches a predefined threshold...receiving the IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame the node starts a timer with a value as specified in the IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame and stops transmission of data frames. Transmission of data frames resumes when the timer expires...; see paragraph 0063 receiving, 606, at least one MAC flow control frame from the receiver node, 504 (e.g. a PFC-FRAME); see paragraph 0058 information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control in response to the buffer level increasing and reaching a XOFF threshold in step 104-1. After this first message is sent the method comprises transmitting, 114-1, a XOFF frame. The XOFF message is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in pausing the transport interface and the eCPRI interface at the same time....The XON frame is sent with a delay...)
when the paused duration reaches the pause time parameter, the second network interface controller transmits the packet which is corresponding to the first virtual network address and is temporarily stored in the packet waiting queue to the first virtual network interface of the first network interface controller. (Zhang, see fig. 6; see paragraph 0069 In the PFC-PAUSE MAC flow control timers are started, 610, for the various priority levels based on the priority enable vector and time vector….612-Yes and the operation of the eCPRI interface (and also the transport interface) resumes...; see paragraph 0064 encapsulation of eCPRI packets and pausing, 608, transmission of traffic over a transport interface to the receiver node, 504.; see paragraph 0058 information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control in response to the buffer level increasing and reaching a XOFF threshold in step 104-1. After this first message is sent the method comprises transmitting, 114-1, a XOFF frame. The XOFF message is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in pausing the transport interface and the eCPRI interface at the same time....The XON frame is sent with a delay...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 2 is also applied to claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, Markuze-Mundkur teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Markuze-Mundkur does not explicitly teach wherein in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, the first network interface controller generates and transmits a deactivation flow control frame corresponding to the first virtual network interface,
the first network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the deactivation flow control frame, and the first network interface controller records a zero value in a pause time field of the deactivation flow control frame.
Zhang teaches wherein in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, the first network interface controller generates and transmits a deactivation flow control frame corresponding to the first virtual network interface, (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0052 transmitting, 114, the at least one MAC flow control frame comprises sending a PFC-PAUSE frame. As explained earlier the MAC flow control using PFC-PAUSE frame is described in IEEE 802.1Qbb and it specifies 8 priority levels... to prevent buffer overflow...; see paragraph 0058 transmitting, 114-2, a XON frame. The XON frame is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in resuming the transport interface and the eCPRT interface at the same time...)
the first network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the deactivation flow control frame, and the first network interface controller records a zero value in a pause time field of the deactivation flow control frame. (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0052 transmitting, 114, the at least one MAC flow control frame comprises sending a PFC-PAUSE frame. As explained earlier the MAC flow control using PFC-PAUSE frame is described in IEEE 802.1Qbb and it specifies 8 priority levels... to prevent buffer overflow...; see paragraph 0058 transmitting, 114-2, a XON frame. The XON frame is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in resuming the transport interface and the eCPRT interface at the same time...; see paragraph 0060 first message is set to a first value greater than zero, for example 65535 pause quanta, which is the maximum value allowed for the pause duration. Preferably, the information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control carried in said second message is set to zero.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze-Mundkur and Zhang to provide the technique of in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, the first network interface controller generates and transmits a deactivation flow control frame corresponding to the first virtual network interface and the first network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the deactivation flow control frame, and the first network interface controller records a zero value in a pause time field of the deactivation flow control frame of Zhang in the system of Markuze-Mundkur in order to provide a network with low latency and minimal jitter (Zhang, see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 10, Markuze-Mundkur teaches all of the features of claim 9. However, Markuze-Mundkur does not explicitly teach wherein when the network interface controller generates the suspension notification, a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address is recorded in a pause time field of the suspension notification.
Zhang teaches wherein when the network interface controller generates the suspension notification, a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address is recorded in a pause time field of the suspension notification. (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0054 an information structure similar to that used in the PFC-PAUSE frame... duration of the pause is encoded in the time vector 304 in the value corresponding to priority level 4, i.e. Time (4). In this way pause durations for all eight priority levels can be indicated. Each Time(n) field can assume a value in the range of 0 to 65535 pause quanta...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze-Mundkur and Zhang to provide the technique of when the network interface controller generates the suspension notification, a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address is recorded in a pause time field of the suspension notification of Zhang in the system of Markuze-Mundkur in order to provide a network with low latency and minimal jitter (Zhang, see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 11, Markuze-Mundkur-Zhang teaches wherein the network interface controller comprises a time counter and a packet waiting queue, and the time counter calculates a paused duration since the suspension notification is received, (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0069 In the PFC-PAUSE MAC flow control timers are started, 610, for the various priority levels based on the priority enable vector and time vector….612-Yes and the operation of the eCPRI interface (and also the transport interface) resumes...; see paragraph 0064 encapsulation of eCPRI packets and pausing, 608, transmission of traffic over a transport interface to the receiver node, 504.)
when the paused duration has not reached the pause time parameter, the network interface controller temporarily stores the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address in the packet waiting queue, (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0031 MAC flow control mechanism is PAUSE specified in IEEE 802.3x. In this mechanism a MAC control frame, known as IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame is transmitted by a node receiving traffic to a node sending the traffic when buffer level at the node receiving traffic reaches a predefined threshold...receiving the IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame the node starts a timer with a value as specified in the IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame and stops transmission of data frames. Transmission of data frames resumes when the timer expires...; see paragraph 0063 receiving, 606, at least one MAC flow control frame from the receiver node, 504 (e.g. a PFC-FRAME); see paragraph 0058 information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control in response to the buffer level increasing and reaching a XOFF threshold in step 104-1. After this first message is sent the method comprises transmitting, 114-1, a XOFF frame. The XOFF message is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in pausing the transport interface and the eCPRI interface at the same time....The XON frame is sent with a delay...)
when the paused duration reaches the pause time parameter, the network interface controller transmits the packet which is temporarily stored in the packet waiting queue and is corresponding to the first virtual network address to the first virtual network interface. (Zhang, see fig. 6; see paragraph 0069 In the PFC-PAUSE MAC flow control timers are started, 610, for the various priority levels based on the priority enable vector and time vector….612-Yes and the operation of the eCPRI interface (and also the transport interface) resumes...; see paragraph 0064 encapsulation of eCPRI packets and pausing, 608, transmission of traffic over a transport interface to the receiver node, 504.; see paragraph 0058 information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control in response to the buffer level increasing and reaching a XOFF threshold in step 104-1. After this first message is sent the method comprises transmitting, 114-1, a XOFF frame. The XOFF message is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in pausing the transport interface and the eCPRI interface at the same time....The XON frame is sent with a delay...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 10 is also applied to claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, Markuze-Mundkur teaches all of the features of claim 9. However, Markuze-Mundkur does not explicitly teach wherein in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, the network interface controller generates and transmits a resume notification corresponding to the first virtual network interface,
the network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the resume notification, and the network interface controller records a zero value in a pause time field of the resume notification.
Zhang teaches wherein in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, the network interface controller generates and transmits a resume notification corresponding to the first virtual network interface, (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0052 transmitting, 114, the at least one MAC flow control frame comprises sending a PFC-PAUSE frame. As explained earlier the MAC flow control using PFC-PAUSE frame is described in IEEE 802.1Qbb and it specifies 8 priority levels... to prevent buffer overflow...; see paragraph 0058 transmitting, 114-2, a XON frame. The XON frame is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in resuming the transport interface and the eCPRT interface at the same time...)
the network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the resume notification, and the network interface controller records a zero value in a pause time field of the resume notification. (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0052 transmitting, 114, the at least one MAC flow control frame comprises sending a PFC-PAUSE frame. As explained earlier the MAC flow control using PFC-PAUSE frame is described in IEEE 802.1Qbb and it specifies 8 priority levels... to prevent buffer overflow...; see paragraph 0058 transmitting, 114-2, a XON frame. The XON frame is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in resuming the transport interface and the eCPRT interface at the same time...; see paragraph 0060 first message is set to a first value greater than zero, for example 65535 pause quanta, which is the maximum value allowed for the pause duration. Preferably, the information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control carried in said second message is set to zero.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze-Mundkur and Zhang to provide the technique of in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, the network interface controller generates and transmits a resume notification corresponding to the first virtual network interface and the network interface controller records the first virtual network address in a source address field of the resume notification, and the network interface controller records a zero value in a pause time field of the resume notification of Zhang in the system of Markuze-Mundkur in order to provide a network with low latency and minimal jitter (Zhang, see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 18, Markuze-Mundkur teaches all of the features of claim 17. However, Markuze-Mundkur does not explicitly teach further comprising: when the first communication device generates the pause frame, recording a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address in a pause time field of the pause frame.
Zhang teaches further comprising: when the first communication device generates the pause frame, recording a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address in a pause time field of the pause frame. (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0054 an information structure similar to that used in the PFC-PAUSE frame... duration of the pause is encoded in the time vector 304 in the value corresponding to priority level 4, i.e. Time (4). In this way pause durations for all eight priority levels can be indicated. Each Time(n) field can assume a value in the range of 0 to 65535 pause quanta...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze-Mundkur and Zhang to provide the technique of when the first communication device generates the pause frame, recording a pause time parameter corresponding to the first virtual network address in a pause time field of the pause frame of Zhang in the system of Markuze-Mundkur in order to provide a network with low latency and minimal jitter (Zhang, see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 19, Markuze-Mundkur-Zhang teaches wherein the second communication device comprises a time counter and a packet waiting queue, the time counter calculates a paused duration since receiving a suspension notification, and (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0069 In the PFC-PAUSE MAC flow control timers are started, 610, for the various priority levels based on the priority enable vector and time vector….612-Yes and the operation of the eCPRI interface (and also the transport interface) resumes...; see paragraph 0064 encapsulation of eCPRI packets and pausing, 608, transmission of traffic over a transport interface to the receiver node, 504.)
the network communication method further comprises: when the paused duration has not reached the pause time parameter, temporarily storing the packet to be transmitted to the first virtual network address in the packet waiting queue, and (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0031 MAC flow control mechanism is PAUSE specified in IEEE 802.3x. In this mechanism a MAC control frame, known as IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame is transmitted by a node receiving traffic to a node sending the traffic when buffer level at the node receiving traffic reaches a predefined threshold...receiving the IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame the node starts a timer with a value as specified in the IEEE 802.3x PAUSE frame and stops transmission of data frames. Transmission of data frames resumes when the timer expires...; see paragraph 0063 receiving, 606, at least one MAC flow control frame from the receiver node, 504 (e.g. a PFC-FRAME); see paragraph 0058 information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control in response to the buffer level increasing and reaching a XOFF threshold in step 104-1. After this first message is sent the method comprises transmitting, 114-1, a XOFF frame. The XOFF message is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in pausing the transport interface and the eCPRI interface at the same time....The XON frame is sent with a delay...)
when the paused duration reaches the pause time parameter, transmitting the packet which is temporarily stored in the packet waiting queue and is corresponding to the first virtual network address to the first virtual network address. (Zhang, see fig. 6; see paragraph 0069 In the PFC-PAUSE MAC flow control timers are started, 610, for the various priority levels based on the priority enable vector and time vector….612-Yes and the operation of the eCPRI interface (and also the transport interface) resumes...; see paragraph 0064 encapsulation of eCPRI packets and pausing, 608, transmission of traffic over a transport interface to the receiver node, 504.; see paragraph 0058 information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control in response to the buffer level increasing and reaching a XOFF threshold in step 104-1. After this first message is sent the method comprises transmitting, 114-1, a XOFF frame. The XOFF message is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in pausing the transport interface and the eCPRI interface at the same time....The XON frame is sent with a delay...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 18 is also applied to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Markuze-Mundkur teaches all of the features of claim 17. However, Markuze-Mundkur does not explicitly teach further comprising: using the first communication device to monitor whether the available space of the first buffer is restored; in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, by the first communication device, generating a deactivation flow control frame, recording the first virtual network address in a source address field of the deactivation flow control frame, and
recording a zero value in a pause time field of the deactivation flow control frame; and transmitting the deactivation flow control frame to the second communication device by the first communication device.
Zhang teaches further comprising: using the first communication device to monitor whether the available space of the first buffer is restored; in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, by the first communication device, generating a deactivation flow control frame, recording the first virtual network address in a source address field of the deactivation flow control frame, and (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0052 transmitting, 114, the at least one MAC flow control frame comprises sending a PFC-PAUSE frame. As explained earlier the MAC flow control using PFC-PAUSE frame is described in IEEE 802.1Qbb and it specifies 8 priority levels... to prevent buffer overflow...; see paragraph 0058 transmitting, 114-2, a XON frame. The XON frame is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in resuming the transport interface and the eCPRT interface at the same time...)
recording a zero value in a pause time field of the deactivation flow control frame; and transmitting the deactivation flow control frame to the second communication device by the first communication device. (Zhang, see figs. 1 and 3-6; see paragraph 0052 transmitting, 114, the at least one MAC flow control frame comprises sending a PFC-PAUSE frame. As explained earlier the MAC flow control using PFC-PAUSE frame is described in IEEE 802.1Qbb and it specifies 8 priority levels... to prevent buffer overflow...; see paragraph 0058 transmitting, 114-2, a XON frame. The XON frame is sent with a delay which is determined in the same way as discussed earlier. This results in resuming the transport interface and the eCPRT interface at the same time...; see paragraph 0060 first message is set to a first value greater than zero, for example 65535 pause quanta, which is the maximum value allowed for the pause duration. Preferably, the information indicative of length of time of the MAC flow control carried in said second message is set to zero.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Markuze-Mundkur and Zhang to provide the technique of using the first communication device to monitor whether the available space of the first buffer is restored; in response to the available space in the first buffer being restored to be sufficient, by the first communication device, generating a deactivation flow control frame, recording the first virtual network address in a source address field of the deactivation flow control frame, and recording a zero value in a pause time field of the deactivation flow control frame; and transmitting the deactivation flow control frame to the second communication device by the first communication device of Zhang in the system of Markuze-Mundkur in order to provide a network with low latency and minimal jitter (Zhang, see paragraph 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPub 2014/0201354, which describes techniques related to network traffic debugging;
U.S. PGPub 2023/0344778, which describes a framework that provisions for customized processing for different classes of traffic; and
U.S. PGPub 2022/0416925, which describes techniques related accurate time-stamping of outbound packets.
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443