DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the silicone strip (claims 5, 11, and 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 17, there is no antecedent basis for “the corner cover plate.”
Regarding claim 7, there is no antecedent basis for “the corner engagement protrusion” and “the corner engagement groove.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kapstad (3,955,298).
Kapstad discloses a picture frame, comprising: four frame sides (32, 34, 36, 38, Fig. 2) forming a rectangular frame structure (30, Fig. 2), wherein an end portion of each frame side is provided with a mounting groove (Figs. 3 and 4), and the frame side is provided with a picture groove (42, Fig. 3) for receiving an edge of a picture; and four corners (56, Fig. 5), wherein each corner is arranged between two adjacent frame sides and is provided with an insertion portion (58, 60, Fig. 5), and the insertion portion is configured to be inserted into the mounting groove and connected to the mounting groove in a detachable manner; wherein each of the frame sides comprises a first side which faces away from a wall surface during use and a second side which faces the wall surface during use, and wherein the picture groove is provided on the first side and/or the second side of each of the frame sides.
Regarding claim 3, the insertion portion (58, 60, Fig. 5) disclosed by Kapstad is provided with an elastic protrusion (62, 64, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, the elastic portion disclosed by Kapstad (62, 64, Fig. 5) is shaped as described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298) in view of Hansen et al. (2006/042141).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Kapstad does not disclose providing a silicone strip on the edge of the picture. Hansen teaches providing a silicon strip on the edge of a picture to help hold the picture in a retention groove. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a silicone strip for the edge of the picture, as taught by Kapstad, in order to help hold the picture in a retention groove.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, the frame disclosed by Kapstad is made of aluminum. See column 2, lines 52-56. However, it is not known what material is contemplated for the fabrication of the corner. Because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the level of ordinary skill of a worker in the art, and since a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that metal or plastic would be suitable for the fabrication of a frame corner, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the corner disclosed by Kapstad from metal or plastic. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298) in view of Hatton et al. (2019/0290028) and Lin (2007/0210234).
Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, the corner disclosed by Kapstad is completely enclosed by the frame sides. Hatton teaches providing a corner that is not completely enclosed by the frame sides and that includes a corner accommodating notch (Fig. 3) for insertion of a picture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the corner disclosed by Kapstad for a corner of the type taught by Hatton as a matter of design choice.
Further, Kapstad does not disclose a corner cover plate provided with a hanging hole. Lin teaches providing a corner cover plate with a hanging hole. See Fig. 1-B. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame disclosed by Kapstad with a corner cover plate with a hanging hole, as taught by Lin, in order to hang the frame from a vertical surface.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298) in view of Packer (3,830,278).
Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Kapstad does not disclose a reinforcing support between opposite frame sides. Packer teaches providing reinforcing supports (17, 18, 19, 20, Fig. 1) between opposite frame sides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide reinforcing supports between opposite frame sides disclosed by Kapstad, as taught by Packer, in order to improve the structural rigidity of the frame.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298).
Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Kapstad does not disclose a reinforcing support between opposite frame sides. Packer teaches providing reinforcing supports (17, 18, 19, 20, Fig. 1) between opposite frame sides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide reinforcing supports between opposite frame sides disclosed by Kapstad, as taught by Packer, in order to improve the structural rigidity of the frame.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298) in view of Hansen et al. (2006/042141), as applied to claims 5 and 15, respectively, above, and further in view of Hatton et al. (2019/0290028) and Lin (2007/0210234).
Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, the corner disclosed by Kapstad is completely enclosed by the frame sides. Hatton teaches providing a corner that is not completely enclosed by the frame sides and that includes a corner accommodating notch (Fig. 3) for insertion of a picture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the corner disclosed by Kapstad for a corner of the type taught by Hatton as a matter of design choice.
Further, Kapstad does not disclose a corner cover plate provided with a hanging hole. Lin teaches providing a corner cover plate with a hanging hole. See Fig. 1-B. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame disclosed by Kapstad with a corner cover plate with a hanging hole, as taught by Lin, in order to hang the frame from a vertical surface.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298) in view of Hansen et al. (2006/042141), as applied to claims 5 and 15, respectively, above, and further in view of Packer (3,830,278).
Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Kapstad does not disclose a reinforcing support between opposite frame sides. Packer teaches providing reinforcing supports (17, 18, 19, 20, Fig. 1) between opposite frame sides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide reinforcing supports between opposite frame sides disclosed by Kapstad, as taught by Packer, in order to improve the structural rigidity of the frame.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapstad (3,955,298) in view of Hansen et al. (2006/042141), as applied to claim 15, above, and further in view of Hatton et al. (2019/0290028) and Lin (2007/0210234).
Kapstad discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, the corner disclosed by Kapstad is completely enclosed by the frame sides. Hatton teaches providing a corner that is not completely enclosed by the frame sides and that includes a corner accommodating notch (Fig. 3) for insertion of a picture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the corner disclosed by Kapstad for a corner of the type taught by Hatton as a matter of design choice.
Further, Kapstad does not disclose a corner cover plate provided with a hanging hole. Lin teaches providing a corner cover plate with a hanging hole. See Fig. 1-B. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame disclosed by Kapstad with a corner cover plate with a hanging hole, as taught by Lin, in order to hang the frame from a vertical surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a corner having a corner groove and a corner cover plate that is configured to press art of a picture into the corner groove.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a disassembly opening between a corner and a corner cover plate for insertion of a disassembly tool.
Claims 10 and 11 would be allowable based on their dependencies, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631