Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 line 4 recites that “in a direction from the first surface to the second surface”. It is unclear as to whether all three layers including the first conductivity type semiconductor layer, active layer, and the second conductivity type semiconductor layer are arranged in a direction from the first surface to the second surface; or only two layers including active layer and the second conductivity type semiconductor layer are arranged in a direction from the first surface to the second surface. Clarifications are respectfully requested. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as all three layers being arranged in a direction from the first surface to the second surface.
Dependent claims 2-20 is/are also rejected for inheriting the flaws from the parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (US 20240213412) in view of Check (US 20230395747 )
Meng discloses
1. A light-emitting diode, comprising:
a semiconductor epitaxial stack layer, having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, and comprising a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (108), an active layer (107) and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (106) in a direction from the first surface to the second surface, wherein the first surface is a light-emitting surface (par. 22);
a current spreading layer (105), located on a side of the second surface of the semiconductor epitaxial stack layer, wherein the current spreading layer is formed as a pattern current spreading layer, the pattern current spreading layer defines a plurality of platform regions (“non-recess regions”), and recessed regions are defined around each of the plurality of platform regions (Figs. 2-8; par. 22, 40);
an ohmic contact layer (104), located on a side of the plurality of platform regions facing away from the second surface;
a light-transmissive dielectric layer (103), located on a side of the ohmic contact layer facing away from the semiconductor epitaxial stack layer, and filled into the recessed regions, wherein the light-transmissive dielectric layer has a plurality of openings (V1) to define a plurality of conductive through holes (par. 28, 34: reflection layer 102 is made of conductive metal and fills the through holes V1, therefore the openings V1 are conductive through holes); and
a reflecting layer (102), disposed on the light-transmissive dielectric layer, and filled into the plurality of conductive through holes (V1), wherein the reflecting layer is electrically connected to the ohmic contact layer (103) (Figs. 2-8; par. 22).
Meng further discloses that “the ohmic contact layer 104 has a patterned structure. The ohmic contact layer 104 may have a regular pattern or an irregular pattern” (par. 35) and the recess regions or non-recess regions may have a shape such as circular, semicircular, triangular, pentagonal, hexagonal, etc. such that when each of the non-recess regions have a shape, i.e. circular, the recess regions surround the circular non-recess regions (par. 40)
Meng fails to show multiple platform regions such that a distance between geometric centers of any two adjacent platform regions within the plurality of platform regions is equal
Check discloses an LED 10, 22 comprising a region current spreading layer 18 are provided as circular regions of decreasing diameter with distance away from the n-contact interconnects 52. In other embodiments, the regions of the current spreading layer 18 may embody other shapes, such as squares, ovals, rectangles, hexagons, octagons, etc. … FIG. 5A is a view of the LED chip 54 of FIG. 4 illustrating a pattern of various regions 18-1, 18-2 of the current spreading layer 18. Locations of the n-contact interconnects 52 are shown as larger areas that are devoid of the current spreading layer regions 18-1, 18-2. As illustrated, the regions 18-1 that are closest to the n-contact interconnects 52 have larger diameters than the regions 18-2 that are spaced farther from the n-contact interconnects 52. In this manner, increased current spreading and injection may be provided along edges of the p-type layer 26 of FIG. 2 that are near the n-contact interconnects 52 (Figs. 2-6, par. 52-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to combine the teachings of Check and Meng by making a current spreading layer having circular platform regions in a light emitting diode assembly so that the spreading of the current yields the desired characteristics. It would have also been obvious that although silent to “equal” in distance between the geometric centers, the term “pattern” in both Meng and Check typically suggests repeating and equal distance between the elements. Furthermore, it has been recognized that rearrangement of parts, i.e. centers, is an obvious extension of the prior art; see MPEP 2144.04
2.1, wherein a cross-sectional shape of each of the plurality of platform regions is a circle or a regular polygon (Meng, par. 40; Check, Fig. 4-6, par. 52-53).
4.1, wherein the distance between the geometric centers of any two adjacent platform regions within the plurality of platform regions is D, a circle is drawn with a geometric center of any one of the plurality of platform regions as a center and the distance D as a radius, geometric centers of 2k of the plurality of platform regions are located on the circle, and k is a natural number greater than or equal to 1 (Meng is silent to the arrangement of equal distance as recited; however, Figs. 4-5 of Check show a pattern in which the platforms are approximately equal to each other; thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to extend the prior art to clearly make the centers on a circle as desirable; furthermore, it has been recognized that rearrangement of parts, i.e. centers or through holes, is an obvious extension of the prior art; see MPEP 2144.04).
5.1, Meng discloses wherein a cross-sectional shape of each of the plurality of platform regions is a circle (Check, Fig. 4-6, par. 52-53)
6.1, wherein a projection area of the plurality of platform regions on the second surface is 5% to 50% of a surface area of the current spreading layer (Meng, par. 22, 43: “the area of the second contacting surface 104b of the ohmic contact layer 104 accounts for 2% to 60% of the area of the second surface (S2)”).
7.1, Meng describes “non-recess region of the current spreading layer 105 has a thickness greater than a thickness of the recess region of the current spreading layer 105”.
Meng is silent to a depth of each of the recessed regions is ⅓ to ⅔ of a thickness of the current spreading layer. However, courts have recognized that changing size and shape is an obvious extension of the prior art. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to extend the prior art’s teachings to arrive at the design choice of desired depth of recessed regions.
8.1, wherein the plurality of platform regions are defined in the current spreading layer, a depth of each of the recessed regions is equal to a thickness of the current spreading layer (Meng, Fig. 2; Check, Fig. 2)
11.1, further comprising: a substrate (100), located on a side of the reflecting layer facing away from the second surface; a metal bonding layer (101), located between the substrate and the reflecting layer; and a second electrode (110), located on a side of the substrate facing away from the second surface, and electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer (Meng, par. 22, 38: electrodes 109 and 110 are on top and bottom so as to achieve vertical flow of current through the semiconductor epitaxial structure, which inherently implies that electrical current flows between these electrodes to produce energy in terms of light; see attached NPL ”How does an LED work?” and associated Youtube video https://youtu.be/No8PZsLnjZU from the NPL)
12.1, Meng is silent to wherein a sidewall of each of the plurality of platform regions is a vertical sidewall. However, Meng in at least Fig. 2 and Check in Fig. 2 show the sidewalls are a slight incline from vertical. The courts have recognized that changing size and shape is an obvious extension of the prior art. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to extend the prior art’s teachings to arrive at the design choice of vertical wall.
13.1, wherein a sidewall of each of the plurality of platform regions is an inclined sidewall (Meng, Figs. 2-3; Check, Fig. 2).
14.13, Meng/Check discloses wherein an opening size of a side (that contacts the reflective interconnect 40 in Check, Fig. 2) of each of the plurality of platform regions facing away from the second surface (bottom surface of p-type layer 26) is smaller than a bottom size of a side (that contacts the p layer 26) of the plurality of platform regions proximate to the second surface (Check, Fig. 2, par. 52: “regions of the current spreading layer 18 are provided as circular regions of decreasing diameter with distance away from the n-contact interconnects 52”)
15.7, wherein the thickness of the current spreading layer is in a range of 0.02 μm to 1.5 μm (Meng, par. 26).
16.1, wherein a thickness of the light-transmissive dielectric layer is above 100 nm, and transmittance of the light-transmissive dielectric layer is at least 70% (Meng, par. 31).
17.1, wherein a cross-section area of the ohmic contact layer (104) is greater than a cross-section area the plurality of conductive through holes (V1) of the light-transmissive dielectric layer (Meng, Fig. 2, par. 36, 43).
18.1, wherein a reflectivity of the reflecting layer is above 70%, and a material of the reflecting layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of silver (Ag), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), rhodium (Rh), palladium (Pd), iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), magnesium (Mg), titanium (Ti), chromium (Cr), zinc (Zn), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), and hafnium (Hf) (Meng, par. 28)
19. A light-emitting device, comprising a circuit board, and at least one light-emitting element located on the circuit board, wherein the at least one light-emitting element comprises the light-emitting diode as claimed in claim 1 (Check, par. 49)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (US 20240213412)/ Check (US 20230395747 ) further in view of Wang (CN 117276443 A)
Re claim 3.1, Meng discloses “preferably the current spreading layer 105 of material is GaP, the thickness is 0.02 to 1.5 microns, more preferably the thickness of the current spreading layer 105 is 0.02 to 0.8 microns … horizontal width size of the transparent dielectric layer 103 is 2 to 10 microns, more preferably 2 to 6 microns”,
Meng is silent to wherein the distance between the geometric centers of any two adjacent platform regions within the plurality of platform regions is in a range of 10 μm to 30 μm.
Wang discloses in relation to Fig. 1 that is showing the current spreading layer 133 comprising holes 15 and surrounding platform regions. The distance between the geometric centers of any two adjacent platform regions is approximately W2 (Fig. 2). Wang further discloses “Preferably, the distance W2 between the centers of two adjacent current expansion holes 1211 in the smallest repeating unit in the array is 10 μm to 20 μm.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to extend the prior art teachings to achieve desired characteristics. Furthermore, Meng’s teaching above implies that the dimensioning of the layers can be within the skills of one of ordinary skill in the art consistent with court holding; see MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (US 20240213412) / Check (US 20230395747 ) further in view of Lu (CN 117117057)
Re claim 9.1, further comprising a first electrode located on a side of the first surface and electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layer, wherein the first electrode comprises a pad electrode and expansion electrodes, the expansion electrodes are distributed on the side of the first surface, and when projected toward the first surface, projections of the expansion electrodes and the pad electrode do not overlap with a projection of the plurality of platform regions of the current spreading layer (Meng, par. 37: The first electrode 109 is disposed on the light exiting surface (i.e., the first surface (S1)) of the semiconductor epitaxial structure. In some embodiments, the first electrode 109 includes a pad electrode and an extension electrode (not shown)”; Fig. 1-4 show electrode 109 does not overlap the platform regions; Meng is silent to multiple expansion electrodes not overlapping a projection of platform regions; Lu discloses an LED structure comprising current spreading layer 122 having platform regions where contacts are made with the second semiconductor layer 113 of the epitaxial structure 110; Lu further discloses electrodes 150 are not entirely overlapped with these platform regions; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Lu to prevent current crowding and enable uniform current spreading).
10.9, wherein a cross-sectional shape of each of the plurality of platform regions is a circle, and a minimum spacing distance between the projections of the expansion electrodes and projections of geometric centers of the plurality of platform regions is 1.2 to 3.2 times of a diameter of the circle (Meng is silent to the distance between projections of the expansion electrodes and the geometric centers of any two adjacent platform regions within the plurality of platform regions is 1.2 to 3.2 times of a diameter of the circle; However, courts have recognized that changing size and shape is an obvious extension of the prior art. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to extend the prior art’s teachings to arrive at the design choice of circular regions having geometric centers that are 1.2-3.2 times of the circle diameter)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (CN 115986028 A) / Check (US 20230395747 ) in view of Wu (US 20040227146)
Re claim 20, Meng/Check disclose the LED chip 22 is arranged for flip-chip mounting and the p-contact 46 and n-contact 48 are configured to be mounted or bonded to a surface (par. 49)
Meng/Check is silent to wherein an electrode of the light-emitting diode is fixedly connected to a circuit layer of the circuit board through soldering, and another electrode of the light-emitting diode is connected to the circuit layer of the circuit board through a wire bonding process
Wu discloses a circuit board substrate 10 where LED 11 is mounted. [0004] FIG. 1 shows a prior art for mounting LEDs, such as LED 11, on a display panel. The LED 11 is mounted on a substrate 10, which is lined with printed circuits 101, 102. The top electrode of the LED 11 is wire bonded to circuit 101 with solder and the bottom electrode of LED 11 is soldered to the circuit 102.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Wu so that the circuit board can support the LED and enable connection of the LED with other circuit elements.
Conclusion
/THIEN T MAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876