DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS documents submitted 4/16/2025 and 12/9/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 3/31/2025 are acknowledged and acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,178. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entirety of claims 1 and 2 of the instant application include equivalent subject matter and terminology to the conflicting claim 4.
Claims 3-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,178 in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent 8,769,859). The conflicting US Patent teaches all limitations of claims 3 and 4 except a spring-loaded ball detent to releasably retain the sight support member in the first position or that the spring-loaded ball detent releasably retains the support member in the second position. However, Li et al (henceforth referred to as Li) teaches a sight support device that moves from a first to a second position and includes a spring-loaded ball detent to releasably retain the support in each of the positions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a ball detent device in/on the instant invention as taught by Li, to allow for repeated movement from one position to the other. Additionally, the conflicting claims do not teach that the base comprises a pair of spaced pivot bosses that project upwardly therefrom and the pivot portion of the sight support member is configured to fit between the pair of spaced pivot bosses and the pivot portion of the sight support member is rotatably coupled to the pivot bosses of the base by a pivot pin or that the ball detent is carried in the pivot portion and received by a recess in a “detent plate” of the interior side of the bosses.
However, Li also shows a similar structure with two bosses and a pivot pin allowing a sight support member to pivot between the bosses and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to facilitate the claimed structure as taught by Li in/on the instant invention to allow for pivoting in and out of use position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by LaRue et al. (U.S. Patent 7,908,782).
In regards to claim 9, LaRue et al (henceforth referred to as LaRue) disclose pivot mount for an optical sighting device, the pivot mount comprising:
a base configured to releasably engage a mounting interface of a firearm. Figures 1 and 2 of LaRue illustrates a base that releasably engages a mounting portion of a weapon; and
a sight support member rotatably coupled to the base. Item 96 of LaRue is a sight supporting member and is coupled to the attachment base (see figure 2);
wherein:
the sight support member includes a pivot portion rotatably connected to the
base. As shown in figure 2, an attachment portion of the support functions as a pivot;
the pivot portion is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis. The pivot axis runs through the pivot bosses (items 64 and 66) and is horizontal relative to the firearm; and
the sight support member is configured to move an attached optical sighting
device between a first position, in which the attached optical sighting device is in a use
position, and a second position, in which the attached optical sighting device is vertically offset from the first position, both the first and the second positions being laterally offset to one side of the horizontal axis about which the pivot portion rotates. The figures of LaRue show that the sight support member is designed to hold a sighting device and move it from a use position (figures 1 and 2), to a second position shown in figure 4 and also noting that both positions have the sighting device laterally offset from the horizontal axis.
In regards to claim 10, LaRue discloses that the sight support member further comprises a sight attachment device configured to secure the attached optical sighting device to the sight support member. The device of LaRue includes a ring section (item 112) to hold the sight device.
In regards to claim 13, LaRue discloses that the base comprises a pair of spaced pivot bosses that project upwardly therefrom (items 64 and 66), and the pivot portion of the sight support member is configured to fit between the pair of spaced pivot bosses (see figures 1-4), wherein the pivot portion of the sight support member is rotatably coupled to the pivot bosses of the base by a pivot pin. Note the pivot shaft (item 76).
In regards to claim 17, LaRue disclose pivot mount for an optical sighting device, the pivot mount comprising:
a base configured to releasably engage a mounting interface of a firearm. Figures 1 and 2 of LaRue illustrates a base that releasably engages a mounting portion of a weapon; and
a sight support member rotatably coupled to the base. LaRue teaches a pivoting ring section to hold a sighting device;
wherein:
the sight support member is configured to move an attached optical sighting
device between a first position, in which the attached optical sighting device is in a use
position that is aligned with a sighting axis of the firearm, and a second position, in
which the attached optical sighting device is vertically offset from the sighting axis of the firearm and is positioned over the mounting interface. LaRue teaches that the sight supporting ring structure pivots from a use position aligned with the sighting axis of a firearm and to another position where the sighting device would still be at least partially over the mounting interface and vertically offset from the sighting axis. Note that when the ring mount begins to pivot from the use position as shown in figure 3, it immediately reaches a position vertically above the sighting axis, but still over the mounting interface.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by First Gear TACOMHQ TARAC Double Zeros.
In regards to claim 17, First Gear TACOMHQ TARAC Double Zeros (henceforth referred to as TARAC) disclose pivot mount for an optical sighting device. As shown in TARAC pg. 1 photograph, an optical device is pivot mounted in front of a scope, the pivot mount comprising:
a base configured to releasably engage a mounting interface of a firearm. Note the base that holds the TARAC optical device; and
a sight support member rotatably coupled to the base. The TARAC is supported in a metal frame;
wherein:
the sight support member is configured to move an attached optical sighting
device between a first position, in which the attached optical sighting device is in a use
position that is aligned with a sighting axis of the firearm, and a second position, in
which the attached optical sighting device is vertically offset from the sighting axis of the firearm and is positioned over the mounting interface. TARAC teaches flipping the TARAC to a use position aligned with the sighting axis (in front of the scope) and to a second non-use position rotated vertically down as shown in the 2nd photographs from pg. 1 of TARAC.
In regards to claim 18, TARAC discloses that both the first and second positions are located substantially on a vertical plane that is substantially co-aligned with the
sighting axis of the firearm. The two positions remain along the same sighting axis plane.
In regards to claim 19, TARAC discloses that the sight support member further comprises a sight attachment device configured to secure the attached optical sighting device to the sight support member. As shown in the photograph of TARAC, the optical sighting sighting component is attached to the sight support member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaRue et al. (U.S. Patent 7,908,782) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent 8,769,859).
In regards to claims 11-16, LaRue fails to disclose a spring-loaded ball detent configured to releasably retain the sight support member in the first position, or that the spring-loaded ball detent is configured to releasably retain the sight support member in the second position. Additionally, LaRue also does not disclose that the spring-loaded ball detent is carried in the pivot portion of the sight support member and is releasably received by a recess located on an interior side of one of the pair of spaced pivot bosses and the recess configured to releasably receive the spring-loaded ball detent is formed in a detent plate. However, Li teaches a sight support device that moves from a first to a second position and includes a spring-loaded ball detent to releasably retain the support in each of the positions and includes a ball detent and recess as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a ball detent device in/on the instant invention as taught by Li, to allow for repeated movement from one position to the other.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over First Gear TACOMHQ TARAC Double Zeros in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent 8,769,859).
In regards to claim 20, TARAC fails to disclose a spring-loaded ball detent
configured to releasably retain the sight support member in the first position. However, Li teaches a sight support device that moves from a first to a second position and includes a spring-loaded ball detent to releasably retain the support in each of the positions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a ball detent device in/on the TARAC invention as taught by Li, to allow for repeated movement from one position to the other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 would be allowed pending an approved Terminal Disclaimer.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 1, the closest prior art fails to teach or make obvious, including all the limitations of claim 1, that the second position is laterally offset to one side of the horizontal axis and vertically offset below the first position.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641