DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/31/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the claim limitations of “the first base material and the second base material” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 15-17 are dependent on claim 14 and therefore inherits its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ausserlechner, US 20130138372
Regarding claim 1, Ausserlechner discloses a semiconductor device, including: a substrate including a first substrate surface and a second substrate surface opposite to the first substrate surface (Fig. 1a-4; substrate/pcb 112); a wiring pattern including a first wiring pattern provided on the first substrate surface (Fig. 1a-2; conductor trace 110 ); and a sensor chip used to detect a current flowing through the wiring pattern (Fig. 2, 4; current sensor package 100), wherein the first wiring pattern includes a detection pattern having a predetermined width (Fig. 2, 4; both conductors have a width), the sensor chip is mounted on the first substrate surface in a state of being disposed to cross the detection pattern (Fig. 1a-2; current sensor 100 above conductor 110), and the sensor chip includes a detection element that detects a magnetic field generated by a current flowing through the detection pattern (Fig.1a- 2; magnetic sensor 102 detects calibration current 109).
Regarding claim 2, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the detection element includes a first detection element and a second detection element which are provided on both sides of the detection pattern in a width direction with respect to the detection pattern when viewed from a thickness direction of the substrate and are disposed opposite to each other in the width direction via the detection pattern (Fig. 7; 102a, 102b).
Regarding claim 3, Ausserlechner teaches wherein a gap is provided between the sensor chip and the detection pattern in a thickness direction of the substrate (Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 19, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the semiconductor device is used when the current flowing through the detection pattern is 10 A or more (¶[0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the detection element is a Hall element (¶[0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner, US 20130138372
Regarding claim 4, Ausserlechner is silent in wherein a distance between the detection element and the detection pattern in the thickness direction of the substrate is smaller than a thickness of the detection pattern. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a desired distance between the pattern and detection element, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide the desired distance for the benefit of detecting the magnetic field in the pattern.
Regarding claim 18, Ausserlechner is silent in wherein the sensor chip includes: a third detection element disposed alongside the first detection element in a direction in which the detection pattern extends; and a fourth detection element disposed at a same position as the third detection element and alongside the second detection element in the direction in which the detection pattern extends. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide multiple detection elements, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide multiple detection elements for the benefit of having redundant circuits for greater reliability.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner, US 20130138372 in view of Vuillermet et al., US 20230251290
Regarding claim 5, Ausserlechner is silent in wherein the first wiring pattern includes: a first pattern extending in a first direction; a second pattern provided at a position spaced apart from the first pattern in the first direction and extending in the first direction; and the detection pattern provided between the first pattern and the second pattern and connecting the first pattern and the second pattern, wherein the first pattern has a first width, which is a length in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction when viewed from a thickness direction of the substrate, the second pattern has a second width, which is a length in the second direction, the detection pattern has a connection width, which is a length in the second direction, the connection width is narrower than the first width and the second width, and the sensor chip is mounted on the first substrate surface in a state of being disposed to cross the detection pattern.
Vuillermet teaches wherein the first wiring pattern includes: a first pattern extending in a first direction; a second pattern provided at a position spaced apart from the first pattern in the first direction and extending in the first direction (Fig. 5a-5b; conductor 108a having two sides that taper in the middle; the two sides are considered a first and second pattern); and the detection pattern provided between the first pattern and the second pattern and connecting the first pattern and the second pattern (Fig. 5a; middle section of conductor 108a), wherein the first pattern has a first width, which is a length in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction when viewed from a thickness direction of the substrate, the second pattern has a second width, which is a length in the second direction, the detection pattern has a connection width, which is a length in the second direction, the connection width is narrower than the first width and the second width, and the sensor chip is mounted on the first substrate surface in a state of being disposed to cross the detection pattern (Fig. 5a-5b; conductor 108a; element 110a mounted in the middle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Vuillermet into Ausserlechner since the substitution would produce the predictable result of passing current.
Regarding claim 6, Vuillermet teaches wherein a length of the detection pattern in the first direction is shorter than a length of the first pattern in the first direction and a length of the second pattern in the first direction (Fig. 5a-5b; conductor 108a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Vuillermet into Ausserlechner since the substitution would produce the predictable result of passing current.
Regarding claim 7, Vuillermet teaches wherein the first pattern includes: a first portion having the first width; and a second portion that narrows from the first portion toward the detection pattern (Fig. 5a-5b; conductor 108a).
Regarding claim 8, Vuillermet teaches wherein the second pattern includes: a first portion having the second width; and a second portion that narrows from the first portion toward the detection pattern (Fig. 5a-5b; conductor 108a).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner, US 20130138372 in view of Vuillermet et al., US 20230251290 in view of Bussing et al., US 20180306843
Regarding claim 9, Vuillermet teaches wherein the sensor chip includes a plurality of terminals (Fig. 18; sensor 1704 with terminals) but is silent in the sensor chip is disposed such that the plurality of terminals are disposed in a space provided in the second direction of the detection pattern. Bussing teaches a sensor chip is disposed such that the plurality of terminals are disposed in a space provided in a second direction of a detection pattern (Figs. 2c-2f; sensor 200 terminals in top surface of substrate 224 and extending in a different direction than a current trace 220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Bussing into Ausserlechner as modified for the benefit of reducing interference between the chip and the pattern.
Regarding claim 10, Ausserlechner is silent in wherein the plurality of terminals are disposed inside outer edges of the first pattern and the second pattern when viewed from the first direction. Vuillermet teaches wherein the sensor is disposed inside outer edges of the first pattern and the second pattern when viewed from the first direction (Fig. 5a- element 110 in edge near taper of conductor 108a). Ausserlechner in view of Vuillerment is silent in wherein the plurality of terminals are disposed inside outer edges. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a location of the terminals, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide the terminals inside outer edges so that interference between the pattern and the chip is minimized.
Regarding claim 11, Ausserlechner is silent in further including a plurality of sensor patterns provided on the first substrate surface to which the plurality of terminals are individually connected, wherein an upper surface of each of the plurality of sensor patterns is positioned closer to the first substrate surface than an upper surface of the detection pattern. Bussing teaches a sensor pattern provided on a first substrate surface to which a terminal is individually connected, wherein an upper surface of the sensor pattern is positioned closer to the first substrate surface than an upper surface of a detection pattern (Fig. 2f; trace 220; sensor 220 terminal connected to a pad in top surface of 224). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Bussing into Ausserlechner for the benefit of providing isolation between the detection pattern and chip.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner, US 20130138372 in view of Vuillermet et al., US 20230251290 in view of Uryu, US 20200382013
Regarding claim 12, Ausserlechner is silent in wherein the substrate is a multilayer substrate, a heat dissipation pattern insulated from the first wiring pattern is provided within the substrate, and the heat dissipation pattern has a heat dissipation width larger than both the first width and the second width. Uryu teaches a multilayer substrate (Fig. 6; multilayer substate 122/123), a heat dissipation pattern insulated from a first wiring pattern is provided within the substrate (thermal via 124 insulated from pattern 121a), and the heat dissipation pattern has a heat dissipation width larger than a width of the wiring pattern (Fig. 6; via 124 width larger than a width of 121a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Uryu into Ausserlechner for the benefit of minimizing the effects of temperature in the circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, prior art does not disclose or suggest: “wherein the substrate includes: a first base material including the first substrate surface; a second base material including the second substrate surface; and a third base material provided between the first base material and the second base material, and the heat dissipation pattern includes: a first heat dissipation pattern provided between the first base material and the third base material; a second heat dissipation pattern provided between the second base material and the third base material; and a third heat dissipation pattern provided on the second substrate surface” in combination with all the limitations of claim 13.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858